ADOT

Motor Vehicle Division

Certified Ignition Interlock
Device (CIID)

State law requires installation and maintenance of an
interlock after being convicted of a certain alcohol- and/or
drug- related violations (see Arizona Revised Statutes
28-1381, 28-1382, 28-1383, 28-1461 and 28-3319).

What is an Ignition Interlock Device?

An Ignition interlock device is a device that is installed in a
motor vehicle to prevent alcohol-impaired individuals from
driving. Before starting the vehicle, the driver will be required
to blow into the ignition interlock’s mouthpiece to provide a
breath sample for analysis. If the driver’s blood alcohol
concentration is above the pre-set limit (0.02), the vehicle will
not start.

Once the vehicle is started, the driver may be required to
submit additional breath samples at random times while the
engine is running. For safety reasons, the device cannot turn
off the car ignition once it has been started.

The ignition interlock retains and transmits data to the
department including test results and violations.

How do | get the Ignition Interlock installed?

A list of ignition interlock service providers authorized for use
in the State of Arizona is available at
https://azdot.gov/motor-vehicles/driver-services/ignition-
interlock/interlock-installation-and-monitoring.

What do | do after | get the Ignition Interlock

Installed?

In order to establish a starting point for your required ignition
interlock time frame, ensure that all other statutory
requirements are met or the cause for the action is removed.
To reinstate, please visit an MVD or Authorized Third Party
office. If you have already reinstated your driving privileges,
the interlock requirement is effective immediately upon the
department receiving notice of the conviction. Failure to have
the device installed and to provide verification to MVD within
30 days of your conviction may result in immediate
suspension of your Arizona driving privilege and possible
extension of the original interlock requirement.

Once installed in your vehicle, the interlock device must be
calibrated and inspected by a certified installer every 90 days.
The manufacturer must electronically submit compliance
checks every 30 days for the first three months, then at least
every 90 days thereafter.

Am | eligible for the Six Month Deferment?
Some first time violations may be eligible to remove the
Interlock device after 6 months. Contact an MVD or
Authorized Third Party office if you feel you may be eligible.
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You may be eligible if:

e The violation was on or after January 1, 2012.

e No DUI within the last 7 years (84 months).

e The violation was not an extreme DUI.

e There was no accident involved.

e  You completed at least 16 hours of substance abuse
education.

e There were no violations during the first 6 months.

e ADOT has received electronic reporting of at least 4
Compliance Checks, most current within the last 35
days.

e It has been at least 6 months since your
reinstatement date.

e 2"6monthsisa “probationary period”.

What violations are causes for extension or

suspension of the CIID?

e Failed Breath Tests (2 if over age 21/1 if under age
21- samples over the legal limit at any time during
the entire interlock requirement) - The interlock
may enter a lockout period and 6 month extension
of the CIID.

e Failed/Missed 3 Consecutive Rolling Retest — A 6
month extension of CIID. This includes but is not
limited to, turning the vehicle off after a request to
avoid providing a sample.

e Missed Scheduled 90 day Calibration Appointment-
A suspension of the driver’s license and the original
interlock time frame to start over.

e Tampering or Circumventing the device — A 6 month
extension of the CIID and/or prosecution. Tampering
or Circumventing is a Class 1 Misdemeanor.

¢ Disconnecting or removing a device early - A
suspension of the driver’s license and the original
interlock time frame to start over.

0 If you switch vehicles or manufacturer, you
have 72 hours from removal to reinstall.
During the 72 hours, driving without an
interlock installed is not permitted.

Frequently Asked Questions: For answers to
more Frequently Asked Questions please visit
https://azdot.gov/motor-vehicles/driver-
services/ignition-interlock/faq
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