

Mail Drop 818Z Medical Review Program Motor Vehicle Division PO Box 2100 Phoenix AZ 85001-2100

PHYSICIAN EXAMINATION REPORT

96-0668 R02/16

azdot.gov

Send completed form to:

Fax (602) 239-6288

10

Email at http://www.azdot.gov/mvd/driver-services/MedicalReview/contact-medical-review

The information provided below will indicate to MVD how this person's medical condition affects his or her ability to safely perform the functional skills necessary for driving. Please submit the completed report by mail, fax, or by email to the appropriate address listed above.

Arizona law provides immunity from personal liability to physicians supplying medical information. State law makes MVD responsible for the licensing decision on individuals. Arizona Revised Statutes 28-3005, 28-3314; Arizona Administrative Code R17-4-502, R17-4-503 and R17-4-506

Driver Name (first, middle, last, suffix)			Date of Birth	Driver	Driver License Number		State
Street Address			City	I	State	Zip	
Examination Date							
Diagnosis							
Recommended Action							
☐ Has a medical condition		ability to safely operate a	a motor vehicle	Suspend / Rev	oke driving pr	ivilege	
☐ MVD Vision Screening	□ Wr	itten Test					
☐ Road Test (driving skills	and Test (driving skills) □ Extended Road Test: Special Performance Evaluation						
Recommended Restrictions	s:						
□ None							
☐ Adaptive Equipment	ment			☐ Full Hand Controls			
☐ Daylight Driving Only ☐ Mile Radius Restriction			mi	☐ No Freeway	,		
☐ Golf Cart Only							
☐ Other							
Physician Name (printed)			Physician	Signaturo			
				Physician Signature			
Medical License Number	☐ Phy ☐ Nur	vsician	ist State	Phone ()			
Street Address			City		State	Zip	

DRIVER EVALUATIONS - FACT SHEET FOR PHYSICIANS

General Information Regarding Arizona Drivers

- Arizona drivers enjoy an extended driver license which does not expire until the age of 65, although vision testing and photo need to be updated every 12 years.
- Drivers 60 years of age or receive a driver license that is valid for only 5 years.
- No physician review is necessary to obtain or renew a driver license based on age

Physician Reporting Requirements in Arizona

- Physicians are NOT <u>required</u> to report any patient
- A physician may voluntarily report a patient to the AZ Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Division (ADOT-MVD), who, in the opinion of the physician, has a medical or psychological condition that could significantly impair the person's ability to safely operate a motor vehicle. (Arizona Revised Statutes §28-3005)

To report a driver, complete this form:

Physician Examination Report #96-0668

Medical Review Program of ADOT's Motor Vehicle Division:

A physician is unable to revoke or restrict a person's license.

- Final determination of an individual's ability to drive is made by ADOT- MVD.
- ADOT-MVD may revoke, suspend, or restrict a person's driver license based on a physician's report and further evaluation by MVD. Examples of restrictions are:
 - Daylight driving only
 - No freeway driving
 - Driving within a defined radius of a person's home
 - Golf cart driving only

Immunity from Liability

• Physicians who, in good faith, report drivers whose conditions may impair their driving, are immune from any civil or criminal liability. (A.R.S. § 28-3005)

Identifying at Risk Drivers

- Physicians are well-suited to identify drivers at risk, based on ability, not age
- There are 3 main areas that should be evaluated:
 - 1) Vision Basic visual acuity, or sharpness of vision
 - 2) Cognition Decision making, judgment, and planning (needed for making left turns).
 - 3) Motor and Sensory Skills Reaction time (needed for stopping fast enough to avoid a crash)
- Signs of unsafe driving include:
 - History of motor vehicle incidents/crashes
 - Forgetting how to locate familiar places
 - Failing to observe traffic signs
 - Making slow or poor decisions in traffic
 - Driving at an inappropriate speed
 - · Becoming angry or confused while driving

- Medical conditions that <u>may</u> impair a driver's ability include:
 - Epilepsy
 - Arthritis
 - Vision impairments
 - Dementia (any type)

- Cerebrovascular disease
- Other neurodegenerative diseases
- Substance abuse or dependence

Assessments:

 An MVD driving skills test or MVD Medical/Special Performance Evaluation drive (no additional fee) is the best way to assess driving skills

Or

• A driver medical evaluation by a nationally certified Driving Rehabilitation Specialist (fee for service):

Adapted Driving Program
Banner Good Samaritan Rehabilitation Institute
1012 E. Willetta
Phoenix, Arizona, 85006
602-839-2317

Driving to Independence 1414 W Broadway Road, Suite 230 Tempe, AZ 85282 480-449-3331

To report a driver, complete this form:

Physician Examination Report #96-0668

DriveAble Solutions 4120 N. 20th St., Suite G Phoenix, AZ 85016 Phone: 602-840-2323

Driving to Independence 4720 N. La Cholla Blvd. Tucson, Arizona 85705 520-219-0550

American Medical Association's Physicians Guide to Assessing and Counseling Older Drivers (in conjunction with National Highway Traffic Safety Administration):

http://www.ama-assn.org/ama/pub/physician-resources/public-health/promoting-healthy-lifestyles/geriatric-health/older-driver-safety/assessing-counseling-older-drivers.page

American Academy of Neurology's Practice Parameter update: Evaluation and Management of driving risk in dementia:

http://www.neurology.org/content/early/2010/04/12/WNL.0b013e3181da3b0f.citation

Driver Fitness Medical Guidelines by the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators: http://www.granddriver.info/uploadedFiles/MainSite/Content/DriverLicensingIdentification/At Risk Drivers/Driver%20Fitness%20Medical%20Guidelines.pdf

Arizona Revised Statute (A.R.S. § 28-3005)

http://www.azleg.gov/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/ars/28/03005.htm&Title=28&DocType=ARS

Arizona Revised Statute (A.R.S. § 28-3159)

http://www.azleg.gov/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/ars/28/03159.htm&Title=28&DocType=ARS









