

# CDL DOCUMENTATION REQUIREMENTS

To obtain or renew your Commercial Driver License (CDL), you need to prove your legal presence in the United States and show that Arizona is your home state. These requirements come from Arizona Revised Statutes 28-3153(D) and FMCSA regulation 49 CFR 383.71.

**Important:** Requirements may change without notice.

### What You Need to Bring:

#### All CDL Applicants

- $\square$ Current CDL or state-issued motor vehicle record (issued within 30 days)
- $\square$ Proof of domicile

Commercial Learner's Permit Applicants; in addition to the items above, you also need:

- Arizona driver license
- $\square$ Proof of one year driving experience

## **Medical Examiner's Certificate**

Your certified medical examiner will submit your Medical Examiner's Certificate (MEC) electronically. Allow your examiner 24 hours to submit it. Exception: If you are restricted to driving only within Arizona, you may bring the completed MEC and long form to MVD.

All documents must be originals or certified copies, in English, certified by the issuing agency.

# **Primary** One (1) Document Required

## **ACCEPTABLE DOCUMENTS**

(must include Name and Date of Birth)

- Birth Certificate Original or certified copy of a birth Certificate (including "Government Use Only" birth certificates) issued by any state, territory or possession of the US (Hospital records/certificates and California Certified Abstracts of Birth are not acceptable.)
- US Certificate of Birth Abroad (FS-240,545 or DS-1350)
- Unexpired US Passport or Passport card
- Permanent Resident Card/Resident Alien Card, I-551
- Unexpired **USCIS Employment** Authorization Document (EAD) except for any issued from Canada or Mexico with the exception of DACA recipients (EAC with C33 category)
- I-94 form with an unexpired foreign passport (excluding Canada Mexico) and an unexpired U.S. Visa Visa Waiver (excluding program participants)
- **US Certificate of Naturalization**
- **US Certificate of Citizenship**



96-0526 R06/25 azdot.gov

## Social Security Number

## You must provide your Social Security Number on the DL/ID Application for verification.

## **Acceptable Name Change Documents**

If your name is different from your primary document, you must show legal proof of name change. You must first change your with the Social Security Administration (at least 24 hours prior).

- Marriage License / Certificate (Last
- ☐ **Divorce Decree** (Restored Last Name)
- □ Court ordered name change for:
  - An adult
- A family
- A minor child
- □ Adoption Decree

#### Or

- Provide two forms of permissible name usages listed below. Customer cannot change the first name with these documents.
  - Driver License. ID. or Instruction Permit issued by any state or US Territory
- Social Security Card
- US Military Active Duty/Dependent ID Card
- **US Armed Forces Driver License**
- **US Department of Veterans Affairs**
- Medical Insurance ID Card (including
- Federal Release Identification Card

# Arizona Residency Two (2) Documents Required

Documents or mail issued from a business, organization or government agency that contain:

- Applicant name
- Physical residential address

#### **Examples**

- **Utility Bill**
- **Federal Release Identification** Card
- Rental Agreement, etc.

Documentation from temporary housing or a shelter is not acceptable as proof of residency.

MVD reserves the right to review, consider and request additional information and documentation in making determinations regarding age, identity and authorized presence.

MVD may retain images or copies of any document(s) presented.



For more information, scan the QR code or visit azdot.gov/CDL.