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EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 
 

The state of Arizona is currently facing a major dilemma related to the proper 
registration of motor vehicles within the state. In the typical case of registration 
noncompliance, an individual moves into the state of Arizona; he brings his vehicle, 
which is properly registered in his former state, with him to Arizona. Based on the 
Revised Statutes of Arizona pertaining to vehicle registration, the individual must 
immediately register his vehicle. Despite this, many people do not comply since they 
have valid registration documentation from their state of origin. This failure to register 
the vehicle in accordance with Arizona law causes several problems for the State of 
Arizona; everything from lost registration revenue, inaccurate road usage forecasting, and 
environmental impact assessments are affected by this violation. 
 

Although the impacts to the state are many and diverse, the cause of the problem 
is simple, and can be reduced to the common denominator of economics. In Arizona, a 
Vehicle License Tax (VLT) is assessed by the state based primarily on the value of the 
registered vehicle. This tax is assessed in addition to the other registration fees charged 
by the state and in lieu of alternate personal income and property taxes charged by other 
states. While this tax varies significantly based on the age and original value of the 
vehicle, it represents a significant increase in the cost of registration in Arizona.  Using a 
Ford Expedition as an example, the price difference was roughly $690 per year compared 
to the lowest cost states, and more than $500 compared to the next most expensive state. 
While the Arizona system is arguably the most equitable, placing the financial burden for 
driving on those who drive and weighting that burden to those who choose to drive 
luxury vehicles, it raises problems due to the ease and benefit of noncompliance. An 
individual who moves to Arizona with a vehicle registered in a different state reaps the 
benefits of Arizona’s favorable tax structure, while simultaneously taking the benefit of 
another state’s lower registration cost. This creates both a real and perceived economic 
advantage for the violator.  
 

Currently in Arizona, there is not a large-scale systematic method for locating 
violators of these statutes. Rather, the Motor Vehicle Division employs a small team to 
investigate cases of registration violation. This group has received over ten thousand 
cases to follow up in periods under six months. Due to the massive size of this caseload 
and the labor-intensive nature of investigations, most cases are not closed. In a large 
portion of the cases, letters are sent to the suspected violators informing them of the 
obligation to register their vehicles in Arizona. The hope is that this will encourage them 
to voluntarily comply.  
 

Many possible solutions to this problem have been suggested and tried over the 
years. The issue with many of these proposals is the data needed to carry them out are 
either not available or not economical to obtain, or would require an increase in the tax 
rates of the state. With these restrictions in place, many options for enforcement are not 
viable. In light of this, Arizona will need to increase the magnitude of current 
enforcement efforts in order to optimize compliance with current laws. 
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I. PROBLEM ASSESSMENT 
 
A. VEHICLE REGISTRATION PROBLEMS  
 

To maintain roads and highways, the Arizona Department of Transportation 
(ADOT) depends on fees and taxes paid by highway users. This study focuses on 
registration fee and Vehicle License Tax (VLT) revenue from Arizona residents who 
operate motor vehicles or trailers.  Arizona vehicle registration fees and the VLT are used 
to maintain and improve highways in Arizona through the Highway User Revenue Fund.  
Problems occurring within the Arizona vehicle registration process include Arizona 
residents with out-of-state plates and urban residents evading the vehicle emissions 
inspection requirement by registering vehicles to addresses outside the non-attainment 
region.1  Existing literature regarding these issues is limited, due to the difficulty in 
quantifying the problems.   
 

Noncompliance with laws can result from many possible circumstances.  Urban 
residents may choose to register their vehicles to an address outside the non-attainment 
region illegally in order to avoid emissions inspection requirements.  This issue is not 
financially significant to Arizona since the only difference in registration cost between 
urban and rural residents comes from the $0.25 Air Quality Compliance fee paid by 
urban residents. Despite the light financial loss due to these illegal registrations, there are 
potentially serious consequences due to noncompliance with emissions laws.  One 
problem that can result from improper in-state registrations is increased pollution due to 
failure to meet emissions requirements of a vehicle registered in a rural area, but 
primarily used in an urban environment. 
 

Regarding the issue of vehicles owned by persons moving to Arizona, many new 
residents are simply not aware of the law requiring immediate registration.  Most states 
offer a grace period for vehicle registration.  Arizona and Michigan are the only states 
that do not allow a grace period, while the grace period in Wisconsin is two days.  The 
other 47 states allow 10 to 180 days, with 26 states allowing 30 days (Appendix I).  The 
average over all 50 states is approximately 44 days.  Considering the variance between 
states, persons moving out of state who makes the assumption that the grace period in 
each state is the same could soon find themselves in violation of the law.  For example, a 
person moving to Arizona from New Mexico would be required by Arizona law to 
replace his registration immediately, while a person moving from Arizona to New 
Mexico would have nearly six months to replace his Arizona registration.   
 
B. NATIONAL REGISTRATION COSTS  
 

In addition to the variance in grace periods for new residents to register their 
vehicles, people moving across state lines are likely to encounter varied registration costs.  
Vehicle registration costs and fees vary by state and in some cases by county.  Table 1 

                                                           
1 A non-attainment region is a geographic area with an unacceptable level of one or more specified air 
pollutants.   
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demonstrates the variation in registration costs by location.  To develop an easily read 
table, a 2000 model year Chevrolet Cavalier LS 4 Door sedan was used as an example. 
 

According to the manufacturer the original manufacturer's suggested retail price 
(MSRP) for this vehicle was $13,745 excluding applicable sales tax and other fees. The 
market price for the vehicle as of October 26, 2002 was $7,960, according to a Kelly Blue 
Book rating of a vehicle in “Excellent” condition with 25,000 miles posted on the 
odometer. This is a four-door passenger sedan with a 2.2L engine developing 140 
horsepower as measured at the engine and a curb weight of 2,678lbs. [1]  

 
Table 1.  Year 2003 Registration Costs for Model Year 2000 Chevrolet Cavalier 

 
States in which there was a material difference in cost between counties were not 

included in this list in order to ensure the data are comparable.  Unlike Arizona, several 
states allow each county to determine their own registration costs, rather than having a 
uniform cost across the state.  Because Arizona and most other states have a single 
registration cost for every county, this cost must include all necessary charges to collect 
desired fees statewide.  Separate county fees, however, enable states to determine 
registration fees based on factors such as cost of road maintenance in the region.  A 
single comparable registration cost cannot be determined from the information provided 
by these states.  Additionally, information could not be obtained from Louisiana due to 
administrative and system changes taking place.   

 
Of the states on the list only Arizona and California include the vehicle use tax 

with the registration fee. Were these fees to be separated as in the other states, California 

Rank State Cost Rank State Cost
1 Minnesota  $                                         189.00 26 Virginia $                                          30.50 
2 California*  $                                         188.20 27 Washington  $                                          30.00 
3 Arizona*  $                                         176.67 28 West Virginia  $                                          30.00 
4 Utah  $                                         150.00 29 New Hampshire*  $                                          25.20 
5 Iowa  $                                         141.00 30 Maine  $                                          25.00 
6 Illinois  $                                           78.00 31 North Carolina $                                          25.00 
7 Alaska  $                                           68.00 32 Alabama 24.25$                                          
8 Rhode Island  $                                           66.00 33 Missouri*  $                                          24.25 
9 North Dakota  $                                           59.00 34 South Carolina  $                                          24.00 

10 Michigan 54.00$                                           35 Oklahoma  $                                          22.75 
11 Vermont  $                                           50.00 36 Indiana  $                                          20.75 
12 New Jersey  $                                           49.00 37 Delaware 20.00$                                          
13 Montana  $                                           48.75 38 Georgia 20.00$                                           
14 New Mexico  $                                           46.00 39 New York  $                                          17.50 
15 Connecticut  $                                           45.00 40 Arkansas*  $                                          16.00 
16 Wisconsin  $                                           45.00 41 Hawaii 16.00$                                           
17 Ohio  $                                           42.75 42 Kentucky $                                          15.00 
18 South Dakota  $                                           42.00 43 Oregon $                                          15.00 
19 Maryland  $                                           38.00 44 Mississippi 10.00$                                           
20 Massachusetts  $                                           36.00 N/A Colorado Variable Depending on County 
21 Pennsylvania  $                                           36.00 N/A Kansas Variable Depending on County 
22 Florida  $                                           35.60 N/A Nebraska Variable Depending on County 
23 Idaho  $                                           35.00 N/A Texas Variable Depending on County 
24 Nevada  $                                           33.00 N/A Wyoming Variable Depending on County 
25 Tennessee  $                                           32.00 N/A Louisiana Unavailable

Note: Some states publish a small range for vehicle registration costs.  Example - North Carolina costs $20 to $25.  In these cases, the upper end of the range was used.

*Registration costs based on a 2000 Chevrolet Cavalier Sedan 4D: 4-Cyl. 2.2 Liter Front Wheel Drive with 25,000 miles weighing 2676 lbs.  Private Party Value $7,960

Vehicle Registration Costs by State
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would move into the number 30 position with a $29.00 fee and Arizona would take the 
number 44 spot with its $9.50 combined registration and air quality research fee. 
Although it may seem that California and Arizona are charging residents far more than 
other states through vehicle use or VLT, some states have what amounts to a hidden 
registration fee, or make up the lost revenue through higher state income, property, or 
other taxes. While Arizona’s use of an up-front VLT allows the public to see what they 
are paying for, it also leads to the perception that Arizona tax rates are higher than those 
of other states.       
 

From Table 1 it is apparent that Arizona is one of the more expensive states for 
fees directly associated with vehicle registration. However, the magnitude of the 
difference becomes even more apparent as the vehicle value increases.  Table 2 below 
shows the adjusted registration costs by state for a higher-end vehicle.  For this table, a 
2003 Ford Expedition with a retail value of $41,380 was used.  According to the Kelly 
Blue Book, the vehicle has 260 horsepower and a curb weight of 5,564 pounds. [1] 
 

Table 2.  Year 2003 Registration Costs for Model Year 2003 Ford Expedition 

 
 

From the table it is clear that the registration costs in California and Arizona are 
substantially higher than in other states.  While the registration in most states is the same 
or slightly higher for the luxury vehicle, the registration cost for Arizona quadrupled, 

Rank State Cost Rank State Cost
1 California* 856.60$                                  26 Nevada 33.00$                                       
2 Arizona* 704.93$                                  27 Tennessee 32.00$                                       
3 Minnesota 189.00$                                  28 Virginia 30.50$                                       
4 Utah 150.00$                                  29 Arkansas* 30.00$                                       
5 Florida 145.60$                                  30 Washington 30.00$                                       
6 Iowa 141.00$                                  31 West Virginia 30.00$                                       
7 Illinois 78.00$                                    32 Maine 25.00$                                       
8 Alaska 68.00$                                    33 North Carolina 25.00$                                       
9 Rhode Island 66.00$                                    34 Alabama 24.25$                                       

10 North Dakota 59.00$                                    35 South Carolina 24.00$                                       
11 Michigan 54.00$                                    36 Oklahoma 22.75$                                       
12 Missouri* 51.25$                                    37 Indiana 20.75$                                       
13 New Hampshire* 50.00$                                    38 Delaware 20.00$                                       
14 Vermont 50.00$                                    39 Georgia 20.00$                                       
15 New Jersy 49.00$                                    40 New York 17.50$                                       
16 Montana 48.75$                                    41 Hawaii 16.00$                                       
17 New Mexico 46.00$                                    42 Kentucky 15.00$                                       
18 Wisconsin 45.00$                                    43 Oregon 15.00$                                       
19 Ohio 42.75$                                    44 Mississippi 10.00$                                       
20 South Dakota 42.00$                                    N/A Colorado Variable Depending on County
21 Maryland 38.00$                                    N/A Kansas Variable Depending on County
22 Massachusetts 36.00$                                    N/A Nebraska Variable Depending on County
23 Pensylvainia 36.00$                                    N/A Texas Variable Depending on County
24 Connecticut 35.00$                                    N/A Wyoming Variable Depending on County
25 Idaho 35.00$                                    N/A Louisiana Unavailable

*Registration costs based on a new 2003 Ford Expedition 4WD Eddie Bauer Utility 4D weighing 5564 lbs.  Retail value $41380.00

Note: Some states publish a small range for vehicle registration costs.  Example - North Carolina costs $20 to $25.  In these cases, the upper end of the range was used.

Vehicle Registration Costs by State
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making Arizona the second most expensive state for vehicle registration behind only 
California.   

 
Both Arizona and California determine registration fees based on the value of the 

vehicle.  In California, 2% of the vehicle’s value is paid as part of total registration fees, 
regardless of vehicle age.  Arizona uses a scale to determine the percentage of vehicle 
value paid towards registration fees.  1.68% of the vehicle cost is charged as a VLT in the 
first year, and each subsequent year the VLT decreases as the vehicle depreciates at a rate 
of 16.25% per year. 
 
C. REGISTRATION COST CALCULATION  
 

In addition to the high cost of registration, Arizona’s method of calculating 
vehicle registration costs, including license tax, is complicated.  The following figure 
describes the steps required for calculation, and demonstrates the complexity of the 
Current User Tax and Registration Fee.  The example for year 2003 taxes is based on a 
2000 Chevrolet Cavalier LS 4 Door sedan with a MSRP of $13,745 registered in 
Phoenix.  
 
CALCULATION EXPLANATION___________________________________ 
 
     13,745.00  MSRP 
X           0.60 
       8,247.00  Assessed value of 60% of the manufacturer’s base retail price 
X    (1-.1625) 
        6,906.86  Manufacturer’s base retail price reduced by 16.25% per year 
X    (1-.1625) 
        5,784.50  Manufacturer’s base retail price reduced by 16.25% per year 
X             0.01 
              57.85  Adjustment to put value in terms of hundreds 
X             2.89 
           167.17  Cost of Vehicle Tax at $2.89 per $100 based on assessed value 
+             8.00 
           175.17  Cost with $8.00 Registration fee 
+             1.50 
           176.67  Cost with $1.50 Air Quality Research fee 
+             0.25 

$176.92 Total cost of Registration and Vehicle License Tax for Phoenix 
and Tucson residents, with $0.25 Air Quality Compliance fee 

 
Figure 1.  Mathematical Calculation of Registration Expense 

 
Under the current calculation system, numerous separate mathematical operations 

are required to determine the cost of this vehicle registration. This information is not 
given in the above format, rather it must be extrapolated out of a written paragraph and is 
slightly different in each circumstance. Without knowledge of discount rates and their 
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function, it would be very difficult for the public to determine their vehicle’s registration 
cost.  Below is the stated example on the ADOT website (www.dot.state.az.us):  

 
It varies depending on the vehicle. There is a $4.00 title fee; an $8.00 registration 
fee [$8.25 in metro Phoenix and Tucson, including a 25¢ air quality compliance 
sticker fee]; plus an air quality research fee of $1.50; and a vehicle license tax 
(VLT) assessed in place of a personal property tax charged by other states. There 
may also be a weight fee for commercial vehicles and other fees. The VLT is 
based on an assessed value of 60% of the manufacturer's base retail price reduced 
by 16.25% for each year since the vehicle was first registered in Arizona (15% 
before 8/1/98). Then, as of the Dec 1, 2000 reduction, the rate is calculated as 
$2.80 (new vehicles)/$2.89 (used vehicles) for each $100 of the assessed value. 
For example, for a new vehicle that costs $25,000, the first year assessed value 
would be $15,000 and the VLT would be $420.00. The second year the assessed 
value would be $12,562.50 and the VLT would be $363.06. [2] 

 
In a pretest designed to evaluate the relevance of a future larger formal survey, none 

of the individuals given the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) example and the pertinent 
vehicle information were able to correctly determine the registration cost in Phoenix.  
The difficulty of the required calculation may be partially responsible for the public’s 
unwillingness to convert to Arizona registration systems, which are complicated 
compared to the “flat fee” registration system of many other states.  

 
In addition to this complexity in determining the cost of registration, there is an 

issue of price perception regarding registration fees. While Arizona actually has one of 
the lowest fees for registration in the nation, the addition of the VLT at the time of 
registration into a single payment creates the perception that Arizona rates are extremely 
high. This misperception of the true cost will, in many cases, lead individuals to seek out 
other registration options; such as continuing to register their vehicle in a state that has a 
lower perceived cost than Arizona.  

 
Most states do not charge a VLT along with vehicle registration fees, making 

registration cheaper outside Arizona.  Although these states do not charge a VLT, they 
often make up for the lost revenue through a separate charge billed after the fact or by 
increasing other taxes. In terms of actual registration cost, less the VLT, Arizona ranks as 
the lowest cost out of the 44 states researched for pure registration costs. 
 

In combination, confusion over registration laws and Arizona’s apparently high 
cost of registration hinder the law’s effectiveness.  In order to combat the problems of 
noncompliance with registration laws, several programs have been implemented and 
proposed.  A breakdown of these programs follows. 
 
D. TRADITIONAL METHODS OF ENFORCEMENT 
 

Nationwide, states are using antiquated techniques for enforcement of vehicle 
registration laws.  One method utilized in several states is having MVD officers visually 
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inspect tags that indicate compliance on vehicles in employee parking lots and at 
apartment complexes. [3]  Although this technique is effective for finding local vehicles 
with expired registrations, improper out-of-state registrations are not easily spotted.  In 
order to determine the residence of a vehicle owner, the name on the vehicle registration 
would have to match the name in a database of homeowners, renters, employment 
records, tax records, or school records.  Current Arizona technology does not provide 
MVD officers with the resources to perform these checks on the spot.  Instead, Arizona 
has implemented a warning system.  National law enforcement databases provide 
information on vehicle owners’ addresses, allowing a warning to be sent to those in 
violation.  These violators have 30 days to respond, otherwise the vehicle will be cited if 
the location is known. [4]  In Tucson and Phoenix, the Arizona Department of Public 
Safety is working with the Motor Vehicle Division to raise public awareness, and began 
issuing citations of at least $300 for failure to register. [5]   
 

In light of the difficulties enforcing registration laws, another method of 
enforcement has been setting up “tip lines” for people to turn in others who are not in 
compliance.  The toll free “800” phone line, set up in Arizona by MVD Enforcement 
Services, received over 4,200 calls between the activation of the hotline in early October 

and November 18, 2002. [6] Jeanne Huber, an administrative assistant for Enforcement 
Services, said the Arizona tip line generated a substantial number of leads, many of them 
resulting in warnings or citations. This quick response in a six-week time period 
represents the public’s willingness to aid in solving this problem (Appendix II). [7]   

 
One important aspect of the tip line is it frequently enables the location of 

violators to be reported, allowing for more efficient enforcement.  Coworkers and 
neighbors of those in violation provide the greatest potential for support to the MVD, as 
they often can report accurate information on the vehicle in question.  As of November 1, 
2002, offenders began receiving citations carrying penalties of $300 plus late fees. [7]  
These costs are in addition to the registration fees the owner will be required to pay. 
 
E. TECHNOLOGY BASED ENFORCEMENT 
 

Although many techniques used for enforcement of vehicle registration laws do 
not have substantial technological support, a recent trend is increasing the role 
technology plays in assisting enforcement efforts.  In Louisiana, the Baton Rouge Police 
Department has implemented a $4.8 million in-car computer system. [8]  The system 
provides 325 officers with the capabilities to check for current vehicle registrations as 
well as driving records and outstanding arrest warrants.  The system requires the officer 
to simply enter the vehicle license plate number, and a check can be completed in the 
time an officer waits at a red light.  In order for the system to work, all the state records 
systems have to be linked to the in-car computers in such a way that the databases are 
compatible with the machines. [8]  This allows officers to obtain complete information 
useful for recognizing registration violations on the spot, enabling immediate 
enforcement. 
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1) Internet Registration 
 

Although offering vehicle registration through the Internet may not be an obvious 
enforcement technique, any system that promotes legal registrations can help reduce the 
problems.  Internet-based registration, which uses Link2Gov Corporation technology, is 
offered in Alabama, Arizona, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, New Mexico, 
Texas, Tennessee, and the District of Columbia. [9]  Start-up costs for an Internet 
registration system are relatively low, especially in comparison to the lost revenue 
associated with illegal or non-registrations.  A system similar to Link2Gov was recently 
implemented in Kansas for $500,000. [10]  Internet systems allow users to register their 
vehicles 24 hours a day, and at greater speeds than traditional methods.  The Florida 
Link2Gov system claims registration can be completed in under four minutes. 
 
2) Pegasus WPX 
 

To help enforce vehicle registration laws, Pegasus WPX Turnkey systems would 
involve placing special registration tags on the windshield of the car instead of on the 
license plate.  The technology utilized would be a scanning system similar to the 
checkout line at a grocery store.  According to the company website 
(www.wernerpegasus.com), the technology has been used on 20 million documents 
without a single forgery. [11]  Although the technology is intended to close possible 
loopholes in document verification (i.e. forgery or alteration), the purpose of 
implementing the technology for vehicle registration enforcement would be for improved 
field verification capabilities.  Enforcement officers would be able to read the 
information encrypted on the vehicle tag and immediately determine if the vehicle’s 
registration is in compliance with state laws.  This technology would require MVD 
officers to continue their efforts of checking cars in parking lots and apartment 
complexes; however, the effectiveness of the efforts could be increased through the 
immediate feedback feature of the technology.  
 
3) Radio Frequency Identification 
 

A more technologically advanced system, with potential for use in vehicle 
registration enforcement, is Radio Frequency Identification (RFID).  With RFID, a tag, 
similar to the one used now, is placed on a vehicle’s license plate.  The new tags, 
however, can transmit and receive data within one-tenth of a second over a limited range.  
The technology is currently used for electronic toll payment, but at least one company, 
TransCore, is proposing Electronic Vehicle Registration (EVR) as another use for the 
technology.  Their product line, eGo, would allow law enforcement agencies to use RFID 
readers to screen traffic and to identify vehicles that are in violation of registration 
regulations. [12]  
 

According to TransCore, as cars traveling up to 100 miles per hour pass by the 
reader antenna, EVR would “allow state and national agencies to automatically detect 
and screen, via RFID technology, motor vehicles for compliance with Federal or state 
registration regulations and to correspondingly automate enforcement actions and 
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violation processing for noncompliant vehicles.”  Regulation compliance checks could 
include vehicle registration, emissions, valid insurance, and outstanding unpaid traffic or 
parking violations.  Additionally, the company claims “The automation of vehicle 
registration compliance and enforcement can benefit agencies by freeing up manpower 
from labor-intensive work so resources can be directed to more important law 
enforcement tasks.” [12]   
 

The technology is already in use in Dallas/Fort Worth, the first city allowing 
RFID to be used for payment of tolls and parking fees.  According to Jeffrey P. Fegan, 
executive director at the Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport, “We estimate that the 
new PassKey lanes will increase the number of vehicles through the plazas from 180 per 
hour to 720 per hour.”  The tags cost from under $10 to $55 each, depending on 
quantities and capabilities required. [12] 
 
F. SUMMARY 
 

Vehicle registration violations are a problem in many states, in large part due to 
the differential in registration costs from state to state.  Arizona is among the most 
expensive states for vehicle registration when the VLT is included in the registration cost; 
this combines with other local factors to make the problems in Arizona more prevalent.  
With large numbers of winter visitors and out-of-state students, Arizona faces a difficult 
task in enforcing vehicle registration laws.  Students and visitors remaining in Arizona 
for fewer than seven months out of the year are exempt from the requirement of 
registering in Arizona, meaning a large number of out-of-state plates in Arizona are in 
fact in compliance with registration laws.  This unusual circumstance further hinders law 
enforcement, as current practice would require thorough manual and time consuming 
investigation of each plate to ensure adherence.   
 

The technology available for vehicle registration appears promising.  However, 
the cost of these enforcement tools may be too high to be cost effective.  With more than 
3 million private vehicles registered in the State of Arizona, the costs of technology 
implemented on individual vehicles must be kept to a minimum to maintain feasibility. 
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II. VEHICLE REGISTRATION STATUTES 

 
Any resident of Arizona who owns a non-exempt vehicle must register said 

vehicle pursuant to Arizona Revised Statutes (ARS) 28-2153, which states:  
 
A. A person shall not operate, move or leave standing on a highway a motor 
vehicle, trailer or semi trailer unless the motor vehicle, trailer or semi trailer has 
been registered with the department for the current registration year or is properly 
registered for the current registration year by the state or country of which the 
owner or lessee is a resident. 
 
B. A resident shall not operate, move or leave standing on a highway a motor 
vehicle, trailer or semi trailer that is: 

1. Owned by a nonresident and that is primarily under the control of a 
resident of this state for more than seven months unless the motor vehicle, 
trailer or semi trailer has been registered with the department for the 
current registration year. 

2. Leased by the resident for more than twenty-nine days unless the motor 
vehicle, trailer or semi trailer has been registered with the department for 
the current registration year. 

 
C. This section applies to a trailer or semi trailer without motive power unless the 
vehicle is disabled or is being towed as an abandoned vehicle at the direction of a 
law enforcement agency. 
 
D. This section does not apply to: 

4. An owner permitted to operate a vehicle under special provisions 
relating to lien holders, manufacturers, dealers and nonresidents. 

6. A motor vehicle that is being towed by a tow truck that has been 
registered and for which a permit has been obtained pursuant to section 
28-1108. 

 
A registration is obtained under the provisions of ARS 28-2157; most notable to 

this case are subsection A and subsection E:  
 
A. A person shall apply to the department for registration of a motor vehicle, 
trailer or semi trailer on forms prescribed or authorized by the department.  
 
E. The person shall include with the application the required fees and the 
certificate of title to the vehicle for which registration is sought. The registering 
officer may waive the requirement that the applicant present a certificate of title at 
the time of making an application for renewal if the registering officer has 
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available complete and sufficient records to accurately compute the vehicle 
license tax. 

 
If a person as defined in ARS 42-5151 fails to meet this requirement they will be 

in violation of the law under ARS 28-2532 stating:  
 
A. Except as provided in subsection B of this section, a person who is the resident 
or nonresident owner or operator of a motor vehicle, trailer or semi trailer that is 
required by law to be registered in this state and that is not registered or does not 
display license plates assigned by the department for the current registration year 
and who operates or knowingly permits the vehicle to be operated on a highway is 
subject to a civil penalty of three hundred dollars notwithstanding section 28-
1598.  

 
The criteria for classification of a person as a resident can be found in ARS 28-

2001. In addition to these penalties a violation falls under ARS 28-2162 subsection A 
with the remaining subsections referring to exemptions.  

 
A. If a vehicle is operated on a highway without payment of the registration or 
transfer fee, the fee is delinquent. If the fee is not paid before the date on which 
the vehicle is required to be registered for the current registration year, the 
department shall collect a penalty. The penalty is eight dollars for the first month 
of delinquency and four dollars for each additional month, not to exceed a total 
penalty of one hundred dollars. Registration of a vehicle in the name of the 
applicant for the year immediately preceding the year for which the application 
for registration is made is prima facie evidence that the vehicle has been operated 
on the highways during the year for which the application for registration is made. 

 
In addition to vehicle registration fees, a use tax must be paid to the State under 

ARS 28-2056 which references title 42, chapter 5, article 4, and states:  
 
A. The registering officer shall collect the use tax imposed under title 42, chapter 
5, article 4 at the time of application for a transfer of title or registration of a 
vehicle. The registering officer shall issue a receipt, in a form prescribed by the 
department, for the amount of tax paid. The registering officer shall not process 
an application for transfer of title or registration of any vehicle on which the use 
tax is imposed under title 42, chapter 5, article 4 until the tax is paid. 

 
These taxes and registration fees are due at the time of purchase or import of the 

vehicle into the State. This is defined by ARS 42-5151:  
 
12. “Person” means an individual, firm, partnership, joint venture, 
association, corporation, estate, trust, receiver or syndicate, this state or a 
county, city, municipality, district or other political subdivision or agency 
thereof. 
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13. “Purchase” means any transfer, exchange or barter, conditional or 
otherwise, in any manner or by any means, of tangible personal property 
for a consideration, including transactions by which the possession of 
property is transferred but the seller retains the title as security for 
payment. 
 
14. “Purchase price” or “sales price” means the total amount for which 
tangible personal property is sold, including any services that are a part of 
the sale, valued in money, whether paid in money or otherwise, and any 
amount for which credit is given to the purchaser by the seller without any 
deduction on account of the cost of the property sold, materials used, labor 
or services performed, interest charged, losses or other expenses, but does 
not include: 

(a) Discounts allowed and taken. 

(b) Charges for labor or services in installing, remodeling or 
repairing. 

(c) Freight costs billed to and collected from a purchaser by a 
retailer for tangible personal property which, on the order of the 
retailer, is shipped directly from a manufacturer or wholesaler to 
the purchaser. 

(d) Amounts attributable to federal excise taxes imposed by 26 
United States Code section 4001, 4051 or 4091 on sales of heavy 
trucks and trailers and automobiles or on sales of use fuel, as 
defined in section 28-5601. 

 
These regulations are based upon a presumption under ARS 42-5152: 
 
It shall be presumed that tangible personal property purchased by any person and 
brought into this state is purchased for storage, use or consumption in this state.  

 
Once a person has fallen under the jurisdiction of these statutes, they are 

responsible under ARS 42-5155 subsection C and ARS 28-2003 subsection A paragraph 
3 to pay a tax.  The tax rate shall equal the rate of tax prescribed by section 42-5010, 
subsection A, as applied to retailers and utility businesses according to the respective 
classification under articles 1 and 2 of this chapter for the same type of transaction or 
business activity. For the registration of a motor vehicle this cost is $8 and the fee for 
motorcycles is $9.  
 

As indicated in the MVD example of the application of this registration fee and 
use tax:  

 
The total fee varies depending on the vehicle. There is a registration fee of $8.00 
(or $8.25 in metro Phoenix and Tucson, including 25¢ air quality compliance 
sticker fee); plus an air quality research fee of $1.50; plus a vehicle license tax 
(VLT) assessed in place of a personal property tax charged by other states. There 
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may also be a weight fee for commercial vehicles and other fees. The VLT is 
based on an assessed value of 60% of the manufacturer’s base retail price reduced 
by 16.25% for each year since the vehicle was first registered in Arizona (15% 
before 8/1/98). Then, as of the Dec 1, 2000 reduction, the rate is calculated as 
$2.80 (new vehicles)/$2.89 (used vehicles) for each $100 of the assessed value. 
For example, for a new vehicle that costs $25,000, the first year assessed value 
would be $15,000 and the VLT would be $420.00. The second year the assessed 
value would be $12,562.50 and the VLT would be $363.06. 

 
This tax is a use tax on any tangible personal property that a person may use, store 

or consume upon which a tax is imposed. As such, it is enforceable under ARS 42-5163, 
which states:  

 
Every tax imposed by this article and all increases, interest and penalties thereon 
shall become, from the time they are due and payable, a personal debt of the 
taxpayer to the state, and may be collected by action in tax court instituted in the 
name of the state by the attorney general upon request of the director. Such 
remedy shall be in addition to other existing remedies or those provided in this 
article.  

 
ARS 28-2056, in reference to Title 42 Chapter 5 Article 4, states the use tax on a 

vehicle and the $8.00 registration fee must be paid at the same time and prior to the 
issuance of registration.  However, it may be possible to separate the tax and fee under 
ARS 42-5167, which regulates use tax direct payment, stating:  
 

A. A person may elect to pay use taxes directly to the department under this 
article if the person: 

1. Applies to the department for a use tax direct payment permit. The 
application must be on a form prescribed by the department setting forth 
the name under which the applicant transacts or intends to transact 
business, the location of the place or places of business where the 
applicant intends to make direct payment of use taxes and any other 
information that the department may require. The application must be 
signed, in the case of: 

(a) A natural person, by the owner. 

(b) An association or partnership, by a member or partner. 

(c) A corporation, by an executive officer or another person 
specifically authorized by the corporation to sign the application. 

2. Agrees to self-assess and pay directly to the department any use tax 
liability incurred under this article. 

3. Certifies to the department that the person purchased for the person’s 
own use tangible personal property at a cost of five hundred thousand 
dollars or more, in the aggregate, during the immediately preceding 
calendar year. 
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B. The department shall issue a use tax direct payment permit to any applicant 
that meets the requirements of subsection A of this section. 

 
C. If the department deems it necessary to protect the revenues to be collected 
under this section, it may require a person to file a bond to secure the payment of 
such amounts pursuant to section 42-1102. 
 
D. A person who holds a valid use tax direct payment permit shall: 

1. Self-assess and pay directly to the department use taxes due under this 
article for all tangible personal property subject to use tax. 

2. Report the tax on a tax return prescribed by the department. 
 

E. A holder of a use tax direct payment certificate may issue a use tax direct 
payment certificate to any retailer or seller, subject to all of the following: 

1. The certificate shall be in a form prescribed by the department and must 
be signed by and bear the name, address and permit number of the holder 
of the use tax direct payment permit. 

2. The certificate is effective until the permit holder revises or withdraws 
the certificate or until the retailer or seller receives actual notice that the 
department has revoked the permit. 

3. The certificate relieves the retailer or seller of the duty to collect use tax 
only if taken in good faith from a person who holds a use tax direct 
payment permit. The department may periodically publish on its web site a 
list of taxpayers by name with tax identification numbers who have been 
issued direct payment permits. A purchaser holding a direct payment 
permit who issues a use tax direct payment certificate that is accepted in 
good faith by a retailer or seller of tangible personal property shall be 
liable for use tax and related interest and penalties with respect to any 
transaction that the department subsequently determines properly subjects 
the vendor to the transaction privilege tax and not use tax. The vendor 
shall be relieved of the duty to pay transaction privilege tax on such 
transactions. 

4. In addition to any use tax liabilities, a holder of a use tax direct payment 
permit that gives a use tax direct payment certificate to a retailer or seller 
is subject to the same penalty provisions that apply to a retailer or seller.  
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III. EXISTING PRACTICES 
 
A. CURRENT SITUATION 

 
As recently as February 2003, despite a growing population of 5.3 million people, 

the responsibility for enforcement of vehicle registration compliance in Arizona was 
assigned to a single officer. [14] As of June 2003, the number had increased to 14 
enforcement officers capable of writing citations. [15] While there are 4.6 million 
vehicles registered in Arizona, there are no reliable data available to determine the total 
number of vehicles in the state. The 2000 census found that 1.68 million (74.1%) of 
Arizona residents in the group classified as workers age 16 and older drove alone to their 
place of employment. [14] The 14 current officers are responsible for enforcing 
registration laws as they pertain to these vehicles, and are responsible for following up on 
a database containing more than 10,000 active cases waiting for examination and 
enforcement. The officers work with a small staff to determine who is in violation of 
State registration requirements, and to begin the process of enforcing those regulations. 
Unfortunately, the huge volume of complaints and the sheer size of Arizona make this a 
very difficult task. 
 
B. RESIDENCY REQUIREMENTS 

 
Arizona residency requirements, coupled with exceptions to those requirements, 

further complicate vehicle registration enforcement. There is no single set of 
circumstances that will always result in a person being classified as a resident. [16] For 
example, the database of new driver’s licenses issued in Arizona is often used to generate 
new leads and develop a mailing list of people who will receive a letter, informing them 
of the registration requirements. However, this process does not guarantee the finding of 
a violator simply because he or she has an Arizona driver’s license and no Arizona 
registration. Possession of an Arizona driver’s license does not imply that a person is a 
resident of Arizona, but may only circumstantially indicate that he or she had the intent to 
become a resident. In addition, it is quite plausible for a person to have a driver’s license 
and not have access to a vehicle, or to drive a vehicle that is properly registered by a 
family member or acquaintance, and therefore not be in violation of any regulations.  

 
C. CURRENT METHODS OF ENFORCEMENT 

 
The time required to sort through regulations, exceptions, exemptions and 

extenuating circumstances is far greater than is allocated to the enforcement division. 
With the current budget, the only option is to send a letter to the suspected violator and 
allow people to self enforce, or to convey the notion that those in violation will in fact be 
found and penalized. While this method does obtain some positive results, it certainly 
does not fully address the issue.  
 

One method that has proven successful is searching employee parking lots for 
vehicles registered in other states. Since only employees are supposed to park in these 
locations and employees are, with few exceptions, residents in the state, the employee 
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parking lots provide opportunities to identify violators. A team of ADOT employees, who 
are not certified to issue citations, goes out to these locations and leaves notices on the 
vehicles with out-of-state license plates. The notices inform vehicle owners of the ARS 
regulations pursuant to their vehicle and instruct them on how to go about registering the 
vehicle if they are residents of Arizona.  

 
The reason ADOT employees simply leave a notice rather than a citation is the 

issue of residency requirements. Officers cannot leave a citation without sufficient 
evidence to support their claim of a violation, and they cannot obtain this evidence on the 
spot in employee parking lots, as residency exceptions are not always visually apparent.  
For example, a student who attends one of the local postsecondary institutions and pays 
an out-of-state tuition rate is not subject to Arizona registration requirements if he or she 
has a permanent residence in another state, regardless of his or her employment status. 
Since this and other exceptions exist, it is not possible to issue a citation without 
significant resources invested in an investigation of the particular circumstances of each 
case. Despite these limitations, this campaign is largely successful because the people 
who receive the letters often comply with registration requirements. Below is a graphical 
illustration of the process that is currently employed.  
 

 
 

Figure 2.  Complaint Process Flow Chart 
 

Complaint of Out of State Registration (OOSR) Received 

Case Opened 

Determine Owner of Vehicle 

Query Database to Determine State of Owners License 

Letter Sent to Owner 

Local Address No Local Address 

Exempt No Response 

Begin Searching for Owner 

Qwest Phone Directory Compliance 

Investigation Public Schools 

Utilities (Warrants Needed)  
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D. DIFFICULTY OF ENFORCEMENT 
 
The current residency statute, ARS 28-2153 states that a person must reside 

outside of Arizona more than five months a year and not have their primary residence in 
Arizona to not be classified as an Arizona resident. [13] This makes proof of residence 
difficult because it is almost impossible to track the location of an individual and ensure 
that he or she is in fact spending less than seven months of the year living in Arizona.  

 
The longer the period in which visitors are allowed to reside in Arizona without 

being considered residents, the more difficult proving residency becomes.  Sergeant 
Travis LeGere of the ADOT MVD believes changing the required time spent in Arizona 
for residency from seven months to five months a year would make the enforcement 
easier. [15]  However, this raises concerns of potential conflicts with other states’ 
residency statutes.  To avoid these conflicts, the ideal time period to denote residency 
would be 183 days in a given year, meaning anybody residing in Arizona for six months 
or more would be classified as a resident. While this period would be ideal for winter 
visitors and those who reside in Arizona for short periods of time, it is not necessarily the 
ideal length of time for Arizona’s purposes.  Allowing visitors a period of 90 days before 
they are classified as a resident would leave sufficient time for vacationers as well as 
serve the interests of enforcement by making the task of proving residency significantly 
easier.  

 
The problem of proving residency is particularly troublesome in Sun City and 

other communities with large populations of winter visitors who may own a second 
residence in another state or country. The scope of this problem is quite real; upwards of 
27% of licensed drivers in Arizona are over the age of 55 and fall into the age profile of a 
winter visitor, according to the Federal Highway Administration. [17]  While it is 
acknowledged that not all of these individuals are not permanent residents, the 
significance of this percentage needs to be noted. This is where the tracking issue 
becomes the most difficult to follow. If a person were to leave Arizona in the early 
summer months and not return to their Arizona residence for 6 ½ months, it is impossible 
to prove that the individual is a legal resident without knowing the exact location of that 
individual on a daily basis. This type of tracking, while necessary to make a case for 
registration evasion, is not only impractical on an economic level, but also from a 
Constitutional standpoint.     
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Table 3.  Licensed Drivers in Arizona by Age and Sex 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
An additional complication to this issue is the seeming economic incentive for 

people to not comply with the registration statutes. The statutory penalties for 
noncompliance tend to be in favor of the violator and in some cases, purely in terms of 
out-of-pocket dollars, it is more economical to not register than to follow the law.  This 
can be illustrated using an example vehicle with a registration that expired in January of 
2001 and was driven for 12 months before the violation was addressed.  Rather than 
having to pay a back registration fee equal to the amount of the unpaid fees, the violator 
is instead fined $8 for the first month of noncompliance and $4 per month thereafter. [15] 
This results in a yearly cost of $52, which is less than 40% of the average registration 
cost and significantly cheaper than the registration of a more expensive vehicle. Were this 
penalty to be raised to a level above the registration cost, people would have more 
incentive to follow state registration requirements. Were retroactive fees to be charged 
for the period when the vehicle was not registered, in addition to the penalty fees, there 
would be an added incentive to follow the regulations. The fees would also provide an 
added source of revenue to the state.  
 

In Arizona, another issue hindering enforcement efforts is that police are not 
readily able to enforce the registration requirements. The officers are able to detect 
expired registration from Arizona and other locations, since the expiration of those 
registrations is visible on the documents a driver must present to the officer during a 
traffic stop. What the officer is not able to determine is whether the individual is 
registered in the correct locality. The only option the officer has during the stop is to ask 

Age Male Female
19 and under 81  72  
20-24 146  132  
25-29 170  153  
30-34 175  162  
35-39 191  186  
40-44 188  186  
45-49 169  170  
50-54 152  153  
55-59 119  121  
60-64 91  93  
65-69 80  79  
70-74 70  72  
75-79 56  61  
80-84 34  36  
85 and over 19  18  

1,741  1,693  

SOURCE:U.S. Department of Transportation, 
Federal Highway Administration, Highway 
Statistics 2000 , Washington, DC: 2001.

(numbers in thousands)
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questions of the individual. If the individual chooses to answer the questions in such a 
way as to mislead the officer into believing that he or she is correctly registered, there is 
no way for the officer to verify the answers. Thus, if the officer suspects that the 
individual may not be correctly registered, the officer’s only option is to turn in a new 
lead to the database, which, as noted above, contains over ten thousand entries pending 
investigation. Since the police officer is not able to verify any information on-site, it is 
rare for the officer to issue a citation. In such situations, the officer has an opportunity to 
enforce state registration requirements, but is not able to do so due to a lack of 
information available in the field.   
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IV. PROBLEM SIZE AND SCOPE 
 
A. REGISTRATION PROBLEM SEVERITY 
 

Problems occurring within the Arizona vehicle registration process include 
Arizona residents with out-of-state plates and urban residents evading the vehicle 
emissions inspection requirement by registering vehicles to addresses outside the non-
attainment region.  Existing literature regarding these issues is limited, due to the 
difficulty in quantifying the problems.  According to recent estimates, Arizona is losing 
up to $25 million annually in tax revenue due to residents registering their vehicles out-
of-state. [18]  Considering that Arizona collected $601.6 million in vehicle license tax 
revenue in fiscal year 2002, [19] this amounts to an approximate noncompliance rate of 
approximately four percent of residents.   
 

This problem is driven by a high number of people moving to Arizona, and has 
become a greater problem in recent decades as the state population continues to grow. 
Data from the 1990 and 2000 Federal Census shows that the population of Arizona 
increased 40% in the decade, from 3,665,228 in 1990 to 5,130,632 in 2000 (Appendix 
III). This growth far exceeds the national rate of 13% over the same period. Maricopa 
County, which accounts for roughly 60% of the total population of Arizona, has an even 
higher 10-year growth rate of 45% (Appendix IV). With a population increasing at these 
rates, there are more opportunities for noncompliance with vehicle registration laws by 
new residents. 

 

 
Figure 3.  Arizona Population Growth 

 
In addition to this high total growth rate, Arizona also has a net migration rate of 

45 per every 1,000. [20]  This net migration rate is amongst the highest in the country and 
indicates that people not only move to Arizona in large numbers, but they also, along 
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with the State’s current residents, tend to stay.  For comparison, California has a net 
migration rate of 1.5 per 1,000. [20]  This means that in California, for every 10,000 
residents at the beginning of a year, there will be 10,015 residents at the end of the year; 
while for every 10,000 Arizona residents at the beginning, there will be 10,450 at the end 
of the year. 
 

Table 4.  Migration Rates 
  

Total Migration 
California 1990 – 1996 50,000 
Arizona 1990 – 1996 200,000 

Per Capita Migration Rates 
California 0.001571545 
Arizona 0.04547594 
AZ rate as % of CA rate 2894% 
AZ / CA Multiplier 28.94 

 
The above table compares the migration rates of Arizona and California.  

Arizona’s migration rate is almost 29 times California’s on a per capita basis.  The per 
capita number is important because of the clear illustration it provides of the magnitude 
of issues faced by Arizona due to new residents. 

 
If Arizona did not have a problem with registration of new vehicles in the State, it 

would be expected that registration numbers would increase proportionately with 
population levels. This is not the case however. The growth rate of vehicle registration is 
8% slower than the population growth rate (Appendix V).  This, despite the fact that the 
number of vehicles per household remains constant at an average of 1.67 per household 
in the state. [21]   
 

The logical inference from the data above regarding population growth and 
registered vehicle growth is that new residents to the State are not following the 
provisions of the Arizona Revised Statutes related to lawful vehicle registration. Rather, 
many residents of the State are continuing to maintain registration of their vehicles in 
other states or not register at all. There are two main reasons for this action.  The first and 
more benign reason is new residents who move to Arizona are taking advantage of the 
period of time left before their existing registration in their home state expires. These 
residents simply wait until their existing registration is required to be renewed, and at that 
point register in Arizona and become compliant with Arizona regulations. These residents 
will typically be in violation less than a year, as they await the expiration of their current 
registration. The second type of violator is one who knowingly and fraudulently re-
registers his vehicle in another state despite residing in Arizona. This is done to reap the 
personal economic benefit of lower registration rates in other states. As previously noted, 
Arizona is among the most expensive states in the country for the cost of vehicle 
registration when the VLT is considered. This fact gives people a strong incentive to find 
alternates to Arizona registration. As an example, a resident of Arizona with a 2003 Ford 
Expedition with a retail value of $41,380 would pay a $704.93 registration fee in 
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Arizona, while the fee for the same vehicle in New Mexico or Nevada would be $46 or 
$33 respectively. Given this disparity, the incentive for noncompliance is substantial. 
 

Cydney Demodica, spokeswoman for the Arizona MVD, estimates the yearly cost 
of noncompliant vehicles in the state is around $25 million a year. [18] This estimate is 
in-line with bottom-up analysis based on U.S. Census data related to the State and MVD 
information on the number of vehicles registered each year. Back calculation of Ms. 
Demodica’s estimate of a yearly cost of $25 Million and an average state wide 
registration cost of $120-$150 per vehicle yields an estimate that between 3 and 4% of all 
Arizona vehicles are improperly registered at any given time. As shown in Table 5, this 
estimate is corroborated by MVD data and U.S. Census estimates.  
 

Table 5.  Noncompliance Rates 
 

4-Year Rate of  
Noncompliance 

# of Vehicles Lost Revenue 

Arizona (without Maricopa County) 1.24%*         44,100   $       5,953,532.16 
Maricopa County 3.15%*       112,424   $     15,177,177.58 
All Arizona 4.39%       156,524   $     21,130,709.74 
Weighted Average Growth 2.36%         75,873   $     10,242,912.48 
Mean Growth 2.19%         70,410   $       9,505,333.28 
Median Growth 2.19%         70,410   $       9,505,333.28 
MVD Estimate 3.50%       112,333   $     15,165,015.08 
Differential from MVD Estimate 1.38%         44,190   $       5,965,694.66 
 
* These numbers represent the component value added by the specified geographic region.  Compared to 
the Arizona population, 1.24% of all Arizona residents are currently violating registration statutes outside 
of Maricopa County, while 3.15% of all residents are currently violating statutes inside Maricopa County. 
 
 As illustrated in the above table, a significant majority of violators of Arizona 
registration laws reside within Maricopa County.  Nearly three out of every four 
registration violations in Arizona occur in Maricopa County.  This is to be expected as 
most of the recent population growth in the state has occurred in Maricopa County.   

 
The estimate of $25 million in lost revenue can be divided into the same two main 

groups along with the profile of violations. Based on census data, it is possible to 
extrapolate an approximate number of new violators in a given year. This calculation 
results in a one-year loss of $9.83 million from first-time violators with the remaining 
$15.16 million in lost revenue coming from recurring violators (Appendix V).  There is 
no accurate way to determine exactly what percentage of first time violators will continue 
to improperly register in the future since there is no way of obtaining hard numbers on 
how long the individuals responsible for the recurring lost revenue have done so. 
 

Estimates in California, the state with the consistently highest vehicle registration 
fees, range from $40 to $60 million in lost revenue a year due to registration violations. 
[22] While this number, even at $40 million, is certainly larger than Arizona’s estimated 
loss, it is not as significant given the much greater population of California and its 
proportional registration revenue. The reasoning behind this returns to the growth rates 
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and net migration rates mentioned above.  Since California has much lower net migration 
and growth, they also have a much lower incidence of noncompliance with registration 

statutes by new residents because they have far fewer new residents per capita.     
 

Figure 4.  Growth Rate Differentials (1990 to 2000) 

 
Figure 5.  Improper Registrations per 1000 Residents 

 
 

As displayed in the graphs above, Arizona is confronted with a much more 
pressing issue than is California.  The drastic number of improper registrations, along 
with a rapidly increasing population of individuals migrating to Arizona, presents a 
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situation in which violating registration laws is tempting and as a result Arizona is losing 
significant revenues. 

 
Analysis shows that the current MVD estimate of 3-4% of all vehicles being 

improperly registered in violation of Arizona law, resulting in a yearly loss of $25 million 
to the state, is accurate within a non-material statistical error threshold.  As the population 
of Arizona continues to grow, illegal registrations and non-registrations will become an 
increasingly pressing issue as the financial burden placed on compliant residents becomes 
greater each year.  While it is clear that enforcement efforts are necessary, taking the 
appropriate course of action requires careful deliberation.   
 
B. WHAT IS BEING DONE ELSEWHERE 
 

In order to find the best strategy for Arizona to combat the problem of vehicle 
registration violations, it is important to consider what is being done in other states.  The 
states surveyed for this section were Florida, Minnesota, California, and Utah.  Florida 
was selected for its similarities to Arizona in terms of the number of winter visitors and 
retirees, who are often difficult to track, in addition to high cost of registration.  
Minnesota, California, and Utah were selected based on their high registration costs.  

1) Florida 
 

In the case of the example Ford Expedition (Table 2), Florida is the fifth highest 
state for registration costs.  Despite this fact, Florida does not have a division for 
enforcing vehicle registration laws.  According to its Department of Highway Safety and 
Motor Vehicles, nothing is being done to proactively curtail illegal non-registrations.  
Since registration violations are considered a secondary offense, those failing to register 
legally in Florida are caught only if they are pulled over for another offense.  Florida does 
not maintain a tip line for citizens to report those who are not compliant, meaning law 
enforcement officers in Florida have few opportunities to catch those in violation of 
registration laws.  Although the State contacts could not offer an estimate of the revenue 
lost due to noncompliance, they stated their enforcement priorities were focused on more 
“serious” crimes. [23] 

2) Minnesota 
 

Unlike Florida, Minnesota has recognized the significance of noncompliance to 
its registration statutes.  According to Larry Ollila in the Department of Public Safety, 
Minnesota’s biggest problems come from Minnesota residents registering in Wisconsin, 
Iowa, North Dakota, or South Dakota, due to the lower registration costs in those states.  
Although Minnesota’s initial registration fee is high, the problem of illegal out-of-state 
registrations has diminished over the past few years because of a reduction in registration 
taxes and the efforts of the Minnesota Vehicle Crimes Task Force. [24]   
 

In 2000, Minnesota conducted a concentrated effort similar to what Arizona 
Enforcement Services is currently involved in.  The Minnesota Vehicle Crimes Task 
Force encouraged people to report violations and offered a phone number for the public 
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to report violators. According to Captain Dave Graham of the Task Force, an amnesty 
period was offered to encourage voluntary compliance.  Those in violation of the law 
were given a period in which they could register their vehicles in Minnesota without 
facing fines or punishment.  Although it was impossible for the State to quantify the 
additional revenue generated through voluntary compliance, the program was thought to 
be successful.  Minnesota could not offer any current estimates of noncompliance.  
However, Captain Graham did state that previous estimates indicated one to two percent 
of vehicles were registered fraudulently - a total of 50,000 vehicles worth about $6.8 
million in registration revenue. [25] 

3) California 
 

California Highway Patrol Sergeant Pete Camm reported that California suffers 
an annual revenue loss of $40 million to $60 million due to improperly registered 
passenger vehicles.  Much of this problem is attributed to the significantly lower 
registration costs in Nevada and Oregon, as well as winter visitors who do not follow 
regulations.  To combat this problem, officers are equipped with laptops that have the 
capability of running registration checks through either California or national registration 
systems.  These systems allow officers to check for residency of the vehicle owner, which 
is important when the vehicle is registered out of state or the registration tags are not 
current.  California is also conducting an experimental study with wireless laptops that 
would enable officers to have access to Internet databases in addition to the California 
and National registration systems.  This would further enable officers to check for 
residency when a suspected registration offender is stopped. [22] 
 

Another enforcement tactic employed by California is a program called the 
California Residents with Foreign Registrations Program.  This program seeks to find 
those with illegal out-of-state registrations and ensure compliance, utilizing a system 
similar to the Arizona tip-line.  Claims received through the program are investigated and 
turned over to the California Division of Motor Vehicles, which subsequently sends out 
demand letters to those in violation of registration laws. [22]  

4) Utah 
 

As shown in Table 1 and Table 2, Utah is the state with the fourth highest 
registration cost.  Although the total cost of registering a vehicle in Utah is less than it 
would be in Arizona, the value of the revenue to the state is significant enough that Utah 
imposes a $1,000 fine for failing to legally register.  Despite this, Utah does not have the 
infrastructure for fighting the problem.  According to the Utah Motor Vehicle 
Enforcement Division’s Investigations Department, a small number of reports come in 
from a tip line, enabling the Investigations Department to investigate and issue citations.  
Also, police officers have the authority to issue tickets, but only if they can get an 
admission of residency from the violator.  Due to this requirement, it is difficult for Utah 
to effectively enforce the law. [26]   
 

From discussions with representatives from these four states, it is clear that 
California and Minnesota have similar problems most similar to those of Arizona.  Like 
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Arizona, California has a significant financial interest in curtailing registration violations, 
with estimates of lost revenue ranging from $40 million to $60 million per year. The table 
below demonstrates the severity of the differential between lost revenue in Arizona 
compared to California and Minnesota.  

 
Table 6.  Revenue Lost Due to Noncompliance with Vehicle Registration Laws 

 
 Estimated Revenue 

lost per year 
Number of Residents 

(census 2001 estimate) 
Lost Revenue 
per Resident

Arizona $      25,000,000 5,307,331 $          4.71 
California low estimate $      40,000,000 34,501,130 $          1.16 
California high estimate $      60,000,000 34,501,130 $          1.74 
Minnesota $        6,800,000 4,972,294 $          1.37 

 
While this chart alone is enough to illustrate the severity of the problem in 

Arizona, it does not serve as an accurate representation of the total cost per resident of 
state registration violations, as additional costs such as enforcement and investigation 
expenses would have to be included.   
  

Despite the high value of lost revenue estimates in California, the proportional 
cost per resident is as much as four times higher in Arizona than in California and is more 
than three times higher than the cost per resident in Minnesota.  This is based on 
information obtained from estimates by the Arizona MVD, California Highway Patrol, 
and the Minnesota Department of Public Safety Vehicle Crimes Task Force.  With this 
information, even if Arizona’s estimate of lost revenue of $25 million were overstated by 
$15 million, Arizona would still have a higher lost revenue per resident than California 
would under their highest estimate, which has the second greatest loss per resident on the 
chart.  

 
During the time period that this report was written, California made changes to its 

vehicle registration practices resulting in large increases in the total cost to register a 
vehicle.  These were temporary changes, which are no longer an issue to this report as of 
January 28, 2004.  The increased Vehicle License Fee (VLF), which went into effect on 
October 1, 2003, was rescinded by California Governor Schwarzenegger by Executive 
Order S-1-03. [27]  All additional fees which were collected under the revised program 
will be refunded.  The current laws and practices regarding California are the same as is 
stated in this report at the time of publication. 
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V. CONCLUSION AND RECOMMENDATIONS 
 

The state of Arizona has a serious problem with vehicle registration compliance. 
Some residents of this State, new and longer term, go to great lengths to avoid registering 
their vehicle in the State. Only California shares a burden as large. However, California’s 
problem is much smaller in relation to the size of that State’s tax base. The reason that 
these two states stand alone in facing this problem of persistent, deliberate violation of 
registration statutes is because their vehicle registration fees are much higher than those 
of other states.  
 
 Forty-eight out of fifty states allocate a portion of every individual’s state income 
tax to fund their departments of transportation related projects. Arizona and California 
put this burden on those who use the services - the drivers. In fact, in Arizona 60% of the 
VLT is diverted to subsidize the general fund budget. This creates a significant incentive 
for vehicle owners to try to evade paying vehicle registration fees in these two states.  
 
 When an individual registers a vehicle in Arizona, he pays a vehicle license tax, 
or VLT.  This tax is essentially a personal property tax based on the estimated value of 
the vehicle calculated through a complex formula. In other states, an individual would 
essentially provide the same funding to government coffers through higher personal 
income taxes.  
 

This system presents three problems for the State of Arizona. First, it makes it 
possible for an individual to gain a material economic advantage by registering his 
vehicle in another state, thus avoiding both the VLT and the offsetting higher personal 
state income taxes which the state of registration charges. Secondly, the high cost of 
registration with the VLT included creates the perception that the State of Arizona is 
price gouging, since the connection to lower income taxes is not widely known to the 
public. This perception causes people to feel as though they are being cheated, which 
provokes them to avoid compliance with the statutes. Finally, because the VLT is 
dependent on the value of the vehicle in question, a complex equation is required to 
determine the amount of the tax. Individuals not in possession of specific knowledge of 
financial discount rates and their application do not easily understand the equation. This 
creates a situation in which the public is being assessed a tax that is in their personal 
economic best interest not to pay.  The tax is also significantly higher than what they 
perceive the costs should be, based on other registration experiences, and is unknown and 
confusing in its composition.  Oftentimes individuals faced with these circumstances will 
not immediately and voluntarily comply.  
 
 In order to promote better compliance with the registration statutes, the State of 
Arizona needs some tools that are currently unavailable to them. The first tool that would 
be required to actively locate violators is a method of positively identifying residents of 
the State through a records check or database query. An example of a possible query 
would be: locate Arizona residents who hold an out-of-state driver’s license. This simple 
statement, however, is incredibly difficult to validate given currently available 
information and legal privacy regulations. In order to answer this question, without the 
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voluntary participation of the individual, two things are needed.  First, Arizona would 
need a system that has access to every MVD system in the country and is continually 
updated.  This does not pose a problem and is already available.  
 

The second requirement is to determine the residency status of the individual. 
Herein is the problem: ARS 28-2001 states the definition of a resident of the State of 
Arizona. The statute states that a resident is a person who, regardless of domicile, 
remains in this state for an aggregate period of seven months or more during a calendar 
year. To apply this statute without the voluntary participation of the individual, the 
database would need to contain the location of that person on a daily basis for the 
previous 365 days.  If they did indeed spend greater than seven months within the State 
of Arizona, the person would be considered a resident.  For obvious reasons, most people 
would not be comfortable with anyone, government agency or not, having this type of 
detailed information about their daily whereabouts. The text of ARS 28-2001 contains 15 
other statements of residency and exceptions to residency that requires even more detail 
about the individual, their children, their employer, and domicile. Given this need and the 
fact that the burden of proof lays with the enforcing agency, there is no feasible way to 
maintain a proactive enforcement database.  

 
The inability to effectively locate those individuals who do not voluntarily 

comply with registration statutes is compounded by the fact that people have an 
economic incentive not to divulge residency information. By violating the registration 
laws and not paying the VLT, residents are able to reduce their total payment amount. 
This amount is significant to most individuals as the differential can reach hundreds of 
dollars in many circumstances, depending on the cost of the individual’s vehicle. In the 
case of the Ford Expedition example in Table 2, if the vehicle were registered in 
Mississippi, the state with the lowest registration costs, the difference in registration cost 
between Arizona and Mississippi would be $694.93.  This is enough of a difference to 
tempt people to violate a statute, especially when the perceived risk of being caught is 
low. Additionally, since the cost of registration increases with the cost of the vehicle, so 
does the incentive to violate the law. The result is that even individuals in higher income 
brackets are given a material incentive to not comply.  

 
In light of the difficulties faced by Arizona in proving residency, as well as the 

prohibitive cost of implementing a system such as the Baton Rouge Police Department’s 
$4.8 million in-car computer system, the State is left with relatively few options for 
effective enforcement of current registration laws.  Of the states with high registration 
fees, none provided enforcement practices superior to Arizona’s current practices, and 
those with low fees do not face this problem.  While the information obtained was useful, 
Arizona is in a unique situation and will need a unique solution for reducing the problem 
of registration violations.  Based on information gathered, the State has few plausible 
options for improving enforcement practices in the near future.   
 

First, the State could increase the current fines levied against noncompliant 
residents.  This would involve changing current statutes to allow for registration fees to 
be charged retroactively, as well as allowing punitive fines to be charged.  The benefits of 
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this option are significantly increased revenue to the State per citation, as well as an 
increase in voluntary registrations as noncompliant residents determine it is in their best 
interest to avoid a future citation.  The drawbacks include the more difficult task of 
proving the residency of owners of vehicles in question, the difficulty of enforcing the 
increased fine structure, and the expense of a system capable of providing field officers 
with the tools necessary to write citations on the spot.  
 

The second option to the State is to maintain the current practice of encouraging 
voluntary registration through warnings.  This method has been successful in Minnesota, 
and is proving successful in Arizona as well.  There are several benefits of this system. 
Once a suspected noncompliant vehicle is found, obtaining compliance is relatively easier 
due to low fines.  Additionally, the cost of the current practice is low because the main 
cost factor is labor, and labor is somewhat proportionate to the increased revenue the 
system brings in (Appendix II).  The major drawbacks include the fact that violators are 
still at an economic advantage by breaking current registration laws, and there is lower 
potential revenue to the State by neither charging registration fees retroactively nor 
charging a punitive fine.  
 

Another alternative available to the State would be a combination of the previous 
options.  An increase in the current fine structure, coupled with current enforcement 
efforts, could encourage violators to voluntarily register their vehicles upon issuance of a 
warning. This would be especially effective if an exemption to the fine is granted to those 
violators who identify themselves and comply voluntarily.  A more substantial fine could 
increase revenue to the State from the higher fines as well as encourage higher levels of 
voluntary compliance by violators who comply without a warning as residents see a 
lower economic incentive to avoid registration.  The fine increase could come in the form 
of a flat amount, such as an increase from $4 to $15 per month of violation, or it could 
come in the form of a percentage of the registration required.  The fine based on a 100%-
plus percentage of registration would discourage those with higher registration costs from 
violating the law, which is important since they are the same individuals who currently 
have the highest economic incentive for not legally registering their vehicles in Arizona. 
 
 Finally, Arizona could simplify enforcement by eliminating the current seven-
month residency requirement and replacing it with either a shorter time period or a 
primary residence standard.  The modification could classify anyone who own or rents a 
residence in Arizona, or who is registered to vote in Arizona, as an Arizona resident for 
vehicle registration purposes.  The primary residence standard would apply to everybody, 
with the exception of full-time university students, who are currently exempted from 
residency requirements if they are registered in the state of their permanent residence.  In 
order to keep the registration tax equitable, those who can prove their permanent 
residence is in another state could have the VLT component of their registration costs 
halved, in order to compensate for time out of Arizona as well as the possible necessity of 
dual registration.  Applying this change would improve the ease of enforcement and 
make the tax more equitable for those who live in Arizona part-time, as well as for those 
who are currently burdened with higher taxes because of the non-taxation of many part-
time residents.  Additionally, requiring proof of an out-of-state residence would act as a 
deterrent to those attempting to avoid paying the Arizona VLT. 
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As the enforcement division is currently moving through a period of rapid 
expansion, quantifying improvements or targeting optimal levels of enforcement is 
difficult.  From the 2003 Monthly Report (Appendix II), it is clear that increasing the 
number of enforcement officers has dramatically increased revenue collected.  Although 
this is an important metric, something of equal, if not greater, importance is simply 
obtaining compliance on the greatest number of vehicles.  The sooner Arizona residents 
who are currently in violation of registration statutes become compliant, the sooner the 
State begins receiving its authorized stream of registration payments from these residents.   

 
The perception of the low risk associated with noncompliance is further enhanced 

by the consequences of a violation if an individual is found to be guilty of violating 
registration statutes. In the previous example, the individual owning the Ford Expedition 
would evade $704.93 in annual registration costs in exchange for a $52.00 fine. This is 
roughly 7% of the actual annual registration cost. Obviously this is an extreme situation, 
but it is also representative of the systematic issues within the registration system. 
Optimal levels of compliance are not possible as long as there are cases where the weak 
punitive actions of the State increase the incentive to violate the law. Were a retroactive 
fee to be charged for the period during which the vehicle was not registered in addition to 
materially increased penalty fees, this would provide both an added incentive to follow 
the regulations as well as an added source of revenue to the State. One option that would 
ensure that the fee was aligned with the individual’s economic situation would be to 
adopt the Internal Revenue Service’s guideline and impose a fee of 20% of the amount 
not paid on top of the back taxes owed.  The table below demonstrates the revenue 
differential between revenue collected under the current system and revenue that would 
be collected under the proposed system for a registration that has been noncompliant for 
one year. 

 
Table 7.  Proposed Fine Structure 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
With the above penalties for violation in place, the next hurdle to overcome is the 

complexity of the calculation of registration fees and the VLT. On the MVD website, the 
explanation is given in paragraph form that lends itself to error. It would be much simpler 

MVD Estimate of Number of Noncompliant 
Vehicles 112,333
Lost Revenue $(15,165,015.08)
Estimate of Average Registration Cost 135.00$  
Back Registration for Previous Year 135.00$  
Registration Due for Current Year 135.00$  
Fine 27.00$  
Fees 52.00$  
Total Proposed Fine 349.00$  
Current Revenue per Noncompliant Vehicle 187.00$  
Revenue Increase per Vehicle 162.00$  
Increase in Yearly Revenue Assuming
10% Enforcement 1,819,801.81$  

Revenue Changes Under New Fine Structure
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for the public if they could access a calculator on the site to give them an estimate of the 
total cost. This would provide a full explanation of registration costs and explain how the 
VLT is used in place of income taxes that they may have paid in other states.  
Consultation with Andy Root, a local web developer, confirms that this would be 
technically plausible and actually rather simple programming. [28] The output could be 
itemized with an explanation of what each charge is and why it is being assessed. By 
building a greater understanding of what they are paying and why, the public will be 
more willing to register in Arizona. The input of basic information regarding the vehicle 
and the individual’s residence could produce an output such as the example displayed 
below, with “What is This?” links to more detailed explanations of the charges.  These 
links would serve to educate Arizona residents about the purpose of each component of 
their registration expenses. 

 
Registration Fee  $       8.00 What is This? 
Air Quality Compliance Fee  $       0.25 What is This? 
Air Quality Research Fee  $       1.50 What is This? 
Vehicle License Tax  $   420.00 What is This? 
Estimated Total Cost  $   429.75 What is This? 

 
Figure 6.  Proposed Output of Online Registration Fee Calculator 

 
Despite the relatively low number of citations issued, Motor Vehicle Enforcement 

Services has proven to be a cost-effective strategy for combating the vehicle registration 
problem.  Throughout the 2003 fiscal year, total actual expenditures for Enforcement 
Services were nearly $700,000 (Appendix II).  With that modest budget, Enforcement 
Services was able to recover approximately $2.83 from direct revenues per dollar spent.  
This figure does not include the additional revenues that will come from future 
registrations of the more than 12,000 legally registered vehicles that resulted from active 
enforcement efforts (Appendix II).  Using a low estimate of $120 for an average 
registration cost, the 12,281 registrations obtained through the efforts of Enforcement 
Services could yield an additional $1.4 million per year, indefinitely.   
 

A cost/benefit analysis of Enforcement Services is an unusual undertaking.  
Rather than a typical goal of maximizing the ratio, the State of Arizona benefits most by 
maximizing the benefit, since obtaining legal enforcement once will continue to generate 
revenue.  Ideally, Arizona would obtain enforcement on the entire $25 million in 
violations immediately, even at a cost equal to or even slightly greater than the benefit.  
The reason for maximizing benefit is simply that every violator can be viewed as an 
annuity, providing a continuous stream of payments.  For every day these payments are 
directed out of state, Arizona misses the chance to receive what it rightfully should.   
 

The optimal size of Enforcement Services in the long-run would be, at most, large 
enough to secure registration on the estimated $9.83 million revenue loss per year due to 
first-time violators.  Assuming changes in revenue from enforcement efforts will be 
proportional to changes in budget, the largest necessary budget for the long run would be 
$3.5 million, based on a previous budget of $689,899 and revenues of $1.952 million.  
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However, there are several reasons why the budget should not be that large in the long 
run.  First, as enforcement becomes more successful, potential violators will be 
discouraged from attempting to violate the law in the first place, thus reducing the need 
for future enforcement.  Second, certain costs that currently come out of the Enforcement 
Service budget, such as operation of the tip line, would not have to be increased 
proportionally in order to operate at the optimal level.  A larger budget could be focused 
on increasing revenue generating assets, including new officers and further training.  
Because Enforcement Services has been changing rapidly, and numerous officer hours 
have recently been spent in training, it is not possible to determine precisely how 
effective enforcement can be, based on its current budget.  Thus, it is not possible to 
determine the optimal number of enforcement officers at this time. 
 

Another consideration is whether Arizona has an interest in attempting to enforce 
the class of violators who do not register when first moving to Arizona, but do register 
once their previous state’s registration expires.  This group accounts for the majority of 
the $9.83 million of lost revenue to Arizona due to first-time violators, but is also the 
most difficult to enforce.  Focusing on this group is not likely to be cost-effective using 
current techniques.  Using four years as an assumed average length of time that recurring 
violators continue to violate, $3.96 million of the $9.83 million from first-time violators 
will carry over into recurring violations.  The $3.96 million figure is an estimate of the 
percentage each year of recurring violators contributes to the total expense of recurring 
violations, based on the assumed average length of recurring violations.  For a four-year 
average, the number represents one-fourth the cost of recurring violations.  In other 
words, of the $9.83 million lost due to first-time violators, $3.96 million of which comes 
from people who will continue to violate, and an estimated $5.87 million is lost each year 
by one-time violators.  It would be erroneous to assume the $5.87 million could be 
recovered, because Arizona’s residency law theoretically allows new residents to violate 
Arizona’s requirement of immediate registration for seven months, so long as the new 
residents state they do not plan to remain residents for the full seven months.  This results 
in a large proportion of the estimated $5.87 million lost being unrecoverable from this 
class of violator.  Further unrecoverable amounts would result from the difficulty of 
proving when a new resident became a resident.  Although there may be a future interest 
in curbing this type of violation, current efforts need to focus on recurring violations, 
which will ultimately provide Arizona with the most revenue.   

 
Based on these estimations and using current information, long-run revenue goals 

for Enforcement Services should be approximately $3.96 million from obtaining 
registration compliance.  The appropriate budget to achieve this goal can be determined 
once a proportional pattern of budget size to revenue becomes consistent.  However, it is 
important to consider that revenue cannot be measured directly in many cases, as the true 
measure of the effectiveness of Enforcement Services will come in a reduction of the size 
of the illegal registration problem. 
 

In the short term, Arizona has a strong interest in curbing the $15 million in 
recurring violations.  This is not a concern in the long run because recurring violations 
would be prevented with effective enforcement of first-time violations.  The problem 
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with enforcement of this group is that it is difficult to justify increasing the size of 
Enforcement Services to the optimal level, since once enforcement on this group is 
successful there will be no need for the expanded division.  Rather than temporarily 
increasing the size of Enforcement Services, the most realistic option will be for 
Enforcement Services to reach its optimal long-term revenue goal of $3.96 million from 
obtaining registration compliance.  This will present the image of effective enforcement 
to the public, which will encourage self-compliance.  Also, revenues of this size will have 
a significant impact on reducing the number of recurring violators each year.   
 

A large increase in the number of illegal registrations made compliant, along with 
the proposed fines, will enable Arizona to obtain optimal enforcement results.  Increased 
enforcement will demonstrate to current violators that they have a high likelihood of 
being caught.  This will supplement the proposed fine structure, which would make 
current violators want to avoid being caught, as opposed to the present system that 
financially rewards violators.  The result of this combination will encourage self-
compliance, which is the ideal result for the State.   
 

From the analysis of the current situation and the options available for increasing 
the registration compliance rates of residents of Arizona, it has been determined that the 
only plausible changes to the ADOT practices in use now are rather minor. There is no 
way to fully remove the economic incentive for violations without restructuring tax law 
to reduce the VLT and increase other taxes. However, such a change in the tax code 
would require a two-thirds majority of both houses of the State Legislature—a very 
daunting hurdle to overcome. There is no way to track individuals with the detail needed 
to enforce the laws in a statewide action without violating the privacy rights of every 
resident of the State. The only true options are to increase public awareness of the use 
and reasons for the VLT, to alter the structure of the fines imposed on violators to make a 
punitive statement, to modify residency laws, and to continue and increase the current 
practice of roving enforcement checks.  Other options are not cost-effective or are not 
possible in the short run, given the political and legal restrictions of the State.    
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APPENDIX I: Registration Grace Period by State 
 

 
 States vary in their allowable grace period for new residents to complete vehicle 
registration.  The chart below demonstrates the variation from state to state. 

Table 8.  Vehicle Registration Grace Period by State 
 

State Deadline / Grace Period State Deadline / Grace Period 
     

Alabama Within 30 days Montana Within 20 days 
Alaska Within 10 days Nebraska Within 30 days 
Arizona Immediately 0 Nevada Within 30 days 
Arkansas Within 30 days New Hampshire Within 60 days 
California Within 20 days New Jersey Within 60 days 
Colorado Within 30 days New Mexico Within 180 days 
Connecticut Within 60 days New York Within 30 days 
Delaware Within 60 days North Carolina Within 30 days 
Florida Within 10 days North Dakota Within 150 days 
Georgia Within 30 days Ohio Within 30 days 
Hawaii Within 30 days Oklahoma Within 30 days 
Idaho Within 90 days Oregon Within 30 days 
Illinois Within 30 days Pennsylvania Within 20 days 
Indiana Within 60 days Rhode Island Within 30 days 
Iowa Within 30 days South Carolina Within 45 days 
Kansas Within 90 days South Dakota Within 90 days 
Kentucky Within 30 days Tennessee Within 30 days 
Louisiana Within 30 days Texas Within 30 days 
Maine Within 30 days Utah Within 60 days 
Maryland Within 60 days Vermont Within 180 days 
Massachusetts Within 30 days Virginia Within 30 days 
Michigan Immediately 0 Washington Within 30 days 
Minnesota Within 30 days West Virginia Within 30 days 
Mississippi Within 60 days Wisconsin Within 2 days 
Missouri Within 30 days Wyoming Within 10 days 
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Table 9.  Breakdown of State Grace Periods for Motor Vehicle Registration 
 

Grace Period Number of States 
0 days 2 
2 days 1 

10 days 3 
20 days 3 
30 days 26 
45 days 1 
60 days 8 
90 days 3 

150 days 1 
180 days 2 
44 Days Average 
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APPENDIX II: Enforcement Monthly Report 
 
 

The monthly report demonstrates the increasing workload and successes of current 
enforcement efforts. 

Figure 7.  2003 Monthly Report 
 

(On following three pages) 
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APPENDIX III: Arizona Population Growth and General Demographics 

Table 10.  Arizona Population Growth 
 

Location 1990 Population 2000 
Population

10 Year Growth 
Rate

Average Yearly 
Rate

Slope

Total Arizona 3,665,228 5,130,632 39.98% 4.00% y = 1E+06x + 2E+06
Maricopa County 2,122,101 3,072,149 44.77% 4.48% y = 950048x + 1E+06
Other Counties 1,543,127 2,058,483 33.40% 3.34%

Maricopa As % Total 57.90% 59.88%
1990-2000 Delta 1,465,404

Arizona Population

 
 
A. Arizona General Demographics 
 

Table 11.  Year 2000 Arizona General Demographics 
 

 Number Percent
Subject  

 
Total population 5,130,632 100
SEX AND AGE  
Male 2,561,057 49.9
Female 2,569,575 50.1

 
Under 5 years 382,386 7.5
5 to 9 years 389,869 7.6
10 to 14 years 378,211 7.4
15 to 19 years 367,722 7.2
20 to 24 years 362,860 7.1
25 to 34 years 742,665 14.5
35 to 44 years 768,804 15
45 to 54 years 627,904 12.2
55 to 59 years 238,675 4.7
60 to 64 years 203,697 4
65 to 74 years 363,841 7.1
75 to 84 years 235,473 4.6
85 years and over 68,525 1.3

 
Median age (years) 34.2 (X)

 
18 years and over 3,763,685 73.4
Male 1,859,746 36.2
Female 1,903,939 37.1
21 years and over 3,536,279 68.9
62 years and over 787,520 15.3
65 years and over 667,839 13
Male 296,267 5.8
Female 371,572 7.2
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RELATIONSHIP  
Total population 5,130,632 100
In households 5,020,782 97.9
Householder 1,901,327 37.1
Spouse 986,303 19.2
Child 1,496,034 29.2
Own child under 18 years 1,197,438 23.3
Other relatives 319,414 6.2
Under 18 years 132,782 2.6
Nonrelatives 317,704 6.2
Unmarried partner 118,196 2.3
In group quarters 109,850 2.1
Institutionalized population 63,768 1.2
Noninstitutionalized population 46,082 0.9

 
HOUSEHOLDS BY TYPE  
Total households 1,901,327 100
Family households (families) 1,287,367 67.7
With own children under 18 years 608,218 32
Married-couple family 986,303 51.9
With own children under 18 years 428,878 22.6
Female householder, no husband present 210,781 11.1
With own children under 18 years 129,511 6.8
Nonfamily households 613,960 32.3
Householder living alone 472,006 24.8
Householder 65 years and over 162,822 8.6

 
Households with individuals under 18 years 673,926 35.4
Households with individuals 65 years and over 465,062 24.5

 
Average household size 2.64 (X)
Average family size 3.18 (X)

 
HOUSING OCCUPANCY  
Total housing units 2,189,189 100
Occupied housing units 1,901,327 86.9
Vacant housing units 287,862 13.1
For seasonal, recreational, or occasional use 141,965 6.5

 
Homeowner vacancy rate (percent) 2.1 (X)
Rental vacancy rate (percent) 9.2 (X)

 
HOUSING TENURE  
Occupied housing units 1,901,327 100
Owner-occupied housing units 1,293,556 68
Renter-occupied housing units 607,771 32

 
Average household size of owner-occupied unit 2.69 (X)
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Average household size of renter-occupied unit 2.53 (X)

 Number Percent
Subject  
(X) Not applicable  
1 Other Asian alone, or two or more Asian categories.  
2 Other Pacific Islander alone, or two or more Native Hawaiian and Other Pacific Islander categories. 

3 In combination with one or more other races listed. The six numbers may add to more than the total 
population and the six percentages may add to more than 100 percent because individuals may report 
more than one race. 

 
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Census 2000 Summary File 1, Matrices P1, P3, P4, P8, P9, P12, P13, P17, 
P18, P19, P20, P23, P27, P28, P33, PCT5, PCT8, PCT11, PCT15, H1, H3, H4, H5, H11, and H12. 

 
 

Table 12.  Year 1990 Arizona General Demographics 
 

Subject Number 
  

Total population 3,665,228 
  

SEX  
Male 1,810,691 
Female 1,854,537 

  
AGE  
Under 5 years 292,859 
5 to 17 years 688,260 
18 to 20 years 172,063 
21 to 24 years 220,617 
25 to 44 years 1,163,607 
45 to 54 years 349,516 
55 to 59 years 146,658 
60 to 64 years 152,874 
65 to 74 years 290,044 
75 to 84 years 151,013 
85 years and over 37,717 

  
Under 18 years 981,119 

  
65 years and over 478,774 

  
HOUSEHOLDS BY TYPE  
Total households 1,368,843 
Family households (families) 940,106 
Married-couple families 747,806 
Other family, male householder 49,980 
Other family, female householder 142,320 
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Nonfamily households 428,737 
Householder living alone 337,681 
Householder 65 years and over 119,287 

  
Persons living in households 3,584,545 
Persons per household 2.62 

  
Total housing units 1,659,430 

  
OCCUPANCY AND TENURE  
Occupied housing units 1,368,843 
Owner occupied 878,561 
Renter occupied 490,282 
Vacant housing units 290,587 
For seasonal, recreational, or occasional use 96,104 

  
Homeowner vacancy rate 3.6 
Rental vacancy rate 15.3 

  
Persons per owner-occupied unit 2.71 
Persons per renter-occupied unit 2.46 

  
Units with over 1 person per room 101,636 

  
(X) Not applicable  
Source: U.S. Bureau of the Census, 1990 Census of Population and Housing, Summary Tape File 
1 (100% Data) 
             Matrices P1, P3, P5, P6, P8, P11, P15, P16, P23, H1, H2, H3, H5, H8, H10, H18A, H21, 
H23, H23B, H32, H32B, H41. 
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APPENDIX IV: Maricopa County General Demographics 
 
 

Table 13.  Year 2000 Maricopa County General Demographics 
 

 Number Percent
Subject  

 
Total population 3,072,149 100
SEX AND AGE  
Male 1,536,473 50
Female 1,535,676 50

 
Under 5 years 241,974 7.9
5 to 9 years 238,222 7.8
10 to 14 years 222,056 7.2
15 to 19 years 214,672 7
20 to 24 years 224,444 7.3
25 to 34 years 488,329 15.9
35 to 44 years 475,907 15.5
45 to 54 years 366,464 11.9
55 to 59 years 133,812 4.4
60 to 64 years 107,290 3.5
65 to 74 years 188,816 6.1
75 to 84 years 130,036 4.2
85 years and over 40,127 1.3

 
Median age (years) 33 (X)

 
18 years and over 2,244,146 73
Male 1,111,401 36.2
Female 1,132,745 36.9
21 years and over 2,110,157 68.7
62 years and over 421,289 13.7
65 years and over 358,979 11.7
Male 154,462 5
Female 204,517 6.7

 
HOUSING OCCUPANCY  
Total housing units 1,250,231 100
Occupied housing units 1,132,886 90.6
Vacant housing units 117,345 9.4
For seasonal, recreational, or occasional use 49,584 4

 
Homeowner vacancy rate (percent) 1.8 (X)
Rental vacancy rate (percent) 8.7 (X)

 
HOUSING TENURE  
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Occupied housing units 1,132,886 100
Owner-occupied housing units 764,547 67.5
Renter-occupied housing units 368,339 32.5

 
Average household size of owner-occupied unit 2.74 (X)
Average household size of renter-occupied unit 2.54 (X)
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Census 2000 Summary File 1, Matrices P1, P3, P4, P8, P9, P12, P13, P17, P18, 
P19, P20, P23, P27, P28, P33, PCT5, PCT8, PCT11, PCT15, H1, H3, H4, H5, H11, and H12. 

 
 

Table 14.  Year 1990 Maricopa County General Demographics 
 
 
Subject Number

Total population 2,122,101

SEX 
Male 1,045,778
Female 1,076,323

AGE 
Under 5 years 170,182
5 to 17 years 385,609
18 to 20 years 96,004
21 to 24 years 130,982
25 to 44 years 707,846
45 to 54 years 203,880
55 to 59 years 80,724
60 to 64 years 81,617
65 to 74 years 156,627
75 to 84 years 86,482
85 years and over 22,148

Under 18 years 555,791
65 years and over 265,257

OCCUPANCY AND TENURE 
Occupied housing units 807,560
Owner occupied 511,242
Renter occupied 296,318
Vacant housing units 144,481
For seasonal, recreational, or occasional use 38,486
Homeowner vacancy rate 3.8
Rental vacancy rate 16.8
 
Source: U.S. Bureau of the Census, 1990 Census of 
Population and Housing, Summary Tape File 1 (100% Data)

 Matrices P1, P3, P5, P6, P8, P11, P15, P16, P23, H1, H2, H3, H5, H8, H10, H18A, H21, H23, H23B, H32, H32B, H41.
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APPENDIX V: Arizona Summary 
 

 
Figure 8.   Arizona Population to Vehicle Registration Growth Rates 

 
 

Table 15.  Arizona Population and Vehicle Registration Growth Rates 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Location 1990 Population 2000 
Population

10 Year Growth Rate Average Yearly 
Rate

Slope

Total Arizona 3,665,228 5,130,632 39.98% 4.00% y = 1E+06x + 2E+06
Maricopa County 2,122,101 3,072,149 44.77% 4.48% y = 950048x + 1E+06
Other Counties 1,543,127 2,058,483 33.40% 3.34%

Maricopa As % Total 57.90% 59.88%
1990-2000 Delta 1,465,404

FY 1998 % Change FY 1999 % Change FY 2000 % Change
Public Use Vehicles 3209527 5% 3367456 6% 3567449 3%

FY 2001 % Change FY 2002 % Change
Public Use Vehicles 3686916 0.55% 3707116 2.37%
Average Yearly Change 3.69% Slope y = 131464x + 3E+06

Arizona Population

Vehicle Registrations
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APPENDIX VI: CALIFORNIA SUMMARY OF DATA 
 
 

Table 16.  California Summary of Data 
 

  
California Population   

Total population (2000) 33,871,648  
Total population (1990) 29,760,021  
Delta 4,679,687  
10 Year Growth Rate 13.82%  
1 Year Growth Rate 1.38%  

  
  

Az  Population Growth Rate 3.998%  
Ca Population Growth Rate 1.382%  
Delta 289.38% Arizona’s growth rate is 3 time greater than 

California’s 
  

Az Pop Delta 1,465,404  
As % of Ca 31.31% Arizona had 31% of the growth of California  

 with only 10% of the population 
Az Pop as % of Ca 1990 12.32%  
Az Pop as % of Ca 2000 15.15%  

  
2000 Arizona Population 5,130,632  
1990 Arizona Population 3,665,228  

  
Migration Rates   

California 1990-96 50,000  
Arizona 1990-96 200,000  
Per Capita  Migration Rates  Rate per thousand  

Ca 0.001571545 1.572   
Az 0.04547594 45.476   
Az Rate a % of Ca Rate 2894%  
Az Ca Multiplier                         28.94 Arizona’s net migration rate is 29 times larger than 

California’s 
  

Number of Improperly Registered Vehicles Per 1000 People  

California                             10  
Arizona                             36  

 




