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Executive summary 
 

The Insurance Research Council (IRC), an industry research group, estimated Arizona’s 
uninsured motorist (UM) rate at an average 16% for the years 1995 to 1997. The Arizona 
Department of Transportation (ADOT) puts the number today at half that figure. 
 
Depending on the number used, the economic costs of motor vehicle accidents involving 
uninsured motorists in Arizona in 2002 were an estimated $240.45 million to $480.89 
million. 
 
Of equal concern, motorists with minimum motor vehicle liability insurance create, on 
average, an estimated $37,100 in economic costs for each person they injure who is 
incapacitated, plus an estimated $2,200 for each person they injure who is not 
incapacitated – after policy limits have been exhausted. 
 
 

In fact, if every Arizona 
driver were insured, but had 
just $15,000 per person 
bodily injury liability limits, 
injured accident victims 
would have a one in 10 
chance that over 70% of the 
economic costs of their 
injuries would not be 
covered by insurance.1 
 
According to a 1994 study 
by the National Highway 
Traffic Safety 
Administration (NHTSA), 

an estimated 40.1% of the total economic costs of motor vehicle accidents in Arizona are 
passed on to the public and the state.2  Uninsured and underinsured motorists are major 
contributors to those costs. 
 
This report examines what states have done and what different interest groups have put 
forth to ensure the availability of compensation to accident victims. 
 

                                                 
1 Breakdown of injured persons was calculated from ADOT data. 
2 “The Economic Cost of Motor Vehicle Crashes, 1994,” Blincoe, Lawrence J.; National Highway Traffic 
Safety Administration, U.S. Dept. of Transportation 
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KEY FINDINGS 
 
♦ A study published in the Journal of Insurance Regulation found that compulsory 

insurance laws with higher minimum liability limits, higher fines and requirements 
that insurers notify states when policyholders cancel coverage are associated with 
lower uninsured motorist rates.  Several other studies have found that as the cost of 
insurance goes up, so does the uninsured motorist rate.  Figure 2 below shows the 
average uninsured motorist percentage as estimated by the IRC at different minimum 
bodily injury liability limits (i.e., $10,000/20,000, $15,000/30,000, etc.). 

 
 

Figure 2.  Average Uninsured Motorist Rate By Coverage Level  
 

♦ The number of uninsured motorists has little effect on insurance rates.  Even cutting 
the uninsured motorist rate in half – a significant accomplishment – would reduce 
overall premiums less than 10%. 

 
♦ Arizona’s average cost for private passenger automobile (PPA) liability insurance in 

2000 was the 14th highest in the nation, yet its PPA loss ratio was much lower than 
the national average – making the state relatively more profitable for insurers.  In 
2000, Arizona’s PPA liability loss ratio was 67.52%.  The national average was. 
75.2%. 

 
♦ According to the Insurance Information Institute (III), an industry research group, 

property damage payments in general account for 50% of premium dollars, with 
property damage liability payments (i.e., damage to property owned by others caused 
by the policy holder) accounting for 19%.  Insurers’ largest expense is commissions 
and other selling costs, at 16%.  Other select costs are: 

 
Claimants’ lawyers fees:  6.7% 
Insurers’ lawyers fees:  6.3% 
Payments for economic damages:  12% 
Payments for non-economic damages:  6% 

 
♦ Number estimates of uninsured motorists are unreliable.  The most reliable method, 

database matching of insurance with registration records, is not widely used. 
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♦ Of the many variables examined for this report, those that correlated with the IRC 

uninsured motorist rate are listed in Table 1 below in rank order from strongest to 
weakest.  A plus (+) sign indicates that the two rise and fall together.  A minus (–) 
sign indicates that an increase in one is accompanied by a decrease in the other (-).  
Significance is the level of statistical significance of the relationship.  (For Statistical 
Package for the Social Sciences (SPSS) output, see Output 1, Appendix.) 

 
Table 1.  Correlation With IRC % Uninsured Motorist ’95-’97 Average 

 

Rank Variable Relationship Significance

1 Uninsured Motorist Offer Language Specified - 99% 

2 2000 Census % of Population Minority + 99% 

3 Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Offer Language Specified - 95% 

4 Reinstate Registration Charge + 95% 

5 Reinstate License Charge + 95% 

6 Insurance Information Institute Per Person Minimum 
Insurance Information Institute Per Accident Minimum 

- 
- 

99% 
99% 

7 Insurance Information Institute 2000 Voluntary Insured Private 
Passenger Automobile 

+ 99% 

8 2001 Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS) registered private 
truck 

+ 99% 

9 2001 BTS registered private auto + 95% 

11 Insurance Information Institute Property Minimum - 95% 

12 Insurance Information Institute UM Compulsory - 95% 

13 2000 Census % of Population Urban + 95% 

 
♦ Uninsured motorists are more likely to be young men, Hispanic or African American, 

with more vehicles but less education, income or stability than insured motorists.  
They are also more likely than not to own at least one insured vehicle. 

 
♦ At least one study found potential insurer discrimination against low-income and 

minority motorists.  Motorists living in mostly minority zip codes were two to three 
times more likely to have been denied coverage and wind up in the nonstandard or 
involuntary markets than motorists living in mostly nonminority zip codes, even after 
controlling for income, and even though minority drivers were no more likely to have 
been in motor vehicle accidents than nonminority drivers. 

 
♦ Both legal and illegal immigrants may be unable to buy insurance if they are unable 

to obtain a driver’s license.  Some states accept identification other than a Social 
Security Number, such as a tax ID number issued by the IRS.  States also issue 
driver’s licenses that identify the holder as a noncitizen.  Noncitizen driver’s licenses 
have been politically contentious in California, which has a large immigrant 
population and a vocal anti-immigration movement.   
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♦ Low-income residents are most affected by uninsured motorists because they are less 
likely to have collision coverage or uninsured motorist coverage; or disability, health 
or life insurance. 

 
♦ Requirements to provide proof of insurance at registration can easily be thwarted by 

buying insurance, registering, then canceling insurance.  Insurance verification 
databases, however, have cut short the time that motorists can get away with this.  
Properly designed and executed, database systems are overwhelmingly superior to 
other methods of catching uninsured motorists.  (See Figure 3 below.) 

 
 
♦ Some penalties prevent or deter 

uninsured motorists from 
becoming insured, such as 
insurer surcharges – which can 
be as high as 30%.  Insurers may 
also decline coverage to those 
previously uninsured.  Some 
states have banned these 
practices. 

Figure 3.  Percent of Uninsured Motorist 
Notices Issued By Method, Virginia 2002 
 
KEY RECOMMENDATIONS 
 
Increase motor vehicle liability insurance requirements in one or more of the following 
ways: 
 
♦ Raise per person and per accident minimum insurance requirements 
♦ Double per person minimum insurance requirements 
♦ Make uninsured motorist coverage compulsory 
♦ Make underinsured motorist coverage compulsory 
 
Work to improve the insurance verification database: 
 
♦ Include data needed for matching, such as driver’s license, named insureds, title and 

commercial motor carrier Vehicle Identification Number (VIN). 
♦ Provide prior violation information to law enforcement agencies and courts. 
♦ Notify owners who do not reregister their vehicles that they are responsible for 

registration and late fees until they turn in plates, transfer title, or provide proof the 
vehicle is registered in another state. 

 
Remove obstacles to becoming insured: 
 
♦ Prohibit insurers from declining coverage or imposing surcharges on previously 

uninsured motorists.  

Database
99.0%
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uninsured 
accident

0.4%

Citizen 
information/police 
accident reports

0.2%

Other
1.0%

Law enforcement 
notification
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Introduction 
 
BACKGROUND 
 
This report was prepared for the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT), to 
explore options for dealing with the problems of uninsured and underinsured motorists. 
 
Reducing the numbers of uninsured and underinsured motorists would shift costs: 
 
♦ From the state and the public to insurers 
♦ From health insurers to motor vehicle liability insurers 
♦ From victims to at-fault drivers 
 
It would also increase coverage available to victims of motor vehicle accidents. 
 
All of these outcomes are considered desirable. 
 
An additional, and potentially competing, goal is to have motor vehicle liability insurance 
be as inexpensive as possible.  Although maybe not a position insurers would support, 
this would be a desirable outcome for the public and the state. 
 
SCOPE 
 
Funding for this research project was $15,000.  Reviews of academic, government and 
industry literature as well as Arizona statutes and regulations were conducted.  Three 
email surveys were developed:  two to state motor vehicle departments and one to state 
departments of insurance.  Final deliverables are this report and a separate PowerPoint 
presentation.   
 
METHODOLOGY 
 
The Project Manager was John Semmens of the ADOT Arizona Transportation Research 
Center (ATRC).  The Project Researcher was Lisa Markkula of Marketing Intelligence, 
LLC. 
 
Literature review included academic journals, business association and company 
websites, government reports, industry publications, newspapers and publicly available 
data.  Principal sources of secondary data include the Arizona Department of 
Transportation, the Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS), the Insurance Information 
Institute (III), the Insurance Research Council (IRC), the National Highway 
Transportation Safety Administration (NHTSA) and the United States Census.  A 
bibliography is attached. 
 
Literature searches used the United States Department of Transportation’s TRIS Online, 
the Library of Congress’ Thomas system, the University of Arizona’s Sabio information 
gateway, Lexis-Nexis (a law related database), JSTOR (an electronic journals database), 
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JAKE (a database index of other databases), Google, EBSCO (the Elton B. Stephens 
Company general journals database), ABI/Inform (an academic and business publications 
database), and other sources/search engines.  Legal searches used Arizona’s ALIS Online 
and the University of Arizona’s law library. 
 
From issues raised in the literature review, survey questions were developed and 
submitted for approval prior to distribution via email. The survey was distributed to 
various state agencies. 
 
Survey results were analyzed alongside secondary data using descriptive statistics, 
frequencies, nonparametric testing methods and simple and multiple regression.  
Quantitative analysis had three goals: 
 

♦ Provide a picture of what states are doing and have done. 
♦ Look for variables that move with or counter to the uninsured motorist rate and for 

relationships between them. 
♦ Look for variables that move with or counter to liability expenditures and for 

relationships between them. 
 
OVERVIEW 
 
This report has seven sections: 
 
♦ Executive Summary 
♦ Introduction 
♦ Legal Review 
♦ Literature Review 
♦ Quantitative Analysis 
♦ Conclusions and Recommendations 
♦ Appendix 
 
The literature review section contains the most in-depth discussions of issues, including: 
 
♦ Compulsory insurance 
♦ Uninsured motorists’ cost to the state 
♦ Characteristics of uninsured motorists 
♦ Estimating the number of uninsured 
♦ Immigration issues 
♦ Factors affecting compliance with compulsory insurance laws 
♦ Factors affecting the cost of motor vehicle liability insurance 
♦ No-fault and choice vs. the tort system 
♦ Equity issues 
♦ Penalties 
♦ Enforcement 
♦ New technologies for use in enforcement 
♦ Database tracking of insurance status for use in enforcement 
♦ Alternative funding mechanisms 
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The conclusions and recommendations section makes suggestions for consideration and 
briefly discusses their costs and benefits. 
 
The Appendix contains statistical output from Statistical Package for the Social Sciences 
(SPSS), a statistical software package, and other attachments too detailed to include in 
the body of the report. 
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Legal Review 
 
MOTOR VEHICLE INSURANCE IN ARIZONA 
 
In Arizona, drivers are financially responsible for accidents they cause.  Motor vehicle 
liability insurance protects against this risk. 
 
With few exceptions, state law requires owners of vehicles operated on Arizona 
highways to maintain liability insurance or deposit $40,000 with the Arizona Treasurer.  
To meet the requirements, a motor vehicle liability policy must provide coverage in the 
following amounts: 
 
♦ $15,000 for bodily injury or death of one person 
♦ $30,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more people (per accident). 
♦ $10,000 for property damage 
 
The remainder of this report will use the term "15/30/10" to refer to these coverage 
amounts.  This report will describe other liability coverage rates in a similar fashion, e.g., 
"X/Y/Z" (or in some cases, simply "X/Y" to refer to the first two liability categories). 
 
In policies with higher limits, only the first 15/30/10 is the “motor vehicle liability 
policy”; the rest is additional or excess coverage. 
 
Commercial motor carriers are required to maintain higher motor vehicle liability limits, 
which vary according to weight, passenger capacity, and cargo. 
 
Failure to comply with financial responsibility requirements exposes offenders to civil 
penalties.   
 
Liability insurance protects the public.  Other coverage protects the insured.  Uninsured 
motorist coverage (UM) applies when an at-fault uninsured motorist injures occupants of 
a vehicle with uninsured motorist coverage.  If the at-fault driver is insured, but coverage 
is insufficient to compensate for damages, then underinsured motorist coverage (UIM) 
applies. 
 
In accidents where more than one policy provides coverage, the policy that covers the 
vehicle is considered primary and policies that cover the driver or passengers are 
secondary or excess.  Primary coverage must pay its limits before secondary coverage 
can apply.  uninsured motorist coverage is a primary coverage, but underinsured motorist 
coverage is a secondary coverage.  In fact, underinsured motorist coverage pays only 
after all other available coverage – secondary as well as primary – has been exhausted.  
uninsured motorist and underinsured motorist coverage in the same policy cannot be 
“stacked.”  One or the other may apply, but not both. 
 
Liability insurance, uninsured motorist coverage and underinsured motorist coverage are 
all based on fault.  They pay nothing to those 100% responsible for causing an accident.  
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No-fault insurance is not available in Arizona, but some types of coverage do provide 
compensation regardless of who caused the accident.  Medical payments coverage (“med 
pay”) pays medical bills for covered persons.  Collision and comprehensive coverages 
pay repair or replacement costs for covered vehicles. 
  
UNINSURED AND UNDERINSURED MOTORISTS 
 
 An uninsured motorist is a legal construct determined by statute, policy language, and 
case law.  It varies state to state and even policy to policy.  Because people don’t always 
drive or ride in their own vehicles, motor vehicle liability insurance, uninsured motorist 
and underinsured motorist coverage can follow the insured, the vehicle or both.  Drivers 
of uninsured vehicles may be insured under their own policies.  Passengers in uninsured 
vehicles may be insured under the driver’s policy or under their own policies. 
 
Denial of coverage or insurer insolvency creates uninsured motorists.  Another culprit is 
the hit-and-run driver.  If an at-fault driver or vehicle cannot be identified, an uninsured 
motorist is considered to have caused the accident – although both driver and vehicle may 
have been insured. 
 
Thus, uninsured motorists include: 
 
♦ People without insurance driving vehicles that are not insured. 
♦ People with insurance driving vehicles they own that are not insured. 
♦ People driving vehicles where the person and/or the vehicle is insured, but coverage 

is denied. 
♦ People driving vehicles where the person and/or the vehicle is insured, but the insurer 

is insolvent. 
♦ People who cause an accident and whose identities are unknown, regardless of 

whether they or the vehicle are insured (hit-and-run drivers). 
 
If state law determines who is uninsured, then settlement or award determines who is 
underinsured.  Accident victims forego the right to recover underinsured motorist claims 
if they settle for less than policy limits with a negligent party.  At that point, no matter 
how severe their injuries, they are no longer underinsured under the terms of the policy. 
 
From a public policy standpoint, however, underinsured motorists include people with 
insurance insufficient to: 
 
♦ Protect their assets. 
♦ Compensate others for property damage, bodily injury, or death for which they are at 

fault. 
♦ Compensate themselves, their passengers, or their heirs for property damage, bodily 

injury or death for which others are at fault. 
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REGULATORY AND ENFORCEMENT AGENCIES 
 
In Arizona, the following agencies and entities are involved in ensuring that financial 
responsibility requirements are met: 
♦ Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT). 
♦ Motor Vehicle Division (MVD, a division of ADOT). 
♦ Arizona Department of Insurance (ADOI). 
♦ Insurers. 
♦ Law enforcement agencies. 
♦ Courts. 
 
MVD requires proof of insurance at vehicle registration and denies registration unless 
proof is presented.  It also maintains a database of registration and insurance information 
and issues enforcement letters to registered owners of vehicles suspected of being 
uninsured, notifying them that their registrations and drivers’ licenses will be suspended 
if proof of insurance is not provided within 15 days.  If proof is not provided, MVD must 
suspend registration and plates, which cannot be reinstated until proof is presented. 
 
Insurers are required to report to MVD within seven days of any changes to customers’ 
insurance policies. This includes cancellation, new issue, nonrenewal or vehicle 
additions.  ADOI enforces compliance with this requirement.  After a hearing, it must 
fine insurers a maximum of $250 per day per violation and may suspend their 
authorization to do business in Arizona unless failure to comply was accidental or 
inadvertent. 
 
ADOI also authorizes insurers to do business in Arizona, licenses insurance agents, 
performs financial examinations of insurers, reviews insurer product and rate 
applications, and surveys market conduct.  It has investigative, enforcement, and 
regulatory powers.  In addition to imposing fines, it can accept or reject applications for 
new products and rates, as well as deny, revoke or suspend an insurer’s authorization to 
do business in Arizona or an insurance agent’s license. 
 
Law enforcement officers are required to check MVD’s database for insurance and 
registration information and ask for proof of insurance at accident and violation 
investigations.  Unless proof is presented, they must issue citations if the database does 
not show insurance or registration. 
 
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS 
 
Enforcement is governed by statute and regulation.  Unfortunately, there are 
inconsistencies between the two.  Inconsistent regulations are listed in the Conclusions 
and Recommendations section and described in the Appendix. 
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Literature Review 
 
COMPULSORY INSURANCE LAWS 
 
Liability insurance is compulsory in 47 states and the District of Columbia.  In addition, 
18 states require uninsured motorist coverage.  Twelve states, including Arizona, have 
minimum liability limits less than or equal to $15,000 per person, $30,000 per accident.  
Figure 4 below shows the percent of states at different minimum per person liability 
limits. 3 

 
Figure 4.  Minimum Per Person Liability Limits 

 
Table 2 below shows the actual breakdown by state.   
 

Table 2.  Minimum Per Person Liability Limits By State 
 
$10,000 $12,500 $15,000 $20,000 $25,000 $30,000 $50,000 

FL, LA, 
MS, OK 

OH AZ, CA, 
DE, NJ*, 
NV, PA, 
SC* 

AK, AL, CT*, 
HI, IA, IL*, 
MA*, MD*, 
MI, TX, WV 

AR, CO, GA, ID, IN, 
KS*, KY, MO*, MT, 
ND*, NE, NH*, NM, 
NY*, OR*, RI*, SD*, TN, 
UT, VA*, VT* 

MN*, 
NC 

ME* 

An asterisk (*) indicates states that require uninsured motorist coverage. 
 
Included in both Figure 4 and Table 2 are the three states without compulsory insurance 
laws:  New Hampshire, Tennessee, and Wisconsin.  Although these states do not require 
insurance, they do require that motorists be able to pay minimum liability limits in the 
event of an accident. 
                                                 
3 Source:  Insurance Information Institute; March 2003 

$0

$10,000

$20,000

$30,000

$40,000

$50,000

$60,000
 

10% 
14% 

22%

48%

6% 



 

  12 
 

 
COSTS TO THE STATE OF UNINSURED AND UNDERINSURED MOTORISTS 
 
Motor vehicle liability insurance protects the public from the economic consequences of 
motor vehicle accidents.  To the extent that it is sufficient to compensate victims, it 
protects policyholders from losing their assets to the people they have harmed.  Without 
insurance, or without enough insurance, substantial costs are passed along to the public 
and the state. 
 
Total costs of motor vehicle accidents are very difficult to estimate, particularly non-
economic costs, which may be the most devastating for victims and their families.  For 
seriously injured victims, the sudden loss of function and independence and the family’s 
new role as caretaker both create considerable stress.  Alcoholism, depression, divorce, 
dropping out of school, drug dependence, and suicide all can result from the emotional 
consequences of a life-changing injury. 
 
Injuries need not be life-threatening to be life changing.  Disfigurement may not have 
serious medical consequences; yet have serious emotional and psychological 
consequences.  Chronic pain can limit activities for years.  Although pain and suffering 
are called non-economic costs, their effects can and do create economic costs for society.  
Policy makers should keep in mind that economic costs are not total costs.  Both tangible 
and intangible costs should be considered when making policy. 
 
Economic costs alone are significant.  The National Highway Traffic Safety 
Administration of the United States Department of Transportation estimated that, in 
1994, economic costs of motor vehicle accidents in Arizona were $2.5 billion, for a per 
capita cost of $623, the 12th highest in the nation.  Of that, the report estimates that 40% 
of the cost was borne by the public; 46% by insurers; and 14% by other sources.4  Forty 
percent would mean a $1 billion or $250 per capita burden on the public and the state.5 
 
The Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) estimates that, in 2002, economic 
costs of motor vehicle accidents in Arizona were $3 billion (rounding), for a per capita 
cost of $549.6  If costs were distributed as in the 1994, NHTSA analysis, this would mean 
a $1.2 billion or $220 per capita burden on the public and the state. 
 
According to the Insurance Research Council, from 1995 to 1997, Arizona’s estimated 
average uninsured motorist rate was 16%.  This estimate (the IRC uninsured motorist 
rate) has been used throughout this report to enable comparative analysis with other 
states.  Problems in estimating the uninsured motorist rate are described later. 
 

                                                 
4 Other sources include “costs absorbed by health care providers or charities.” 
5 “The Economic Cost of Motor Vehicle Crashes, 1994,” Blincoe, Lawrence J.; National Highway Traffic 
Safety Administration, U.S. Dept. of Transportation 
6 “2002 Motor Vehicle Crash Facts for Arizona,” Motor Vehicle Crash Statistics Unit; Arizona Dept. of 
Transportation 
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Multiplying economic costs by 16% gives a crude estimate of the economic costs of 
motor vehicle accidents in Arizona involving uninsured motorists:  $481 million.  
Alternatively, using ADOT’s estimate of 8% gives us $240 million. 
 
The importance of uninsured motorist coverage can be demonstrated by comparing two 
scenarios:  one where no one carries uninsured motorist insurance and one where every 
insured motorist carries uninsured motorist insurance. 
 
Without uninsured motorist coverage, there is a 16% chance that there will be no 
coverage for a motor vehicle accident.  If this were the case, $88 of the $220 per capita 
figure would be caused by uninsured motorists.  Sixteen percent of the driving public 
would create 40% of the burden on the public and the state. 
 
With compulsory uninsured motorist coverage, the chance that there will be no coverage 
drops to 2.6%.  If this were the case, $14 of the $220 per capita figure would be due to 
uninsured motorists.  Sixteen percent of the driving public would create 6.4% of the 
burden on the public and the state.7 
 
These simple scenarios prove another point.  Uninsured motorists cannot have caused the 
entire $220 per capita burden. 
 
In Arizona, minimum per person liability limits are not sufficient to cover estimated 
average economic costs for more than half of all people injured in motor vehicle 
accidents in the state.  According to ADOT, the estimated average economic cost of a 
motor vehicle accident in Arizona in 2002 was $22,391.  Table 3 shows per unit 
estimates for different losses.  Figure 5 shows injury severity and frequency.   
 

Table 3.  Estimated Average Economic Costs of Arizona Motor Vehicle Accidents 
 

Fatality $1,090,000 

Incapacitating Injury $52,100 

Non-incapacitating Injury $17,200 

Possible Injury $9,800 

Property Damage Only $6,200 

 

                                                 
7 For Bayesian probability diagrams, see Exhibit 1 in the Appendix. 
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Figure 5.  Percent of Injured Persons By Injury Severity 
 
Fatalities, incapacitating injuries and non-incapacitating injuries all have estimated 
average costs higher than minimum per person limits.  This is before compensating 
family members for lost loved ones and before compensating injured accident victims for 
lost quality of life. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

Figure 6.  Percent of Total Economic Cost By Crash Severity 
 
 
If every Arizona driver were insured, but had  just $15,000 per person bodily injury 
liability limits, injured accident victims would have a one in 10 chance that over 70% of 
the economic costs of their injuries would not be covered by insurance.  (See Figure 6)8 
   
Clearly, the public and the state benefit when motorists carry uninsured motorist and 
underinsured motorist insurance, and excess coverage. 
 
 
INSURER PROFITABILITY, COMPULSORY INSURANCE AND UNINSURED 
MOTORISTS 
 
Traditionally, insurers have opposed compulsory insurance laws, claiming they do 
nothing to reduce the number of uninsured drivers.  Typically, they do not raise the issue 
of profitability.  While requiring liability insurance means insurers will sell more policies, 
it does not mean they will make more profit. 
 
                                                 
8 Breakdown of injured persons was calculated from ADOT data. 

Non-
incapacitating

44%

Incapacitating
9%Possible

47%

Fatality
41%

Incapacitating 
Injury
11%

Non-
incapacitating 

Injury
19%

Possible Injury
11%

Property 
Damage Only

18%



 

  15 
 

Insurers maximize profit from operations by raising rates, lowering loss costs, or 
lowering administrative costs.  Competition, compulsory insurance laws, and regulation 
exert a downward pressure on premium price.  Compulsory insurance laws do so by 
increasing pressure for rate regulation – what government mandates, it tries to make 
affordable.  The effects of competition and regulation on price are discussed later. 
 
Requiring liability insurance raises loss costs because even high-risk motorists must be 
insured.  A 1990 New York Times article cited industry surveys indicating that most 
uninsured are young, unmarried men – the group with the highest accident rate.9 
 
Administrative costs also go up because more policyholders mean more customer service 
and transaction costs.  In the same Times article, Delaware’s Commissioner of Insurance, 
David N. Levinson, accused the insurance industry of blocking more stringent 
enforcement measures against uninsured motorists.  Along with consumer groups, he 
complained that:  
 

“…the industry is content to collect the total cost of the nation’s 
automobile insurance from a decreasing pool of customers as a way to 
keep administrative costs down and profits up.  ‘The industry would rather 
collect $750 from you, $750 from me and nothing from a deadbeat who 
doesn’t want to carry insurance,’ said Mr. Levinson.  ‘The industry 
doesn’t gain anything by collecting $500 from you, $500 from me and 
$500 from the other guy’; it’s $1,500 either way.’10 

 
The article went on to say that insurance industry spokesmen acknowledged that insurers 
oppose compulsory insurance laws and some enforcement measures.  But, rather than 
citing profitability as the reason, Shirley M. Nagelschmidt, spokeswoman for the Alliance 
of American Insurers, said: 
 

“The industry does not want to be in the position of saying somebody 
must buy insurance before he feeds his children.”11 

 
Limited by market and regulatory forces in how much they can charge for liability 
insurance, insurers have sought to lower loss costs through legislation that allows denial 
of coverage and elimination of non-economic damages.  By targeting uninsured 
motorists, they have found legislative and public support.  Several states have passed 
laws limiting or prohibiting recovery for uninsured drivers – even for insured drivers 
under their uninsured motorist coverage. 
 

                                                 
9 “Uninsured Drivers Create Other Kinds of Wreckage,” deCourcy Hinds, Michael; The New York Times; 
9/3/1990 
10 Ibid. 
11 Ibid. 
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WHO IS UNINSURED?  CHARACTERISTICS OF UNINSURED MOTORISTS 
 
A 1999 study by the California Department of Insurance found that uninsured motorists 
were more likely than insured motorists to have the characteristics shown in Table 4 
below. 
 

Table 4.  Characteristics of Uninsured Motorists12 
 

Home Ownership: Renter 

Income: Less Than $20,000 

Age: 18 to 24 

Education: High School or Less 

Sex: Male 

Ethnicity: Hispanic or Black 

Stability: Less Time in Present 
Home 

 
Findings were taken from a 1997 random telephone survey of 1,008 California vehicle 
owners, of whom 10% reported owning an uninsured vehicle.  The survey’s error margin 
was +/- 3% at the 95% confidence level.  The author cautioned, however, that the sample 
may not have been representative or the results accurate, and that for these reasons, the 
survey was “likely to create an incomplete picture of the uninsured.”13 
 
An earlier survey of 400 households in Maricopa County, Arizona, showed 
predominantly female ownership of uninsured vehicles among all ethnic groups.  
Findings were based on just 38 households, however, and the survey did not provide a 
breakdown of respondents by gender – so it may be that more women responded than 
men.14 
 
In the California survey, the number one reason for not insuring, given by 49% of 
uninsured respondents, was that the vehicle was not used or did not run.  Another 30% 
chose “Costs too much/can’t afford” as the primary reason they did not have insurance.15 
 
Of uninsured respondents, 58% owned a vehicle that was insured.16  The study calls these 
vehicle owners “hybrid” uninsured, while those without insured vehicles it calls “pure” 
uninsured.  Hybrids’ primary reason for not buying insurance was that the vehicle was 

                                                 
12 “Characteristics of Uninsured Motorist,” Hunstad, Lyn; California Department of Insurance; February 
1999; p.2 
13 Ibid.; p. 4 
14 “What We Know About Uninsured Motorists And How Well We Know What We Know,” Khazzoom, J. 
Daniel; Journal of Insurance Regulation; Kansas City; Fall 1999; Vol. 18, Iss. 1; p. 82 
15 “Characteristics of Uninsured Motorist,” Hunstad, Lyn; California Department of Insurance; February 
1999; pp. 17-18 
16 Ibid.; p. 1 
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not used or did not run (71%).17  Despite this, 14% reported their uninsured vehicles were 
in daily use.  Just 43% said their uninsured vehicles were never used.18 
 
 The primary reason cited by the pure uninsureds for not buying insurance was due to the 
high cost of insurance (63%).  They were also more likely than hybrids to agree that:  
“auto insurance costs more money than I have” (73% vs. 48%).  Compared to hybrid 
uninsured, pure uninsured were more likely to be “female, not employed, single, and 
speak a language other than English at home.”19  They reported concern about “being 
able to find a place to buy auto insurance.”20 
 
Dividing respondents into “vehicle-not-used” uninsured and “costs-too-much” uninsured, 
the costs-too-much uninsured were more likely to be single vehicle owners (72% vs. 
6%).21 
 
A majority of uninsured and those who purchased minimum mandatory coverage “had a 
high level of interest in a lower cost alternative” policy that provided less coverage22 and 
said they would probably purchase such a policy even if it cost just 10% less.23  “Costs-
too-much” uninsured were more likely to buy a low cost, low coverage policy (57% v 
41%).24  Yet when California offered a low cost, low coverage policy in June 2000, 
response was low.  Today, just over 2,500 such policies are active.25 
 
Uninsured tended to own more vehicles than insured and were more likely not to have 
health or life insurance.  They seemed to have less trust of insurance companies and saw 
themselves as “the type of person who does not have insurance.” 
 
An earlier New Jersey study found more affluent uninsured:26 
 

Table 5.  New Jersey (NJ) Uninsured Motorists By Income 
 

Household income Percent of NJ’s uninsured 

Over $30,000 Almost 70% 

$40,000-$50,000 20% 
Over $50,000 16% 

                                                 
17 Just 11% of all uninsured respondents said that their vehicle did not run and gave that as a reason it was 
not insured. 
18 “Characteristics of Uninsured Motorist,” Hunstad, Lyn; California Department of Insurance; February 
1999; pp. 18, 29 
19 Ibid.; pp. 15, 17 
20 Ibid.; p. 3 
21 Ibid.; p. 21 
22 The policy would offer 10/20 limits as opposed to 15/30 limits. 
23 “Characteristics of Uninsured Motorist,” Hunstad, Lyn; California Department of Insurance; February 
1999; p. 3 
24 Ibid.; p. 20 
25 Survey results 
26 “Uninsured drivers warned to pay up,” Donnelly, Joe; The Record; 2/5/1992 
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ESTIMATING THE NUMBER OF UNINSURED MOTORISTS 
 
When estimates are given of the number of uninsured motorists in a state, the bases for 
the estimates usually are not reported.  Where more than one estimate is available, they 
often conflict.  For any estimate, reliability is unknown. 
 
Insurers and states define uninsured motorists differently, based on different interests.  
Insurers need to determine when a claim is eligible for uninsured motorist coverage.  
States, on the other hand, need to determine when a person is subject to penalties for 
driving or owning an uninsured vehicle.  These different “head counts” introduce noise 
into the data.  For example, uninsured motorist claims include victims of hit-and-run 
drivers, who may have been insured at the time.  Likewise, where both driver and owner 
are subject to penalties, states may count one vehicle without insurance as two uninsured 
motorists. 
 
An estimate popular with researchers is the UM/BI ratio, which is: 
 

UM/BI ratio =  
claimsinjury bodily  All

claims motorist Uninsured  

 
Yet industry sources of UM/BI are silent as to how, exactly, UM/BI ratios are calculated 
– for example, whether attempts are made to compensate for inherent bias (such as 
removing hit-and-run drivers from the count) and, if so, what those efforts are.  An 
economist for the Insurance Information Institute was quoted as saying that because 
“about half” of California’s uninsured motorist claims involved hit-and-run drivers, it 
was impossible to say if the uninsured motorist rate taken from claims data was 
accurate.27 
 
In taking UM/BI as the uninsured motorist rate, the following assumptions are made: 
 
♦ Insured and uninsured motorists are equally likely to be in an accident and are equally 

likely to be at fault. 
♦ Claims arising in a state involve only residents of that state. 
♦ Victims are equally likely to file uninsured motorist claims as they are to file BI 

claims.28 
♦ If UM/BI is based on claims accepted rather than claims filed, then another 

assumption is that insurers are equally likely to accept UM claims as BI claims.  
Since UM claims are made under the policyholders’ own coverage, this may not be 
the case. 

♦ Insured motorists carry UM coverage (not mandatory in Arizona). 
♦ Insured and uninsured motorists are likely to be in accidents with each other in 

proportion to their representation in the population. 
 

                                                 
27 “Pay at the pump isn’t the solution,” Richardson, Diane; National Underwriter; Chicago; Jun 8, 1998 
28 “What We Know About Uninsured Motorists And How Well We Know What We Know,” Khazzoom, J. 
Daniel, Journal of Insurance Regulation; Kansas City; Fall 1999; Vol. 18, Iss. 1; p. 71 
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Evidence suggests that, at least in some states, UM/BI produces a higher percentage of 
uninsured drivers than any other estimate. 
 
A representative of the trade association Personal Insurance Federation of California, 
claimed that, “… uninsured drivers are at greater risk for being in accidents and causing 
accidents than those who have insurance.”29  Without knowing what data this is based on, 
it is impossible to assess this claim.  If based on UM/BI, which includes hit-and-run 
drivers who may or may not be insured, the conclusion is suspect. 
  
The American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA) lists four 
methods of estimating the number of uninsured motorists in a jurisdiction:  database, 
random sampling, law enforcement or crash statistics.30  All focus on vehicles, not 
motorists.  Each has drawbacks and none definitively establishes the number of uninsured 
in an area. 
 
The database method can only be used by states that require electronic reporting of 
insurance information and maintain a database that matches insurance information with 
vehicle registration information.  In its simplest form, this method divides the number of 
vehicles insured by the number of vehicles that should be insured, then subtracts that 
number from 1 and multiplies by 100, to come up with an estimate of the percent of 
vehicles that are uninsured.  Adjustments can be made to add in vehicles that are insured 
but do not show up as insured, due to erroneous or missing data. 
 
Because the database method relies on registration records for the number of vehicles that 
should be insured, it is subject to error from unregistered vehicles. 
 
Nonetheless, a study that looked at different methods of estimating the number of 
uninsured motorists concluded that of the major methods, “only one, database matching, 
appears to offer the potential of yielding defensible results,” provided the matching is 
done “on an ongoing basis.”  The author recommended supplementing this method with 
“a reliable method” to estimate the number of unregistered vehicles driven without 
insurance.31 
 
Of the other AAMVA methods, the random sampling method consists of drawing a 
random sample of registered vehicles that should be insured and mailing a notice 
requesting insurance verification.  Once information is received, it is sent to the carrier 
for verification.  This method also depends on registration records and is subject to the 
same error.  It is also subject to nonresponse error – inflating the number of uninsured. 
 
The law enforcement method divides the number of driver records with convictions for 
lack of insurance by the number of driver records with all convictions, then multiplies 

                                                 
29 “Calif. Commissioner blocks auto ins. surcharges,” Anonymous; National Underwriter; Chicago; Feb 
24, 1997; p. 5 
30 “Standardizing the Way We Measure the Uninsured Motor Vehicle Rate,” AAMVA Uninsured Motor 
Vehicle Rate Working Group; American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators; July, 2001 
31 “What We Know About Uninsured Motorists And How Well We Know What We Know,” Khazzoom, J. 
Daniel; Journal of Insurance Regulation; Kansas City; Fall 1999; Vol. 18, Iss. 1; p. 89 
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that number by 100.  The crash statistics method divides the number of vehicles 
identified as uninsured in crashes during the crash investigation by the number of 
vehicles involved in crashes.  Neither of these methods use samples that are random or 
complete.  They do not look at the entire population of drivers.  They look only at those 
stopped for a violation or involved in an accident. 
 
An example of different methods yielding different results comes from analysis of 
California Highway Patrol data, which showed different rates for the percent of uninsured 
motorists involved in bodily injury accidents and the percent of uninsured motorists given 
traffic citations:  44.6% vs. 34.2%.32 
 
Perhaps the least defensible method, used by one state, was to base its estimate on a 
survey that “required respondents to admit to the secretary of state they were 
uninsured.”33  Uninsured respondents who answered truthfully would have to admit to 
authorities they were breaking the law.  This method would almost certainly 
underestimate the number of uninsured.  In fact, although the survey reported 4.5% of 
vehicles were uninsured, claims data showed a number closer to 12%.34 
 
 
IMMIGRATION ISSUES 
 
States with large immigrant populations face additional challenges.  In 1999, over 9.9 
million vehicles carrying over 25.2 million passengers crossed the Mexico-United States 
border into Arizona.35  The number of illegal border crossings is unknown. 
 
Insurers require driver’s licenses to issue policies.  Having a driver’s license means one 
has passed a road test and a written test.  But driver’s licenses are also used as proof of 
identity, to access social services – even as de facto proof of lawful immigrant status or 
citizenship.  In a country with no national identification card, driver’s licenses are now 
part of the war on terror:  Seven of the 19 hijackers on September 11th had Virginia 
driver’s licenses.36 
 
After September 11th, Indiana’s Counter-Terrorism and Security Council changed the 
documentation required in order to issue a driver’s license.  Applicants now had to 
present: 
 

                                                 
32 “Review of Non-Insurance Data in the NAIC’s 1999 Automobile Insurance Database Report,” NAIC 
Staff; NAIC Research Quarterly; July 1999; Volume V, Issue 3; p. 4 
33 “Uninsured – and still driving; 6 years after law passed, suspensions soaring,” Novak, Tim; Schmid, Jon; 
Chicago Sun-Times; 6/9/1996 
34 “What We Know About Uninsured Motorists And How Well We Know What We Know,” Khazzoom, J. 
Daniel; Journal of Insurance Regulation; Fall 2000; Vol. 19, Iss. 1; p. 76 
35 “Border Crossing Database,” TranStats The Intermodal Transportation Database; Bureau of 
Transportation Statistics 
36 “Illegal Immigrants, or Legal Drivers?; Bills Would Tighten Virginia License Rules,” Martz, Michael; 
Richmond Times-Dispatch; 1/29/2002 
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“… a Social Security card, another primary document such as a passport 
or birth certificate, two secondary documents and two proofs of Indiana 
residency.  A secondary document could include a marriage license, 
military discharge paper, a divorce decree or a current loan statement.  …  
The license bureaus are requiring original, unaltered documents, such as a 
stamped birth certificate.  A Social Security card laminated in plastic, 
though common, is considered, at least at one area branch, to have been 
altered.”37 

 
Because only citizens and lawfully admitted permanent residents are eligible for Social 
Security cards, requiring a Social Security card in order to issue a driver’s license makes 
it impossible for undocumented immigrants – as well as foreign citizens lawfully in this 
country on temporary or student visas – to obtain driver’s licenses. 
 
Indiana may have created this barrier intentionally.  Other states have done so 
unintentionally.  California’s Department of Motor Vehicles began requiring Social 
Security cards in 1993, to help state agencies “track down fathers delinquent in their 
family support payments.”38 
 
Yet other states have tried to remove barriers to immigrants obtaining drivers’ licenses. 
 
In 1999, North Carolina, which has one of the lowest rates of uninsured motorists, 
allowed undocumented immigrants to apply for drivers’ licenses.  In addition to passing a 
safety test, applicants must show proof of insurance.  Jon Parks of the Division of Motor 
Vehicles explained: 
 

“We look at it as these people are going to drive on the roads regardless, 
and our goal as a licensing agency is to make sure that the roads are as 
safe as they possibly can be.  …  We see a driver’s license as exactly that:  
a license to drive, not proof of citizenship.”39 

 
Discussions in Georgia and New Mexico reveal more of the rationale behind North 
Carolina’s decision. 
 
A 2002 Atlanta newspaper editorial argued that: 
 

“A driver’s license assures the community that undocumented immigrants, 
like other drivers on the state’s roads, have passed a test of their driving 
skills and the rules of the road.  A driver’s license also may allow its 
bearer to obtain auto insurance, a particular problem in Georgia, where 
13% of motorists are uninsured.  … Those who oppose issuing driver’s 
licenses to illegal immigrants often cite the fear that immigrants could use 

                                                 
37 “BMV changes are confusing, unfair,” South Bend Tribune; 7/24/2002 
38 “Immigration Bar Concerned About New DMV Policy,” Peters, Alexander; The Recorder; 3/24/1993 
39 “Driver’s licenses for illegal aliens?; Backers say change would reduce wrecks, lower insurance costs; 
opponents fear fraud,” Bixler, Mark; The Atlanta Journal and Constitution; 12/5/1999 
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the license to vote and exercise other rights reserved for citizens.  That 
worry could be eliminated with a system that issues one type of license to 
citizens and another to all noncitizens, legal or illegal.”40 

 
The editorial went on to note that eight states link the expiration date on immigrants’ 
drivers’ licenses to the expiration of their immigration documents and that Pennsylvania 
puts “noncitizen” labels on drivers’ licenses. 
 
A separate news story pointed out that undocumented immigrants fill jobs others shun – 
“jobs in the poultry, agricultural and construction sectors.”  According to Atlanta’s 
Mexican consul general, 99% of the undocumented immigrants in Georgia are employed 
“but few can get to their workplaces via public transportation.”41 
 
In 2003, New Mexico introduced legislation to allow the Motor Vehicle Department to 
accept an individual tax ID number issued by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), rather 
than requiring a Social Security card in order to issue a driver’s license.  Tax ID numbers 
are available to those who are ineligible for Social Security cards and the IRS will accept 
foreign proof of identity.  States that accept tax ID numbers include Kentucky, North 
Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Utah.42 
 
Three years earlier, New Mexico had resumed Spanish-language driver’s license tests.43 
 
Texas took a different approach.  In 2001, it passed a law requiring foreigners without 
insurance to buy temporary policies – costing as little as $2 or $3 – when they drive 
across the border.  The Associated Press reported that in the Rio Grande Valley the 
uninsured motorist rate was as high as 40% to 45%, and that more Mexican truck drivers 
coming into the United States were being found with fake insurance documents.44 
 
Arizona exempts trucks carrying agricultural products within 25 miles of the border from 
commercial motor carrier financial responsibility requirements.  In 1999, over 348,000 
trucks of all kinds crossed into the state from Mexico.45 
 
COMPLIANCE FACTORS 
 
A 2001 study by Cole, Dumm and McCullough on penalties for driving without 
insurance found that the most important factor associated with a reduction in the 
uninsured motorist rate was the presence of a compulsory insurance law, especially one 
that required liability limits over 15/30 – findings statistically significant at the 99% 

                                                 
40 “’Noncitizen’ licenses make sense,” The Atlanta Journal and Constitution; 12/23/2002 
41 “Allow licenses for illegal immigrants,” The Atlanta Journal and Constitution; 2/1/2001 
42 “House approves bill to help immigrants obtain driver’s license,” The Associated Press State & Local 
Wire; 2/18/2003 
43 “MVD wants vehicle-registration hike,” Hummels, Mark; Santa Fe New Mexican; 12/23/2000 
44 “New law requires Mexican visitors to purchase car insurance,” Brozosky, Lynn; The Associated Press 
State & Local Wire; 5/31/2001 
45 “Border Crossing Database,” TranStats The Intermodal Transportation Database; Bureau of 
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level.46  Higher potential fines for driving uninsured were also correlated with reduced 
noncompliance and were significant at the 99% level. 
 
The study compared three different types of motor vehicle liability laws:  financial 
responsibility, compulsory insurance and notice laws.  Financial responsibility laws, 
“where evidence of insurance or other assets is not required until an accident has 
occurred,” were the weakest.  Compulsory insurance laws require purchase of insurance, 
production of evidence of insurance at or shortly after an accident and at registration 
and/or in ones vehicle at all times.  Notice laws require insurers to notify authorities of 
cancellations and/or nonrenewals.  The authors found that each progressively stricter law 
was correlated with a lower uninsured motorist rate.47 
 
These findings, that stricter compulsory insurance laws with higher minimum liability 
limits, higher fines and requirements that insurers notify states when policyholders cancel 
coverage are associated with a reduction in the uninsured motorist rate, are striking in 
light of often-repeated industry claims that compulsory insurance laws do nothing to 
reduce the number of uninsured drivers. 
 
The most important factor associated with an increase in uninsured motorists, however, 
was the cost of insurance.48 
 
A 2000 study by Ma and Schmit mentions earlier research supporting this finding. 
 

“Through simulation, Dahlby (1983) demonstrates that as the price of 
coverage increases, the percentage of drivers who purchase insurance 
decreases.  Smith and Wright (1992) add to the discussion by providing 
evidence of a strong relationship between the price of automobile 
insurance and the relative size of the uninsured motorist population, both 
in terms of price affecting the percentage of uninsured motorist and in 
terms of the number of uninsured motorist affecting price.”49 
 

Ma and Schmit, however, found no significant relationship between price of coverage 
and the uninsured motorist rate.  The fact that the authors used unit price as a substitute 
for price may account for this surprising result.  Unit price is the average cost per dollar 
of benefits received by policy holders.  As such, it measures consumer value rather than 
household cost. 

                                                 
46 “The uninsured motorist problem:  An investigation of the impact of enforcement and penalty severity on 
compliance,” Cole, Cassandra R.; Dumm, Randy E.; McCullough, Kathleen A.; Journal of Insurance 
Regulation; Kansas City; Summer 2001; pp. 630-632 
47 The relationship between financial responsibility laws and uninsured motorists was significant at the 99% 
level.  The relationship between compulsory insurance, notice laws and uninsured motorists was significant 
at the 95% level. 
48 Significant at the 99% level.  “The uninsured motorist problem:  An investigation of the impact of 
enforcement and penalty severity on compliance,” Cole, Cassandra R.; Dumm, Randy E.; McCullough, 
Kathleen A.; Journal of Insurance Regulation; Kansas City; Summer 2001; p. 632 
49 “Factors affecting the relative incidence of uninsured motorists claims,” Ma, Yu-Luen; Schmit, Joan T.; 
Journal of Risk and Insurance; Malvern; Jun 2000; p. 282 
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Looking at available data for this report, no statistically significant relationship was 
found between average amounts paid for liability damages and the uninsured motorist 
rate.  Data used were less than optimal, however, as they came from different time 
frames.  Average amount paid out for damages covered by liability insurance was taken 
from Insurance Information Institute figures for 2000; whereas the uninsured motorist 
rate came from Insurance Research Council average estimates for the years 1995 to 1997.  
A change in average rates since that time would introduce error. 
 
Another surprising result of the Ma and Schmit study was that potential jail time was 
associated with a slight increase in noncompliance.50  This finding may be endogenous 
(i.e. states that know they have an uninsured motorist problem pass stronger penalties) or 
it may reflect the belief that the penalty won’t be enforced.51 
 
COST FACTORS 
 
Since several studies have found cost to be a factor in the decision to purchase 
automobile insurance, one way to increase compliance with compulsory insurance laws 
may be to look for ways to cut administrative or loss costs. 
 
The Insurance Information Institute (III) provides the following breakdown of how 
premium dollars are spent. 
 

Table 6.  Industry Financial Data on Private Passenger Auto Insurance 
 

Where the Premium Dollar Goes, Private Passenger Auto Insurance, 200152 

Premiums Earned  $100 

Claims   

Payments to injured person:   

Medical $10  

Wage loss and other economic payments $2  

Pain and suffering and other non-economic awards $6  

Lawyers’ fees $13  

Other costs of settling claims $3  

Subtotal  $34 

Payments for damage to cars (1):   

Property damage liability $19  

Collision claims $19  

                                                 
50 Significant at the 99% level. 
51 “The uninsured motorist problem:  An investigation of the impact of enforcement and penalty severity on 
compliance,” Cole, Cassandra R.; Dumm, Randy E.; McCullough, Kathleen A.; Journal of Insurance 
Regulation; Kansas City; Summer 2001; pp. 632-633 
52 Source:  Insurance Information Institute; March 2003 
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Where the Premium Dollar Goes, Private Passenger Auto Insurance, 2001 

Premiums Earned  $100 

Comprehensive claims $9  

Other costs of settling claims $3  

Subtotal  $50 

Total claims  $84 

Expenses   

Commissions and other selling expenses $16  

General expenses (costs of company operations) $5  

State premium taxes, licenses and fees $2  

Dividends to policyholders $1  

Total expenses  $24 

Claims and expense total  $108 

Bottom line   

Insurance company investment gain (2) $8  

Pretax income ($100 - $108 + $8) $0  

(1) Includes theft and damage to other property, e.g., road signs. 
(2) Includes interest, dividends, and realized capital gains. 
Source:  Insurance Information Institute based on data from A.M. Best Company, Inc.; Insurance 
Services Office, Inc. (ISO); National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Insurance 
Research Council. 

 
The Insurance Information Institute (III) also provides a breakdown of litigation costs for 
2000: 

 
Claimants’ attorneys’ fees:  17% 
Insurers’ (defense) attorneys’ fees: 16% 
Insurers’ administration costs:  25% 
Economic loss:    20% 
Non-economic loss 
(pain and suffering, punitive damages): 22%53 
 

According to III estimates, the average cost of an automobile policy rose 8% in 2002 and 
9% in 2003.  One reason cited for the increase is that insurance costs from September 11th 
are being passed on to consumers.  Other major factors are the rising cost of health care 
and hospitalizations.  Auto parts costs have also gone up.54  Reduced investment income 
can also cause insurers to raise rates.55 

                                                 
53 Source:  Insurance Information Institute; Tillinghast-Towers, Perrin; March 2003 
54 Source:  Insurance Information Institute; March 2003 
55 “Market Structure and Performance in Personal Auto and Homeowners Insurance,” Klein, Robert; NAIC 
Research Quarterly; April 1995; Volume I, Issue 2 
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Information costs impact price.  Comparison-shopping for insurance is difficult and time 
consuming.  Consumers may end up paying higher rates as a result.  The Arizona 
Department of Insurance provides rate-comparison information to the public on its 
website with a number of hypothetical scenarios.  Other states provide similar 
information, but the effect of these efforts is not known. 
 
Insurers also have information problems:  They do not know, ultimately, what coverage 
may cost them.  One research article stated that: 

 
“Pooled industry loss data at a refined geographic level (e.g. zip code) are 
not available.  This confers a competitive advantage to insurers entrenched 
in certain markets.”56 

 
Insurers with proprietary market data can better estimate risk and better price product.  
Insurers without that information may err on the side of caution and charge too much or 
act aggressively and charge too little. 
 
In 2000, the most recent year for which figures are available, the average cost of an 
automobile policy was $792 in Arizona and $687 nationally.  Arizona ranked 10th highest 
overall.  Looking just at liability coverage, the average cost was $450 in Arizona and 
$398 nationally, making Arizona the 14th most expensive jurisdiction in which to obtain 
liability insurance.57  Yet Arizona’s private passenger automobile (PPA) liability incurred 
loss ratio (the ratio of losses paid and reserved to premiums earned) is much lower than 
the national average – making it relatively more profitable for insurers.  In 2000, 
Arizona’s PPA liability loss ratio was 67.5%, vs. 75.2% nationally.  In 2001, that ratio 
increased to 68.3%, still less than the national average of 76.9%.58 
 
Automobile insurance rates are set taking into account administrative and loss costs – 
particularly the expectation of loss costs.  Insurers establish rating territories based on 
similar loss histories in a geographic area.  Both the likely occurrence of loss and the 
potential size of loss differ by territory.  According to III, territory is “the most predictive 
of risk” while driving record is “among the least.”59 
 
Driving record, which includes at-fault accidents, miles driven per year, number of years 
driving and traffic violations, might become a better predictor of risk if motor vehicle 
records were more accurate, or shared freely between states.  A 2002 Insurance Research 
Council study found that motor vehicle records were “typically inaccurate” and that “one 
in five” convictions could be missing.  An earlier study found that, on average, three in 
five reportable accidents were missing.  Records of infractions that occur out of state are 
not automatically provided to the home state.  And driving records do not automatically 
move to a new state when drivers do.60 

                                                 
56 Ibid. 
57 Source:  Insurance Information Institute, National Association of Insurance Commissioners; March 2003 
58 “2002 Motor Vehicle Liability Insurance Report of the Director of Insurance,” Arizona Department of 
Insurance 
59 Source:  Insurance Information Institute; March 2003 
60 Ibid. 
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Even accurate driving records, however, would probably be less predictive than territory.  
Loss costs and premiums are higher in urban than in rural areas.  More vehicles make 
accidents more likely.  Urban residents are also more likely to file bodily injury claims.  
A 1993 study found that drivers in areas with the highest concentration of vehicles were 
almost 25% more likely to file a personal injury claim than those in areas with the lowest 
concentration of vehicles.  In Ohio in 1996, there were nearly twice as many auto-related 
injuries in urban areas as in rural areas.  Although rural accidents are more likely to result 
in fatalities, “frequency, rather than severity, governs the rate.”61 
 
Pennsylvania provides an example of how widely loss costs and claims behavior can 
differ, even between urban areas.  According to the Insurance Research Council, 56% of 
all accidents in Philadelphia result in bodily-injury claims being filed.  But in Pittsburgh, 
just 16% result in personal-injury claims.62 
 
More claims do not necessarily mean more fraud, however.  According to Dennis Jay, 
executive director of the Washington-based Coalition Against Insurance Fraud, “There 
does tend to be a certain amount of higher bodily-injury rate claims in areas that have 
well-educated citizens.  Someone gets hurt; they are aware of how the system works and 
how you get compensated for that."63 
 
In addition to location and driving record, rates differ based on age, gender, marital 
status, other licensed drivers in the household and vehicle make and model.  
 
In recent years, public policy initiatives credited with reducing auto insurance costs have 
included:  license programs that limit when teenagers can drive; improvements in auto 
and highway safety; driving under the influence (DUI) laws and seatbelt enforcement; 
and greater market competition.64 
 
Other initiatives have been less successful in reducing rates.  New Jersey Governor 
Christie Todd Whitman set up a special insurance fraud prosecutor; but three years later, 
the result was just 86 indictments and 75 prosecutions.65  Requiring safety inspections at 
vehicle registration may not affect rates, since (according to regulators and insurance 
underwriters) failing to do so did not contribute to New Mexico’s rising rates.  New 
Mexico’s number one ranking in alcohol-related highway deaths, however, could have 
masked any effect safety inspections may have had.66 
 

                                                 
61 “Pay at the pump isn’t the solution,” Richardson, Diane; National Underwriter; Chicago; Jun 8, 1998 
62 “Analysts:  Crackdown on uninsured cars won’t fuel big rate drop,” The Associated Press State & Local 
Wire; 8/11/2002 
63 Ibid. 
64 “United States:  Uninsured motorists study shows need for improvements,” Anonymous; International 
Insurance Monitor; New York; Fourth Quarter 1999 
65 “McGreevey vows crackdown on uninsured drivers,” Siegel, Ralph; The Associated Press State & Local 
Wire; 10/8/2001 
66 “N.M. Auto Insurance Rates Soar 58% in 6 Years,” O’Neill, Peggy Lee; Albuquerque Journal; 
6/11/1995 
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Impoundment, while perhaps getting uninsured motorists off the road, is not expected to 
have much impact on rates.  A Philadelphia program called “Live Stop” impounded 
5,000 unregistered and uninsured cars in seven weeks.  But Temple University professor 
and city auto insurance task force member Michael Powers speculated that the crackdown 
would have an impact of “less than 10 percent” on insurance rates.67 
 
Its actual effect may be even less.  A New Jersey news story said a plan to impound 
uninsured vehicles there would have little effect on rates “because less than 7% of the 
cost of an insurance policy goes to cover uninsured or underinsured motorists.”68  If 
correct, that would mean that a 50% drop in the uninsured motorist rate would produce, 
at best, a 3.5% drop in insurance rates. 
 
Some legislative and regulatory acts may even have the unintended consequence of 
raising rates.  Interrelationships between various cost-drivers are not always immediately 
apparent.  State Farm lobbyist Jim Walker was critical of Oklahoma’s low minimum 
mandatory coverage of $10,000 per person and $20,000 per accident, saying it created a 
problem with underinsured motorists, “since the minimal liability levels often fail to 
cover actual costs in an accident.”  According to Mr. Walker, “That leads to more 
litigation and drives up the cost of auto insurance.”69 
 
If true, this seems somewhat counterintuitive, as legislators might expect that lower limits 
would lower costs.  But underinsured claims mean that two policies, two adjusters – and 
often two insurers and two lawyers – are involved in covering the loss.  Clearly, there is 
some duplication of effort.  Furthermore, where underinsured coverage exists, there is 
less incentive to settle within primary limits, as doing so bars collection of underinsured 
benefits.  Thus, lower limits can drive up administrative and loss costs. 
 
In some states, insurers impose rate surcharges on previously uninsured drivers who opt 
to become legal, saying they pose a greater risk.  Other states have banned this practice, 
believing it complicates efforts to increase compliance with compulsory insurance laws.  
A 1998 newspaper article said that when Texas “tightened up” its compulsory insurance 
law, “State Farm found that previously uninsured drivers had 130% higher losses than 
insured drivers with clean records did.”70  Another newspaper article reported that 
California’s Insurance Commissioner was warning insurers he would not approve 
proposed rate schedules “if they intended surcharges for previously uninsured drivers.”  
In fact, insurers had planned surcharges of about 30%.71 
 

                                                 
67 “Analysts:  Crackdown on uninsured cars won’t fuel big rate drop,” The Associated Press State & Local 
Wire; 8/11/2002 
68 “New Jersey Governor Proposes Seizing Vehicles of Uninsured Drivers,” Diamond, Randy; The Record; 
7/9/2002 
69 “Oklahoma lawmaker aims legislation at uninsured drivers,” Carter, Ray; Oklahoma Business News; 
2/10/2003 
70 “Pay at the pump isn’t the solution,” Richardson, Diane; National Underwriter; Chicago; Jun 8, 1998 
71 “Calif. Commissioner blocks auto ins. surcharges,” Anonymous; National Underwriter; Chicago; Feb 
24, 1997; p. 5 
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References to studies 10 and 20 years old mention findings that uninsured drivers had 
worse accident records and “much worse” traffic conviction records.72  It is difficult to 
know what this means, however.  It may reflect the fact that uninsured drivers tend to be 
young males – and young males, uninsured or not, have more, and more serious, 
accidents.  In 2000, drivers age 15 through 20 made up just 6.8% of licensed drivers in 
the United States, but were involved in 14% of fatal crashes.  Of those, young males were 
responsible for 10%.73  The other difference – in traffic conviction records – may be the 
courts’ way of penalizing for lack of insurance, by dismissing fewer charges when a 
driver is uninsured. 
 
According to a 1993 report from the Insurance Services Office, in most states, uninsured 
motorist and underinsured motorist coverages account for less than 20% of bodily injury 
liability loss costs.  Where laws allowed policyholders to “stack” uninsured motorist or 
underinsured motorist limits on other vehicles or policies, however, uninsured motorist 
and underinsured motorist loss costs rose as high as 56% of bodily injury liability loss 
costs.74  Arizona prohibits this kind of stacking. 
 
Prices for uninsured motorist and underinsured motorist coverage are set differently than 
for liability coverage.  Both are affected by some, but not all, of the same variables.  
Mainly, they differ in how risk factors in to rates.  Kelly Dunkerley, public affairs 
specialist for State Farm, described the process as follows: 
 

“With State Farm, the price for uninsured motorist is not determined by 
the age of the driver, tickets received, type of vehicle, etc., because the 
company thinks these factors have nothing to do with what some 
uninsured motorist is likely to do – there is no good predictive indicator 
for it.  The rating is based on the company’s claims experience – how 
many claims it had and how much it paid out over a period of years …  
That's why uninsured motorist is a unique coverage – it's harder to 
pinpoint individual indicators.  The person who's 18 and sitting in a hot 
rod has no more risk of being hit by an uninsured motorist than a person 
who's 45 and cruising Memorial Drive in a station wagon.”75 

 
For this report, state-level data, including uninsured motorist rate, were compared for 
their ability to predict the average amount spent on liability damages.  Multiple 
regression analyses were run on the uninsured motorist rate, urban and minority 
population, median household income, minimum liability limits, and size of voluntary 
and involuntary markets.  (See Output 2 in the Appendix.)  Analysis showed that urban 
population, size of voluntary market and minimum property damage limits were 
predictive of average amount paid out for damages covered by liability insurance and 

                                                 
72 “What We Know About Uninsured Motorists And How Well We Know What We Know,” Khazzoom, J. 
Daniel; Journal of Insurance Regulation; Kansas City; Fall 1999; Vol. 18, Iss. 1; p. 83 
73 “Traffic Safety Facts 2001:  Young Drivers,” National Center for Statistics & Analysis, National 
Highway Traffic Safety Administration 
74 “Uninsured motorist coverage cost driver for auto insurance,” Anonymous; National Underwriter; 
Erlanger; May 24, 1993 
75 “Uninsured motorist cost based on experience,” Mulkins, Phil; Tulsa World; 9/23/2002 
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were statistically significant at the 99% level, explaining 58.1% of the variation between 
states. 
 
Urban population was strongly associated with higher liability premiums – not a 
surprising result.  More vehicles insured in the voluntary market were associated with 
lower liability premiums.  This may reflect rate competition for larger, more desirable 
markets.  Surprisingly, higher minimum property damage limits were also associated 
with lower liability premiums. 
 
IMPACT OF COMPETITION AND RATE REGULATION ON PRICE 
 
Studies have shown that both competition and rate regulation can affect price. 
 
In its 2002 report on motor vehicle liability insurance, the Arizona Department of 
Insurance found that Arizona’s private passenger automobile (PPA) insurance market 
was competitive.  It based this conclusion on the number of active and latent (authorized, 
but not actively soliciting new business) insurers, the number of insurers applying to 
transact PPA, the availability of PPA in both standard and nonstandard voluntary markets 
and an absence of market concentration in any one insurer.76 
 
The department also cited the presence of rate differentials as evidence of competition.  
For example, premium quotes for “a hypothetical married couple, ages 78 and 78, living 
in Phoenix and driving a 2002 Ford Taurus LX for limited use ranged from $375 to 
$3,352 for the same coverage.”77 
 
In efficient markets, competition tends to beat prices down to the same level.  The side-
by-side existence of two such drastically different rates for the same product with the 
same risk indicates the extent to which consumer information problems (the difficulty of 
comparison shopping) or insurer information problems (lack of market information on 
which to rate risk) can affect prices. 
 
Regulation of the insurance industry arose to prevent underpricing and insolvency.  Later, 
there was concern over whether regulation promoted noncompetitive pricing and above-
normal industry profits.  Most studies have found that “at least since the 1970s, regulation 
lowers the average price per dollar of benefits received by policyholders (the unit price) 
and lowers insurer profitability …” although the effect varies across states.78  Generally, 
it looks like consumers have benefited more from regulation than insurers have. 
 
A 2001 study by Cummins, Phillips and Tennyson estimated that Arizona’s rate 
regulation reduced the unit price of automobile insurance by $.095 – a finding 
statistically significant at the 95% level.  Unit price provides a measure of consumer 
value: it is “the average price paid by consumers per dollar of benefits … received, in 
                                                 
76 “2002 Motor Vehicle Liability Insurance Report of the Director of Insurance,” Arizona Department of 
Insurance; pp. 1-4 
77 Ibid.; pp. 2-3 
78 “Regulation, political influence and the price of automobile insurance,” Cummins, J. David; Phillips, 
Richard D.; Tennyson, Sharon; Journal of Insurance Regulation; Kansas City; Fall 2001; pp. 10-11 
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effect measuring the average markup of premiums over benefits in a state.”  A ratio, unit 
price is calculated as follows: 

 

paid dividends erpolicyholdincurred losses net statewide
premiums net statewideprice Unit

+
=  

 
It is perhaps important to note that the authors are not just saying that premiums were 
reduced by nine and a half cents on the dollar.  The unit price measure says that 
premiums were reduced by almost 10% – without similarly reducing benefits received.  
The authors found their results “strongly” suggestive “that regulation has the effect of 
reducing the unit price of automobile insurance in states that were consistently regulated 
during our sample period [1980-1996] ….”79 
 
Arizona’s regulation is less stringent than some.  The state follows an “open competition” 
rating system and has since 1980.  Insurers may sell insurance products before filing 
them with the Department of Insurance for rate approval.  They must file for approval, 
however, within 30 days after rates become effective.  The director has the authority to 
revert to a “prior-approval” system if, after a hearing on the matter, he finds the market 
noncompetitive.    
 
The ADOI believes the threat of more stringent regulation acts “to ensure that 
unreasonably high prices do not exist in PPA liability.”80  
 
This belief receives support in another study in The Journal of Risk and Insurance.  
Researching all threats of regulation in every state in “close to 130 newspapers and 
business journals” from 1984 to 1993, the author found that that the threat of regulation 
“had a significant effect on the pricing behavior of insurance companies in the personal 
automobile liability insurance industry.”  The author concluded that “the insurance 
industry reduced premium inflation as a result of regulatory threats reported by the news 
media,” finding that, on average, regulatory threats reduced automobile liability 
insurance premiums by 9.6%.  Because the average premium increase for the period was 
1.7%, threats of regulation actually led premiums to decline by 7.9%.81 
 
NO-FAULT AND CHOICE 
 
No-fault and “choice” are mentioned here because it has been claimed that these systems 
reduce costs, speed payment of benefits, and increase compliance with compulsory 
insurance laws.  Several studies have explored these assumptions. 
 
Unlike liability insurance, which is third-party coverage, no-fault insurance is first-party 
coverage.  Liability insurance pays the person you harm, if the accident was your fault.  
No-fault pays you, regardless of who was at fault. 
                                                 
79 Ibid.; p. 36 
80 “2002 Motor Vehicle Liability Insurance Report of the Director of Insurance,” Arizona Department of 
Insurance; Appendix A (Open Competition Law) 
81 “Media attention, insurance regulation, and liability insurance pricing,” Boyer, M. Martin; The Journal of 
Risk and Insurance; v 67 no1 (Mar. 2000) 
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No-fault may reimburse economic damages only, or it may allow recovery for pain and 
suffering once a monetary or verbal threshold is reached.  Verbal thresholds describe the 
severity and type of injury eligible for additional compensation.  Monetary thresholds set 
a dollar amount for economic loss.  Once that is reached, victims become eligible for 
additional reimbursement. 
 
In reviewing prior research, a 2001 study commented: 
 

“The evidence suggests that pure no-fault plans that eliminate payment for 
pain and suffering and verbal or high monetary threshold plans reduce 
costs.  On the other hand, low monetary thresholds increase costs because 
of the propensity of claimants to inflate damages to exceed the threshold 
(Carroll, 1995; Browne and Puelz, 1996).” 
 

The author reviewed the database of the Insurance Corporation of British Columbia, a 
government-owned monopoly insurance company, and found that threshold no-fault 
reduced insurance premiums by 22.8% and pure no-fault reduced premiums by 39.2%, 
but that only about one-third of the reduction was due to lower transaction costs, while 
two-thirds was due to the reduction of payments for non-economic loss.82  Thus, lower 
costs came mainly at the expense of the accident victims.  Whether the United States 
insurance industry would reduce premiums to the same extent as a Canadian government-
owned monopoly is unknown. 
 
High-risk drivers may face higher premiums under no-fault.  A 1985 article in The 
Washington Post reported that Dairyland and other companies specializing in high-risk 
drivers were losing money under Washington’s no-fault system.  According to 
Dairyland’s CEO, its difficulties came “from having to base initial no-fault premiums on 
premiums it charged under the previous liability system; it is expensive to insure high-
risk drivers under a no-fault system.”83 
 
No-fault makes many more people eligible for benefits.  Under a tort system, those found 
to be 100% responsible for causing an accident are unable to recover from the other 
driver’s liability policy.  The at-fault driver is only able to collect for her own injuries if 
she has medical pay coverage (not required by Arizona law and usually a low amount) or 
health insurance.  She is able to collect for damage to her vehicle if she has collision 
coverage.  Under no-fault, both drivers collect from their own policies. 
 
No-fault thresholds provide incentive for victims to inflate claims.  According to 
testimony given to a United States Senate subcommittee, the average total bodily injury 
damages per victim are higher in no-fault than in tort states.84 
 

                                                 
82 “Policy options for automobile insurance:  an estimate of costs and benefits of no-fault insurance plans,” 
Gunton, Thomas; Journal of Insurance Regulation; vs. 20 no 2 (Winter 2001) 
83 “Mandatory Insurance Enforced,” Rowe, James L. Jr.; The Washington Post; 3/11/1985 
84 “Testimony September 24, 1996 Kathleen M. O’Donnell Attorney Marcott Law Firm,” Senate 
Commerce, Science and Transportation Consumer Affairs, Foreign Commerce and Tourism Consumer 
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It has been said that no-fault reduces attorney involvement, but it has been reported that 
attorney involvement is higher in no-fault states.85  Supporting this, a 1986 article in 
Insurance Counsel Journal reported that no-fault did not appear to have reduced court 
cases.86 
 
This is related to the argument that no-fault speeds payment of benefits.  To receive 
benefits under tort, three things must be established by evidence:  liability (fault), damage 
(the amount of loss incurred) and causation (that the damages were caused by the 
accident).  To receive benefits under no-fault, claimants must still prove damages and 
causation.  Often, this involves more than just presenting medical bills and records to an 
insurer.  Medical testimony may be required.  Injuries are not always clear-cut.  People 
with underlying medical conditions have motor vehicle accidents, too.  Claims become a 
matter of sorting out how bad things were before the collision and how bad they have 
been since.  Under tort or under no-fault, insurers remain in an adversarial relationship 
with claimants:  It is in insurers’ interests to pay less and it is in claimants’ interests to 
receive more.  Under these circumstances it is difficult to see how a no-fault system 
would speed payment of benefits. 
 
Furthermore, under no-fault, as under tort, it is in insurers’ interest to blame others for the 
accident – such as those responsible for highway or vehicle design.  No-fault does not 
absolve these entities from potential liability.  In fact, by limiting other options, it may 
make them more attractive targets for litigation. 
 
Unlike tort, which insures the risk you and your vehicle pose to others, no-fault insures 
the risk you and your vehicle pose to yourself.  A 1999 article in the Journal of Insurance 
Regulation pointed out that no-fault systems may reward drivers of heavier, more 
“aggressive” vehicles with lower premiums, because “the weight differential between 
vehicles is by far the best predictor of whether two-vehicle accidents will result in serious 
injury or death.”  The study cites 1997 Fatal Accident Reporting System (FARS) data for 
two and multi-vehicle accidents: 
 

“Almost half of all highway deaths occurred to occupants of vehicles that 
were 500 lbs. or more lighter than the other vehicle, compared to only 
12% of deaths in vehicles that weighed over 500 lbs. more than the other 
vehicle.  … there is little doubt that no-fault imposes a premium charge on 
drivers of lighter vehicles based on cost produced by drivers of heavier 
vehicles.”87 

 
Finally, no-fault proponents have argued that a no-fault system increases compliance with 
compulsory insurance laws.  A 2001 study found just the opposite:  that no-fault laws 

                                                 
85 Ibid. 
86 “Does No-Fault Reduce Litigation?” Risjord, Norman K.; Insurance Counsel Journal; Chicago; Jul 1986 
87 “The case against auto choice,” Kabler, Brent; Journal of Insurance Regulation; vs. 18 no 1 (Fall 1999) 
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were associated with higher levels of uninsured motorist claims, and that this was 
statistically significant at the 95% level.88 
 
Recently, “choice” systems have been proposed, in which consumers would be able to 
choose to be in tort or no-fault systems.  There is some evidence that consumers may not 
understand what they are choosing between.  For example, according to Senate 
testimony, 
 

“The Insurance Commissioner from Michigan, testifying before the 
Massachusetts Joint Insurance Committee, stated he would not advocate a 
choice proposal because such a system is incomprehensible to 
consumers.”89 

 
That same testimony summarized two states’ experiments with choice.  In Pennsylvania, 
where consumers were assigned the tort system unless they opted out, 76% were in the 
tort system in the year following adoption.  In New Jersey, where consumers were 
assigned the no-fault system unless they opted out, over 80% were in the no-fault system 
one year post adoption.90 
 
If consumers did understand the difference between the two systems, the economic 
principle of adverse selection might come into play, with safe drivers tending to choose 
tort and risky drivers tending to choose no-fault.  Also, tort choosers would lose in 
accidents with at-fault drivers who were no-fault choosers, because the tort chooser’s 
policy would step in and indemnify the no-fault chooser.91 
 
THE INVOLUNTARY MARKET 
 
Assigned risk pools (ARPs), joint underwriting associations (JUAs) and reinsurance 
facilities are different systems for the involuntary or residual market – the market of last 
resort for drivers who cannot obtain insurance elsewhere. 
 
Typically, assigned risk pools assign high-risk drivers to insurers based on some measure 
of market share.  The greater a company’s share of the voluntary market, the more high-
risk drivers will be assigned to it.  Often, insurers are required to charge predetermined 
rates for predetermined coverage and limits.  Insurers are responsible for administrative 
and loss costs. 92 
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Most states, including Arizona, have assigned risk pools (ARPs), but a few have joint 
underwriting associations (JUAs).  These differ from assigned risk pools in that the 
insurer providing administrative services (and bearing administrative costs) shares loss 
costs with all other insurers in the state.93  A 1999 study in the Journal of Risk and 
Insurance found that JUA insurers make higher loss payments than ARP insurers.94  The 
study explains this finding by pointing out that JUA insurers’ “primary incentive” is “to 
pay claims as quickly as possible to save on claims-processing expenses, including 
possible litigation.”95  Regulatory oversight or large market share (hence larger loss 
costs) can temper, but cannot remove, this incentive.96 
 
Before moving from a JUA to an ARP system, New Jersey provided additional incentive 
to settle claims generously, by compensating its JUA servicing insurer based on the dollar 
value of claims paid.  “After only four years in existence, the New Jersey JUA had a $2.9 
billion deficit and one of the highest automobile insurance rates in the country.  (Barnes 
1989).”97  News stories reported some of the state’s reactions to this crisis.  By 1987, the 
insurance commissioner proposed having assigned-risk drivers pay a $250 surcharge for 
new insurance unless they could prove they had made all payments on their previous 
year’s insurance.98  As New Jersey drivers “seeking to reinsure their car after a … lapse 
in payment” could usually only get insurance in the involuntary market, the proposed 
surcharge would have affected many in the involuntary market.99 
 
Difficulty affording insurance is one reason payments lapse.  In Maryland, a news story 
noted that although many motorists in the involuntary market were “among Maryland’s 
poorest residents,” they often had to borrow money to buy policies “at interest rates of up 
to 40%.”100 
 
South Carolina’s Reinsurance Facility (similar to a JUA) insured more drivers in its high-
risk pool “than 43 other states combined”:  nearly 42% of the state’s drivers, or one 
million motorists.101  A 2000 news story gave the reason:  Insurers were “locked into 
rating categories and … required to write coverage to anyone who asked.  Their main 
safety valve was to turn over 35% of their portfolio to the high-risk market.”  One year 
after changing to a free market system, South Carolina’s high-risk pool had shrunk from 
503,000 policies to 57,930, going from a $24 million net loss to a profit of $169,000.102 
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Price has an effect on the size of a state’s involuntary market.  For example, in California 
“many drivers, high-risk or not, flocked to CAARP (California’s assigned risk pool) to 
take advantage of the lower rates.”  A mandated 85% rate increase, said to be needed to 
make the program “actuarially sound,” dropped enrollment to “its lowest point since the 
system was set up more than 50 years ago.”103 
 
It is unclear whether the size of a state’s involuntary market has any effect on the size of 
its uninsured motorist population.  As of 2000, North Carolina had 1.2 million vehicles 
insured in its involuntary market – the highest of any state in the nation – yet its 
estimated uninsured motorist rate is quite low:  6%.  That same year, South Carolina had 
just under 75,000 vehicles insured in its involuntary market – but had one of the highest 
uninsured motorist rates:  28%.104 
 
Secondary data analyzed for this report found no significant relationship between the size 
of the involuntary market, or the percent insured in the involuntary market, and the 
uninsured motorist rate.  
 
Arizona’s Assigned Risk Pool is administered by the Western Association of Automobile 
Insurance Plans.  In 2000, it insured 217 vehicles.  In Arizona, many drivers with poor 
driving records or loss histories are able to find coverage in the nonstandard market – a 
segment of the voluntary market that accepts higher-risk drivers, usually for a higher 
price.  While Arizona’s involuntary market is shrinking, its nonstandard market is 
growing. 
 
LOW COST, LOW BENEFIT POLICIES 
 
Intended for low-income residents, low cost, low benefit policies offer benefits lower 
than state-mandated minimums.  By doing so, they create underinsured motorists while 
seeking to reduce uninsured motorists.   
 
In 1990, the American Insurance Association, an insurance-industry group, proposed a 
“no-frills” policy in New Jersey that would provide $250,000 personal injury coverage 
for the policyholder, no coverage for anyone else, and no protection against lawsuits.105  
By 2003, New Jersey allowed a “bare-bones” policy that provided $15,000 medical pay 
coverage for the driver and no protection against lawsuits, including no duty to defend 
against lawsuits.106  Even offering amnesty to previously uninsured drivers through a 
“Last Chance” program, New Jersey was unable to entice many into taking out bare-
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bones policies.  Over 16,000 motorists took advantage of the amnesty, escaping penalties 
as high as $1,035 per policy, but just 1,747 purchased no-frills policies. 
 
Officials commented that some agents were reluctant to sell the policy because its 
commission was smaller; “They also say some agents have been concerned that a 
motorist who buys the policy could later sue an agent, maintaining they had inferior 
coverage.”107  Apparently, the New Jersey bare-bones policy failed to provide legal 
defense in the event of a lawsuit, which a law journal article pointed out would 
“compound the risk” of a judgment.108  Consumers with assets to protect would be more 
likely to lose them. 
 
California is another state that has experimented with low cost, low benefit auto 
insurance.  Beginning in June 2000, drivers with clean driving records who met 
“numerous” other requirements, including earning less than 150% of the federal poverty 
level,109 were eligible for California’s four-year pilot program.  The annual cost is $450 
in Los Angeles County and $410 in the San Francisco area.  Unmarried, male drivers 
ages 19-25 pay an additional 25%.110  The policies offer $5,000/$10,000/$3,000 
coverage, yet satisfy the state’s $15,000/$30,000/$5,000 minimum coverage 
requirements.111  One inducement to participate is that, if another driver is at fault in an 
accident, policyholders will be able to collect for pain and suffering.  In California, state 
law prohibits uninsured motorists from recovering non-economic damages.112 
 
As of early September 2000, “fewer than 300 motorists had signed up.”  Officials hoped 
to see that number increase with a billboard campaign and “streamlined registration”;113 
yet five months later, hardly anyone had signed up.  Targeting low-income inner-city 
areas, where the uninsured rate exceeded 80%, billboards asked, “Need low-cost auto 
insurance?  Call this number.”  The billboards did not say it was a state program.  
According to Doug Heller of the Santa Monica-based Foundation for Taxpayer and 
Consumer Rights, “People think it’s some private agent.”  Another reason given for the 
program’s low enrollment was, “insurers note customers can get better coverage for the 
same amount spent on the low-income plans.”114 
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In 2001, New Mexico introduced legislation to reduce minimum liability limits for 
people earning less than 150% of the federal poverty level.  By reducing benefits almost 
60%, premiums would be reduced about 25%.  The bill was supported by insurers.115 
 
EQUITY ISSUES 
 
The problems of uninsured and underinsured motorists challenge policymakers to balance 
complex equity issues, namely: 
 
♦ Who should pay for motor vehicle accidents?  The person at fault?  The person 

injured?  Or should the state pick up the cost? 
♦ How should insurance rates be determined? 
♦ What assistance, if any, should be provided to low-income motorists? 
♦ When do enforcement measures infringe on civil rights? 
 
Who Should Pay For Motor Vehicle Accidents? 
 
States tackle the question of who should pay in two ways:  choice of compensation 
system and choice of minimum mandatory coverage requirements. 
 
In the United States, the choice of compensation system is between tort and no-fault.  
Defenders of the tort system argue that it is more equitable because the wrongdoer pays 
for the harm he causes. 
 

“It is basic to tort law that a tortfeasor should pay a victim, to the extent 
money can reflect the damage done, for the harm inflicted by his or her 
negligence.”116 

 
This belief, that people should be held responsible for their actions, underlies support for 
compulsory insurance laws as well.  According to Dave Snyder, assistant general counsel 
for the American Insurance Association in Washington, an organization that does not 
support mandatory insurance laws but admits they are “here to stay”: 
 

“We concluded the concept of compulsory liability [insurance] continues 
to enjoy support in public opinion surveys.  People are impressed with the 
concept of other people being financially responsible.”117  

 
While it is human nature to err, evidence indicates that serious accidents result from 
serious errors. 
 

“Roughly a third of all fatal accidents during 1997 involved alcohol or 
other controlled substances.  An additional 27.7% of accidents were speed 
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related, or involved a major traffic violation such as improper tailing, 
improper passing, driving on the wrong side of the road, or 
‘erratic/reckless’ driving.  Less than a quarter of accidents did not involve 
a fairly serious driver error.  The National Highway Transportation Safety 
Administration … has concluded that the vast majority of injury producing 
accidents are also the result of human error….”118 

 
The public’s desire to hold people financially responsible for their actions – through the 
tort system – becomes stronger as those actions become more egregious. 
 
A less convincing argument for the tort system is that: 
 

“‘No fault’ … substitutes a marketplace principle – that the victim will 
obtain the measure of justice he or she can pay for in the insurance he or 
she buys.”119 

 
Defenders of no-fault would be quick to point out that, under no-fault, victims can ensure 
that sufficient compensation will be available to meet their needs.  Under tort, victims 
“obtain the measure of justice” the other driver – not they – can pay for.  Either way, 
under tort or no-fault, “marketplace principles” are at work. 
 
Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverages bring some of the benefit of no-fault – 
the ability to ensure one’s own economic well-being in case of an accident – to the tort 
system.  However, that benefit is available only if another driver is at fault. 
 
Social welfare-minded proponents of no-fault might characterize the tort system as harsh 
for failing to compensate drivers who cause accidents.  But proponents of tort might 
answer that: 
 

“The principle of deterrence is the philosophic foundation for the tort 
liability system. …  deterrence is probably more central to the theory of 
torts than is the principle of restitution, since preventing harm altogether is 
preferable to compensating for harm.”120 

 
In fact, there is some evidence that no-fault systems increase accident rates and negligent 
driving behavior – a phenomenon known in economics literature as “moral hazard.”  
According to a 1999 Journal of Insurance Regulation article: 
 

“Two studies from 1982 concluded that no-fault systems significantly 
increase fatality rates, one of which estimated that no-fault systems 
increase fatalities by as much as 10% (Landes, 1982; Medoff and 
Magaddino, 1982).  Sloan et. al. (1994) have estimated that no-fault 
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systems which eliminate at least 25% of tort claims are associated with an 
18% increase in the automobile fatality rate.  More recently, Cummins and 
Weiss (1999) found a statistically significant association between no-fault 
systems and fatality rates, and Devlin (1999), using micro-level data, 
found a significant association between no-fault systems and injury 
severity.  Two studies of no-fault systems in New Zealand and the 
Northern Territory of Australia found increases in auto fatalities of 16% 
and 20% respectively (Swan, 1984; McEwin, 1989).  Sloan et. al. (1995) 
found an increase in driver intoxication associated with no-fault, 
controlling for such factors as the price of alcohol as well as premium 
surcharges for DUIs.”121 

 
On the other hand, the article mentions that “at least two studies have found no 
association between no-fault and fatality rates (Kochanowksi and Young, 1985; Zador 
and Lund, 1986).”122 
 
Finally, implicit in any discussion of compensation systems is the fact that, to some 
extent, the state will have to pick up the tab for those not compensated by insurance.  
Accident victims will be given emergency medical treatment whether or not insurance 
exists to pay for it.  Those who can no longer work may become dependent on state aid.  
Insurance, therefore, benefits the state as well as the individual beneficiary. 
 
In making their second choice – where to set minimum mandatory limits and what types 
of coverage to require – states should consider the likely effects on uninsured motorist 
rates, accident victims, low-income residents and the state.  One study, cited above, has 
found that uninsured motorist rates go down as minimum liability limits go up, especially 
as they cross the 15/30 threshold.123  Accident victims benefit from higher minimum 
liability limits, as more compensation becomes available to them.  Victims also benefit 
from requiring uninsured motorist and underinsured motorist coverages.  These 
supplemental coverages cost little for the benefits they provide – benefits that, unlike 
liability insurance, are available to insureds for their own injuries.  The state benefits 
from requiring higher limits and uninsured motorist and underinsured motorist coverages, 
because the more insurance available to victims, the less the state has to cover. 
 
Whatever they mandate, compulsory insurance laws disproportionately affect low income 
residents.  Often, policymakers focus exclusively on the cost of compulsory insurance.  It 
is regrettable that people who have difficulty making ends meet must find a way to pay 
for auto insurance.  When Missouri experienced a boom in 1997, with unemployment 
going down to 4% statewide and less than 1% in some counties, uninsured vehicles “rose 
from 7.2% in 1996 to 9.2% in 1997.”  The Missouri Department of Insurance explained 

                                                 
121 Ibid. 
122 Ibid. 
123 “The uninsured motorist problem:  An investigation of the impact of enforcement and penalty severity 
on compliance,” Cole, Cassandra R.; Dumm, Randy E.; McCullough, Kathleen A.; Journal of Insurance 
Regulation; Kansas City; Summer 2001; pp. 630-632 



 

  41 
 

the increase by saying that as the unemployed and welfare recipients got jobs, they 
bought cars to drive to work, but skipped on insurance.124 
 
More coverage costs more, and higher costs are more difficult for low income residents 
to pay.  But more coverage also provides more benefits, and benefits are more important 
for low-income residents. 
 
One reason to purchase liability insurance is to protect one’s assets.  Since low-income 
residents have fewer assets to protect, they have less reason to buy liability insurance.  
However, when struck by an at-fault driver, low-income residents have a greater need for 
adequate compensation, since they are less likely to have health insurance to pay for 
medical care and less likely to have savings to fall back on if they cannot work.  Low-
income residents are also less likely to have purchased collision coverage.  They may be 
unable to repair or replace vehicles damaged by uninsured motorists. 
 
Cost-cutting measures that limit recovery for non-economic loss take away more from 
low-income residents than from those with higher incomes.  States that limit or prohibit 
recovery for pain and suffering guarantee that a neurosurgeon paralyzed in a motor 
vehicle accident will recover far more than a maintenance worker with the same injuries.  
Limiting recovery for non-economic loss also disproportionately affects children, who do 
not work, and young adults, who have not established careers.  In our democratic society, 
most people agree that human life and health are precious regardless of earning capacity.  
Compensation for pain and suffering recognizes this belief. 
 
In 1997, Louisiana allowed a new form of uninsured motorist coverage:  “economic loss 
only.”  Under that coverage, drivers injured by uninsured motorists could sue their 
company for “actual physical injuries, vehicle damage and lost wages,” but not for pain 
and suffering.125  The law “allows motorists who give up their right to sue for pain and 
suffering … to take a 20% reduction on their uninsured motorist coverage.”126 
 
Uninsured motorist coverage makes up a small part of the cost of an auto insurance 
policy.  In Louisiana in 2000, the average annual expenditure on liability coverage was 
$467.29.  Louisiana’s minimum mandatory liability limits are $10,000 per person and 
$20,000 per accident.  If uninsured motorist coverage cost as much as 20% of liability 
coverage, then people who choose economic loss only uninsured motorist coverage 
would give up at least $10,000 coverage for themselves and $20,000 for their families for 
about $19 a year.  Many people do not understand the difference between liability 
coverage and uninsured motorist coverage, nor do they understand the difference in cost 
between the two.  It is reasonable to assume that many people would not understand what 
they were giving up, or what they were getting in return. 
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Buyer confusion can be exploited by sellers.  A 1996 article in American Agent & Broker 
quotes a call center insurer sales agent speaking to a prospect: 
 

“Well, uninsured motorists insurance basically pays your medical bills 
when someone without insurance causes your injuries.  If you have good 
health insurance to cover those bills, you don’t need as much uninsured 
motorists coverage.”127 
 

Of course, this is horribly misleading, because uninsured motorist pays far more than 
medical bills – lost wages, disability, pain and suffering, benefits to family or estate upon 
death, and even punitive damages in some cases.  Typically, call center sales scripts and 
tactics are carefully developed by the client, and not the invention of an individual agent.  
The author of this report received similar, unsolicited advice when calling 800 numbers 
for insurance quotes.  Because uninsured motorist and underinsured motorist coverages 
are cheap for the benefits they provide, it makes sense that insurers would not want to 
promote them. 
 
How Should Insurance Rates Be Determined? 
 
States have an interest in keeping insurers solvent as well as in making insurance 
affordable and available.  But states differ in how they balance actuarial and equity 
issues.  Even factors associated with risk may be considered unfair when used to set rates.  
Legislative or regulatory attempts at prohibiting or restricting the use of certain rating 
factors have targeted age, gender and marital status.  States that have prohibitions or 
restrictions are shown in Table 7 below. 
 

Table 7.  Prohibited Rating Factors By State 
 

Age Prohibited in California, Hawaii, Massachusetts, North Carolina 

Gender Prohibited in Hawaii, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, North 
Carolina, Pennsylvania 
Restricted in California 

Marital status Prohibited in Michigan, Montana128 

 
More recently, credit and territory have come under attack.   In 2002, 10 states passed 
laws restricting the use of credit as a rating factor. Many states have laws requiring notice 
to consumers of the use of credit history, or prohibiting its use as the sole determining 
factor in rating or underwriting.  Credit history can have a major influence on consumers’ 
rates:  “Under some insurers’ guidelines, credit information can change the rates 
policyholders pay by up to 50%.”  For a while, the use of territory as a rating factor was 
prohibited in California.  An appeals court in 2000 reversed that ban, however.129 
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From consumers’ point of view, the use of any factor other than driving record may seem 
unfair.  Age and gender are beyond their control, and people do not decide to get married 
or move based on how it will affect their insurance rates. 
 
People with poor credit find themselves paying more for a number of goods and services 
– making precarious financial situations worse.  Credit history is used in employment and 
rental housing applications, as well as lending and leasing practices.  Charging higher 
premiums to people with poor credit may not be that different from charging higher 
premiums to people with low incomes. 
 
There are also those with poor credit “through no fault of their own,” as well as those 
who do not use credit for religious reasons or as a lifestyle choice.  In 2002, the National 
Conference of Insurance Legislators (NCOIL) took the former into account when it 
approved a model law on the use of credit scoring in underwriting and rating. 
 

“Among other things, the model legislation requires insurers to disclose to 
consumers that a credit report may be used and to notify the policyholder 
in compliance with the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act when credit is 
the basis for an adverse action.  It prohibits the use of credit information as 
the sole basis for refusal to insure or to nonrenew or cancel.  It also bars 
the use of disputed information or information identified as medical 
collection accounts in the credit report and encourages insurers to take into 
account extraordinary life events, such as catastrophic illness or the death 
of a spouse.”130 

 
Colorado’s Division of Insurance recently issued a regulation protecting those with no 
credit as well as those with poor credit.  The regulation prohibits insurers from using poor 
credit history “related to a divorce or debts of a former spouse” or “associated with 
medical debt collection accounts”; and from using lack of a recent credit history against 
“people 65 and older.”  According to the Insurance Information Institute, like those with 
poor credit, those with no credit (called “no-hits”) have “greater than average insurance 
losses.”131 
 
From insurers’ point of view, age, gender, marital status, territory, and credit history are 
predictive of risk; therefore, not using them to set rates would be unfair.  Actuarially-  
based rating factors allow insurers to assess risk and set rates more accurately.  Some 
consumers pay lower premiums as a result.  Limiting or prohibiting the use of actuarially-
based rating factors amounts to a subsidy of higher-risk consumers by lower-risk 
consumers.  Insurers argue that this is unfair. 
 
No study was found that examined public acceptance of various rating factors as 
legitimate, but it may be that time and longstanding use increase acceptance.  Having a 
plausible explanation for why the correlation occurs may also increase acceptance.  News 
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stories of accidents involving male teenage drivers and people’s own beliefs about 
driving, teenage boys, and risky behavior may be enough to convince them that auto 
insurance rates should be higher for this segment of the population.  On the other hand, 
people may have no beliefs about how poor credit or the neighborhood one lives in relate 
to driving behavior.  And news stories do not report credit histories or zip codes of 
drivers involved in accidents. 
 
Credit history and especially zip code are linked to another important policy 
consideration:  discrimination. 
 
A 1995 study of the availability of auto insurance in Texas found “a dramatic relationship 
between insurance availability and minority population as well as between insurance 
availability and median household income.”132  Authored by the chief economist for the 
Texas Department of Insurance, the study used a ratio of the number of insureds in the 
state’s three insurance markets as a measure of availability. 
 

nonstandard market + involuntary market 
standard/preferred market + nonstandard market + involuntary market 

 
Consumers denied coverage by standard/preferred insurers wound up in the nonstandard 
or involuntary markets.  The study found “tremendous variation” in availability by zip 
code.  Insurance availability decreased as minority population increased and as household 
income decreased.  In some zip codes, just 5% of insureds were in the nonstandard or 
involuntary markets.  In others, more than 50% were in these higher-priced markets.  
According to the study, “This variation cannot be the result of random variation, bad 
drivers deciding to live together or the minority population being worse drivers, on 
average.”133 
 

“The Department (of Insurance) compared composition of the population 
in Texas by race to the composition of involvement in accidents as 
reported to the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) and found that 
minorities were no more likely to have been involved in traffic accidents 
than the minority share of the population.  In 1992, the DPS reported that 
of drivers involved in accidents in Texas, 61% were white, 20% were 
Hispanic, 12% were African American and 7% were unknown or of 
another background.  The state’s population in 1992 was 61% white, 25% 
Hispanic, 12% African American and 2% other.”134 

 
Minority drivers were no more likely to have been involved in accidents than white 
drivers. 
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Despite this, regression analysis showed that drivers living in zip codes with high 
minority populations were two to three times more likely to have been denied coverage in 
the standard/preferred market, even after holding median household income constant – a 
finding statistically significant at the 99% confidence level.135 
 
Other studies, cited above, have already shown that uninsured motorists are more likely 
to be Hispanic or African American and low-income and that as the cost of insurance 
goes up, so does the uninsured motorist rate.136  If coverage in the standard/preferred 
market is less available to minority and low-income drivers, this may be a contributing 
factor to the uninsured motorist rate, as coverage in the nonstandard and involuntary 
markets is more expensive. 
 
The Texas study looked at zip code level data.  Looking at state level data, as minority 
population increases relative to the population as a whole, so does the uninsured motorist 
rate.  Comparing figures for urban population, median household income, average 
amount paid out for damages covered by liability insurance and minority population, 
minority population was the only variable significantly predictive of the uninsured 
motorist rate.  For every 1% increase in minority population rate, we would expect to see 
a .2% increase in the uninsured motorist rate – a finding statistically significant at the 
99% level.  Minority population rate explains 14.7% of the variation in the uninsured 
motorist rate.  (See Figure 7 below and Output 3 in the Appendix.) 
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Figure 7.  Correlation Between Percent Minority Population and Uninsured Motorist Rate  
 
 
What Assistance, If Any, Should Be Provided to Low-Income Motorists? 
 
Few states have offered programs to help low-income residents afford auto insurance.  In 
responding to surveys for this report, a number of state insurance departments admitted 
they did not know if their state had offered such a program – but if it had, the state 
welfare department would have managed it.  In 1990, a story in The New York Times 
reported that Hawaii subsidized free auto insurance to over 7,000 welfare recipients.137  
Today that program might cost in the neighborhood of $3.5 million. 
 
Other than outright subsidies, a number of policy initiatives might benefit low-income 
motorists, such as low interest loans to pay premiums or requiring insurers to accept more 
frequent, smaller payments from low-income insureds.  Obstacles to becoming legal, 
such as surcharges, could be eliminated or reduced.  Tax incentives to insurers and/or 
motorists might also be considered. 
 
When Do Enforcement Measures Infringe on Civil Rights? 
 
Finally, states must look at whether enforcement of mandatory insurance laws violate 
civil rights. 
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In 1998, the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) objected to the use of 
“administrative roadblocks” – asking drivers for “driver’s licenses, registration and 
insurance” – in Nevada.  In 1990, the United States Supreme Court ruled that DUI 
checkpoints were constitutional.  But police at DUI checkpoints “are prevented without 
cause from intruding further than the purpose they are there for, such as asking for 
identification.”  According to the ACLU, “the case law nationwide is really all over the 
map.”138 
 
In addition to issues of probable cause and right to privacy, there is also the issue of equal 
treatment.  Concerned about racial profiling, Texas has not used DUI checkpoints since 
1994, “when the Court of Criminal Appeals ruled that they were unconstitutional until the 
Legislature established uniform standards.”  Despite three attempts, the Texas Legislature 
has yet to do so.139 
 
SUSPENSIONS, SURCHARGES AND AMNESTY 
 
Many states have barriers to uninsured motorists becoming legal – namely, penalties that 
must be paid or served before insurance can be obtained.  Government-imposed barriers 
include driver’s license suspensions and reinstatement fees.  Fines and jail time do not 
fall into this category, unless they must be paid or served before insurance can be 
obtained.  Insurer-imposed barriers include surcharges and declining coverage. 
 
Looking first at government-imposed barriers, driver's license suspensions and 
reinstatement fees may have any or all of the following effects: 
 
♦ Deter people from driving without insurance. 
♦ Encourage compliance with the law in order to be reinstated. 
♦ Make it impossible to get insurance until reinstatement. 
♦ Make it difficult to get insurance after reinstatement. 
♦ Make it difficult for a spouse or other household member to get insurance. 
♦ Have a disproportionate effect on low-income offenders. 
 
Although the 2001 Cole, et al. study found that higher potential fines were associated 
with lower uninsured motorist rates, it did not look at the relationship between actual 
fines and compliance, nor did it look at the relationship between fees – potential or actual 
– and compliance.140  Fines may be more readily waived by a judge than fees may be 
waived by an agency.  Therefore, fees may provide a truer picture of costs incurred to 
become legal. 
 
Uninsured motorists may continue to drive – illegally – with a suspended license.  In 
2001, reporters for the Chicago Sun-Times followed Illinois defendants whose licenses 
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had just been suspended out of the courthouse.  All got into their cars and drove away.141  
Some states, for example Ohio, have mandatory license suspensions for driving without 
insurance:  90 days for the first offense and one year for the second offense in five years.  
Insurers are unlikely to provide insurance during the suspension period, and are likely to 
impose surcharges, or decline coverage, after the suspension.  In 1995, Ohio suspended 
over 100,000 licenses for failure to comply with compulsory insurance laws.142  If all 
were first-time offenders, and just half continued to drive during the suspension period, 
that would amount to as many as 4.5 million days of motorists driving without insurance. 
 
In a 1996 news story in the Columbus Dispatch, opponents of Ohio’s mandatory 
suspension law cited a variety of reasons for their opposition.  Judge Anne Taylor of 
Franklin County Municipal Court said that “traffic laws should be designed to help 
drivers become legal as quickly as possible.”  Defense attorneys noted that divorced and 
separated people were “falling victim to” compulsory insurance laws for “unwittingly” 
driving without insurance their partner failed to pay for – an observation supported by a 
group for victims of domestic violence and the Legal Aid Society of Columbus.  Doing 
its own analysis of the over 37,000 Franklin County residents charged between 1993 and 
1995 with not having insurance, the Dispatch found that, “Nearly 75% … live in the 
city's poorest or most transient neighborhoods.”143 
 
License suspensions are intended as punishment and deterrence.  No study was found 
examining their effectiveness as either.  But suspensions that must be served for a 
minimum period before insurance may be obtained postpone the day when motorists can 
become insured, and legal.  High reinstatement fees can have the same effect on low 
income residents. 
 
There is reason for concern that drivers with suspended licenses pose a high risk to the 
public.  According to a national study by the Automobile Association of America (AAA) 
Foundation for Traffic Safety, 
 

“… one in five drivers in fatal crashes is improperly licensed.  The study, 
‘Unlicensed to Kill,’ looked at 183,749 accidents from 1993 to 1997.  …  
Other sobering numbers:  More than 73,000 people were arrested for 
driving on suspended and revoked licenses in 1999 in Illinois.  One in 10 
drivers in a fatal accident in 1999 in Illinois didn’t have a valid license.  
One in three had their licenses suspended or revoked in the past, the latest 
statistics from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration show.  
In a United States Transportation Department survey of people arrested for 
driving under the influence, 38% said they were likely to drive without a 
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license.  ‘Driving while unlicensed is likely to be encouraged by the belief 
that there is little danger of being caught,’ the 1996 study concluded.”144 

 
A driver’s license is a privilege, and meant to show fitness, knowledge and responsibility 
to be entrusted with that privilege.  There is no question but that some drivers should not 
be on the road, and should have their driving privileges revoked – regardless of the 
difficulty of enforcement. 
 
Applying that penalty to those who drive without insurance, however, punishes those 
who fail to get insurance by making it impossible for them to get insurance.  Per a 
telephone call to the Arizona Department of Insurance, insurers in Arizona will not issue 
policies to drivers while their licenses are suspended.  This is logical, in that they are not 
supposed to be driving.  But some will drive, and the risk they present is borne by the 
public, and by the state, and not by insurers (except through uninsured motorist coverage, 
which is not mandatory in Arizona). 
 
On the other hand, states that allow license suspensions to be lifted upon presentation of 
proof of insurance may expedite, not delay, purchase of insurance.  This may not be the 
case, however, if insurers are allowed to decline coverage or impose surcharges. 
 
Insurer penalties apply to those who let their policies lapse and then try to reinsure, as 
well as those convicted of driving without insurance.  In 2002, New Jersey motorists 
whose policies lapsed more than 30 days were forced into the state’s involuntary market, 
which imposed surcharges of $1,035 on liability insurance plus an additional $351 on full 
coverage.  To encourage compliance, the state announced an amnesty program in 
September of 2002 that would waive surcharges for those who purchased insurance 
before the end of the year.  Those convicted of driving without insurance would still have 
to pay a separate $1,275 surcharge over three years and could not apply for insurance 
until a one-year license suspension was over.145  Over 16,000 motorists took advantage of 
the amnesty.146 
 
Surcharges and declining coverage may apply even to those who have not broken the law 
– for example, those who went without a car for a period of time and cancelled their 
insurance.  Included in this group are people struggling to replace a car that “died” as 
well as United States soldiers sent overseas.  Insurers justify surcharges by saying that 
previously uninsured motorists pose a higher risk.  When Texas changed its compulsory 
insurance law, State Farm claimed that “previously uninsured drivers had 130% higher 
losses than insured drivers with clean records.”147  According to the chair of the State 
Board of Insurance, however, insurers did not provide the board with information 
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showing this group posed a higher risk.148  Banned in some states, surcharges on 
previously uninsured motorists may add as much as 30% to the cost of a policy.149 
 
FINES AND JAIL 
 
Once again, a 2001 study has shown that higher potential fines are associated with lower 
uninsured motorist rates, but has left unanswered the question of what relationship, if 
any, exists between higher actual (imposed or collected) fines and uninsured motorist 
rates.150  No studies were found examining this issue. 
 
Generally, agencies do not exercise discretion in imposing administrative penalties such 
as suspensions and reinstatement fees.  One reason for this is government’s mandate to 
impartially enforce the law.  Unlike administrative penalties imposed by an agency, 
however, civil or criminal penalties imposed by a court are subject to judicial discretion.  
Dismissal, reduction or suspension of nonmandatory penalties can be common.  A 2002 
Associated Press news story reported that, in 2001, Iowa judges dismissed or acquitted 
25,426 out of 47,651 tickets for failure to prove insurance.  “Rather than issue fines,” the 
story read, “judges let defendants off if they agreed to buy auto coverage.”151  It is 
unclear what follow-up, if any, was done to ensure that they did so. 
 
In Florida in 1990, over 140,000 citations were issued for failure to prove insurance.  
Statewide, 55% were dismissed, while in Palm Beach County, 70% were dismissed.  
Judge David Demers, president-elect of the Conference of County Court Judges of 
Florida explained: 
 

“What happens in a lot of these cases is that it’s often a companion charge 
to DUI or driving on a suspended license ….  It’s common to merge and 
dismiss the infractions in exchange for a guilty plea on the greater 
charge.”152 

 
Another possible explanation is that Florida’s database was “cluttered with mistakes.”  
Hundreds of cases were dismissed because motorists had insurance when the database 
said they did not.153 
 
Whatever the cause, high dismissal rates can undermine enforcement.  In 1997, Orange 
County, California judges “waived so many fines that at least eight police departments 
stopped ticketing motorists without proof of insurance.”  Cities were losing money on 
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court processing fees for insurance tickets.  Although a change in the law waived 
processing fees when fines were waived, enforcement agencies incur other costs in 
issuing tickets, including officer time in court.154  In addition to cost, there may be a 
negative effect on morale:  If officers believe it is a waste of time to enforce a particular 
law, they are less likely to do so. 
 
The exercise of judicial discretion, by dismissal, reduction or suspension of penalties, 
also makes it more difficult to assess the law’s effectiveness. 
 
The argument for discretion is that, with adequate information available about a 
defendant’s past history and current circumstances, a judge can tailor punishment to fit 
the crime, taking into account aggravating and mitigating factors.  Judges can, and do, 
exercise discretion even in the presence of mandatory penalties – by dismissing or 
reducing charges or suspending sentence. 
 
Although the 2001 study found higher potential fines associated with lower uninsured 
motorist rates, jail time was the opposite:  as potential jail days increased, so did 
uninsured motorist rates.  The study’s authors suggested that the result – uninsured 
motorist rates increasing with potential jail days – was “spurious, endogenous (states with 
problems react by passing tougher penalties),” penalties weren’t being enforced or people 
didn’t believe penalties would be enforced.  Again, no studies were found on actual jail 
days (sentenced or served) and uninsured motorist rates.  Even as a potential penalty, jail 
time for failing to comply with compulsory insurance laws is by no means universal – 
less than half the states had that penalty in 2001.155 
 
NO- PAY/NO-PLAY 
 
Insurers have promoted, and some states have adopted, “no-pay/no-play” provisions.   
 
California’s Prop 213, passed in 1997, barred uninsured motorists from collecting non-
economic damages, including pain and suffering.156  Oklahoma’s Insurance 
Commissioner Carroll Fisher proposed forcing uninsured motorists to exhaust their health 
insurance before allowing them to collect minimum liability limits from at-fault, insured 
drivers.157 
 
Sometimes insurers offer rate rollbacks in exchange for no-pay/no-play legislation. 
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In 1999, State Farm offered a rate cut of 4.5% if New Mexico passed a no-pay/no-play 
bill that allowed uninsured motorists to collect for economic loss only – not pain and 
suffering and not punitive damages.158 
 
Two years earlier, Louisiana demanded, and got, rate rollbacks of 10% on liability 
coverage for 75% of the state’s motorists – about a 5% discount on total premiums for the 
average full-coverage policy.  In exchange, the legislature passed a bill barring uninsured 
motorists from collecting the first $10,000 in medical bills or property loss after an 
accident.  Louisiana’s minimum per person liability limits are $10,000, so uninsured 
motorists injured by drivers with minimum liability coverage would collect nothing. 
 
The bill also allowed “economic loss only” uninsured motorist coverage.  To receive a 
20% discount on uninsured motorist coverage (less than a 4% discount on total 
premiums, typically) policyholders would give up the right – for themselves and their 
passengers – to recover non-economic damages if injured by an uninsured motorist.159 
 
At the same time, Louisiana passed a bill allowing towing and impoundment of uninsured 
vehicles, but implementation was delayed by a challenge in the courts.  One year later, 
the uninsured motorist rate had fallen from 30% to 22%, according to state Department of 
Insurance estimates, and from 12% to 8%, according to Insurance Research Council 
estimates.  (The Department of Insurance compared registered vehicles to policies issued; 
the Insurance Research Council took the ratio of uninsured motorist bodily injury claims 
to all bodily injury claims.)160 
 
Michigan and New Jersey also have no-pay/no-play legislation, but New Jersey’s law has 
been challenged for violating due process and equal protection rights.  An appeal is 
before the state supreme court.  A majority of states, however, that have considered no-
pay/no-play legislation have rejected it.  Nonetheless, the idea has strong public support.  
According to a 1997 public opinion survey by the Insurance Research Council, 77% of 
respondents “thought it was a good idea to limit uninsured drivers’ rights to collect 
damages from insured drivers.”161 
 
Arizona’s Constitution would prohibit no pay, no play legislation.  Article 2, Section 31 
states: 
 

“No law shall be enacted in this state limiting the amount of damages to be 
recovered for causing the death or injury of any person.” 

                                                 
158 “Uninsured Motorists Bill OK’d,” Coleman, Michael; Albuquerque Journal; 3/15/1999 
159 “Senate bill has 10% cut for auto policies; Rollback called meaningless,” Cooper, Christopher; Times-
Picayune; 6/17/1997 
160 “Ensuring compliance,” Times-Picayune; 11/13/2001 
161 Source:  Insurance Information Institute; March 2003 



 

  53 
 

 
PROOF OF INSURANCE, LICENSE PLATE SEIZURE AND IMPOUNDMENT 
 
Proof of Insurance 
 
States have come up with different requirements for proof of insurance.  Mainly, states 
require motorists to provide proof on one or more of the following occasions: 
 
♦ After an accident 
♦ At the scene of an accident 
♦ Upon officer request 
♦ After registration 
♦ At registration 
♦ At renewal of registration 
♦ When randomly selected 
 
In their 2001 study, Cole, et al. found that, of states with compulsory insurance laws, 
45% require proof of insurance “whenever there has been an accident,” 29% require 
proof “in the event of an accident or a moving violation” and 25% require proof “upon 
the request of a police officer.”  Random checks are also used, but “infrequently.”  
Testing the most stringent requirement, requiring proof upon officer request, the authors 
found no statistically significant relationship with the uninsured motorist rate.162 
 
The authors explained their findings by noting the ease with which insurance can be 
obtained and then cancelled once a vehicle is registered and the prevalence of counterfeit 
or stolen insurance cards in some states. 
 
In 1999 in New Mexico, insurers were writing policies for 30-day coverage – a practice 
especially suited for those who want coverage just long enough to register their 
vehicles.163  With little follow up (except in states that require electronic reporting from 
insurers), there is little chance of being caught.  Missouri closed this loophole by banning 
the sale of auto liability insurance policies of less than three months.164  The Insurance 
Journal article reporting this does not say if policies were non-cancelable for three 
months, or if three months’ premium was required up front. 
 
Although Cole, et al. found no relationship between requiring proof upon officer request 
and uninsured motorist rates, there is anecdotal evidence of a relationship between 
requiring proof at registration and uninsured motorist rates. 
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The year after Missouri began requiring proof of insurance to obtain new or renew 
license plates, the state’s uninsured motorist rate dropped from 9.1% to 7.3%, according 
to an annual comparison of registration and insurer records.165 
 
When California began requiring proof at registration in 1997, a “flourishing” industry in 
counterfeit insurance cards developed, in which licensed insurance agents participated.166  
By 1998, state insurance regulators were “typically” suspending 15 agents’ licenses a 
month for selling fake insurance cards.167  California initiated other auto insurance 
reforms as well in 1997, which could account for some of its reported drop in uninsured 
motorist rates from 1996 to 1997:  24.1% to 11.2%.168  It is also possible that some of the 
insured in those statistics were actually uninsured, with counterfeit insurance cards. 
 
Or, perhaps requiring proof at registration did increase compliance.  People may think it 
unlikely that they will be in an accident, or pulled over for a moving violation, and have 
to show proof to an officer.  But if they drive a vehicle without tags, they visibly break 
the law – an uncomfortable position to be in. 
 
Arizona has tried to make such lawbreaking more visible and uncomfortable by allowing 
sellers to retain license plates and the balance on their registration fees.  Buyers would 
have to re-register (and provide proof of insurance) or risk driving without license 
plates.169 
 
Many comply with proof at registration laws.  Others find a way around them.  While 
fake insurance cards are used to get real registration tags, some opt for counterfeit or 
stolen tags instead. 
 
A 1992 news story reported that in Houston, Texas: 
 

“The fake stickers are so popular that 9,600 citations were issued …for the 
month of November.  …  Worse still is the fact that the illegal activity is 
looked upon by the public as a legitimate service.  It can cost hundreds of 
dollars to get an older vehicle in shape to pass inspection.  Fake stickers 
cost $20 to $75.  Counterfeiting has soared in the last two years, after new 
laws made it harder to get a sticker.  State law now requires drivers to 
show proof of liability insurance before a sticker is issued.”170 

 

                                                 
165 Ibid. 
166 “Crackdown Works; Rates Fall as More Drivers Get Insured,” Barrett, Beth; The Daily News of Los 
Angeles; 8/4/1998 
167 “Insurance Regulators Go After Phony Proof Scam,” Dietz, David; The San Francisco Chronicle; 
5/20/1998 
168 “Crackdown Works; Rates Fall as More Drivers Get Insured,” Barrett, Beth; The Daily News of Los 
Angeles; 8/4/1998 
169 “Vehicle buyer complains about new license plate law,” The Associated Press State & Local Wire; 
1/24/2002 
170 “Phony inspection tags a hit with auto owners; Counterfeiting soars in past 2 years,” The Houston 
Chronicle; 12/7/1992 



 

  55 
 

In 2001, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania experienced “an epidemic of ‘license clipping’” – 
stealing tags from registered vehicles.  In response, it replaced license plate stickers with 
larger rear window stickers, after which “sticker theft declined by 10% and license-plate 
theft by 24%.”  Residents didn’t like the window stickers, however, so they became 
optional.171    
 
Requiring proof of insurance at registration may have another unintended effect:  
increased unregistered vehicle rates.  California is a case in point.  The first year it 
required proof at registration, over a million vehicles dropped off the registration roles or 
were declared nonoperational.172 
 
To recap, owners can thwart proof at registration requirements in several ways.  They 
can: 
 
♦ Not register their vehicle 
♦ Purchase insurance, register their vehicle, then cancel insurance 
♦ Obtain false proof of insurance, then register their vehicle 
♦ Obtain false registration tags 
♦ Obtain stolen registration tags 
 
Except in states that require electronic reporting from insurers, the likelihood of being 
caught is low.  To be caught by law enforcement at an accident, a traffic stop or an 
administrative checkpoint, the officer must ask for proof of insurance and, if presented 
with a counterfeit, must recognize it as such.  At registration, agency personnel would 
also have to recognize counterfeit insurance cards. 
 
States that use random sampling increase the odds of being caught, but only slightly.  
This method mails requests for proof of insurance to randomly selected owners of 
registered vehicles.  The owners have a certain number of days within which to respond.  
At one time, Arizona mailed 12,000 such requests a year, according to Charles Ramsey, 
former manager of the Arizona Department of Transportation’s Insurance Unit.  With 3 
million motorists, this gave owners a 0.4% chance of being selected.  According to 
Ramsey, “Most people didn’t even know we were doing it.”173 
 
South Carolina sampled much more extensively, sending out 500 requests a day, or about 
125,000 a year – giving owners a 4-5% chance of being selected.174  But violators were 
less likely to be selected.  If the uninsured motorist rate was 25% – a high figure – 
violators would have a 0.1% chance of being caught.  Still, random sampling was more 
effective in catching uninsured motorists than traffic stops.  In 2001, traffic stops resulted 
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in 2,648 citations for driving without insurance.  Random sampling resulted in 7,788 
suspensions for failure to provide proof of insurance.175 
 
On the other hand, random sampling contacted over 115,000 owners who had insurance, 
giving them 45 days to get their insurers to sign forms confirming coverage.176  Eleanor 
Kitzman of Drivers Choice described South Carolina’s program as not being “overly 
successful” in reducing the number of uninsured motorists, “But it was very successful in 
annoying law-abiding citizens….”177  A separate news story reported that legislators and 
insurers agreed, saying, “random sampling is cumbersome, doesn't target uninsured 
motorists and irritates policyholders who are forced to fill out paperwork to prove they 
have coverage.”178  South Carolina began moving to a database insurance verification 
system in 2001.179 
 
States require insurers, as well as owners, to provide information.  Insurers must provide 
confirmation or denial of coverage upon request, which may be on an as-needed or 
ongoing basis, or when some triggering event occurs, such as cancellation or nonrenewal. 
 
Ma and Schmit found that requiring proof from insurers – not owners – was related to 
lower uninsured motorist rates.  In their 2000 study, they found that requiring insurers to 
notify state agencies when policies were cancelled or not renewed was related to lower 
uninsured motorist rates, and that the relationship was statistically significant at the 99% 
level.180 
 
License Plate Seizure 
 
Some states have experimented with seizing license plates of uninsured motorists.  This 
got the attention of those driving without insurance, but raised the ire of those wrongly 
identified as uninsured. 
 
A pioneer in requiring electronic reporting from insurers (starting in 1989), Florida 
struggled with inaccuracies that did not allow matching of policy records with 
registration records.  Initially, Florida’s database had a 60% accuracy rate (now 98%).181  
Its license plate seizure program ran into difficulties, prompting a caustic article in 
Business Week about “what happens when you cross the inefficiencies of state 
government with those of the insurance industry.” 
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“… a recent survey found that a third of the plates snatched by the repo 
men – who turned in nearly 7,000 plates over a recent 13-month period, 
earning a princely $25 each – were from fully insured motorists who had 
simply switched insurers.  …  Florida officials blame insurance companies 
that drag their feet on filing mandatory lists of motorists without 
coverage.”182 

 
Still, an earlier article in The Washington Post credited Florida’s license plate seizure 
program with a “a 2% increase in the number of Florida’s insured vehicles.”  Stated this 
way, it is unclear whether a decrease in the uninsured motorist rate or an increase in the 
motorist population was responsible.  Nonetheless, State Farm, the state’s largest 
automobile insurer “reduced its rates for the first time in more than a decade,” citing “the 
reduction in the number of uninsured motorists as a primary reason.”183 
 
Maryland ran a pilot program using outside enforcement agents in 1997, but it targeted 
uninsured motorists who had received at least four notices from the Motor Vehicle 
Administration (MVA), had multiple insurance violations, or had defaulted on MVA 
penalties.184  Agents had to meet state criteria for private detectives.185 
 
Targeting the worst offenders is one way to reduce the number of license plates seized by 
mistake.  Requiring insurers to provide policy change information within a certain 
number of days or face fines is another. 
 
Impoundment 
 
States and municipalities both use towing and impoundment to enforce compulsory 
insurance laws.  Few use impoundment extensively.  Costs include officer time waiting 
for tow trucks to arrive, towing and storage fees and, in many cases, disposal costs. 
 
Louisiana began towing and impounding uninsured vehicles in May 1999.  Officers made 
exceptions if there were children, elderly or handicapped in the vehicle or if it was in a 
high crime or remote area.186 
 
Almost immediately, tow lots began to fill up.  Within the first six months, two of New 
Orleans’ 21 approved operators withdrew from the program “because their lots were 
jammed with uninsured vehicles.”  Others rented storage lots “to handle the overflow.”  
The state reported roughly 40% of vehicles were unclaimed, but city operators said their 
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rates were much higher.187  By 2002, 60% were unclaimed, according to Fred Burkett 
with the state Towing and Recovery Association.  Other municipalities that use 
impoundment have had similar experiences.  In Gresham, Oregon, a town near Portland, 
about 50% of vehicles were unclaimed.188 
 
Many were in poor condition.189  It would be cheaper for owners to replace them rather 
than pay fees, fines and insurance to redeem them.  In Louisiana, operators could apply 
for title, but in 1999, they said that process took six months to a year.  The state said it 
took 60 to 90 days, but that it was “working to streamline the process.”190  Three years 
later, Molly Quirk, Director of the Louisiana Property Casualty Insurance Commission, 
told a reporter that Louisiana law did not allow quick disposition of unclaimed vehicles, 
and that vehicles worth less than a thousand dollars usually sat for years before they 
could be sold.191 
 
In Connecticut, law enforcement could sell unclaimed vehicles at auction, but the process 
took up to six months.  New Jersey’s governor proposed an impoundment statute that 
would allow 30 days for motorists to provide proof of insurance or their vehicles would 
be sold.  Still, a Patterson, New Jersey police official said that whether enforcement 
would be a top priority would depend on the value of the vehicle.192 
 
New Orleans police were the most frequent users of the Louisiana statute, towing over 
18,000 vehicles from May 1999 to November 2001.  In that same period, state police 
towed over 7,800 vehicles and sheriffs over 6,000 vehicles.193  Overall, 38,000 vehicles 
were impounded between 1998 and 2000.  In 1999, Louisiana’s uninsured motorist rate 
was 30%.  By 2002, it was 22%.  According to Quirk, the law was credited in part for the 
decline.  She also said that some sheriffs refused to enforce the law, afraid voters would 
retaliate when they came up for reelection.194 
 
In some states, courts can order impoundment.  The advantage to this is that fewer 
insured motorists will have their vehicles impounded.  However, just as agency fees are 
more likely to be collected than court fines, officers may be more likely to impound 
vehicles than courts.  In Arkansas, courts can order vehicles impounded until proof of 
insurance is provided.  But as of 1999, penalties were rarely applied, according to the 
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette.195 
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NEW TECHNOLOGIES 
 
Several new technologies could be adapted to the problem of uninsured motorists.  
Among these are license plate readers, radio frequency identification devices (RFID), and 
smart cards. 
 
License Plate Readers 
 
Basically, a license plate reader system consists of cameras, illumination, optical 
character recognition (OCR) software, and database software.  Systems are already in use 
at international border crossings, including Arizona’s’.196  In 2001, National Underwriter 
reported that United States Customs spent $63,000 per lane for four cameras installed in 
bulletproof enclosures, but that costs typically were $20,000 to $50,000 per lane for a 
camera, an infrared strobe, and an image processor.197 
 
Government and insurers hoped that Arizona’s Border Auto Theft Information Center 
(BATIC) license plate reader system would help recover stolen vehicles crossing into 
Mexico or the United States198  A pilot program found that, in 28 days, 202 vehicles were 
stolen – but at the time they crossed the border, only two had been reported stolen.199 
 
The Arizona Department of Transportation used a license plate reader system developed 
by Computer Recognition Systems in pilot programs on State Route 68.  That system was 
“optimally designed” to read license plates at 45 to 55 mph, using lights that were kept on 
24 hours a day.  Motorists found the lights distracting.  The programs were intended to 
measure construction delay, not provide law enforcement, so the system’s 11% matching 
rate was found to be adequate.200 
 
Only states that require electronic reporting from insurers could use license plate reader 
technology in compulsory insurance law enforcement.  Cameras would record images of 
license plates.  The images would then be run through Optical Character Recognition 
(OCR) software, which would translate the images into license plate numbers.  The 
license plate numbers would then be run through the state’s database, which would match 
license plate numbers with vehicle identification numbers (VINs) and insurance status.  
At this point, one of two things could happen.  A citation could be issued and mailed to 
the registered owner or a waiting law enforcement officer could issue a citation 
personally. 
 
Perceptics Corp. in Knoxville, Tennessee claims its license plate reader systems have 
been used in automatic toll enforcement, border control, commercial vehicle operations, 
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emissions testing and security and access control.  It claims its systems can identify a 
vehicle’s license plate registration number, state, province, and country of origin within 
milliseconds in most weather conditions at highway speeds.  For emissions testing, the 
system “interfaces” with Department of Motor Vehicle (DMV) records to send violators a 
warning.  For toll enforcement, the system “provides real-time identification” of 
violators.201  If citations were mailed, “real-time” would not matter.  If a waiting officer 
issued citations, real-time interfacing as well as real-time identification would be needed. 
 
Mobile license plate reader systems have been used in parking enforcement.  The City of 
North Vancouver used a $75,000 system manufactured by a Canadian Company, Autovu 
Technologies.  A vehicle with four cameras takes photos of parked cars’ license plates.  
A computer in the vehicle matches photos with GPS input.  The system reminds the 
officer to return and a buzzer sounds if a car has been parked longer than permitted.202 
 
Using license plate reader systems to enforce compulsory insurance laws could raise legal 
issues whether systems were stationary or mobile.  Most automated red light or speed 
limit enforcement systems record information only when the law is broken.  An 
automated insurance enforcement system would need to record information continuously.  
Although records for insured motorists could be deleted, continuous surveillance might 
raise privacy and probable cause issues. 
 
As happened with police radar, products have sprung up that promise to thwart license 
plate cameras – mainly by creating glare.  The effectiveness of these license plate covers 
and sprays is unknown, particularly against systems that use infrared strobe illumination.  
Some states prohibit license plate covers.  It would be difficult, however, to enforce 
prohibition of spray-on products. 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Figure 8.  License Plate Cover Advertisement 
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RFID or radio frequency identification is used extensively in automated container 
identification.  It is also used in electronic toll collection.  RF tags store information 
much as bar codes do.  They may have an antenna only (passive), or an antenna and a 
power source (active).  They may also have a chip – allowing information to be rewritten 
on the tag. 
 
An advantage of RFID over bar codes is that tags only have to be near readers – they 
don’t have to be “seen” by them. 
 
Generally, passive tags can be read at distances up to one meter.  Active tags can be read 
from much farther away – until their batteries die.203  The faster tags are moving, or the 
more information they are carrying, the more bandwidth they require.204  Different 
materials – particularly metal – affect performance differently.  The signal can be reduced 
at lower frequencies and shift at higher frequencies.205  Speaking in 2002, Edward Rensi, 
senior analyst with Allied Business Intelligence, said, “RFID still comes with a high price 
tag and no real standards in place yet.”206 
 
Still, commuters in the Northeast Corridor are familiar with RFID.  As of 1998, an 
estimated four million RFID tags were in use in electronic toll collection.  Seven toll 
authorities and the states of New York, New Jersey and Pennsylvania solved the problem 
of lack of standardization by agreeing to buy interoperable equipment.207  Electronic toll 
collection uses transponders – active RF tags with chips to which deposits and 
withdrawals are written – mounted inside the windshield.  Transponders cost about $25 
each and can be read at speeds up to 25 mph. 
 
A separate application has been developed using RFID with a chip that stores registration 
and insurance information:  the “iltag” or intelligent license tag.  A joint venture of 
Infineon Technologies of Munich, Erich Utsch, and Schreiner ProSecure, the iltag can be 
read from a little over two feet away208 on vehicles that are parked or moving slowly.209  
Police can scan parked cars using a handheld device equipped with a mobile phone.  
Some information on the chip can be encrypted.210 
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The iltag (a label) is “about the size of an identity card.”  If someone tries to remove the 
label, the connection between the antenna and the chip breaks, and it becomes useless.  
The price per label is “around 10 Euros.”211 
 
It is unclear what benefit transponders of the type used in electronic toll collection would 
bring to compulsory insurance law enforcement, particularly if they cannot be read at 
highway speeds.  Somewhat bulky and conspicuous, transponders received widespread 
acceptance in toll collection because of the clear advantages they offer consumers.  There 
would be no obvious consumer benefit, however, to their use in insurance enforcement – 
making their size, location, and appearance problematic. 
 
It is also unclear what benefit the iltag would offer.  It might enable law enforcement to 
check for stolen vehicles more easily than by checking license plates.  But insurance 
information stored on the tags would not be current.  It would not be practical to require 
insurers to update tags – for example, at cancellation.  The tags would have to be driven 
to insurers or peeled off and mailed and new ones issued.  Insurers, law enforcement and 
motor vehicle agencies would have to have equipment that could write to tags – a major 
investment in equipment and training.  Even if they did all this, the iltag could be foiled 
by those who want to evade compulsory insurance laws in the same way proof at 
registration requirements can be foiled – buy insurance, obtain an iltag, cancel insurance. 
 
Furthermore, RFID would be likely to encounter opposition from the public for 
“broadcasting” information about owners.  Although information stored could be limited 
and/or encrypted, a public education process would be required.  Some would remain 
skeptical. 
 
To be useful in compulsory insurance law enforcement, RFID would need: 
 
♦ Encryption. 
♦ Inconspicuous size and placement, like the iltag. 
♦ Low manufacturing costs. 
♦ Real-time integration with the state’s database. 
♦ Receivers that could match RFID location with vehicle location, so that they could 

detect when RFID was disabled or missing. 
♦ Transmission that could be read at a distance and speed that would allow law 

enforcement officers to drive past parked cars and receive a signal when insurance or 
registration has expired. 

♦ Theft prevention, like the iltag. 
 
Smart Cards 
 
To be “smart,” a card must have a chip that can do calculations – a microprocessor.  The 
American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA) formed a working 
group to study smart card technology.  In 1999, it found “no strong business case” to use 
                                                 
211 “’Intelligent License Plate’ Offers Greater Deterrence Against Car Theft,” Joint news release of 
Infineon, Schreiner Prosecure and Utsch; September 17, 2002 



 

  63 
 

smart cards in either driver licensing or vehicle registration.  Out of 35 jurisdictions that 
responded to its survey, 25 had not considered using smart cards in a motor vehicle 
environment.  Nine had considered their use, but had not used them.212 
 
On the other hand, many states are converting to technology-based driver’s 
license/identification cards.  Tech-based cards, or tech cards, can be read by a machine.  
A magnetic (mag) stripe or bar code stores information. 
 
Smart cards can store more information than tech-based cards – between 2K and 8K, vs. 
1K for D2 bar code or 204 bytes for mag stripe.  They are also more secure.  Smart cards 
can support different passwords for different operations, as well as encryption, to prevent 
unauthorized access.  According to the American Association of Motor Vehicle 
Administrators (AAMVA), the most common encryption algorithm is Data Encryption 
Standard (DES), used by the federal government, but RSA (Rivest, Shamir, Adleman)is 
also becoming popular and some cards support both.  Smart cards can also support 
electronic purse functions.213 
 
Contact smart cards have contact pads that must touch contact pads in a reader.  
Contactless smart cards have radio frequency (RF) with a range of one millimeter to 
several meters.  Power can come from the reader or from a battery in the card.  Smart 
cards cost more to manufacture:  between $2 and $8.  They may not be as durable as 
tech-based cards, though.  Driver’s licenses, many of which have mag stripe, have a life 
expectancy of five to seven years.214 
 
According to AAMVA: 
 

“The basic criteria for the selection of a smart card are that it must be ISO 
(International Organization for Standardization) 7816-1/2/3 compliant, 
and it must implement the T=0 asynchronous communications protocol as 
part of the ISO 7816-3 standard.”215 

 
ISO is the International Organization for Standardization.  These standards have to do 
with physical characteristics and electronic signal and transmission protocols for chip 
cards with contacts.216 
 
In its report, the AAMVA addressed driver privacy and public record issues.  They 
believed smart cards would not be affected by the Driver Privacy Protection Act, because 
“the card, and thus release of the data, would be under the control of the driver.”217  For 
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the same reason, they believed the data would be exempt from public records requests in 
most states and could therefore be encrypted. 
 
In Utah, the one state that announced plans to use smart cards, opponents objected on 
privacy and religious freedom grounds.  Some believed smart cards were “the mark of the 
beast.”218  But the main hurdle to acceptance and adoption, according to AAMVA, would 
be the lack of other transactions the card could complete – with government or the private 
sector. To have interoperability with government, other agencies would have to adapt 
their processes to use the cards.  In the private sector, cards would need to be compatible 
with existing infrastructure, most of which is mag stripe – not chip – based. 
 
One potential use mentioned is medical records storage, particularly for emergency 
medical treatment.  It would be helpful to have information about allergies, medications, 
and underlying medical conditions available in an emergency.  But it is difficult to see 
any medical use beyond that. 
 
The report also mentions using smart cards to store driving records, including 
convictions, points, and even warnings. 
 
Two states, Ohio and Wyoming, are using smart cards to deliver food stamps.  In May 
2003, ABC affiliate WCPO in Cincinnati began its news story: 
 

“The ‘smart card’ system Ohio uses to issue food stamps is the most 
expensive in the country, but the state apparently is stuck with it.”219 

 
The story noted that smart cards need special readers in the checkout line.  It did not 
mention whether all lines, or all groceries, had them.  To run Ohio’s program, Citicorp 
would be paid $78 million over seven years. 
 
None of these uses seems to offer compelling benefits that make smart cards superior to 
alternatives.  Healthy individuals not allergic to medications do not need to have medical 
information available in an emergency.  Individuals who do need that information 
available can wear a MedicAlert bracelet or pendant.  Emergency medical treatment 
providers can call MedicAlert 24 hours a day, seven days a week, to retrieve the 
information.  Furthermore, MedicAlert calls your family, which a smart card cannot do. 
 
Recording driving record information on cards would encourage rejection, rather than 
acceptance.  No one wants to carry around a “bad report card.”  It is easy to imagine 
people taking a hammer to the chip or simply running the card through the washing 
machine to make it unreadable at traffic stops.  Food stamp recipients using mag stripe 
cards (as they do in other states) can go to any grocery with debit or credit card 
equipment.  To use smart cards, the grocery needs a special reader. 
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Although being able to complete a variety of transactions might increase acceptance, 
more users add more complexity.  If one card has multiple uses, the report asks questions 
such as, if the card is lost or stolen: 
 

“Whose responsibility is it to notify various businesses or government 
agencies that have information stored on the card?  … Who ‘rebuilds’ the 
information …?”220 

 
Or, more generally: 
 

“Who decides what to store and where to store it?  …  Who decides data 
field access and how?”221 

 
Finally, it is difficult to see what benefit smart cards or even tech cards would bring to 
compulsory insurance law enforcement.  To use smart cards, insurers would need special 
readers.  If they accept credit cards, they may already have readers for mag stripe, but 
they would need to be able to write to cards as well. 
 
Law enforcement officers and motor vehicle agencies would also need readers.  In states 
that do not require electronic reporting from insurers, if counterfeiting is a problem, it 
may be helpful to require insurers to issue insurance cards with bar codes.  In states that 
do require reporting, however, if law enforcement and agencies can access that database, 
then that is the best source of current information.  Smart cards can easily be outwitted.  
All owners have to do is buy insurance, obtain or update their smart cards, then cancel 
insurance. 
 
New York State has embraced tech cards, issuing bar-coded windshield registration 
stickers222 and requiring insurers to issue bar-coded insurance cards.  Information is 
encrypted.  Law enforcement officers equipped with hand-held scanners can check 
insurance and registration information against the state’s database.  New York does 
require electronic reporting from insurers.223 
 
But if New York did not require bar codes, law enforcement officers could still check 
insurance and registration information against the state’s database.  They could do so 
with the motorist present, by looking at the insurance card, or with the motorist absent, by 
looking at the license plate.  Officers would still need a way to communicate with the 
database, but the in-vehicle computers many departments now have would seem to be the 
cheapest way for them to do so.  The additional value of bar codes is that officers do not 
have to go to their vehicles and type information.  Whether this adds safety as well as 
convenience should be considered in any cost/benefit analysis. 
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DATABASE ISSUES 
 
Despite insurer opposition, more and more states are moving to database systems of 
compulsory insurance law enforcement.  Insurers claim the systems do nothing to reduce 
uninsured motorist rates.  In fact, there is anecdotal evidence that database systems may 
reduce uninsured motorist rates.  But states differ greatly in how they use the systems.  
And actual experience does not neatly illustrate the effects of changing one variable at a 
time.  Still, inferences can be drawn from comparing different states’ different 
approaches. 
 
When Colorado launched its database in 1999, it announced that officers could seize 
drivers’ licenses of uninsured motorists on the spot.  Motorists would have to show proof 
of insurance to get their licenses back.224  Law enforcement also announced 
administrative roadblocks to check proof of insurance.225  Over a six-month period that 
included three months before the database went into effect, the Colorado State Patrol 
issued 23% fewer citations for driving without proof of insurance than the same period 
the year before.226 
 
Immediately after New Mexico rolled out its database in December 2002, insurers 
reported a spike in premium writings – “up 70% year-over-year” for the quarter, 
according to Erv Pfeifer, spokesperson for the Association of Autoagents Alliance of 
New Mexico.227 
 
Neither of these examples proves that uninsured motorist rates were reduced.  But if they 
were, what caused the decline? 
 
The decision to comply with compulsory insurance laws can be looked at based on the 
expected costs of compliance vs. noncompliance.  Expected cost is cost multiplied by the 
likelihood of incurring that cost.  The likelihood of incurring premium cost for buying 
insurance is 100%.  The likelihood of being caught and incurring premium cost plus 
penalty cost for not buying insurance is less than 100%.  Traditionally, that likelihood has 
been quite low – less than 1%. 
 
Assuming that: 
 
♦ The premium for liability insurance is $500. 
♦ There is a 10% chance of being caught driving uninsured. 
♦ If caught, there is a 100% chance of having to pay the $500 premium and there is a 

50% chance of having to pay a $5,000 penalty. 
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Then: 
 
♦ The expected cost of compliance is 100% * $500, or $500. 
♦ The expected cost of noncompliance is 10% * $500 + 10% * 50% * $5,000, or $300.   
 
Even assuming higher than average chances of being caught and paying penalties, plus 
higher than average penalties, the expected cost of noncompliance is less than the 
expected cost of compliance. 
 
If the likelihood of being caught can be increased to 95%, however, penalties can be 
reduced to $100:  95% * $500 + 95% * 50% * $100 = $523 
 
No doubt motorists do not sit down and write this out.  But it does show the importance 
of the likelihood of being caught.  The contribution database systems can make to 
insurance enforcement is to dramatically increase the likelihood of being caught.  As long 
as being caught is followed by having to buy insurance, and keep insurance, penalties can 
be small and still outweigh expected gains from not buying insurance. 
 
The effectiveness of a database system is may be measured by: 
 
♦ How much the likelihood of being caught increases 
♦ Whether being caught is followed by having to buy, and keep, insurance 
♦ How effectively penalties are imposed 
 
The 2002 annual report for Virginia’s Insurance Verification Program shows the relative 
numbers of uninsured motorists caught by the state’s database versus those caught by all 
other means, shown in Figure 9 and Table 8 below. 
 

 

Figure 9.  Percent of Uninsured Motorist Notices Issued By Method, Virginia 2002 
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Table 8.  Uninsured Motorist Enforcement By Method, Virginia 2002 
 
 Number of 

notices issued 
Percent 
contribution 

Number of 
suspension orders 

Percent 
contribution 

Insurance companies 
reporting 

403,402 98.98% 69,383 96.43% 

Suspected uninsured 
accident 

1,646 0.40% 955 1.33% 

Law enforcement 
notification 

1,854 0.45% 1,224 1.70% 

Citizen information/police 
accident reports 

669 0.16% 388 0.54% 

Total 407,571 100% 71,950 100%228 

 
In 2002, over 43,471 uninsured motorists paid $500 penalties after being caught by 
Virginia’s database.  They were also required to file certificates of insurance for three 
years.  Of the $22,700,563 deposited into Virginia’s Uninsured Motorist Fund, 
$21,735,500 came from the database.  Twelve million dollars were distributed to insurers 
to help offset the cost of uninsured motorist coverage, required on all liability policies in 
Virginia.229 
 
Fees and fines from compulsory insurance law enforcement are not the only ways a 
database can pay for itself.  Arizona calculated that it cost the state $6.60 to renew 
registration at a motor vehicle office, but $1.60 to renew registration on the Internet.230 
California and Kansas use their databases only to renew registration by Internet or 
telephone.  Insurer reporting is voluntary.231  When California started its database in 
2000, three insurers participated.  In Arizona, where insurer reporting is required, Internet 
renewals save the state an estimated $1.25 million a year.232 
 
Insurance verification database systems require electronic reporting from insurers, from 
vehicle registration agencies, and, optionally, from driver’s license issuing agencies.  The 
state prescribes the format, deciding on: 
 
♦ Data fields. 
♦ Reporting frequency. 
♦ Transmission media. 
♦ Transmission standards. 
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Ideally, a database can tell the entire history of when a vehicle was insured, when it was 
not insured, and who owned it.  To do this, every transaction that changes whether or not 
a vehicle is insured, or who owns it, must be reported.  Otherwise, enforcement will be 
inefficient. 
  
In 1999, Kentucky was still operating under a 1975 law that required insurers to notify 
the Transportation Cabinet when coverage was cancelled, but not when policies were 
issued.  The agency responded to the 12,000 to 18,000 cancellation notices received each 
month with letters telling owners they had 30 days to show their county clerk proof of 
insurance or their registration would be cancelled.  Many owners had just switched 
insurers.  One county clerk noted, “The system is particularly scary for senior citizens 
who are sensitive to any perceived threat to their right to drive.”  Spokesmen for the 
state’s number one and two insurers Kentucky Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance and State 
Farm Insurance, recommended that the state do away with compulsory insurance and 
switch to a no-fault system.233 
 
As more states passed electronic reporting laws, insurers hoped to standardize the transfer 
of data.  Working in the American Standards Insurance Group – a subcommittee of the 
American National Standards Institute – they helped develop the X12234 reporting 
standard.  The problem according to Bill Hinds, former chairman of the Insurance 
Industry Committee on Motor Vehicle Administration (IICMVA), is that states “tweak” 
the format so that it is “no longer a standard format.”235  In 1998, the American 
Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators and the IICMVA published “Requirements 
for Model Motor Vehicle Liability Reporting,” which identified file-transfer protocols 
and defined required data fields.  It has become a “starting point” when states develop 
their programs.  “The result is no true standardized reporting.”236  Examples of 
differences include: 
 
♦ “Some states require reporting for personally owned vehicles but not commercially 

owned vehicles. 
♦ In some states, vehicles are to be reported under the named insured on the policy.  In 

others, they are to be reported under the individual or business name that appears on 
the vehicle registration. 

♦ Some states require reporting of information on drivers as well.  Others focus solely 
on vehicles. 

♦ In some states, reports are assumed to be continuous until canceled; meaning reports 
are sent only when coverage begins and when coverage terminates.  In other states, 
reports are required annually for each vehicle.”237 
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Some required information may not be collected at policy submission, such as detailed 
information on each vehicle in a fleet.238 
 
Even reporting frequency can be complicated.  In 1999, New York State had five 
different deadlines for insurers to report 12 different events. 
 

Table 9.  New York State (NYS) Insurer Reporting Deadlines By Event, 1999 
 

Business Event Notification is Due 

One time transfer of insurer’s book of 
business for all vehicles registered in 
NYS by the policy-holder 

Initial loading of Insurance Information and 
Enforcement System (IIES) 

New policy issuance 7 days after effective date 

Vehicles added to in force policy 7 days after effective date 

Different vehicle replacing vehicle on 
in force policy 

7 days after effective date 

Policyholder (all vehicles) moved to 
different company within insurer 
group) 

7 days after effective date 

Policy reinstated (all vehicles) 7 days after reinstatement 

Rescind erroneous cancellation 
transaction 

7 days after action (only if erroneous cancellation 
transaction reported and matched by NYS DMV) 

Policy cancelled (all vehicles) After grace period and 30 days after effective date 

Vehicles dropped without 
replacement from in force policy 

30 days after effective date 

For-hire policy cancelled (all 
vehicles) 

45 days BEFORE effective date 

For-hire vehicles dropped without 
replacement from in force policy 

45 days BEFORE effective date 

Repudiate coverage in response to 
Department of Motor Vehicles 
(DMV) initiated transaction 

(mandatory verification) 7 days after DMV initiated 
transaction when DMV does not receive 
confirmation of insurance ID card used to register 
vehicle 

Repudiate coverage in response to 
DMV initiated transaction 

(negative verification) 30 days after DMV annual 
batch process initiated transaction239 

 
In planning what data to require, and with what frequency, states should have an idea 
how they will use the information in enforcement.  Considerations here include: 
 
♦ How motorists are selected for enforcement – census, random sampling or record 

change. 
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♦ Frequency and number of motorists selected for enforcement. 
♦ Who will have access – law enforcement, driver’s license agencies, vehicle 

registration agencies, courts. 
♦ Enforcement contacts – number and timing. 
♦ Penalty actions – form and timing. 
♦ Public education. 
♦ Becoming insured options – delayed or immediate, monitoring. 
 
With one of the lowest uninsured motorist rates in the country, North Carolina has a long 
history of following up on insurer reporting with aggressive enforcement.  Starting in 
1986, the state sent law enforcement officers to seize license plates after receiving 
cancellation notices from insurers.  Penalties also included loss of driver’s license and 
fines.  Motorists who let their policies lapse but reinsured before the deadline to show 
proof were monitored for three years to make sure insurance was current.240 
 
In addition to requiring proof of insurance annually at license plate renewal, North 
Carolina requires proof of insurance to obtain a driver’s license.  Motorists who don’t 
own vehicles have to sign a form saying so and promising not to drive anything other 
than a fleet vehicle.  If caught driving anything other than a fleet vehicle, they are 
ticketed.241  In 1996, the state proposed letting insurers check newly issued drivers’ 
licenses to find potentially uninsured motorists – focusing on teenagers whose parents did 
not notify their insurers when their children became licensed drivers. 242 
 
North Carolina’s approach can be compared to Utah’s. 
 
When Utah launched its database in 1995, the estimated uninsured motorist rate was 
about 23%.  Utah’s outside vendor, Insure-Rite, did not keep data from that period, so 
that number could not be confirmed.  One year later, the estimated uninsured motorist 
rate was about 12%.  Each day, Insure-Rite received 6,000 to 8,000 requests from law 
enforcement officers to verify insurance.243  “Yes,” “no” or “exempt” would pop up in 
the insurance field on the traffic computer screen.244  Officers would cite “no” motorists 
for driving without insurance.  Other than officer citations, enforcement consisted of 
Insure-Rite sending letters to owners of vehicles identified as being uninsured, asking 
them to contact Insure-Rite with proof of insurance.  In March 1997, it sent 16,214 
letters.  Fifteen percent, or 2,432, contacted Insure-Rite.  Of those, 4%, or 97, obtained 
insurance.  Sixteen percent, or 2,594, had moved out of state or sold their vehicles – title 
information was not part of the database.  Noting that “officials from states with 
aggressive enforcement programs believe punitive measures have a significant impact on 
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reducing the number of uninsured motorists,” Utah’s Auditor General recommended that 
identification of uninsured motorists be followed up by enforcement action.245 
 
Utah law allowed penalties for driving without insurance, but not for owning an 
uninsured vehicle.  Three years later, Utah had changed its laws to allow penalties for 
owners of uninsured vehicles whether or not they were caught driving without insurance.  
Under the new system, 10,000 uninsured motorists would be randomly selected each 
month and sent two letters.246  Failure to respond with proof of insurance would result in 
revoked registration, a $100 reinstatement fee, and a $400 fine.  Unregistered vehicles 
could be impounded and officers could stop vehicles for revoked registration.247  For 
Utah’s estimated 75,000 uninsured motorists,248 the likelihood of being caught would go 
up month after month. 
 
Insurance verification database systems are complex managerially, politically and 
technically. 
 
Managerial Challenges 
 
Georgia experienced delay implementing its database due to communication and 
coordination problems – the result of a lack of leadership encouraged by the enabling 
legislation itself.  Senate Bill 69 mandated that the Georgia Department of Public Safety 
create a database from which officers could verify insurance, but provided no funding to 
accomplish this task.  The Georgia Department of Public Safety managed driver’s license 
suspensions of uninsured motorists, but vehicle registration was managed by the 
Department of Revenue, which was not mentioned in the bill.  Neither the Georgia 
Department of Public Safety nor the Department of Revenue contacted the Georgia 
Technology Authority, the agency “created for the expressed purpose of bringing 
agencies together when it comes to data sharing,” although Georgia Technology 
Authority (GTA) was working on the database, developing programming to accept 
insurer reporting.  Eventually, a fourth agency, the Department of Motor Vehicle Safety 
DMVS), was created.  The tag and title database, driver’s license suspensions and the 
insurance verification database were given to the Department of Motor Vehicle’s safety 
section.249 
 
Still there were problems.  DMVS’ Commissioner complained that the information 
required by law was not enough – that more than VINs and expiration dates were 
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necessary.  Additional information “would allow better cross-referencing to ensure 
accuracy.”250 
 
Lack of accuracy can do more than irritate insured motorists.  It can discourage 
enforcement.  According to Georgia’s state Insurance Commissioner, officers need 
confidence in the system or they won’t do anything – they need to know the person has 
broken the law.251  Six years later, it seemed that confidence had not yet been won.  
According to its spokesperson, “The Georgia State Patrol won’t force troopers to stick to 
the database.  It will be up to each individual trooper whether they take insurance 
cards.”252 
 
Political Challenges 
 
Utah provides an example of political difficulties involved in creating an insurance 
verification database. 
 
Passed in 1994, Utah’s Uninsured Motorist Identification Database bill required insurers 
to report their entire book of business – all active motor vehicle liability policies – each 
month.253  Insurers claimed the database “wouldn't work, was too expensive, invaded the 
privacy of policyholders, and that the problem of uninsured motorists was 
exaggerated.”254  There was a shouting match on the House floor before the bill passed.255  
In an article for the NAIC Research Quarterly, Utah Insurance Department Property & 
Casualty Analyst Vanna Hunter commented, 
 

”The program has met with intense opposition from insurance companies 
and their lobbyists who have tried to derail the legislation and its 
implementation at every turn.  Insurers have maintained from the 
beginning that such a database cannot work.  In spite of such claims, no 
insurer has ever fully explained why it objects to the concept of an 
uninsured motorist identification database.”256 

 
Insurers filed a lawsuit to stop the database and refused to provide data, delaying 
preliminary testing one and a half years.257  In their lawsuit, they argued that client 
information was proprietary and a valuable trade secret, that not compensating insurers 
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for providing data would be an unconstitutional “taking,” and that the database would 
violate due process.258 
 
After the lawsuit was dismissed, insurers continued to attack the program.  A lobbyist for 
the American Insurance Association said the industry’s uninsured motorist rate was much 
lower than the database’s uninsured motorist rate.  The two figures are arrived at by 
different methods.  Brushing aside insurers’ stated objections to the program, Utah House 
Minority Whip Kelly Atkinson said that insurers worried the database would force them 
to cover high-risk motorists and lower premiums.  According to Atkinson, 
 

"I'm convinced that the insurance industry doesn't want to solve this 
problem.  Why would they want to insure these bad drivers when you and 
I are already paying for them?”259 

 
In some states, insurer opposition has defeated attempts to create an insurance 
verification database.  A California bill raising penalties for uninsured motorists would 
have required insurers to report cancellations electronically.  But that was dropped 
“because of heavy pressure from the insurance companies themselves.”260  Today 
California has voluntary insurer reporting.  Its database is not used for enforcement. 
 
Technical Challenges 
 
Probably every state encounters technical difficulties with its database system.  Accuracy 
rates are a problem.  Wrongly identifying motorists as uninsured annoys law-abiding 
citizens and wastes enforcement resources. 
 
Records of policies from insurers are matched with records of vehicle registrations (and 
sometimes drivers’ licenses) from state agencies.  If there is no match between a vehicle 
and a current insurance policy, the vehicle is presumed uninsured. 
 
Before starting operations in April 1999, the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles 
announced that its database erroneously identified up to 18% of vehicles as uninsured – a 
result of the VIN, owner’s name, or other information not matching.261 
 
If matching is done on just one field – the 17 character VIN, for example – a single typo 
in that field will result in no match.  Florida’s database used VIN this way.  Seven years 
after starting operations, one in four vehicles matched.  This would mean 75% of Florida 
motorists were uninsured.  But in a three-month crackdown, stopping 236,000 cars, the 
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Florida Highway Patrol issued 5,777 citations for driving without insurance – a 2.5% 
uninsured motorist rate.262 
 
Florida blamed insurers for failure to notify the state promptly upon gaining or losing a 
policyholder and for failure to provide correct VINs.263  Today, 14 years after launching 
its database, Florida’s accuracy rate is 98%.264 
 
Two years into operations, Utah’s database vendor, Insure-Rite, had a 96% accuracy rate.  
Verified by independent audit, 1.6% was the result of matching error.  Another 1.6% was 
the result of insurers failing to report.  Unlike Florida’s early system, which could be 
thrown off by a single VIN typo, Insure-Rite used “about two dozen criteria” to match 
policy and registration records.265  According to the company’s president, most errors 
were the result of “different spellings on registration and insurance forms, recent car 
sales, and vehicles being out of service.”266 
 
Factors that affect accuracy include: 
 
♦ How matching is done.  The more fields the database checks for a match, the more 

likely it is that no match with a current policy means the vehicle is uninsured. 
♦ How reporting is done.  The simplest way to ensure that information is provided is to 

require reporting of the full book of business.  Some states require reporting on an 
exception basis – only when there is a change in coverage.  This adds complexity, 
especially when there are different reporting deadlines for different changes.  
Complexity increases opportunities for error. 

♦ How often reporting is done.  The more time that elapses between reports, the more 
inaccurate the system. 

♦ How reporting is enforced.  If there are no penalties for inaccurate or late reporting, 
reports will be inaccurate and late.  Arkansas began requiring insurers to report their 
full book of business each month in January 1999.  Penalties for failure to report were 
$250 a day.  By September, six insurers had been fined approximately $60,000 – 
eight months’ worth of late penalties in a nine-month period.267  

♦ How vehicles are registered and insured.  Commercial policies may not list the 
vehicles insured.  Or the registered owner of a vehicle may not be the named insured 
on the policy for the vehicle.268  Sometimes the registered owner can be matched with 
the named insured – but not always.  Arkansas addressed this with a law requiring 
insurers to report “the vehicles they insure, the people who own them and their 
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addresses.”269  Nevada took a different approach, telling motorists that if they 
changed the name on the policy, they had to change the name on the registration and 
title as well.270 

 
A problem with database systems or random sampling is that they catch uninsured 
vehicles whether or not they are being driven.  When an officer pulls someone over for 
driving without insurance, there is no question – the vehicle is being driven.  But a 
registered vehicle may be uninsured because it is in storage, being sold, used seasonally 
or nonoperational. 
 
Nevada allowed owners who could prove a vehicle was inoperable when insurance lapsed 
to pay a $50 reinstatement fee rather than a $250 administrative fee.271  No other articles 
were found detailing how states deal with such special cases. 
 
How enforcement is done does not affect accuracy, but it can aggravate or mitigate the 
results of inaccuracy.  If wrongly identified motorists have a chance to correct the record 
but do not do so, they have less grounds to complain when enforcement action is taken. 
 
Some inaccuracy is inevitable.  The year after starting operations, New York State’s 
Insurance Department had “taken action against” 30 insurers for providing incorrect 
information.  Already the database had an accuracy rate of 93% to 98%.272  But some 
motorists, incorrectly identified as uninsured, were being taken to jail – resulting in the 
headline, “DMV Computer May Help Drive N.Y.ers Crazy.”273  Motorists complained 
that their insurance cards (now bar coded) were not proof of insurance.  They also 
complained that they could not check the database to see if their information was 
correct.274 
 
Incarcerating motorists by mistake may be more likely to lead to litigation than towing 
and impounding vehicles by mistake.  States may want to set criteria for incarceration, so 
that database inaccuracies do not result in insured motorists being taken to jail.  Possible 
criteria include: 
 
♦ Commercial motor carrier. 
♦ Length of time without insurance. 
♦ Number of enforcement letters sent. 
♦ Number of vehicles without insurance. 
♦ Pattern of evading compulsory insurance laws. 
♦ Prior accidents. 
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♦ Prior insurance violations. 
♦ Prior traffic citations. 
♦ Required to file SR-22 (certificate of insurance, usually for three years). 
♦ Return receipt received from enforcement letter sent by certified mail. 
 
Arizona changed its law to require insurers to report weekly rather than monthly out of 
concerns about “ping-pongers” – owners evading compulsory insurance laws by buying 
insurance, registering their vehicles, then canceling insurance.  Because the state often 
took 60 days to contact owners of vehicles identified as uninsured, these people could 
escape notice for three months.275  It makes sense to wait one reporting cycle before 
contacting owners.  If they are switching insurers, they may show up as cancelled with 
the old insurer one week but as insured with the new one the next. 
 
Besides verifying insurance, another database application with enforcement implications 
is tracking citations and convictions – within and between jurisdictions.  Wisconsin 
changed its laws in 1992 to have “any alcohol-related driving offenses” on United States 
property, tribal land or in a Canadian province count as a prior offense in Wisconsin.  It 
also changed the time driving records must be kept from five to 10 years, so that judges 
would have more information at sentencing.276  
 
Such a database might increase the incidence of repeat offenders being sentenced to jail, 
thus preventing some tragedies.  In Rhode Island in 1995, Bernard Coleman drove a 
pickup truck into a haywagon, killing a woman and injuring 19 people.  It was the 31st 
time he was caught driving with a suspended license.  According to District Court Judge 
Robert Pirraglia, “A centralized computer system is desperately needed.”  He explained 
that judges usually did not know the full driving history of defendants coming before 
them.277 
 
ALTERNATIVE FUNDING/RATE MECHANISMS 
 
Two proposals for auto insurance reform have targeted how premiums are charged or 
collected.  One, called “pay at the pump,” is directed specifically at the problem of 
uninsured motorists.  The other, called “pay as you go,” is designed to allow motorists to 
reduce their rates by reducing the number of miles they drive. 
 
Pay At the Pump 
 
Pay at the pump – essentially a gas tax – has been proposed as a financing mechanism for 
liability insurance or, alternatively, for uninsured motorist coverage.  Funding liability 
insurance through gas taxes, which is more expensive, would require a higher surcharge – 
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one proposal was for $0.30 to $0.50 a gallon, plus fees on registrations and drivers’ 
licenses.  Fees on registrations would be linked to driving records.278  Financing 
uninsured motorist coverage through gas taxes would be less expensive.  A 1995 study in 
the Journal of Insurance Regulation estimated that the surcharge for California in 1991 
would have been $0.059 per gallon.  For Virginia in 1992, the estimated surcharge would 
have been $0.03 per gallon.279 
 
Funding either liability insurance or uninsured motorist coverage through gas taxes 
would require setting up a government bureaucracy.  Funding Liability insurance through 
gas taxes would involve accepting bids and awarding contracts to private insurers.  
Funding uninsured motorist coverage through gas taxes would involve collecting and 
distributing funds to private insurers.  Either way, government would play a greater role 
in setting rates than it does now. 
 
Whether used for financing liability insurance or uninsured motorist coverage, pay at the 
pump seeks to remedy the problem of uninsured motorists by making premium payments 
unavoidable.  Its other benefit is to reward those who consume less fuel with lower 
premium payments, although the surcharge to fund uninsured motorist coverage would be 
too small to encourage conservation. 
 
An unintended consequence of this benefit, however, is that rural drivers (who tend to 
drive more miles) would pay more than urban drivers, although urban drivers have more 
accidents.280 
 
Pay at the pump would pay for basic coverage.  Motorists wanting higher limits would 
pay extra.   
 
In at least some states, uninsured motorist premiums are uniform throughout the state, 
regardless of territory or individual rating factors.281  Liability premiums, however, are 
entirely determined by rating factors.  Pay at the pump would eliminate actuarially based 
distinctions between groups. 
 
Allowing territory to be used as a determinant of premium would involve setting different 
surcharges in different geographic areas.  This would solve the problem of rural drivers 
paying more, but it would create the problem of people driving out of area to get cheaper 
gas.282  Using individual rating factors would involve setting different registration and 
driver’s license fees.  The process of setting surcharges or fees would be public, lengthy 
and costly. 
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Finally, another problem that would arise is accidents between residents of a state with 
pay at the pump and nonresidents. 
 
Pay As You Go 
 
Under pay as you go, premiums would be based on a set mileage.  When that was 
exceeded, the policy would expire.  Pay as you go has several advantages over pay at the 
pump.  It would encourage conservation without creating new inequities.  It would allow 
insurers to continue using territory and individual rating factors, making one factor – 
miles driven – more accurate.  It would avoid setting up new government bureaucracies, 
or increasing government’s role in rate setting.  It would make insurance more affordable 
for some, which might reduce the number of uninsured motorists.  But it would not 
directly address the problem of uninsured motorists. 
 
Problems include fraud and higher administrative costs in auditing mileage – by visually 
checking the odometer or through tracking technology.283  Another problem is expiration.  
Without tracking technology, insurers would not know when a policy had expired.  
Policyholders would not receive renewal notices, and could drive without insurance for 
some time without realizing it. 
 
Pay as you go is allowed in several states, but as yet no insurer is offering pay as you go 
policies.  Progressive Casualty Insurance Company ran a pilot program in Texas using 
global positioning satellite technology.  Other insurers are studying demand and 
feasibility.284 
 
 
OTHER ALTERNATIVES 
 
No Compulsory Insurance 
 
Insurers and some others have proposed rescinding compulsory insurance laws because 
they do not reduce the number of uninsured motorists, are difficult to enforce and give 
the public the false sense of security that others have insurance.  Evidence indicates, 
however, that compulsory insurance laws requiring insurer reporting are associated with 
lower uninsured motorist rates – per the Cole, Dumm and McCullough study cited above.  
Evidence also indicates that requiring electronic insurer reporting has made those laws far 
easier to enforce – or Virginia would not have been able to collect $21.7 million from 
uninsured motorists in 2002 through its insurance verification database.  No study was 
found examining whether the public has a false sense of security and, if so, whether it is 
the result of compulsory insurance laws or something else.  Whatever the case, requiring 
uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage would better protect the public than 
rescinding compulsory insurance laws. 
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Virginia is an interesting case in that technically it is not a compulsory insurance state.  
Motorists can buy insurance, which comes with mandatory uninsured motorist coverage, 
or they can drive without insurance and pay the state $500 a year, which buys them 
nothing.  The state pays insurers from the fees it collects to offset the cost of uninsured 
motorist coverage for those who buy insurance – creating an alternative funding 
mechanism for uninsured motorist coverage.  This sends a somewhat confusing message 
however – like having motorists pay a fine when they have not committed an offense – 
and provides no protection to motorists passing through Virginia. 
 
It is difficult to see any advantage in following Virginia’s system, in that it would be just 
as easy to have uninsured motorists pay a fine and get insurance as it is to have them pay 
a fine and not get insurance.  Fines could still be used to subsidize uninsured motorist 
coverage, but requiring insurance expands available benefits.  Rather than collect on their 
own uninsured motorist coverage, severely injured accident victims could collect on the 
at-fault driver’s liability insurance and on their own underinsured motorist coverage – 
potentially doubling available benefits.  Keeping in mind that government pays much of 
the costs not covered by insurance, it is in states’ interests to follow policies that increase, 
rather than decrease, coverage. 
 
Privatization 
 
John Semmens, of ADOT, has proposed the more radical approach of forcing insurers to 
bear unlimited liability for those they insure and having them issue license plates to 
insureds identifying them as, for example, a State Farm insured.  The theory behind this 
proposal is that if insurers were forced to bear unlimited liability for those they insure, 
they would carefully screen drivers.  Only good drivers would get license plates.  Bad 
drivers would not have license plates and would be easy to spot and ticket.285 
 
Right now, insurers oppose compulsory insurance and electronic reporting, both of which 
are far less disruptive or costly to implement than licensing vehicles and screening 
drivers.  There is no indication that the insurance industry wants to take over vehicle 
registration and driver licensing functions. 
 
In fact, it is difficult to imagine a proposal the insurance industry would oppose more 
vigorously than this one, which would dramatically increase the responsibility of insurers 
for the safety of vehicles and drivers.  If it became law, some insurers would likely pull 
out of the market.  Many high-risk drivers would not be able to get insurance at any price.  
The potential reduction in losses from crashes avoided by keeping these drivers off the 
roads is unknown.  
 
Motorists do not always drive their own vehicles.  Insurers deal with this risk now by 
excluding household members with unacceptable driving records and by limiting 
exposure.  Under this proposal, they could not do either.  Efforts to exclude bad or high-
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risk drivers by declining to cover vehicles owned by such drivers could end up denying 
coverage to good and low-risk drivers in the same household.   
 
Problems encountered by states introducing proof of insurance at registration 
requirements, such as tag and insurance card theft and forgery, would likely occur, as 
well.  Vehicles would drop off registration rolls.  If one state attempted such a scheme, 
adjacent states could see a sharp rise in vehicle registrations as motorists registered their 
vehicles out of state.  Illicit businesses offering this service would spring up. 
 
If such a law were to pass, it might have to be accompanied by a curtailment of benefits, 
such as the elimination of punitive and non-economic damages.  Even that might not be 
enough.  Possibly economic damages would be limited as well, by requiring co-pays for 
medical care and treatment, capping benefits for lost wages and lost earning capacity, or 
both.  
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Quantitative Research 
 

METHODOLOGY 
 
Responses to three surveys were analyzed, along with published secondary data from the 
Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS), the Insurance Information Institute (III), the 
Insurance Research Council (IRC), and the United States Census.  Surveys and summary 
response data are attached in the Appendix. 
 
Two surveys were sent to state motor vehicle authorities:  one to general managers and 
one to database managers.  States that did not use an insurance verification database did 
not need to respond to the database survey.  The response rate for the general survey was 
56%.  All states that said they used a database in the general survey responded to the 
database survey. 
 
A third survey was sent to state insurance authorities.  Thirty-two states responded, for a 
response rate of 64%. 
 
Table 10 below shows respondents by survey. 
 

Table 10.  Survey Respondents 
 

General Survey Database 
Manager Survey 

Insurance 
Survey 

Did Not 
Respond to 
Any Survey 

AL, AR, AZ, CA, DE, FL, 
GA, IA, ID, IL, KS, KY, LA, 
MO, MN, ND, NJ, NE, NY, 
OH, OK, OR, SC, SD, VA, 
VT, WA, WI, WV 

AL, AR, AZ, CO, 
FL, GA, KY, MO, 
MN, NJ, NY, OR, 
VA  

AK, AR, AZ, CA, CO, CT, DE, 
FL, GA, ID, IL, IN, KS, MD, ME, 
MI, MN, MT, NC, ND, NE, OH, 
OR, SD, TN, TX, UT, VA, VT, 
WA, WI, WV 

HI, MA, MS, 
NH, NM, NV, 
PA, RI, WY 

 
Repeated emails and phone calls obtained contact information for appropriate 
respondents at each agency.  These were: 

♦ General survey → The person most knowledgeable about enforcement of 
compulsory insurance laws. 

♦ Database survey → In-house database manager or outside vendor. 

♦ Insurance survey → Private passenger auto manager. 
 
Survey analysis is subject to nonresponse error, from surveys that were not returned and 
from questions that were not answered.  Also, respondents may have given incorrect 
answers to questions asking for factual information, such as fees, fines, jail time and 
suspensions – another potential source of error. 
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Although secondary data used was the most recent available, it is not contemporaneous 
with survey data.  This too can introduce error.  Potentially the most troublesome is the 
IRC uninsured motorist coverage rate, which is an average of estimates from 1995 to 
1997.  For all of these reasons, findings should be interpreted with caution. 
 
Finally, it should be noted that statistically significant relationships are not necessarily 
causal relationships.  Statistical significance is the degree of certainty that the relationship 
is not the result of random chance.  It does not prove that changing one variable will 
change the other.  Both could be driven by another factor not captured in the data. 
 
RESPONSES:  MOTOR VEHICLE DEPARTMENT GENERAL SURVEY 
 
Different states organize financial responsibility or mandatory insurance sections under 
different departments and divisions, including Highway Safety, Revenue, the Secretary of 
State’s Office and Transportation. 
 
Questions were designed to elicit information on respondents’ perceptions as well as 
agency performance and practices.   The survey was organized into different sections:  
General, Database, Driver’s License, Enforcement, Penalties, Research, and Technology. 
 
General 
 
Respondents' estimates of uninsured motorist rates for their states were often different 
from uninsured motorist estimates from the IRC. This is not surprising when estimates 
are arrived at in different ways.  Respondents reported using accident reports, database 
records, insurance industry figures, unspecified internal records or questionnaire 
sampling.  Of the five respondents basing their estimates on insurance industry figures, 
three vary from Insurance Research Council estimates. 
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Table 11.  Comparison of Respondent and IRC Uninsured Motorist Estimates 
 

 
IRC % UM 
'95-'97 Avg 

State % 
UM Est 

IRC Est. –
State Est.   

IRC % UM 
'95-'97 Avg 

State % 
UM Est 

IRC Est. –
State Est. 

AL 25.0% 15.0% 10%  ND 7.0% 8.0% -1.0%

AR 11.0% 11.0% 0.0%  NE 7.0% 15.0% -8.0%

AZ 16.0% 8.0% 8.0%  NJ 15.0% 5.5% 9.5%

CA 22.0% 15.0% 7.0%  OH 13.0% 11.0% 2.0%

AR 11.0% 11.0% 0.0%  OK 17.0% 17.4% -0.4%

FL 20.0% 6.1% 13.9%  OR 12.0% 10.0% 2.0%

GA 13.0% 11.0% 2.0%  SC 28.0% 28.0% 0.0%

ID 8.0% 8.0% 0.0%  VA 12.0% 12.0% 0.0%

IL 13.0% 4.9% 8.1%  VT 9.0% 10.0% -1.0%

KY 10.0% 20.0% -10.0%  WA 15.0% 14.9% 1.0%

LA 8.0% 13.3% -5.3%  WI 11.0% 11.5% -0.5%

MO 13.0% 9.0% 4.0%          

 
Table 12.  Source of Respondent Uninsured Motorist Estimates 

 
Source of 

UM estimate States Frequency
Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative 

Percent 

Accident reports CA ND NE NJ OR VT WI 7 31.8% 31.8%

Database AR AZ FL MO     4 18.2% 50.0%

Insurance industry ID GA KY OK VA WA  6 27.3% 77.3%

Internal records LA SC      2 9.1% 86.4%

Questionnaire 
sampling AL IL OH     3 14.3% 100.0%

 
Just 54.5% of respondents knew whether or not their uninsured motorist estimates 
excluded hit-and-run drivers.  Of those, one-third exclude hit and run drivers; two-thirds 
do not. 
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Figure 10.  IRC Estimated Uninsured Motorist Rate ’95-’97 Average by State 

 
 
To be consistent, IRC estimates were used in statistical analyses for this study rather than 
state estimates, although in some cases, state estimates may be more accurate.  For the 
same reason, secondary data from the Bureau of Transportation Statistics was used rather 
than registered vehicle data from respondents.  For a comparison of uninsured motorist 
rates and what they might mean in terms of actual numbers of uninsured motorists, see 
Figures 10 above and 11 below. 
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Figure 11.  Estimated Number of Uninsured Private Vehicles by State 
 
Number estimates are rough, and are based on Bureau of Transportation Statistics figures 
for registered private automobiles and trucks and applying IRC estimates of uninsured 
motorist rates as if all registered vehicles were insured – an assumption likely to overstate 
the problem.  No studies were found, however, examining the overlap between failure to 
register and failure to insure.  With no basis for allocating uninsured motorists between 
registered and unregistered vehicles, for simplicity’s sake, they have been treated as 
unregistered. 
 
Database 
 
Of the 28 states responding to the general survey, 17 indicated that their state does not 
use a database and one did not answer the question.  Thirteen states responded to the 
database manager survey, including one that did not respond to the general survey.  Two 
states said in the general survey that they do not use a database, but in the database 
manager survey, they said that they do. 
 
Two respondents outsource database services:  Alabama, which is “neither satisfied nor 
dissatisfied” with its vendor’s performance; and Colorado, which did not respond to the 
general survey. 
 
Two respondents reported verifying database accuracy rates by audit for two years each:  
Florida (reported as 98% accurate) and New York (reported as 95% accurate). 
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Four respondents gave cost per registered vehicle data.  Many factors, including different 
cost-accounting practices, experience, expertise, and number of registered vehicles could 
explain the difference. 
 

Table 13.  Database Cost Per Registered Vehicle 
 

Variable N Range Minimum Maximum Mean 

Database Cost Per Reg Vehicle 4 $1.26 $0.02 $1.28  $0.38  
 
Driver’s License 
 
Eighty-five percent of respondents allow noncitizens to obtain driver’s licenses.  Just four 
states – Arizona, Illinois, Kansas and Kentucky – reported that they do not. 
 
Of respondents that do issue driver’s licenses to noncitizens, just two states – Oregon and 
Wisconsin – reported doing so without requiring proof of lawful alien status. 
 
   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Figure 12.  Non-Citizen Driver’s License Issued 
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Figure 13.  Driver’s License Technologies Used 
 
Eighteen percent of respondents issue different driver’s licenses to noncitizens.  Those 
specifying how they were different said that licenses expire when immigration documents 
do. 
 
Whether or not a state issues driver’s licenses or different driver’s licenses to noncitizens 
was not significantly predictive of the IRC uninsured motorist rate. 
 
No respondents use smart card technology on driver’s licenses.  A few require 
encryption.  About half use mag stripe and over 80% require bar code.  See Figure 13 
above for a breakdown of driver’s license technologies used. 
 
Enforcement 
 
Questions in this section measured perceptions of enforcement, not actual enforcement.  
Respondents were asked to estimate how often methods were used to check proof of 
insurance and how often penalties were imposed.  Most respondents believe that proof of 
insurance is being checked “almost always” for all methods, with 100% believing that to 
be the case at accidents vs. 60% at traffic checkpoints. 
 
Responses were less homogeneous for penalties.  The only penalties the majority believes 
are applied “almost always” or “often” are fines (87.5%) and registration and license 
suspension (68.0% and 73.1%). 
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Figure 14.  Respondent Perceptions of Frequency: Checking Proof of Insurance and 
Applying Penalties 
 
 
Penalties 
 
Respondents were asked what penalties were for first, second and third offenses of 
violating compulsory insurance laws.  Insurance Information Institute information was 
also analyzed.  Simple regressions were run using III and respondent fine data and 
multiple regressions were run using respondent fines for first, second and third offenses 
together.  Fines were not significantly predictive of the IRC uninsured motorist rate. 
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Figure 15.  Fines for Driving Without Insurance Per III 

 

 
Figure 16.  Fines for Driving Without Insurance Per Respondents: 

1st, 2nd and 3rd Offenses 
 
Similar analysis was carried out for jail days.  Jail was not significantly predictive of the 
IRC uninsured motorist rate. 
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Figure 17.  Jail Days Per III 

 
Other penalties include suspension of license and registration.  Simple and multiple 
regressions were run on license suspension and III registration suspension figures.  
Suspension was not significantly predictive of the IRC uninsured motorist rate.  There 
were too few data points to run regression analysis on respondent registration suspension.  
There, Spearman correlation analysis showed no statistically significant correlation 
between respondent registration suspension and the IRC uninsured motorist rate. 

 

 
Figure 18.  Jail Days Per Respondents:  1st, 2nd and 3rd Offenses 
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Figure 19.  Days License Or Registration Suspended Per III 

 

 
Figure 20.  Days License Or Registration Suspended Per Respondents: 

1st, 2nd and 3rd Offenses 
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registration reinstatement fees, we would expect to see a .025% increase in the IRC 
uninsured motorist rate.  (For SPSS output, see Output 4 in the Appendix.) 
 
 

 
Figure 21.  Fees to Reinstate License, Registration and Plates Per Respondents 

 
There were too few data points to run regression analysis on the fee to redeem plates.  
Spearman correlation analysis, however, showed no statistically significant correlation 
with the IRC uninsured motorist rate. 
 
No respondent knew the percent of plates or vehicles redeemed.  One respondent knew 
that the percent of plates seized from vehicles wrongly identified as uninsured was 5%.  
Another estimated that 5% was the error rate for both plates seized and vehicles 
impounded. 
 
Sixty-five percent of respondents answered that their states have penalties for allowing 
coverage to lapse even if the vehicle is insured at the time the lapse is discovered.  This 
variable was not significantly predictive of the IRC uninsured motorist rate. 
 
Asked whether penalties were different for younger drivers, no respondent answered that 
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Whether or not states have this capability was not significantly predictive of the IRC 
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$0

$1
-2

5

$2
6-

50

$5
1-

75

$7
6-

10
0

$1
01

-1
50

$1
51

-2
00

$2
01

-2
50

$2
51

-3
00

$3
01

-3
50

$3
51

-4
00

$4
01

-4
50

Plates

Registration

License
0

1

2

3

4

5

6
N

um
be

r o
f R

es
po

nd
en

ts

Fee to Reinstate



 

  94 
 

Another variable not significantly predictive was whether or not motorists convicted of 
DUI are required to maintain insurance even if their driving privileges are suspended.  
Sixty-two percent of respondents reported that they are required to do so.  While 24 states 
answered that question, just four said how long they are required to maintain insurance.  
For three of those four, the time period is three years. 
 
Research 
 
At least eight states have done studies on the issue of uninsured motorists some time in 
the past 10 years:  Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Louisiana, Missouri, New York, Ohio, 
and Wisconsin.  At least one (Florida) has examined privatization in compulsory 
insurance enforcement and another (New York) has looked at motor vehicle insurance 
and discrimination. 
 
MOTOR VEHICLE DEPARTMENT DATABASE SURVEY 
 
Thirteen states responded to the database manager survey, which was organized into two 
sections:  Database and Enforcement. 
 
Database 
 
The first respondent to use a database in compulsory insurance law enforcement was 
Minnesota in 1985.  Georgia was the latest, using its database for the first time in 2003. 
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Table 14.  Database History and Performance 
 

State 1st Year  
of database 

% UM % Correctly 
Identified 

as UM 
1st Year 

% Correctly 
Identified 

as UM 
Currently 

MN     1985    

KY      1986 30%   

FL       1989 30% 60% 98% 

NJ      1991 8% 96%  

VA      1997    

AR      1999 19%   

CO     1999 33%   

AZ      2000 15%   

NY      2000    

AL      2001 15%   

OR     2001    

MO     2002 9%   

GA      2003    

 
Adoption of this technology is increasing, but slowly, as Figure 22 below shows. 

 
 

Figure 22.  Adoption of Database Technology 
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Respondents require insurers to report policy changes anywhere from immediately to 
within 44 days.  The period most commonly used is monthly.  Arizona is the only 
respondent with a seven day reporting cycle.  Spearman correlation analysis showed no 
significant correlation between reporting requirement and the IRC uninsured motorist 
rate. 

 
Figure 23.  Insurer Reporting Requirements 

 
States receive and compare records in different cycles.  Some are required by law to 
compare insurer with registration records every so many days; others are not.  
“Unspecified” comparison cycles reflect respondents who did not enter a number of days 
or whose comparison requirements are tied to verbal criteria, such as “at renewal” or 
“upon receipt of information.” 
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Figure 24.  Comparison Cycles 

 
Law enforcement agencies in five respondent states do not have access to the insurance 
database.  Two states that do give access, Florida and Georgia, estimated that their 
officers accessed the database 5,500 and 20,000 times a day, respectively. 
 

 

 
Figure 25.  Law Enforcement and Regulatory Access 

 
While a majority of respondents (80%) access the database at registration, few (less than 
20%) do so at licensing.  None offer access for motorists to verify that their information 
is correct, although Colorado motorists will be able to do so some time this year. 
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Some include information on insurance or traffic violations in their database as well as 
information on current insurance status. 

 
Figure 26.  Violation Info In Database 

 
Whether or not it contains insurance or traffic violation information, almost 70% of 
respondents use their database for purposes other than enforcing compulsory insurance 
laws, including registration renewal and enforcement. 
 
Enforcement       
Most respondents send enforcement letters only to registered owners.  Two send letters to 
both registered owners and named insureds. 
 
Just one respondent sends enforcement letters on outside vendor letterhead (as opposed to 
state agency letterhead).  Half the letters from state agencies are on motor vehicle 
department letterhead; 30% are on highway or public safety department letterhead and 
20% are on revenue department letterhead. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Figure 27.  Enforcement Letters Sent To 
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States differ as to when they send enforcement letters, how many enforcement letters they 
send, how long they wait for a response before taking enforcement action and what 
enforcement action they take.  After each enforcement letter, some motorists comply, 
some do not, and some prove they were in compliance all along.  Figure 28 below shows 
enforcement timelines and compliance estimates for respondents. 
 

 
Figure 28.  Enforcement Timelines and Compliance Estimates 

 
 
INSURANCE DEPARTMENT SURVEY 
 
Thirty-two states responded to the insurance department survey, which was organized 
into eight sections:  Uninsured Motorist Coverage, Underinsured Motorist Coverage, 
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Policies, and Penalties. 
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Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage 
 
A majority of respondent states have not made uninsured or underinsured motorist 
coverage compulsory.  However, most that require uninsured motorist coverage also 
require underinsured motorist coverage. 
 
Again, III data differs from respondent data, perhaps because in some states, uninsured 
and underinsured motorist coverages are inseparable.  According to III, 60% of states do 
not require uninsured motorist coverage; 32% do require uninsured motorist coverage 
and just 8% require both uninsured motorist and underinsured motorist coverage. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Figure 29.  Compulsory UM and UIM Per Respondents 
 
Although survey responses to the question, “Is uninsured motorist coverage 
compulsory?” were not predictive of the IRC uninsured motorist rate, III data on whether 
or not uninsured motorist is compulsory was significantly predictive at the 95% level.  
According to the simple regression model, if uninsured motorist coverage were 
compulsory, we would expect to see a decrease of .036% in the IRC uninsured motorist 
rate.  (For SPSS output, see Output 5 in the Appendix.)     
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Figure 30.  Compulsory uninsured motorist and UIM Per III 
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However, survey responses and III data conflict for two states:  Colorado and Nebraska.  
If they are removed from the model, the variable is no longer predictive.  
 
Whether respondents specify the language of offer (or declination) of uninsured motorist 
coverage was also significantly predictive at the 95% level.  If the language were 
specified by law, we would expect to see a decrease of .054% in the IRC uninsured 
motorist rate.  The same was true of underinsured motorist coverage, but with an 
expected decrease of .047%.  (For SPSS output, see Output 6 in the Appendix.) 
         
The two are not additive, however.  Multiple regression analysis using both variables 
found that they were highly correlated with each other and that of the two, uninsured 
motorist coverage was the better predictor.  
 
Only two respondents estimated the percent of insured motorists who carry uninsured or 
underinsured motorist coverage.  They believe the number is between 80% and 90% for 
uninsured motorist coverage and between 75% and 85% for underinsured motorist 
coverage. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Figure 31.  UM Premiums Same Statewide? 
 
In most respondent states, uninsured motorist premiums differ according to territorial 
and/or individual rating factors. But in six states, uninsured motorist premiums are the 
same statewide.  (See Figure 31 above.) 
 
Uninsured motorist coverage covers different types of damages in different states.  While 
covering economic loss in 92.9% of respondent states, it covers non-economic loss (pain 
and suffering) in 85.7%, property loss in 84.6% and punitive damages in just 15.4%.  
(See Figure 32 below.) 
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Figure 32.  Types of Damages Covered by UM 

 
Few respondents knew the average annual premiums for uninsured motorist coverage or 
underinsured motorist coverage in their states; most gave estimates.  The estimated 
average annual premium for uninsured motorist coverage is $50 or less in 76.5% of 
respondent states.  For underinsured motorist coverage, it is $50 or less in 88.9% of 
respondent states. 
 
Involuntary Market 
 
Using III figures for vehicles insured in the voluntary and involuntary markets in 2000, 
neither the size of the involuntary market nor the percent of vehicles insured in the 
involuntary market was predictive of the IRC uninsured motorist rate. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Figure 33.  Involuntary Market Requires Insurer Rejection? 
 
A majority of respondent states require some form of insurer rejection to be eligible to 
obtain coverage in the involuntary market.  (See Figure 33)  A significant minority 
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excludes applicants with either outstanding premium payments or cancellations for 
nonpayment, for the past 12 or 24 months.  (See Figure 34) 
 
Just one respondent knew the average annual premiums for compulsory coverage in the 
voluntary and involuntary markets.  Estimated figures range from $60 to $750 in the 
voluntary market and $500 to $1,400 in the involuntary market.  (See Figure 35 below.) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Figure 34.  Involuntary Market Requires Good Payment History? 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Figure 35.  Estimated UM and UIM Coverage Average Annual Premiums 

No
86%

Yes
14%

0

1

2

3

4

5

6

$15-20 $21-30 $31-40 $41-50 $51-60 $61-70 $100 $150 
Estimated UM Average Annual Premium

N
um

be
r o

f R
es

po
nd

en
ts

0

1

2

3

4

5

$0-10 $11-20 $21-30 $31-40 $41-50 $80

Estimated UIM Average Annual Premium

N
um

be
r o

f R
es

po
nd

en
ts



 

  104 
 

Low Cost, Low Benefit (LCLB) Coverage  
        
Just one respondent state, California, reported allowing low cost, low benefit coverage:  a 
10/20/3 policy available to Los Angeles and San Francisco County residents who meet 
the following requirements: 
 
♦ Age 19 and older. 
♦ Continuously licensed for the past three years. 
♦ Household income 25% over federal poverty level or less. 
♦ No more than one at fault property damage only accident or one point for a moving 

violation. 
♦ No felony or misdemeanor conviction involving the vehicle code. 
♦ No dependent college students. 
 
The average annual premium for this coverage is $314-$347 and 2,503 policies are 
active. 
 
To put this in perspective, 2,503 policies would cover roughly 0.2% of the population 18 
and over living below poverty level in Los Angeles and San Francisco Counties in 2000 
according to the United States Census Bureau, or roughly 1/100th of a percent of the 
registered private automobiles and trucks in California in 2001 according to the Bureau 
of Transportation Statistics.  (See Tables 15 and 16 below.) 
 
Table 15.  Driving-Age Population Living Below Poverty Level in Los Angeles and 

San Francisco Counties That Could Be Served By Active LCLB Policies 
 
 Population 18 and Over * % Living Below 

Poverty Level 
= Population 
18 and Over 
Living Below 
Poverty Level 

Los Angeles Co. 6,851,362 15.3% 1,048,258

San Francisco Co. 663,931 10.8% 71,705

Total 1,119,963

 Active LCLB Policies 

/ Population 
18 and Over 
Living Below 
Poverty Level 

= % Population 
18 and Over 
Living Below 
Poverty Level 

With LCLB Policies 

Los Angeles and 
San Francisco 
Counties 

2,503 1,119,963 0.2%
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Table 16.  California Registered Private Vehicles that Could Be Served 
by Active Low Cost/Low Benefit (LCLB) Policies 

 
 Registered 

Private Autos 
+ Registered 

Private Trucks 
= Registered 
Private Autos 
and Trucks 

California (Statewide) 17,726,983 10,531,853 28,258,836 

 
Active 

LCLB Policies 

/ Registered 
Private Autos 
and Trucks 

= % Registered 
Private Autos 
and Trucks 

With LCLB Policies 

California (Statewide) 2,503 28,258,836 .009% 

 
Public Assistance 
 
In addition to California, Maine and Nebraska indicated in their response to the surveys 
that they have provided public assistance to help low-income residents afford motor 
vehicle insurance.  Neither state, however, described its program. 
 
California and Texas have provided tax or other incentives to increase the availability of 
insurance services or the number of motor vehicle policies written in underserved 
communities. 
 
Database 
 
No respondent reported compensating insurers for database information.  One state, 
Oregon, reported that it has no penalties for failing to submit information or submitting 
inaccurate information.  Another state, Arkansas, reported that in 2002, it penalized four 
insurers a total of $15,000 for failing to submit information or submitting inaccurate 
information. 
 
Pay-As-You-Go Policies 
 
Although 11 respondent states allow pay as you  go policies, none reported any insurers 
offering such policies or any active policies in their states. 
 
Penalties 
 
Most respondents do not require motorists convicted of driving without insurance or any 
other violation to prepay motor vehicle liability premiums.  Two states, however, require 
six months’ prepayment and one state requires 12 months’ prepayment for those required 
to make proof of insurance (SR-22) filings or whose driving privileges were revoked or 
suspended for failure to maintain insurance. Seventy percent allow insurers to cancel 
policies of motorists convicted of DUI; 30% do not. 
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Figure 36.  Premium Prepayment Required for Violators 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Figure 37.  Allow Surcharges On Previously Uninsured Motorists? 
 
California and Michigan prohibit or limit claims by uninsured motorists injured in motor 
vehicle accidents.  Michigan has done so since 1973; California, since 1997.  Michigan is 
a no-fault state.  Therefore, by definition, uninsured motorists would have no insurance to 
look to.  California, on the other hand, is a tort state.  There, uninsured motorists are 
barred from collecting pain and suffering or punitive damages. 
 
Respondents were asked whether their state prohibits or limits insurer surcharges on 
previously uninsured motorists.  Eight states prohibit surcharges and two limit them.  
(See Figure 37 above.)  Of those who limit surcharges, one limits the length of time 
insurers can impose surcharges to six months.  The other limits surcharges to what 
insurers can actuarially support. 
 
SECONDARY DATA ANALYSIS 
 
Secondary data analysis looked at the ability of different variables to predict not only the 
uninsured motorist rate but also average amount paid out for damages covered by liability 
insurance.  Interestingly, the average amount paid out for damages covered by liability 
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insurance was not predictive of the uninsured motorist rate, nor was the ratio of average 
amount paid out for damages covered by liability insurance to median household income. 
 
Variables that were correlated with the uninsured motorist rate and average amount paid 
out for damages covered by liability insurance are listed in Tables 17 and 18 below in 
rank order from strongest to weakest with a plus (+) or minus (–) sign indicating whether 
the variables rise and fall together (+) or whether an increase in one is accompanied by a 
decrease in the other (-).  (For SPSS output, see Outputs 1 and 7, Appendix.) 
 

Table 17.  Correlation with IRC % UM 1995-1997 Average 
 

Rank Variable Relationship Significance 

1 UM Offer Language Specified - 99% 

2 2000 Census % of Population Minority + 99% 

3 UIM Offer Language Specified - 95% 

4 Reinstate Registration Charge + 95% 

5 Reinstate License Charge + 95% 

6 III Per Person Minimum 
III Per Accident Minimum 

- 
- 

99% 
99% 

7 III 2000 Voluntary Insured PPA + 99% 

8 2001 BTS registered private truck + 99% 

9 2001 BTS registered private auto + 95% 

11 III Property Minimum - 95% 

12 III UM Compulsory - 95% 

13 2000 Census % of Population Urban + 95% 

 
 

Table 18.  Correlation with III 2000 Average Amount Paid Out for Damages 
Covered by Liability Insurance 

 
Rank Variable Relationship Significance 

1 2000 Census % of Population Urban + 99% 

2 2000 Census 1999 Median 
Household Income 

+ 99% 

3 2000 Census % of Population Minority + 99% 

4 III Property Minimum - 99% 

5 III Per Person Minimum 
III Per Accident Minimum 

- 
- 

99% 
99% 

6 III 2000 Involuntary Insured PPA + 99% 
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Surprisingly, higher minimum coverage was predictive both of lower uninsured motorist 
rate and of lower average amount paid out for damages covered by liability insurance.  
According to the simple regression model, for every $5,000 increase in minimum per 
person liability limits, we would expect to see a .018% decrease in the uninsured motorist 
rate.  (For SPSS output, see Output 8 in the Appendix.)    Vertical bars show the range 
from minimum to maximum at each level. 
 

 
Figure 38.  Average Uninsured Motorist Rate By Coverage Level 

 
 

Further investigation found that coverage has an inverse relationship with minority 
population, which increases with the uninsured motorist rate, and with urban population, 
which increases with average amount paid out for damages covered by liability 
insurance.  (See Figures 39 through 42 below.)  
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Figure 39.  Coverage and Expected Uninsured Motorist Rate 

 
Figure 40.  Minority Population and Expected Uninsured Motorist Rate 
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Figure 41.  Coverage and Expected Average Amount Paid Out for Damages 

Covered by Liability Insurance 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Figure 42.  Urban Population and Expected Average Amount Paid Out for Damages 
Covered by Liability Insurance 
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Conclusions and Recommendations 
 
There is no one standard approach to the problem of uninsured motorists.  The many 
methods in use and the difficulties in measuring the size of the problem before and after 
intervention make evaluating program effectiveness problematic. 
 
The lack of academic journal articles and publicly available data point to a lack of 
systematic analysis of the effects of various interventions on the uninsured motorist rate, 
despite the fact that dramatic improvements in information technology (IT) have made 
such analysis available at low cost.  As yet, however, IT’s full capabilities are not being 
used in compulsory insurance law enforcement. 
 
Conclusions and recommendations are based on imperfect data.  They are offered as 
suggestions for consideration.  Also, review of ADOT operations is outside the scope of 
this report.  Where operational suggestions are made, MVD may already be doing so or 
have good reason not to do so. 
 
COMPULSORY INSURANCE 
 

1. Raise bodily injury requirements above the current 15/30. 
 
Cost:  Raising the requirements would increase the cost of motor vehicle 
liability insurance for those who have 15/30 coverage now. 
 
Benefit:  Average bodily injury costs from motor vehicle accidents exceed 
current limits, raising the cost of health insurance and adding to the burden on 
the state – especially where health insurance is not available.  Although higher 
premiums would affect low-income residents more, low minimum limits 
already affect low-income residents more, as they are less likely to have other 
insurance to fall back on if coverage is insufficient. 
 
The Cole, Dumm, McCullough study and this report found correlation 
between higher minimum liability limits and a lower uninsured motorist rate.  
Below are average IRC uninsured motorist rates for states with different 
minimum liability limits: 
 

10/20 → 17.5% 

15/30 → 16.6% 

20/40 → 13.2% 

25/50 → 12.0% 
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2. Alternatively or in addition, require single-limit – not split-limits – coverage (e.g., 
30/30 instead of 15/30, 40/40 instead of 20/40, etc.). 

 
Cost:  Single-limit coverage is available now in Arizona, but many consumers 
may not be aware of it.  It may or may not cost more.  In any event, single-
limit coverage would not increase premiums as much as higher split-limits.   
 
Accidents with two seriously injured persons in the same vehicle under the 
same coverage might be more difficult to resolve, potentially increasing 
insurer administrative costs and litigation.  Accidents with three or more 
severely injured persons, however, would not be any more difficult to resolve, 
because split limits divide total available coverage into two – not three or 
more – equal pieces.  Also, passengers are often family members and friends.  
Even where there are two seriously injured persons, equitable division of 
benefits may be achieved without additional cost.  Finally, insurers are already 
required to distribute benefits fairly and equitably among multiple insureds or 
incur liability. 
 
Benefit:  Requiring single-limit coverage would double the amount of 
coverage available to any one individual.  Much driving is done alone.  Even 
where there are passengers, it is not unusual for one person to have more 
serious injuries than others.  It would also double the amount of uninsured 
motorist or underinsured motorist coverage available to any one individual. 
 

3. Make uninsured motorist and underinsured motorist coverage compulsory in the 
same amount as minimum bodily injury liability limits.  Allow additional 
uninsured motorist/underinsured motorist coverage up to the amount of excess 
coverage purchased. 

 
Cost:  Requiring uninsured motorist and underinsured motorist coverage 
would increase the cost of motor vehicle insurance for those who do not have 
those coverages now; however, the increase would be relatively small.  In 
Table 19 below are estimated average uninsured motorist and underinsured 
motorist premiums for states with different minimum limits, from survey data. 
 

Table 19.  Estimated Average UM and UIM Premiums 
Minimum 

Bodily Injury 
Liability 

UM Est. Avg. Annual 
Premium 

UIM Est. Avg. Annual 
Premium 

Number 
Respondents 

15/30 $51.25  2 

20/40 $50 $65 2 

25/50 $38.58 $20.80 10 UM/5 UIM 

 
Regression analysis of whether or not uninsured motorist coverage was 
mandatory, per person minimum limits, average amount paid out for damages 
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covered by liability insurance and the dependent variable estimated average 
uninsured motorist premium showed that for every $5,000 increase in per 
person minimum limits, we would expect to see a $16.50 increase in 
uninsured motorist premium.  It should be noted, however, that average 
uninsured motorist premium came from survey data and consisted mostly of 
estimates.  (For SPSS output, see Output 9 in the Appendix.) 
 
Benefit:  Requiring uninsured motorist coverage would guarantee that only 
uninsured drivers, their passengers and accident victims not in motor vehicles 
(such as pedestrians) would be unable to collect insurance benefits for 
accidents caused by uninsured motorists.  Requiring underinsured motorist 
coverage in the amount of minimum bodily injury liability limits would 
double available coverage for minimally insured drivers and their passengers 
and would not increase premiums as much as higher split limits. 
 
To illustrate benefits if recommendations 2 and 3 were adopted, assume the 
following: 
 
♦ Minimum coverage required by law is $30,000 per person, $30,000 per 

accident, $30,000 uninsured motorist coverage and $30,000 underinsured 
motorist coverage. 

♦ Both the at-fault driver and the injured victim have minimum coverage. 
 
If injuries are severe, the injured victim can collect $30,000 from the at-fault 
driver and $30,000 from his own underinsured motorist coverage for a total of 
$60,000. Under current law, which does not mandate single limits, uninsured 
motorist or underinsured motorist coverage, if both drivers have minimum 
coverage, the injured victim can collect just $15,000. 
 

4. If uninsured motorist and underinsured motorist insurance are not made 
compulsory, a state law should require that drivers who are declining the coverage 
sign a document prepared by the insurer that indicates: 

 
♦ Dollar amount saved by declining coverage per policy period. 
♦ Dollar amount of benefits surrendered. 
♦ Clarification that benefits surrendered would pay the insured, using “I, 

other passengers and authorized drivers of my vehicle” language. 
♦ Clarification that benefits surrendered would pay more than just medical 

care and treatment – listing lost wages, disability, pain and suffering, 
benefits to family or estate upon death and punitive damages (if available) 
as well as medical care and treatment. 

 
Cost:  Administrative cost. 
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Benefit:  It is expected that more consumers will buy uninsured motorist and 
underinsured motorist coverage if they understand it is for them and their 
families, is inexpensive, and pays for more than medical bills. 

 
5. If uninsured motorist and underinsured motorist are not made compulsory, allow 

insurers and agents who advise consumers that they do not need or need less 
uninsured motorist/underinsured motorist coverage if they have health insurance 
to be held liable for this bad advice. 

 
Cost:  May increase litigation costs.  However, if such advice already provides 
grounds for bad faith or other claims, may decrease litigation costs by 
clarification. 
 
Benefit:  Such advice is misleading and a disservice to the public.  It is 
expected that fewer consumers will reject uninsured motorist and 
underinsured motorist coverage if not given this bad advice. 
 

6. If not already the case, have some insurance requirements apply to commercial 
motor carriers carrying agricultural products within 25 miles of the Arizona-
Mexico border.  May require change to ADOT’s R17-5-504 (Requirement to 
Submit Proof of Financial Responsibility). 

 
OPTIONAL INSURANCE 
 

1. Encourage a pilot program of economic loss only bodily injury coverage for at-
fault drivers.  Offset equity and “moral hazard” concerns by: 

 
1)  Allowing at-fault bodily injury (AFBI) coverage up to half the amount of 
bodily injury liability coverage. 
2)  Alternatively or in addition, allowing AFBI to apply first to injured victims 
as excess coverage, and then to the at-fault driver. 
3)  Or, allowing AFBI to be paid to the at-fault driver only if injured victims 
agree or panel arbitration finds that bodily injury liability coverage was 
sufficient to compensate them. 
4)  Allowing cancellation, denial or nonrenewal of AFBI for DUI or upon 
reaching a certain number of points for moving violations. 
 
Cost:  Would be determined in pilot program.  Options 2 and 3 may increase 
litigation costs.  AFBI would be optional coverage. 
 
Benefit:  The main advantage to the state of a no-fault system is that it makes 
coverage available to many more people.  But eliminating or drastically 
curtailing liability – as in no-fault systems – is not the only way to make 
coverage available to at-fault drivers.  In numerous studies, no-fault systems 
have been linked to increased accident fatalities and DUI – strongly 
suggesting that the absence of liability or the presence of coverage for risky 
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behavior is encouraging or removing a deterrent to risky behavior.  This is 
called “moral hazard.” 

 
The experiment proposed may have a similar effect.  However, it differs from 
a no-fault system in that: 

 
♦ It does not take away liability from the at-fault driver. 
♦ It gives limited benefits to the at-fault driver.  Because they would not 

exist, benefits for pain and suffering could not encourage risky behavior. 
♦ It may encourage purchase of higher limits under options 1, 2, or 3.  

However, it may encourage drivers with excess coverage to cut back on 
bodily injury liability in favor of AFBI.  They might make that choice as a 
hedging strategy – giving up some uninsured motorist or underinsured 
motorist coverage in exchange for limiting risk if the accident is their 
fault.  Or, they might make that choice if they know they are risky drivers.  
This is called “adverse selection.”   Option 4 might reduce some of the 
harmful effects of adverse selection. 

 
SURCHARGES 
 

1. Do not allow insurers to decline coverage for the reason of having been 
previously uninsured or for the reason of license or registration suspension and do 
not allow insurers to assess surcharges for previously uninsured.  Alternatively,  

 
1)  Do not allow surcharges for those who have not maintained continuous 
insurance if they did not own a motor vehicle or if they did not own an 
operational motor vehicle while they were uninsured. 
2)  Do not allow surcharges for those who have had a gap of 72 hours or less 
in insurance coverage. 
3)  Limit surcharges to increased administrative costs, supported by evidence, 
if last insurance was cancelled for nonpayment or within 90 days of issue. 
4)  Do not allow surcharges once the new customer has three or six months of 
continuous coverage with the new insurer. 

 
Cost:  Insurers may lose some revenue. 
 
Benefit:  Insurers have claimed that failure to maintain continuous insurance 
is predictive of risk.  Before that is accepted as fact, actuarial evidence should 
be presented.  It may be that other correlated variables are what actually 
predict risk.  Even if prior insurance status is predictive of risk, it is illogical 
to assume that it is also predictive of risk for those who did not own motor 
vehicles or who owned nonoperational motor vehicles.  Finally, allowing 
surcharges on previously uninsured motorists may deter or prevent them from 
becoming insured.  Prohibiting surcharges, on the other hand, removes an 
obstacle to becoming insured that may reduce the uninsured motorist rate. 
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DATABASE 
 
Driver’s License 

 
1. Require proof of insurance to obtain driver’s license, or require certification that 

the driver will drive only fleet vehicles.  (North Carolina model). 
2. Link the insurance verification database with driver’s license records so that 

insurance can be checked by driver’s license as well as by registration. 
3. Report new driver’s license holders to insurers with active motor vehicle liability 

policies at the same address.  (North Carolina model). 
4. If a person is excluded from a motor vehicle liability policy, require the insurer to 

notify the excluded person and ADOT.  Have the insurer inform the excluded 
person of Arizona’s Assigned Risk Plan.  Enter the excluded driver in the 
insurance verification database. 

 
Cost:  Administrative costs for insurers and the state.  Parents who would not 
have complied with compulsory insurance laws will pay higher premiums to 
be in compliance or will list their children as excluded drivers.  Reporting new 
driver’s license holders to insurers will require review of the federal Driver 
Privacy Protection Act.  May require changes to the Arizona Revised Statutes 
(ARS) sections § 20-1631 or 28-4009. 
 
Benefit:  Either inadvertently or deliberately, parents may not report new 
teenage drivers to their insurers.  If the teenager causes an accident, the 
parents may have to declare bankruptcy.  If younger siblings are injured, their 
injuries may not be covered.  If the teenager is injured by an at-fault uninsured 
or underinsured motorist, those coverages may not apply. 
 
Families will obtain protection by complying with compulsory insurance laws.  
Insurers will obtain higher premium payments from households in which 
teenagers have gotten their driver’s licenses. 
 
Excluded drivers will know they are not insured if they drive household 
vehicles and they will have the opportunity to purchase other insurance.  If a 
vehicle is pulled over and an excluded driver is behind the wheel, the officer 
will know the vehicle is uninsured, even though it would otherwise show as 
insured in the database. 
 

Private Passenger Auto 
 

1. Require insurers to report the vehicles they insure, the people who own them, and 
their addresses (as Arkansas did). 

2. Require insurers to report all named insureds for a vehicle, not just the 
policyholder. 

3. Require information on vehicle additions, deletions, and policy reinstatements.  
May require change to ARS § 28-4148. 
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Commercial Motor Carrier 
 

1. Require commercial motor carrier insurers to report VIN.  May require change to 
ADOT’s commercial vehicle regulations R17-5-505, R17-5-506 and R17-5-507. 

2. Require insurance cards for all vehicles under commercial policies.  May require 
change to ARS § 28-4133 

3. Require policy expiration date and amount of liability coverage on Form E; 
require policy number on Form K of ADOT’s commercial vehicle regulations.  
May require change to R17-5-505. 

4. Give insurers enough lead-time to gather this information before the law goes into 
effect. 

 
Cost:  Administrative cost for insurers and the state. 
 
Benefit:  Increased database accuracy leading to better enforcement. 

 
5. Require insurance for nonmotorized commercial passenger vehicles such as 

pedal-powered taxis (pedicabs). 
 

Cost:  Administrative cost. 
 

Benefit:  Increased availability of insurance, reduced accident costs passed 
along to the state. 
 

Insurer Fines 
 

1. Structure fines so that insurers with more policies pay more for missing or 
inadequate data.  May require change to ARS § 20-237. 

 
Cost:  Administrative cost. 
 
Benefit:  Increased equity, increased accuracy leading to better enforcement. 
There should not be the same fine for failing to submit 100 policies for one 
month as for failing to submit 10,000 policies for one month.  The same holds 
true for submitting inadequate data. 
 

2. Work with the Department of Insurance so that insurers who fail to submit data or 
who submit inadequate data are fined. 

3. Allow insurers who submit inadequate data to escape fines the first time by 
working with ADOT to correct the problem. 

4. Put penalty information on the Department of Insurance website. 
 

Cost:  Administrative cost. 
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Benefit:  Increased accuracy leading to better enforcement.  Consumers have 
an interest in whether or not insurers submit accurate, timely reports to 
ADOT.  If they do not, the insured may be cited and have to go to court. 

 
Prior Violation Information 

 
1. Link information on prior insurance and moving violation citations, convictions, 

and penalties to the insurance verification database. 
2. Ensure that law enforcement officers have in-vehicle computer access to the 

database. 
3. Ensure that judges have courtroom computer access to database prior insurance 

and moving violation information. 
4. Work on interstate cooperation to share insurance, registration and violation data.  

Partner with other interested groups, such as child support collection, and tax 
authorities. 

5. Treat violations in other jurisdictions as violations in Arizona (as Wisconsin did). 
 

Cost:  Costs of adapting existing law enforcement and court computer 
networks, data entry, database design changes, and training 
 
Benefit:  Law enforcement officers will be able to check insurance and prior 
violation status quickly and without taking up dispatch time.  Law 
enforcement and court access to prior violations may affect decisions to cite 
and to sentence.  Public education about the new system, including news 
media stories explaining the technology, announcing the start date, reporting 
the number of citations issued, etc. will spread the word that buying insurance, 
canceling it, and keeping the old card in the glove box no longer works. 
 
Judges will be able to see a defendant’s past history of driving without 
insurance and of driving recklessly (reinforcing the seriousness of driving 
without insurance) before passing sentence.  Repeat offenders will be less 
likely to get away with telling judges it was all a mistake. 
 

Design and Operation 
 

1. Have an IT specialist review database structure and how matching is done to 
ensure that enough data is captured in enough fields and that the process 
efficiently delivers accurate results. 

 
2. Compare all database records periodically, not just when there is a change. 
 
3. Report full book of business rather than policy changes.  Continue the current 

seven-day reporting cycle. 
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OWNER/INSURED REPORTING 
 

1. Print information contained in fields used for matching in the insurance database 
on registration and renewal documents (such as name, address, policy number, 
expiration date, VIN, license plate, etc.) and ask owners to provide corrections 
with their registration or renewal fee. 

2. When proof of insurance is presented at registration and renewal, include 
notification to advise MVD of any name change within 30 days.  Include MVD’s 
website address, where a name change can be entered 724 hours a day, seven days 
as a week, contact information, hours of operation, and other information 
regarding ways to register a name change (phone number, mailing address). 

3. Have initial enforcement letter from ADOT explain how owners can certify their 
vehicle is nonoperational, in storage, or otherwise indicate the vehicle will not be 
operated on Arizona highways pursuant to ARS § 28-4152. 

 
VEHICLE REGISTRATION 
 

1. Require vehicle loan providers to offer to “roll in” financing of vehicle 
registration into loan packages.  Require them to report declinations to ADOT. 

2. Include title information in the insurance verification database, including salvage 
title information. 

3. Watch for vehicles dropping off registration rolls.  Send letters advising the 
owners that they will be responsible for late fees and registration until they 
change the title, surrender the plates, or prove that the vehicle has been registered 
in another state. 

 
Cost:  Administrative cost. 

 
Benefit:  Increased accuracy leading to better enforcement.  Registration fees for 
new vehicles are high and remain high for several years.  High registration fees 
can be a disincentive to buying insurance, especially as the public becomes more 
aware that if they buy insurance, the state will check their registration status, and 
vice versa.  A database is a powerful tool in enforcing compulsory insurance laws, 
but vehicle registration is its Achilles’ heel.  It cannot catch uninsured motorists 
driving unregistered vehicles. 

 
ONGOING EVALUATION 
 

1. Have the Auditor General’s Office audit the insurance verification database 
annually or biennially for accuracy. 

 
♦ Share audit accuracy information with law enforcement for distribution in 

agency newsletters and on agency websites 
 

2. Determine from database records what reporting is being done.  Discuss with 
interested parties what reporting could be done and what it could be used for; then 
prioritize.  Possibilities include: 
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♦ Identifying neighborhoods with high uninsured motorist rates for targeted 

education efforts 
♦ Rating motorists based on useful “red flags” such as a history of DUI or 

reckless driving, moving violations, prior insurance lapses and vehicles 
disappearing from registration.  Rating information could be used for 
monitoring and enforcement contacts. 

 
3. Department of Insurance should mandate periodic testing for correlation between 

rate and minority, income, gender and age that is statistically significant after loss 
history is accounted for.  Test specifically for overrepresentation of protected 
groups in the nonstandard and assigned risk markets. 

 
4. Report insurance citations issued by law enforcement according to jurisdiction.   

 
Cost:  Administrative costs, including IT infrastructure, if currently missing, 
however, it is anticipated that this would be tried first in jurisdictions with 
infrastructure in place that would allow reporting. 
 
Benefit:  Comparison with the insurance verification database will show if the 
number of citations are proportional to the number of suspected uninsured 
motorists.  If the two are way off, it may indicate a problem (with the 
database. 

 
VEHICLE IMMOBILIZATION AND IMPOUNDMENT 
 

1. For repeat offenders with moving violations, allow courts to order impoundment 
or immobilization of all owned uninsured vehicles until proof of insurance and 
bond are presented. 

2. Provide a mechanism for transfer of title and sale after six months’ failure to 
present proof of insurance and bond. 
 
Cost:  Impoundment or immobilization costs, transfer of title and selling costs. 
 
Benefit:  Seizure and sale options are intended for the egregious offender who 
clearly poses a threat and who is likely to continue to drive whether or not 
driver’s license is suspended.  Bond would be bond to continue to purchase 
insurance for three years. 

 
3. Allow courts to suspend sentence for 30 days if uninsured motorist consents to 

immobilization until proof of insurance is presented.  Allow motorist to present 
proof to officer with access to the insurance verification database who can verify 
proof and release the vehicle. 

DUI AND CRIMINAL MOVING VIOLATIONS 
 

1. Require insured DUI offenders and criminal moving violation offenders to present 
a bond that they will maintain motor vehicle liability insurance for three years. 
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Cost:  Administrative costs. 
 
Benefit:  Although the first impulse may be to punish drunk or reckless 
drivers by canceling their insurance, the critical public policy issue is not 
whether drivers’ assets are protected, but whether the public is protected.  
Insurance provides that protection. 

 
IMMIGRANTS AND SPANISH-SPEAKING CITIZENS 
 

1. Contact the Texas motor vehicle or insurance authority to see what evaluation has 
been done of its “insurance at the border” program. 

 
2. Issue “foreign national” driver’s licenses to noncitizens who provide proof of 

insurance. 
 

Cost:  Administrative cost.  Politically contentious. 
 
Benefit:  Arizona residents would benefit, as more drivers would carry 
insurance.  Rather than provide social service benefits to noncitizens, this 
would reduce what the state has to pay to provide emergency medical 
treatment to noncitizens. 

 
3. Include information on how and where to buy auto insurance in MVD 

publications in English and Spanish, including the driver’s license manual and 
test. 

 
Cost:  Administrative cost. 
 
Benefit:  The 1999 California telephone survey found that finding a place to 
buy insurance was a concern of single vehicle owner uninsureds, who were 
more likely to speak a language other than English at home.  It is expected 
that providing this information will remove what is for some an obstacle to 
becoming insured. 

 
EDUCATION AND OUTREACH 
 

1. Conduct focus-group research on one or more representative samples of uninsured 
motorists to determine reasons for not buying auto insurance.  Using themes 
derived from research, develop a persuasive message for a public education 
campaign. 

 
2. Target public education efforts at minority communities. 

Cost:  Depends on media and scale.  Focus groups can cost $3,000 to $5,000 
each. 

 
Benefit:  Better understanding yields better results.  Without the right message 
for the intended audience, public education campaigns are not worth doing. 
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FURTHER RESEARCH 

 
1. Commission research to check for discrimination based on minority status and 

income.  If denial of coverage based on income is not already illegal, make it so. 
 

Cost:  Cost of research. 
 
Benefit:  Minority population is a strong predictor of the IRC uninsured 
motorist rate.  The 1999 California telephone survey found that uninsured 
motorists were more likely to be Hispanic or African American with incomes 
of $20,000 or less.286  The 1995 Texas study showed that high minority and 
low-income zip codes were far more likely to have been denied coverage and 
wind up in the more expensive nonstandard or assigned risk markets.287  The 
study also found that minorities were no more likely to be involved in motor 
vehicle accidents than whites.  If occurring in Arizona, such discrimination 
should not be tolerated on equity grounds alone.  Because it may add to the 
number of uninsured motorists is another good reason to look carefully at this 
issue. 

 
GENERAL 
 

1. Clean up language in:  ARS § 28-4144, R17-4-402, R17-5-504, R17-5-507.  For 
specifics, see Exhibit 5 in the Appendix. 

 
2. Allow wrongful death uninsured motorist/underinsured motorist claims by 

spouse, children and parents whether or not they are named insureds. 
 

Cost:  May require change to ARS § 20-259.03.  May reduce tax revenue to 
the state by shifting some claims from the estate to the surviving heirs. 
 
Benefit:  Wrongful death claims are intended to compensate the family for lost 
emotional and financial support.  Spouses, children and parents may not be 
named insureds if they are not able to drive.  If the family is unable to collect 
underinsured motorist benefits, the decedent may have been underinsured no 
matter how much coverage was purchased. 

                                                 
286 Characteristics of Uninsured Motorist,” Hunstad, Lyn; California Department of Insurance; February 
1999. 
287 “Private Passenger Automobile Availability in Texas:  An Analysis of the NAIC/Texas Special Data 
Call,” Birnbaum, Birney; NAIC Research Quarterly; April 1995, Volume I, Issue 2 
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Exhibit 1 
Bayesian Probability Diagram:  Probability of No Coverage 
 

 
 

Ins. $ 0 Ins. $ 0
0.0128 UM 0 0.0128 0.0128 UM 0 0.0128

0.08 Responsible 0.08
Responsi

ble

0.0672 IM 0 0.0672 0.0672 IM Ins. $ 0.0672
0.016 UM 0.0128 UM 0 0.0128 0.016 UM 0.0128 UM 0 0.0128

0.08 Not Responsible 0.08

Not 
Responsi

ble

O 0.0672 IM Ins. $ 0.0672 O 0.0672 IM Ins. $ 0.0672

0.0672 UM Ins. $ 0.0672 0.0672 UM Ins. $ 0.0672

0.84 IM 0.42 Responsible 0.84 IM 0.42
Responsi

ble

0.3528 IM Ins. $ 0.3528 0.3528 IM Ins. $ 0.3528
0.0672 UM 0 0.0672 0.0672 UM Ins. $ 0.0672

0.42 Not Responsible 0.42

Not 
Responsi

ble
IM Ins. $ 0.3528 IM Ins. $ 0.3528

0.3528 0.84 0.16 0.3528 0.9744 0.0256Total Total

Probabilities of Coverage With No UM Coverage Probabilities of Coverage With Universal UM Coverage
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Exhibit 2 
Motor Vehicle Department General Survey and Summary Results 

Arizona Department of Transportation Survey on 
Uninsured and Underinsured Drivers – To DoT Managers 

The Arizona Department of Transportation is interested in learning how other states deal with uninsured and 
underinsured drivers.  We appreciate your help and will provide you with a copy of our final report. 

You may tab between the gray shaded areas (     ) to enter answers directly on the form below, or print out the 
survey and fill it in by hand.  Please return completed surveys by email lisa@mktg-intelligence.com or fax (520) 321-
1649 by July 1, 2003, if possible. 

If you have any questions, please contact Lisa Markkula at (520) 321-0110 or lisa@mktg-intelligence.com. 

Person completing this survey: 
Name:            Phone: (   )   -        
State:            Email:            

General 

1. For the most recent year for which data are complete, please fill in the table below with the estimated percent of 
uninsured motorists in your state, giving the source of the estimate or describing how it was arrived at. 
Year Estimated % of uninsured motorists Source of estimate How estimate was arrived at 
           %             

a. Does this estimate exclude hit and run drivers?   Yes    No    Don’t know 
 

Descriptive Statistics 
  N Range Minimum Maximum Mean Std. Deviation 

Year UM Est 21 7 1996 2003 2000.71 2.17 

% UM Est 22 23.1% 4.9% 28.0% 12.0% 5.2% 

Valid N (listwise) 1      
 

Source of UM Estimate 

  Frequency
Valid 

Percent
Cumulative 

Percent 

Valid Accident reports 7 31.8% 31.8% 

 Database 4 18.2% 50.0% 

 Insurance industry 6 27.3% 77.3% 

 Internal 2 9.1% 86.4% 

 Questionnaire sampling 3 14.3% 100.0% 

 Total 22 100.0%  

Missing System 29  

Total  50  
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Exclude Hit and Run? 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative 

Percent 

Valid No 8 36.4% 36.4% 

  Yes 4 18.2% 54.5% 

  Unknown 10 45.5% 100.0% 

  Total 22 100.0%   

Missing System 28    

Total   50    

2. Currently, how many registered vehicles in your state are subject to compulsory insurance laws?          
 

Descriptive Statistics 
 N Range Minimum Maximum Mean Std. Deviation

# Reg Vehicles 24 25000000 0 25000000 5716099 5412907

Valid N (listwise) 24      

 
Database 

1. Does your state use a database to check compliance with compulsory insurance laws?   Yes    No 
(If no, skip to next section.) 
 

Database? 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 17 60.7% 60.7%

  Yes 11 39.3% 100.0%

  Total 28 100.0%   

Missing System 22    

Total   50    

2. Is your state’s database maintained by an outside vendor?   Yes    No  (If no, skip to question 5.) 
 

Outside Vendor? 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 10 90.9% 90.9%

  Yes 1 9.1% 100.0%

  Total 11 100.0%   

Missing System 39    

Total   50    
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3. How satisfied are you with your vendor’s performance?  (Please check a selection.) 
1 

 
2 

 
3 

 
4 

 
5 

 
6 

 
7 

 
Very 

dissatisfied 
 Neither satisfied 

nor dissatisfied 
 Very satisfied 

 
Vendor Satisfaction 

   Frequency Valid 
Percent 

Cumulative 
Percent 

Valid Neither satisfied
nor dissatisfied 

1 100.0% 100.0% 

Missing System 49    

Total   50    

4. Has the following database information been verified by audit?  
a. Accuracy rates   Yes    No   (If yes, for what years?         ) 
b. Estimated percentages of uninsured motorists   Yes    No   (If yes, for what years?        

 ) 
 

Accuracy Rates Verified By Audit? 
    Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative 

Percent 
Number 
of Years 

Valid No 4 66.7% 66.7% N/A 

  Yes 2 33.3% 100.0% 2 (both) 

  Total 6 100.0%   

Missing System 44    

Total   50    
 

Estimated Percent of Uninsured Verified By Audit? 
    Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative 

Percent 
Number 
of Years 

Valid No 1 50.0% 50.0% N/A 

  Yes 1 50.0% 100.0% 2 

  Total 2 100.0%   

Missing System 48    

Total   50    

5. What is the annual cost to the state per registered vehicle to maintain and operate the database?  $        
 

Descriptive Statistics 
  N Range Minimum Maximum Mean Std. Deviation

Database Cost Per Reg. Vehicle 4 $1.26 $.02 $1.28 $.3750 $.6045

Valid N (listwise) 4       
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Driver’s License 

1. Does your state allow non-United States citizens to obtain driver’s licenses?   Yes    No 
a. If yes, does it require proof of lawful alien status?   Yes    No 
b. Does it provide different driver’s licenses for non-United States citizens?   Yes    No 

 
Non-Citizen Licenses? 

   Frequency Valid 
Percent 

Cumulative
Percent 

Valid No 4 14.3% 14.3%

  Yes 24 85.7% 100.0%

  Total 28 100.0%   

Missing System 22    

Total   50    
 

Require Proof Lawful? 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 2 8.3% 8.3%

  Yes 22 91.7% 100.0%

  Total 24 100.0%   

Missing System 26    

Total   50    
 

Different Licenses For Non-Citizens? 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 19 82.6% 82.6%

  Yes 4 17.4% 100.0%

  Total 23 100.0%   

Missing System 27    

Total   50    
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How Are Non-Citizen Licenses Different? 
    Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid N/A – No non-citizen licenses 4 16.0% 16.0%

 Not different 19 76.0% 92.0%

  Non-immigrants have status check date on 
front, coincides with expiration of 
authorization to be in US 

1 4.0% 96.0%

  Only in the length of time issued – only for 
time authorized to be present as est. by INS,
not to exceed 2 years 

1 4.0% 100.0%

 Total 25 100.0% 

Missing System 25  

  Total 50 100.0%  

2. Does your state require any of the following on driver’s licenses?  (Check all that apply.) 
 Bar code    Mag stripe    Smart card    Encryption 

 
Bar Code Required? 

  Frequency Valid 
Percent 

Cumulative
Percent 

Valid No 4 17.4% 17.4%

  Yes 19 82.6% 100.0%

  Total 23 100.0%   

Missing System 27    

Total   50    
 

Mag Stripe Required? 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 11 47.8% 47.8%

  Yes 12 52.2% 100.0%

  Total 23 100.0%   

Missing System 27    

Total   50    
 

Smart Card Required? 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 23 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 27    

Total   50    
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Encryption Required? 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 19 82.6% 82.6%

 Yes 4 17.4% 100.0%

  Total 23 100.0%   

Missing System 27    

Total   50    
 

Enforcement 

1. Does your state outsource any compulsory insurance enforcement?   Yes    No 
a. If yes, what enforcement functions are outsourced?        

 
Outsource Enforcement? 

  Frequency Valid 
Percent 

Cumulative
Percent 

Valid No 25 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 25    

Total   50    

2. Please indicate which of the following methods are used to check proof of insurance in your state and estimate 
how often each is used.  (Please check a selection for each method.)  

 

 

 

 

 

At traffic stop checkpoints  
Not used 

 
Almost never

 
Rarely 

 
Sometimes 

 
Often 

 
Almost always

At traffic stops for registration 
or “paperwork” violations 

 
Not used 

 
Almost never

 
Rarely 

 
Sometimes 

 
Often 

 
Almost always

At traffic stops for moving 
violations 

 
Not used 

 
Almost never

 
Rarely 

 
Sometimes 

 
Often 

 
Almost always

At accidents  
Not used 

 
Almost never

 
Rarely 

 
Sometimes 

 
Often 

 
Almost always
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3. Please indicate which of the following methods are used to enforce compulsory insurance laws in your state and 
estimate how often each is used.  (Please check a selection for each method.) 
Fines  

Not used 
 

Almost never
 

Rarely 
 

Sometimes 
 

Often 
 

Almost always

Jail time  
Not used 

 
Almost never

 
Rarely 

 
Sometimes 

 
Often 

 
Almost always

Vehicle registration suspension  
Not used 

 
Almost never

 
Rarely 

 
Sometimes 

 
Often 

 
Almost always

Driver’s license suspension  
Not used 

 
Almost never

 
Rarely 

 
Sometimes 

 
Often 

 
Almost always

Driver’s license seizure by law 
enforcement officer 

 
Not used 

 
Almost never

 
Rarely 

 
Sometimes 

 
Often 

 
Almost always

License plate seizure  
Not used 

 
Almost never

 
Rarely 

 
Sometimes 

 
Often 

 
Almost always

 
Vehicle impoundment  

Not used 
 

Almost never
 

Rarely 
 

Sometimes 
 

Often 
 

Almost always

Vehicle immobilization 
(“booting”) 

 
Not used 

 
Almost never

 
Rarely 

 
Sometimes 

 
Often 

 
Almost always

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  N 
Not 

Used 
Almost 
Never Rarely Sometimes Often 

Almost 
Always 

Accidents 26 0.0% 0.0% 0.0% 0.0% 0.0% 100.0%

Moving Violations 25 4.0% 0.0% 0.0% 12.0% 4.0% 80.0%

Paperwork Stops 25 4.0% 0.0% 0.0% 12.0% 4.0% 80.0%

Traffic Checkpoints 25 12.0% 0.0% 8.0% 16.0% 4.0% 60.0%

  N 
Not 

Used 
Almost 
Never Rarely Sometimes Often 

Almost 
Always 

Fines 24 12.5% 0.0% 0.0% 0.0% 37.5% 50.0%

Jail 23 43.5% 21.7% 13.0% 21.7% 0.0% 0.0%

Reg. Susp. 25 24.0% 0.0% 0.0% 8.0% 28.0% 40.0%

Lic. Susp. 26 11.5% 0.0% 0.0% 15.4% 38.5% 34.6%

Lic. Seizure 25 64.0% 4.0% 4.0% 12.0% 8.0% 8.0%

Plate Seizure 25 52.0% 4.0% 8.0% 12.0% 20.0% 4.0%

Impoundment 25 60.0% 0.0% 12.0% 12.0% 12.0% 4.0%

Booting 25 88.0% 0.0% 8.0% 4.0% 0.0% 0.0%
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Penalties 

1. What are the penalties for the 1st offense of violating compulsory insurance laws?        
 

1st Offense Fine 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid $150 1 10.0% 10.0%

 $250 2 20.0% 30.0%

 $500 2 20.0% 50.0%

 $650 2 20.0% 70.0%

 $750 1 10.0% 80.0%

 $1,000 1 10.0% 90.0%

 $1,500 1 10.0% 100.0%

 Total 10 100.0%   

Missing System 40    

Total   50    
 

1st Offense Jail Days 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 30 1 33.3% 33.3%

 180 1 33.3% 66.7%

 365 1 33.3% 100.0%

 Total 3 100.0%   

Missing System 47    

Total   50    
 

Days Registration Suspended 1st Offense 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 90 1 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 49   

 Total 50   
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Days License Suspended 1st Offense 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 30 2 28.6% 28.6%

 60 1 14.3% 42.9%

 90 2 28.6% 71.4%

 180 1 14.3% 85.7%

 365 1 14.3% 100.0%

 Total 7 100.0%   

Missing System 43    

Total  50    
 

Days Plate Suspended 1st Offense 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 90 2 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 48    

Total  50    

 

2. Are penalties for the 2nd offense the same as for the 1st offense?   Yes    No 
a. If no, what are the penalties for the 2nd offense?        

 
2nd Offense Same Penalties as First? 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 15 71.4% 71.4%

 Yes 6 28.6% 100.0%

  Total 21 100.0%   

Missing System 29    

Total   50    
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2nd Offense Fine 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid $250 1 10.0% 10.0%

 $300 1 10.0% 20.0%

  $500 2 20.0% 40.0%

 $750 1 10.0% 50.0%

 $1,000 2 20.0% 70.0%

 $1,650 1 10.0% 80.0%

 $3,000 1 10.0% 90.0%

 $5,000 1 10.0% 100.0%

Missing Total 10 100.0%   

 System 40    

Total  50    
 

2nd Offense Jail Days 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 14 1 25.0% 25.0%

 30 1 25.0% 50.0%

  180 1 25.0% 75.0%

 365 1 25.0% 100.0%

 Total 4 100.0%  

 System 46   

   50   
 

Days Registration Suspended 2nd Offense 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 180 1 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 49    

Total   50    
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Days License Suspended 2nd Offense 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 90 4 50.0% 50.0%

 180 1 12.5% 62.5%

  365 2 25.0% 87.5%

 730 1 12.5% 100.0%

 Total 8 100.0%   

Missing System 42    

Total   50    
 

Days Plates Suspended 2nd Offense 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 120 1 50.0% 50.0%

 180 1 50.0% 100.0%

  Total 2 100.0%   

Missing System 48    

Total  50    

3. Are penalties for the 3rd and subsequent offenses the same as for the 2nd offense?   Yes    No 
a. If no, what are the penalties for the 3rd and subsequent offenses?        

 
3rd Offense Same Penalties as 2nd? 

   Frequency Valid 
Percent 

Cumulative
Percent 

Valid No 8 38.1% 38.1%

 Yes 13 61.9% 100.0%

  Total 21 100.0%   

Missing System 29    

Total  50    
 

2nd and 3rd Offenses Same Penalties as 1st? 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 15 71.4% 71.4%

 Yes 6 28.6% 100.0%

  Total 21 100.0%   

Missing System 29    

Total  50    
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3rd Offense Fine 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid $250 1 10.0% 10.0%

 $300 1 10.0% 20.0%

  $500 1 10.0% 30.0%

 $750 2 20.0% 50.0%

 $1,000 2 20.0% 70.0%

 $1,650 1 10.0% 80.0%

 $3,000 1 10.0% 90.0%

 $5,000 1 10.0% 100.0%

 Total 10 100.0%   

Missing System 40

Total  50
 

3rd Offense Jail Days 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 365 1 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 49    

Total  50
 

Days Registration Suspended 3rd Offense 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 365 1 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 49    

Total  50
 

Days License Suspended 3rd Offense 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 90 2 25.0% 25.0%

 273 1 12.5% 37.5%

  365 3 37.5% 75.0%

 730 2 25.0% 100.0%

 Total 8 100.0%   

Missing System 42    

Total  50
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Days Plate Suspended 3rd Offense 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 120 1 50.0% 50.0%

 365 1 50.0% 100.0%

  Total 2 100.0%   

Missing System 48    

Total  50

4. Are penalties different for younger drivers?   Yes    No 
 

Different for Younger? 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 23 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 27    

Total  50

 
a. If yes, for what age range are they different?        to       
b. What are the penalties for the 1st offense?        

c. Are penalties for the 2nd offense the same as for the 1st offense?   Yes    No 
i. If no, what are the penalties for the 2nd offense?        

d. Are penalties for the 3rd and subsequent offenses the same as for the 2nd offense?   Yes    No 
i. If no, what are the penalties for the 3rd and subsequent offenses?        

5. Are there penalties for allowing coverage to lapse even though the vehicle is insured at the time the lapse is 
discovered?   Yes    No 

 
Lapse Penalties? 

   Frequency Valid 
Percent 

Cumulative
Percent 

Valid No 15 65.2% 65.2%

 Yes 8 34.8% 100.0%

 Total 23 100.0%   

Missing System 27    

Total  50
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a. If yes, what are the penalties for allowing coverage to lapse?        
 

Lapse Fine 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid $25 1 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 49    

Total  50

6. If vehicle registration is suspended for violating insurance laws, what is the charge to reinstate?  $         N/A 
 

Reinstate Registration Charge 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid $10 1 6.7% 6.7%

 $20 1 6.7% 13.3%

  $45 1 6.7% 20.0%

 $50 2 13.3% 33.3%

 $63 1 6.7% 40.0%

 $100 2 13.3% 53.3%

 $110 1 6.7% 60.0%

 $125 1 6.7% 66.7%

 $200 1 6.7% 73.3%

 $210 1 6.7% 80.0%

 $325 1 6.7% 86.7%

 $375 1 6.7% 93.3%

 $450 1 6.7% 100.0%

 Total 15 100.0% 

Missing System 35

Total  50



 

  139

7. If a driver’s license is suspended for violating insurance laws, what is the charge to reinstate?  $         N/A 
 

Reinstate Driver’s License Charge 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid $0 1 4.8% 4.8%

 $20-30 2 9.5% 14.3%

 $31-40 1 4.8% 19.0%

 $41-50 5 23.8% 42.9%

 $51-60 2 9.5% 52.4%

 $61-70 2 9.5% 61.9%

 $71-80 1 4.8% 66.7%

 $100 2 9.5% 76.2%

 $200 1 4.8% 81.0%

 $210 1 4.8% 85.7%

 $325 2 9.5% 95.2%

 $450 1 4.8% 100.0%

 Total 21 100.0%   

Missing System 29

Total  50    

8. If license plates are seized for violating insurance laws, what is the charge to redeem?  $         N/A 
a. What percent of seized license plates are redeemed?         %    Don’t know 
b. What percent are from vehicles incorrectly ID’d as uninsured?        %    Don’t know 

 
Redeem Plate Charge 

   Frequency Valid 
Percent 

Cumulative
Percent 

Valid $0 1 25.0% 25.0%

 $5 1 25.0% 50.0%

 $150 1 25.0% 75.0%

 $325 1 25.0% 100.0%

 Total 4 100.0%   

Missing System 46

Total  50    
 

Know Percent Redeemed? 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 7 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 43    

Total  50    
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Know Percent Incorrect? 

   Frequency Valid 
Percent 

Cumulative
Percent 

Valid No 5 83.3% 83.3%

 Yes 1 16.7% 100.0%

Missing Total 6 100.0%   

Total System 44    
 

Percent Incorrect 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 5% 2 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 48   

Total  50    

9. If a vehicle is towed and impounded for violating insurance laws, what is the charge to redeem?  $         N/A 
a. What percent of impounded vehicles are redeemed?         %    Don’t know 
b. What percent are incorrectly ID’d as uninsured?         %    Don’t know 
c. How long before an impounded vehicle can be sold?           

 
Know Percent Redeemed? 

   Frequency Valid 
Percent 

Cumulative
Percent 

Valid No 4 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 46   

Total  50    

Know Percent Incorrect? 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 3 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 47   

Total  50    

Percent Incorrect 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 5% 1 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 49    

Total   50    



 

  141

10. Is information on prior insurance law violations available in a database accessible by judges at time of 
sentencing?   Yes    No 

 
Judge Access? 

   Frequency Valid 
Percent 

Cumulative
Percent 

Valid No 10 40.0% 40.0%

 Yes 15 60.0% 100.0%

Missing Total 25 100.0%  

Total   50   

11. Does your state require motorists convicted of DUI to maintain compulsory insurance, even if their driving 
privileges are suspended?   Yes    No 

a. If yes, for how long?            
 

DUI Required to Maintain Ins? 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 15 62.5% 62.5%

 Yes 9 37.5% 100.0%

 Total 24 100.0% 

Missing Total 26  

Total   50   
 

Days Must Maintain Insurance 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 365 1 25.0% 25.0%

 1095 3 75.0% 100.0%

 Total 4 100.0%   

Missing System 46    

Total  50    
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Research 

1. Has your state done studies into the following issues over the past 10 years? 
a. Uninsured motorists   Yes    No 
b. Privatization of or public/private partnership in compulsory insurance enforcement   Yes    No 
c. Motor vehicle insurance and discrimination   Yes    No 

 
UM Study? 

   Frequency Valid 
Percent 

Cumulative
Percent 

Valid No 18 69.2% 69.2%

 Yes 8 30.8% 100.0%

 Total 26 100.0%   

Missing System 24    

Total  50    
 

Privatization Study? 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 24 96.0% 96.0%

 Yes 1 4.0% 100.0%

 Total 25 100.0%   

Missing System 25    

Total  50    

 
Discrimination Study? 

   Frequency Valid 
Percent 

Cumulative
Percent 

Valid No 24 96.0% 96.0%

 Yes 1 4.0% 100.0%

 Total 25 100.0%   

Missing System 25    

Total  50    
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Technology 

1. Has your state used windshield stickers for compulsory insurance enforcement?   Yes    No 

No affirmative responses. 

a. Please describe the system used.        

b. In what years were windshield stickers used?           
c. How did they perform?  (Please check a selection.) 

1 
 

2 
 

3 
 

4 
 

5 
 

6 
 

7 
 

Very badly  Neither well nor badly  Very well 
d. For the most recent year for which data are complete, what was the cost to the state per stickered vehicle 

per year?  $        
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Exhibit 3 
Motor Vehicle Department Database Survey and Summary Results 

Arizona Department of Transportation Survey on 
Uninsured and Underinsured Drivers – To Database Managers 

The Arizona Department of Transportation is interested in learning how other states deal with uninsured and 
underinsured drivers.  We appreciate your help and will provide you with a copy of our final report. 

If your state uses a database to check compliance with compulsory insurance laws, we ask that your in-house database 
manager or outside vendor answer the following questions.  You may tab between the gray shaded areas 
(     ) to enter answers directly on the form below, or print out the survey and fill it in by hand.  Please return 
completed surveys by email lisa@mktg-intelligence.com or fax (520) 321-1649 by July 1, 2003, if possible. 

If you have any questions, please contact Lisa Markkula at (520) 321-0110 or lisa@mktg-intelligence.com. 

Person completing this survey: 

Name:             Phone:  (   )   -         

State:             Email:             

Database 

1. What year did your state first use a database to check compliance with compulsory insurance laws?         
a. In that year, what percent of registered vehicles were uninsured according to the database?        % 
b. In that year, what was the database’s accuracy rate in identifying uninsured vehicles?        % 

 
State Year % UM % Correctly

Identified 
as UM 

AL      2001 15%  

AR      1999 19%  

AZ      2000 15%  

CO     1999 33%  

FL      1989 30% 60%

GA      2003   

KY      1986 30%  

MN     1985   

MO     2002 9%  

NJ      1991 8% 96%

NY      2000   

OR     2001   

VA      1997   
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2. Currently, what percent of registered vehicles are uninsured according to the database?        % 
a. Currently, what is the database’s accuracy rate in identifying uninsured vehicles?        % 

 

State % UM % Correctly
Identified 

as UM 

AR      11%  

AZ      8%  

CO     12%  

FL      6% 98%

KY      30%  

MO     10%  

NY      5%  

3. What is the annual cost to the state per registered vehicle to maintain and operate the database?  $        
 

Annual Cost Per Registered Vehicle 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid $.02 1 20.0% 20.0%

  $.05 1 20.0% 40.0%

  $.10 2 40.0% 80.0%

  $.27 1 20.0% 100.0%

  Total 5 100.0%   

Missing System 45    

Total   50    
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4. How often are insurance companies required to submit information?  (Fill in all that apply.) 
a. Every       days, regardless of change   e.       days after new policy issued 
b.       days after cancelled    f.       days after policy renewed 
c.       days after nonrenewed    g       days after vehicle added 
d.       days after vehicle removed from policy 

 
Descriptive Statistics 

  N Range Minimum Maximum Mean Std. Deviation

Submission Cycle - Days 3 0 30 30 30.0 .0

Days After Cancelled 10 44 0 44 24.1 13.7

Days After Nonrenewed 3 30 0 30 13.3 15.3

Days After Vehicle Removed 5 44 0 44 22.8 17.6

Days After New Policy 8 23 7 30 22.3 10.7

Days After Renewed 1 0 30 30 30.0 .0

Days After Vehicle Added 6 23 7 30 22.2 11.8

Compared Every X Days 7 364 1 365 108.7 139.8

Valid N (listwise) 1       
 
 
State Submission 

Cycle – 
Days 

Days After 
Cancelled 

Days After 
Nonrenewed 

Days 
After 

Vehicle 
Removed 

Days 
After 
New 

Policy 

Days 
After 

Renewed 

Days 
After 

Vehicle 
Added 

Compared 
Every X 

Days 

Required 
By Law? 

Accessed 
by Law - 
Avg. Day 

AL               Yes 0 

AR       30  30 30  30 183 No 0 

AZ        7   7  7 180 No 0 

CO      30 10 10 10 30 30 30 1 Yes  

FL        44  44 29  29  Yes 5500 

GA       0 0 0 30  30 365 Yes 20000 

KY       30       Yes  

MN       30         

MO     30         0 

NJ        30   30   30 Yes 0 

NY       30 30 30 7  7 1 No  

OR       30   15   1 No  

VA      30        Yes  
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Submission Cycle - Days 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 30 3 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 47    

Total   50    
 

Days After Cancelled 
    Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 0 1 10.0% 10.0%

  7 1 10.0% 20.0%

  10 1 10.0% 30.0%

  30 6 60.0% 90.0%

  44 1 10.0% 100.0%

  Total 10 100.0%   

Missing System 40    

Total   50    
 

Days After Nonrenewed 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 0 1 33.3% 33.3%

  10 1 33.3% 66.7%

  30 1 33.3% 100.0%

  Total 3 100.0%   

Missing System 47    

Total   50    
 

Days After Vehicle Removed 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 0 1 20.0% 20.0%

  10 1 20.0% 40.0%

  30 2 40.0% 80.0%

 44 1 20.0% 100.0%

  Total 5 100.0%   

Missing System 45    

Total   50    
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Days After New Policy 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 7 2 25.0% 25.0%

  15 1 12.5% 37.5%

  29 1 12.5% 50.0%

 30 4 50.0% 100.0%

  Total 8 100.0%   

Missing System 42    

Total   50    
 

Days After Renewed 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 30 1 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 49    

Total   50    
 

Days After Vehicle Added 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 7 2 33.3% 33.3%

  29 1 16.7% 50.0%

 30 3 50.0% 100.0%

  Total 6 100.0%   

Missing System 44    

Total   50    

5. How often is insurance information compared to vehicle information?             
a. Does state law require that information be compared this often?   Yes    No 

 
Compared Every X Days 

  Frequency Valid 
Percent 

Cumulative
Percent 

Valid 1 3 42.9% 42.9%

  30 1 14.3% 57.1%

 180 1 14.3% 71.4%

 183 1 14.3% 85.7%

 365 1 14.3% 100.0%

  Total 7 100.0%   

Missing System 43    

Total  50    
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Compared Other 

   Frequency Valid 
Percent 

Cumulative
Percent 

Valid At renewal 1 25.0% 25.0%

  Compared every time when needed 1 25.0% 50.0%

 Compared only when insurance questionnaire
responses received from owners (2% of the 
4.2 million annually) and when verification 
data is received from insurance companies 

1 25.0% 75.0%

 Upon receipt of original insurance and 
cancellation of insurance 

1 25.0% 100.0%

  Total 4 100.0%  

Missing System 46    

Total   50    
 

Required By Law? 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 4 36.4% 36.4%

  Yes 7 63.6% 100.0%

  Total 11 100.0%   

Missing System 39    

Total  50    

6. On average, how many times a day do law enforcement officers access the database?         
times/day 

 
Accessed By Law Enforcement - Average Day 

  Frequency Valid 
Percent 

Cumulative
Percent 

Valid 0 5 71.4% 71.4%

  5500 1 14.3% 85.7%

  20000 1 14.3% 100.0%

 Total 7 100.0%   

Missing System 43    

Total   50    
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7. Can motorists verify that their information is correct in the database?   Yes    No 
a. If yes, how can they do this?       

 
Can Verify Correct? 

  Frequency Valid 
Percent 

Cumulative
Percent 

Valid No 8 66.7% 66.7%

  Yes 4 33.3% 100.0%

 Total 12 100.0%   

Missing System 38    

Total   50    
 

How Verify Correct 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid By contacting their local county tag office. 
Insurance carriers also have web access to 
what our system shows. 

1 20.0% 20.0%

  Call DMV's Insurance Call Center or request 
a Freedom of Information (FOIL) search 

1 20.0% 40.0%

 Info is available on vehicle records 1 20.0% 60.0%

 They can verify that their driver license status
is "valid" or they can get a transcript of their 
registration data for a fee and verify that their 
insurance is "on file." 

1 20.0% 80.0%

 This capability will be available in August of 
2003. 

1 20.0% 100.0%

  Total 5 100.0%  

Missing System 45    

Total   50    

8. Does the database interface with traffic cameras and license plate reader technology?   Yes    No 
a. If yes, for which vehicles is input received or information sent?  (Check one.) 

 Only vehicles involved in traffic violations    Potentially any vehicle 
 

No affirmative responses. 
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9. Does the database contain information on citations, convictions or penalties imposed for: 
a. Insurance violations   Yes    No 
b. Traffic violations   Yes    No 

 
Insurance Violation Info? 

  Frequency Valid 
Percent 

Cumulative
Percent 

Valid No 8 61.5% 61.5%

  Yes 5 38.5% 100.0%

 Total 13 100.0%   

Missing System 37    

Total  50    
 

Traffic Violation Info? 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 8 61.5% 61.5%

  Yes 5 38.5% 100.0%

 Total 13 100.0%   

Missing System 37    

Total  50    

10. Do state agencies responsible for the following or their vendors access the database when: 
a. Vehicles are registered   Yes    No 
b. Driver’s licenses are issued  Yes    No  

 
Access At Registration? 

  Frequency Valid 
Percent 

Cumulative
Percent 

Valid No 4 33.3% 33.3%

  Yes 8 66.7% 100.0%

 Total 12 100.0%   

Missing System 38    

Total  50    
 

Access At License Issue? 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 9 81.8% 81.8%

  Yes 2 18.2% 100.0%

 Total 11 100.0%   

Missing System 39    

Total  50    
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Access Other 

   Frequency Valid 
Percent 

Cumulative
Percent 

Valid County license plate issuing officials do not 
have access to the insurance database; 
however, they do receive monthly lists of 
suspended registrations which they are 
required to reference and deny 
registration/renewal of those found on the list.

1 50.0% 50.0%

  Driver's license and motor vehicle program 
administration 

1 50.0% 100.0%

  Total 2 100.0%  

Missing System 48    

Total   50    

11. Has the database been used for purposes other than enforcement of compulsory insurance laws?   Yes    No 
c. If yes, how else has it been used?        

 
Other Use? 

  Frequency Valid 
Percent 

Cumulative
Percent 

Valid No 4 30.8% 30.8%

  Yes 9 69.2% 100.0%

 Total 13 100.0%   

Missing System 37    

Total  50    
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Other Use Description 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid Insurance info is verified on accident, renewal 
of vehicle registration by mail and random 
sample insurance verification actions 

1 12.5% 12.5%

  On occasion, law enforcement officers can 
obtain information through us (not directly) for 
other investigations. 

1 12.5% 25.0%

 Registration compliance 2 25.0% 50.0%

 Statistics 1 12.5% 62.5%

 The department's Internet application for 
renewing motor vehicle registration will hit 
against the database to ensure the customer 
has insurance on the vehicle being renewed. 

1 12.5% 75.0%

 To provide insurance info to a requestor who 
wants to file a claim as a result of an accident.
A fee of $6 is required for the search. 

1 12.5% 87.5%

 UM info is posted to our driver history 
violation records.  We do not maintain a 
separate insurance database. 

1 12.5% 100.0%

  Total 8 100.0%  

Missing System 42    

Total   50    
 

Enforcement 

1. Enforcement letters are sent on letterhead from:  (Check all that apply.) 
 State agency (name of agency)               
 Outside vendor (name of vendor)               

If different letters are sent on different letterhead, please state which letters are sent on which letterhead.        
 

State Agency Letterhead 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 1 8.3% 8.3%

  Yes 11 91.7% 100.0%

 Total 12 100.0%   

Missing System 38    

Total  50    
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State Agency Name 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative 

Percent 

Valid Highway or Public Safety Agency 3 30.0% 30.0% 

  Motor Vehicle Agency 5 50.0% 80.0% 

 Revenue Agency 2 20.0% 20.0% 

 Total 10 100.0%  

Missing System 41    

Total   50    
 

Outside Vendor Name 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative 

Percent 

Valid Explore Information Services 1 100.0% 100.0% 

Missing System 49    

Total  50    

2. Enforcement letters are sent to:  (Check all that apply.)   Named insured    Registered owner 
If different letters are sent to different recipients, please state which letters are sent to which recipients.        

 
Sent to Named Insured? 

  Frequency Valid 
Percent 

Cumulative
Percent 

Valid No 9 75.0% 75.0%

  Yes 3 25.0% 100.0%

 Total 12 100.0%   

Missing System 38    

Total  50    
 

Sent to Registered Owner? 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 1 8.3% 8.3%

  Yes 11 91.7% 100.0%

 Total 12 100.0%   

Missing System 38    

Total  50    
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Sent to Both Named Insured and Registered Owner? 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 10 83.3% 83.3%

  Yes 2 16.7% 100.0%

 Total 12   

Missing System 38    

Total  50    

3. Enforcement letters are sent on the following timeline: 
Letter 1:         days after vehicle ID’d as uninsured 
Letter 2:         days after letter 1 sent 
Letter 3:         days after letter 2 sent 
If additional letters are sent, please provide additional information.        

 
Descriptive Statistics 

  N Range Minimum Maximum Mean Std. Deviation

L1 Days After 12 119 1 120 42.58 42.60

L2 Days After 6 15 15 30 27.50 6.12

L2 Days After Discovery 6 89 31 120 65.83 42.29

L3 Days After 2 0 30 30 30.00 .00

L3 Days After Discovery 2 4 61 65 63.00 2.83

Valid N (listwise) 2       
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4. Response to enforcement letters:  (Please indicate if   estimated or   known.) 
a. After letter 1 and before letter 2 is sent: 

      % comply        % provide proof were wrongly ID’d as uninsured 
b. After letter 2 and before letter 3 is sent: 

         % comply        % provide proof were wrongly ID’d as uninsured 
c. After letter 3 and before letter 4 is sent: 

         % comply         % provide proof were wrongly ID’d as uninsured 
If additional letters are sent, please provide additional information.        

 
State Letter 1 Sent 

X Days After 
Discovery 

After 
Letter 1, 
X% 
Comply 

After Letter 1, 
X% Prove 
Wrongly ID’d 
as UM 

Letter 2 Sent 
X Days After 
Discovery 

After 
Letter 2, 
X% 
Comply 

After Letter 2, 
X% Prove 
Wrongly ID’d 
as UM 

Letter 3 Sent 
X Days After 
Discovery 

After 
Letter 3, 
X% 
Comply 

After Letter 3, 
X% Prove 
Wrongly ID’d 
as UM 

AL  1         

AZ       30   45      

CO      90 33% 10%       

FL       120 80% 26%       

GA      30         

KY      30 20% 40%       

MN      10 87% 84%       

MO     90 *56%  120 *25%     

NJ       1 44% 25% 31 48% 19% 61 71% 5% 

NY      14 60%  44      

OR      5 80%  35 50%  65 20%  

VA      90   120      

* Known, not estimated. 
 

After Letter 1 Percent Who Comply 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 20% 1 12.5% 12.5%

  33% 1 12.5% 25.0%

 44% 1 12.5% 37.5%

 56% 1 12.5% 50.0%

 60% 1 12.5% 62.5%

 80% 2 25.0% 87.5%

 87% 1 12.5% 100.0%

 Total 8 100.0%   

Missing System 42    

Total  50   
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After Letter 1 Percent Who Prove Wrongly ID'd 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 10% 1 20.0% 20.0%

  25% 1 20.0% 40.0%

 26% 1 20.0% 60.0%

 40% 1 20.0% 80.0%

 84% 1 20.0% 100.0%

 Total 5 100.0%   

Missing System 45    

Total  50   
 

After Letter 2 Percent Who Comply 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 25% 1 33.3% 33.3%

  48% 1 33.3% 66.7%

 50% 1 33.3% 100.0%

 Total 3 100.0%   

Missing System 47    

Total  50   
 

After Letter 2 Percent Who Prove Wrongly ID'd 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 19% 1 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 49    

Total  50    
 

After Letter 3 Percent Who Comply 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 20% 1 50.0% 50.0%

  71% 1 50.0% 100.0%

 Total 2 100.0%   

Missing System 48    

Total  50   
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After Letter 3 Percent Who Prove Wrongly ID'd 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 5% 1 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 49    

Total  50    

5. Enforcement actions are taken on the following timeline: 
a. Vehicle registration suspended:        days after Letter #      

or  Suspending registration is not an option. 
b. Driver’s license suspended:         days after Letter #      

or  Suspending driver’s license is not an option. 
c. License plates ordered seized:        days after Letter #      

or  Ordering license plates seized is not an option. 
i. Is a law enforcement officer sent to seize license plates?   Yes     No 

If additional enforcement actions are taken, please provide additional information.        
 

State Vehicle 
Registration 
Suspended 

After L 

Vehicle 
Registration 
Suspended 
Days After 
Discovery 

Driver’s 
License 

Suspended 
After L 

Driver’s 
License 

Suspended 
Days After 
Discovery 

Plates 
Ordered 
Seized 
After L 

Plates 
Ordered 
Seized 

Days After 
Discovery 

Officer 
Sent to 
Seize 

Plates?

AL  1 46  No

AZ      1 45  

CO     1 135  

FL       1 150 1 150 1 160 No

GA      1 60  

KY       65  No

MN     1 24 1 24  

MO       2 153  

NJ      1 31 2 61  No

NY      1 44 1 44  

OR       3 95  

VA      2 150 2 150  No

 
Suspending Registration An Option? 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 2 16.7% 16.7%

  Yes 10 83.3% 100.0%

 Total 12 100.0%   

Missing System 38    

Total  50    
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Registration Suspended After Letter X 

   Frequency Valid 
Percent 

Cumulative
Percent 

Valid 1 8 88.9% 88.9%

  2 1 11.1% 100.0%

 Total 9 100.0%   

Missing System 41    

Total   50    

 
Registration Suspended Days After Discovery 

   Frequency Valid 
Percent 

Cumulative
Percent 

Valid 24 1 10.0% 10.0%

  31 1 10.0% 20.0%

 44 1 10.0% 30.0%

 45 1 10.0% 40.0%

 46 1 10.0% 50.0%

 60 1 10.0% 60.0%

 65 1 10.0% 70.0%

 135 1 10.0% 80.0%

 150 2 20.0% 100.0%

 Total 10 100.0%   

Missing System 40

Total   50    
 

Suspending Driver’s License An Option? 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 1 12.5% 12.5%

  Yes 7 87.5% 100.0%

 Total 8 100.0%   

Missing System 42    

Total  50    
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Driver’s License Suspended After Letter X 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 1 3 42.9% 42.9%

  2 3 42.9% 85.7%

 3 1 14.3% 100.0%

 Total 7 100.0%   

Missing System 43    

Total  50    

 
Driver’s License Suspended Days After Discovery 

   Frequency Valid 
Percent 

Cumulative
Percent 

Valid 24 1 14.3% 14.3%

  44 1 14.3% 28.6%

 61 1 14.3% 42.9%

 95 1 14.3% 57.1%

 150 2 28.6% 85.7%

 153 1 14.3% 100.0%

 Total 7 100.0%   

Missing System 43    

Total  50    
 

Ordering Plates Seized An Option? 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 5 100.0% 100.0%

 Total 45    

Missing System 50    

Total  50    
 

Plates Ordered Seized After Letter X 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 1 1 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 49    

Total   50    
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Plates Ordered Seized Days After Discovery 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 160 1 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 49    

Total   50    
 

Officer Sent to Seize Plates? 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 5 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 45    

Total   50    

Records Request 

1. For each enforcement letter, please provide a sample, labeled “Letter 1,” “Letter 2,” “Letter 3,” etc. 

2. Please attach a printout showing fields you require: 
a. Insurance companies to submit 
b. State agencies or their vendors to submit 

Please indicate whether fields are required for private motor vehicles, commercial motor vehicles, or both. 
 
If you prefer, you can mail requested records to:  Lisa Markkula 

Marketing Intelligence, LLC 
1630 N. Swan Rd., Ste. 102 
Tucson, AZ  85712 
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Exhibit 4 
Insurance Department Survey and Summary Results 

Arizona Department of Transportation 
Survey on Uninsured and Underinsured Drivers 

To Private Passenger Auto Manager 
The Arizona Department of Transportation is interested in learning how other states deal with uninsured and 

underinsured drivers.  We appreciate your help and will provide you with a copy of our final report. 

You may tab between the gray shaded areas (     ) to enter answers directly on the form below, or print out the 
survey and fill it in by hand.  Please return completed surveys by email lisa@mktg-intelligence.com or fax (520) 321-1649 
by July 1, 2003, if possible. 

If you have any questions, please contact Lisa Markkula at (520) 321-0110 or lisa@mktg-intelligence.com. 

Person completing this survey: 
Name:            Phone: (   )   -         
State:            Email:           

Uninsured Motorist Coverage 

1. Is uninsured motorist coverage mandatory in your state?   Yes    No 
a. If yes, what amount is required?  $             
b. If no, is the offer of uninsured motorist coverage mandatory?   Yes    No 
c. Is the language of offer specified by law?   Yes    No 

 
UM Mandatory? 

   Frequency Valid 
Percent 

Cumulative
Percent 

Valid No 18 54.5% 54.5%

  Yes 15 45.5% 100.0%

  Total 33 100.0%   

Missing System 17    

Total   50    
 

Per Person Required 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative 

Percent 

Valid $20,000 3 25.0% 25.0% 

  $25,000 8 66.7% 91.7% 

  $50,000 1 8.3% 100.0% 

  Total 12 100.0%   

Missing System 38    

Total   50    
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Per Accident Required 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative 

Percent 

Valid $40,000 3 25.0% 25.0% 

  $50,000 8 66.7% 91.7% 

  $100,000 1 8.3% 100.0% 

  Total 12 100.0%   

Missing System 38    

Total   50    
 

Property Damage Required 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative 

Percent 

Valid $10,000 2 50.0% 50.0% 

  $15,000 1 25.0% 75.0% 

  $25,000 1 25.0% 100.0% 

  Total 4 100.0%   

Missing System 46    

Total   50    
 

UM Required Other 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid  $50,000 1 20.0% 20.0%

  Based on liability limits 1 20.0% 40.0%

  Mandatory if you purchase a liability policy 1 20.0% 60.0%

  Same limits as B.I. 1 20.0% 80.0%

  The companies must offer this coverage 
equal to the BI limits purchased.  The 
policyholder has the right to reject to the 
minimum limit of 25/50. 

1 20.0% 100.0%

 Total 5 100.0% 

Missing System 45  

  Total 50   
 

UM Offer Mandatory? 
    Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 2 11.8% 11.8%

  Yes 15 88.2% 100.0%

  Total 17 100.0%   

Missing System 33    

Total   50    
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UM Offer Language Specified By Law? 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 11 47.8% 47.8%

  Yes 12 52.2% 100.0%

  Total 23 100.0%   

Missing System 27    

Total   50    

2. If not mandatory, what estimated percentage of insured motorists carries uninsured motorist coverage? 
       %  Cannot estimate 

 
Estimate Percent UM Insured? 

   Frequency Valid 
Percent 

Cumulative
Percent 

Valid No 15 88.2% 88.2%

  Yes 2 11.8% 100.0%

  Total 17 100.0%   

Missing System 33    

Total   50    
 

Estimated Percent UM Insured 
    Frequency Percent Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative 

Percent 

Valid .83 1 2.0 50.0 50.0 

  .90 1 2.0 50.0 100.0 

  Total 2 4.0 100.0   

Missing System 48 96.0    

Total   50 100.0    

3. What types of claims does uninsured motorist coverage cover? 
a. Economic loss   Yes    No  c. Punitive damages  Yes    No 
b. Non-economic loss  Yes    No  d. Property damage  Yes    No 

 
Economic Loss? 

   Frequency Valid 
Percent 

Cumulative
Percent 

Valid No 2 7.1% 7.1%

  Yes 26 92.9% 100.0%

  Total 28 100.0%   

Missing System 22    

Total   50    
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Non-economic Loss? 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 4 14.3% 14.3%

  Yes 24 85.7% 100.0%

  Total 28 100.0%   

Missing System 22    

Total   50    

Punitive Damages? 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 22 84.6% 84.6%

  Yes 4 15.4% 100.0%

  Total 26 100.0%   

Missing System 24    

Total   50    

Property Damage? 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 14 46.7% 46.7%

  Yes 16 53.3% 100.0%

  Total 30 100.0%   

Missing System 20    

Total   50    

4. What is the average annual premium for uninsured motorist coverage?  $        
(Please indicate if   estimated or   known.) 

 
Know UM Average Annual Premium? 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 25 96.2% 96.2%

  Yes 1 3.8% 100.0%

  Total 26 100.0%   

Missing System 24    

Total   50    
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UM Average Annual Premium 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid $15-20 5 25.0% 25.0%

  $21-30 4 20.0% 45.0%

  $31-40 2 10.0% 55.0%

  $41-50 4 20.0% 75.0%

  $51-60 2 10.0% 85.0%

  $61-70 1 5.0% 90.0%

  $100 1 5.0% 95.0%

  $150 1 5.0% 100.0%

  Total 20 100.0%   

Missing System 30    

Total   50    

5. Is the price for uninsured motorist coverage the same throughout the state regardless of territory or individual 
rating factors?   Yes    No    Don’t know 

Know Price Same or Not? 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 2 6.7% 6.7%

  Yes 28 93.3% 100.0%

  Total 30 100.0%   

Missing System 20    

Total   50    

 

Price Same? 
    Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 22 78.6% 78.6%

  Yes 6 21.4% 100.0%

  Total 28 100.0%   

Missing System 22    

Total   50    
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Underinsured Motorist Coverage 

1. Is underinsured motorist coverage mandatory in your state?   Yes    No 
a. If yes, what amount is required?          
b. If no, is the offer of underinsured motorist coverage mandatory?   Yes    No 
c. Is the language of offer specified by law?   Yes    No 

UIM Mandatory? 
    Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 20 60.6% 60.6%

  Yes 13 39.4% 100.0%

  Total 33 100.0%   

Missing System 17    

Total   50    

Per Person Required 
    Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative 

Percent 

Valid $10,000 1 12.5% 12.5% 

  $20,000 2 25.0% 37.5% 

  $25,000 4 50.0% 87.5% 

  $50,000 1 12.5% 100.0% 

  Total 8 100.0%   

Missing System 42    

Total   50    

 

Per Accident Required 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative 

Percent 

Valid $20,000 1 12.5% 12.5% 

  $40,000 2 25.0% 37.5% 

  $50,000 4 50.0% 87.5% 

  $100,000 1 12.5% 100.0% 

  Total 8 100.0%   

Missing System 42    

Total   50    



 

  168

Property Damage Required 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative 

Percent 

Valid $10,000.00 1 50.0% 50.0% 

  $15,000.00 1 50.0% 100.0% 

  Total 2 100.0%   

Missing System 48    

Total   50    

UIM Required Other 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid Based on liability limits up to $100/300 with 
UM 

1 16.7% 16.7%

  Mandatory if limits are greater than financial
responsibility 

1 16.7% 33.3%

  Must be the same as UM 3 50.0% 83.3%

  Same as BI, unless rejected in writing 1 16.7% 100.0%

 Total 6 100.0% 

Missing System 44  

  Total 50   

UIM Offer Mandatory? 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 6 30.0% 30.0%

  Yes 14 70.0% 100.0%

  Total 20 100.0%   

Missing System 30    

Total   50    

UIM Offer Language Specified By Law? 
    Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 12 54.5% 54.5%

  Yes 10 45.5% 100.0%

  Total 22 100.0%   

Missing System 28    

Total   50    
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2. If not mandatory, what estimated percentage of insured motorists carries underinsured motorist coverage? 
       %   Cannot estimate 

Estimate Percent UIM Insured? 
    Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 20 90.9% 90.9%

  Yes 2 9.1% 100.0%

  Total 22 100.0%   

Missing System 28    

Total   50    

Estimated Percent UIM Insured 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid .75 1 50.0% 50.0%

  .83 1 50.0% 100.0%

  Total 2 100.0%   

Missing System 48    

Total   50    

3. What is the average annual premium for underinsured motorist coverage?  $        
(Please indicate if   estimated or   known.) 

Know UIM Average Annual Premium? 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 17 85.0% 85.0%

  Yes 3 15.0% 100.0%

  Total 20 100.0%   

Missing System 30    

Total   50    
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UIM Average Annual Premium 
    Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid $0-10 1 11.1% 11.1%

  $11-20 4 44.4% 55.6%

  $21-30 1 11.1% 66.7%

  $31-40 1 11.1% 77.8%

  $41-50 1 11.1% 88.9%

  $80.00 1 11.1% 100.0%

  Total 9 100.0%   

Missing System 41    

Total   50    

Involuntary Market 

3. What are the eligibility requirements to obtain coverage in the involuntary market?        

Involuntary Eligibility 
    Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

 Valid A resident who owns a motor vehicle  
registered or principally garaged in this State 
or who has a valid driver's license in this State 
or who is required to file proof of financial 
responsibility pursuant to Article 9A or 13 of 
the N.C. M V Code 

1 3.6% 3.6%

  Cannot obtain coverage in the voluntary 
market 

7 25.0% 28.6%

  An applicant who is turned down for standard 
insurance must get an application from a 
licensed agent to obtain insurance through 
the automobile plan (involuntary market). 

1 3.6% 32.1%

  Applicant must certify that he/she has 
attempted within 60 days prior to date of 
application to obtain automobile insurance in 
the state and has been unable to do so 

2 7.1% 39.3%

  Application to the residual market assigned 
risk plan 

1 3.6% 42.9%

  Certify could not obtain coverage for 60 days 
prior; applicant & other drivers must have paid 
all insurance premiums due for the past 12 
months 

1 3.6% 46.4%

  Connecticut registration, license 1 3.6% 50.0%

  Declination by 3 insurance companies 3 10.7% 60.7%

  Does not require proof that the person is 
unable to obtain insurance 

1 3.6% 64.3%
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    Frequency Valid 
Percent 

Cumulative
Percent 

  Excluded if policy cancelled for nonpayment 
within immediately preceding 2-year period, 
unless pay in full premium installment 

1 3.6% 67.9%

  If risk cannot find voluntary coverage at a rate 
less than the assigned risk pool 

1 3.6% 71.4%

  Mandatory unless coverage is waived in writing
by the named insured 

1 3.6% 75.0%

  N/A in WY 1 3.6% 78.6%

  ND resident; current, valid ND license; vehicle 
registered in ND; no outstanding auto 
premiums in past 12 months 

1 3.6% 82.1%

  No requirements 1 3.6% 85.7%

  TX resident and have or are applying for a TX 
drivers license.  Have been declined by at 
least two insurers in the voluntary market. 

1 3.6% 89.3%

  Unable to find insurance in last 60 days; no 
incorrect info or misrepresentations on the 
application; operator's license; has not failed 
to pay auto insurance premiums in last 2 
years; hasn't been cancelled for failure to 
make auto available for inspection in last 12 
months 

1 3.6% 92.9%

  Vehicle must be registered & used in Virginia 
(with exceptions for military & foreign 
diplomats); Operator must be licensed in 
Virginia (with exceptions for military & foreign 
diplomats). 

1 3.6% 96.4%

  Vehicles registered in state 1 3.6% 100.0%

 Total 28 100% 

Missing System 22  

 Total  50   

4. What is the average annual premium for compulsory coverage: 
a. In the voluntary market?  $        
b. In the involuntary market?  $        

(Please indicate if   estimated or   known.) 

Know Average Annual Premiums? 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 16 94.1% 94.1%

  Yes 1 5.9% 100.0%

  Total 17 100.0%   

Missing System 33    

Total   50    
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Average Annual Voluntary Premium 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid $60 1 11.1% 11.1%

  $160 1 11.1% 22.2%

  $270 1 11.1% 33.3%

  $294 1 11.1% 44.4%

  $334 1 11.1% 55.6%

  $350 2 22.2% 77.8%

  $483 1 11.1% 88.9%

  $750 1 11.1% 100.0%

  Total 9 100.0%   

Missing System 41    

Total   50    

Average Annual Involuntary Premium 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid $500 2 25.0% 25.0%

  $503 1 12.5% 37.5%

  $550 1 12.5% 50.0%

  $618 1 12.5% 62.5%

  $741 1 12.5% 75.0%

  $818 1 12.5% 87.5%

  $1,400 1 12.5% 100.0%

  Total 8 100.0%   

Missing System 42    

Total   50    
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Low Cost Coverage 

1. Does your state allow a low cost or “bare bones” policy to satisfy the requirement for compulsory insurance even 
though it offers less coverage than compulsory insurance?   Yes    No  (If no, skip to the next section.) 

Allow Bare Bones Policy? 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 27 96.4% 96.4%

  Yes 1 3.6% 100.0%

  Total 28 100.0%   

Missing System 22    

Total   50    

2. What are the eligibility requirements to obtain a low cost policy?        

Bare Bones Eligibility 
    Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid  Reside in LA or SF county; household 25% 
federal poverty level or less; age 19 or older, 
continuously licensed for 3 yrs prior; no more 
than 1 property damage only accident at fault
or 1 point for moving violation; no felony or 
misdemeanor conviction for vehicle code 
violation; no dependent college students 

1 100.0% 100.0%

  Total 1 100.0% 

Missing System 49  

 Total  50   

3. What coverage is provided?  (Please give type and amount.)            
a. Is liability coverage provided?   Yes    No 

Per Person Bare Bones 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative 

Percent 

Valid $10,000 1 100.0% 100.0% 

Missing System 49    

Total   50    

Per Accident Bare Bones 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative 

Percent 

Valid $20,000 1 100.0% 100.0% 

Missing System 49    

Total   50    
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Property Damage Bare Bones 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid $3,000 1 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 49    

Total   50    

Bare Bones Include Liability? 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid Yes 1 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 49    

Total   50    

4. What is the average annual premium for low cost coverage?  $      
(Please indicate if   estimated or   known.) 

Know Bare Bones Average Annual Premium? 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid Yes 1 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 49     

Total   50    

Bare Bones Average Annual Premium 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative 

Percent 

Valid $314-347 1 100.0% 100.0% 

Missing System 49    

Total   50    

5. How many low cost policies are active?            (Please indicate if   estimated or   
known.) 

Know Number of Bare Bones Policies Active? 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid Yes 1 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 49    

Total  50    
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Number of Bare Bones Policies Active 
    Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 2503 1 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 49    

Total   50    

Public Assistance 

1. Has your state provided assistance to help low income people afford motor vehicle insurance?   Yes    No 

Provided Low Income Assistance? 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 25 92.6% 92.6%

  Yes 2 7.4% 100.0%

  Total 27 100.0%   

Missing System 23    

Total   50    

 
a. If yes, what assistance has it provided?        

Assistance Provided 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid Contact NE Health & Human Services 1 50.0% 50.0%

  Info would have to come from VT Welfare
Dept. 

1 50.0% 100.0%

 Total 2 100.0% 

Missing System 48  

    Total 50   

 
b. What were the eligibility requirements to receive assistance?        

 
No responses provided. 

 
c. In what years was assistance provided?          

 
No responses provided. 

 
d. For the most recent year assistance was provided for which data are complete: 

i. How many people received assistance?          
ii. What was the total amount of assistance provided?  $        

iii. What year are the data for?          

No responses provided. 



 

  176

2. Has your state provided loans to help low income people afford motor vehicle insurance?   Yes    No 

Provided Low Income Loans? 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 24 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 26    

Total   50    

 
a. If yes, what were the terms of the loans?        

 
No responses provided. 

 
b. What were the eligibility requirements to receive loans?        

 
No responses provided. 

 
c. In what years were loans provided?          

 
No responses provided. 

 
d. For the most recent year loans were provided for which data are complete, 

i. How many people received loans?          
ii. What was the total amount lent?  $        

iii. What year are the data for?          
 

No responses provided. 
3. Has your state provided tax or other incentives to increase the availability of insurance services or the number of 

motor vehicle policies written in underserved communities?   Yes    No 

Provided Tax or Insurer Incentives? 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 22 91.7% 91.7%

  Yes 2 8.3% 100.0%

  Total 24 100.0%   

Missing System 26    

Total   50    
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Database 

1. Does your state use a database to check compliance with compulsory insurance laws?   Yes    No 
(If no, skip to next section.) 

Use Database? 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 17 60.7% 60.7%

  Yes 11 39.3% 100.0%

  Total 28 100.0%   

Missing System 22    

Total   50    

2. Do insurance companies receive compensation for providing database information?   Yes    No. 
a. If yes, for the most recent year for which data are complete, how much compensation was paid?  $       

i. What year are the data for?          

Compensate Insurers for Database Info? 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 7 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 43    

Total   50    

3. For the most recent year for which data are complete, what penalties has your state assessed against insurance 
companies for failing to submit information or for submitting inaccurate information? 
Year # of insurance companies 

penalized 
Total penalties 
assessed 

or (Check all that apply.)  
 There are no penalties for failing to submit 

information. 
            $       There are no penalties for submitting 

inaccurate information. 

No Penalties For No Info 
    Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid Yes 1 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 49    

Total   50    

No Penalties For Inaccurate Info 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid Yes 1 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 49    

Total   50    
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Year Penalties Assessed 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 2002 1 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 49    

Total   50    

Number of Insurers Penalized 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 4 1 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 49    

Total  50    

Total Penalties Assessed 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative 

Percent 

Valid $15,000 1 100.0% 100.0% 

Missing System 49    

Total   50    

“Pay-as-you-go” Policies 

1. Can insurance companies charge motor vehicle insurance premiums by the mile (“pay-as you-go” policies) in 
your state?   Yes    No 

Allow Pay As You Go Policies? 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 17 60.7% 60.7%

  Yes 11 39.3% 100.0%

  Total 28 100.0%   

Missing System 22    

Total   50    
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a. If yes, in what year did the first insurance company do so?        
b. Currently, how many insurance companies offer pay-as-you-go policies?          Don’t know 

Know Number of Insurers Offering PAYG? 
   Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 2 18.2% 18.2%

  Yes 9 81.8% 100.0%

  Total 11 100.0%   

Missing System 39    

Total   50    

Number of Insurers Offering PAYG 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 0 10 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 40    

Total   50    

2. How many pay-as-you-go policies are active?           Don’t know 

Know Number of PAYG Active Policies? 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 3 30.0% 30.0%

  Yes 7 70.0% 100.0%

  Total 10 100.0$   

Missing System 40    

Total   50    

Number of PAYG Active Policies 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 0 7 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 43    

Total   50    



 

  180

Penalties 

1. For those convicted of driving without insurance, or any other violation, how many months of premium payment 
are required “up front”?        (number of) Months   No minimum requirement 

a. Who is subject to this requirement?        

Number of Months Required to Pay Up Front 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative 

Percent 

Valid No minimum
requirement 

24 88.9% 88.9% 

  6 2 7.4% 96.3% 

 12 1 3.7% 100.0% 

  Total 27 100.0%   

Missing System 23    

Total   50    

Who Required to Pay Up Front 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid Drivers requiring financial safety responsibility 
certification (SR-22) 

1 33.3% 33.3%

  Driving privileges revoked or suspended due  
to failure to maintain required security 

1 33.3% 66.6%

 Habitual violators must make SR-22 filings. 1 33.3% 100.0%

  Total 3 100.0%  

Missing System 47    

Total   50    

2. Does your state allow insurance companies to cancel policies of motorists convicted of DUI?   Yes    No 

Allow Insurers to Cancel for DUI? 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 9 30.0% 30.0%

  Yes 21 70.0% 100.0%

  Total 30 100.0%   

Missing System 20    

Total   50    
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3. Does your state prohibit or limit claims from uninsured motorists injured in motor vehicle accidents? 
 Yes    No 

 
Prohibit or Limit Claims From UM? 

  Frequency Valid 
Percent 

Cumulative
Percent 

Valid No 30 93.8% 93.8%

  Yes 2 6.3% 100.0%

  Total 32 100.0%   

Missing System 18    

Total   50    
 

a. If yes, please describe.        

How Prohibited or Limited 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid They do not have immunity from tort action 
under our no-fault law, but properly insured 
drivers have immunity from tort when the 
injuries received by the other party are below 
the verbal threshold described in MCLA 
500.3135. 

1 33.3% 33.3%

  UMC cannot be stacked within the same 
policy. 

1 33.3% 66.6%

 Uninsured motorists will not be compensated 
for non-economic damages from an accident.

1 33.3% 100.0%

  Total 3 100.0%  

Missing System 47    

Total   50    

 
b. In what year did this take effect?          

Year 1st Prohibited or Limited 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid 1973 1 50.0% 50.0%

  1997 1 50.0% 100.0%

  Total 2 100.0%   

Missing System 48    

Total   50    
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4. Has your state used an amnesty program to encourage uninsured motorists to comply with the law? 
 Yes    No 

Used Amnesty? 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 31 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 19    

Total   50    
 

a. If yes, in what years have amnesty programs been used?          
 

No responses provided. 
 

b. For the most recent year for which data are complete, how many previously uninsured motorists obtained 
insurance during the amnesty period?             Don’t know 

i. What year are the data for?          
 

No responses provided. 

5. Does your state prohibit surcharges on previously uninsured motorists?   Yes    No (If yes, skip to next 
section.) 

Prohibit Surcharges? 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 22 73.3% 73.3%

  Yes 8 26.7% 100.0%

  Total 30 100.0%   

Missing System 20    

Total   50    

6. Does your state limit surcharges on previously uninsured motorists?   Yes    No 

Limit Surcharges? 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 18 90.0% 90.0%

  Yes 2 10.0% 100.0%

  Total 20 100.0%   

Missing System 30    

Total   50    

a. If yes, what is the limit?          

No responses provided. 
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b. If no, what is the average percent surcharge?       %  Don’t know 

Know Average Percent Surcharge? 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid No 4 100.0% 100.0%

Missing System 46    

Total   50    

Surcharge Other 
  Frequency Valid 

Percent 
Cumulative

Percent 

Valid Can only surcharge for 6 months pursuant to 
the "failure to provide proof of insurance" 
criteria located in MCLA 500.2120.  The vast 
majority of companies do not utilize this 
provision. 

1 50.0% 50.0%

  It depends on what an insurer can actuarially
support. 

1 50.0% 100.0%

  Total 2 100.0% 

Missing System 48    

Total   50    

No other responses provided. 
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Exhibit 5 
 

SUMMARY OF ARIZONA 
FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY LAWS 

 
Title 17. Transportation 
Chapter 4. Department of Transportation Title, Registration and Driver Licenses 
Article 2. Vehicle Title 
R17-4-307 Motor Vehicle Registration and License Plate Reinstatement Fee 

ADOT charges a mandatory $50 fee to reinstate registration and plates 
suspended for insurance cancellation or non-renewal after notice pursuant 
to 28-4148 (insurer notice to ADOT of cancellation or nonrenewal) and 
28-4149 (ADOT notice to insured of suspension for cancellation or non-
renewal). 

Article 4. Drivers Licenses 
R17-4-402. Financial Responsibility Suspension; Restricted License and Restricted 

Registration 
Drivers with suspended license or registration under 28-1256.02 may 
apply to MVD for a restricted license or registration.  To receive either, 
they must file proof of financial responsibility pursuant to 28-1251(A) and 
28-1253(A).  At the end of suspension, to be reinstated, they must file 
proof of financial responsibility with MVD pursuant to Title 28, Article 7, 
Chapter 4, pay a fee of $10 (for license reinstatement) or $25 (for 
registration reinstatement) and maintain proof of financial responsibility 
for three years.  (There is no 28-1256.02, 28-1251(A) or 28-1253(A).  Title 
28, Article 7, Chapter 4 refers to liens and encumbrances, not proof of 
financial responsibility.) 

R17-4-404 Driver Point System 
Describes Arizona’s point system for traffic violations.  For drivers 
earning 8-12 points in 12 months, MVD must either suspend their licenses 
or, if they have not completed traffic school in the last 24 months, must 
order them to attend.  Drivers have 60 days within which to complete 
traffic school or MVD must suspend their licenses for 6 months.  For 
others, MVD must suspend as follows: 
♦ 13-17 points in 12 months – 3 months suspension 
♦ 8-12 points in 12 months and completed traffic school in last 24 

months – 3 months suspension 
♦ 18-23 points in 12 months – 6 months suspension 
♦ 24 or more points in 36 months – 12 months suspension 

Article 5. Safety 
R17-5-502  Insurance Company Reporting Requirements 

Describes insurance company reporting procedures.  Once a week, 
insurers must report to MVD all issues, cancellations, nonrenewals, 
reinstatements, vehicle additions or deletions of motor vehicle liability 
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coverage processed within the last 7 days by EDI.  Companies may report 
on cartridge tape if: 
♦ They have less than 10,000 motor vehicle liabilities policies written in 

Arizona as of January 1, and 
♦ They don’t use EDI reporting in any other state, and 
♦ EDI reporting would be a hardship 
Companies may report manually if: 
♦ They have less than 100 motor vehicle liability policies written in 

Arizona as of January 1, and 
♦ They don’t use EDI or cartridge tape reporting in any other state, and 
♦ EDI or cartridge tape reporting would be a hardship 
If an insurer fails to report, MVD notifies the company to submit missing 
information within 7 days.  If the company does not, MVD “proceeds” 
under 20-237.  (After hearing, 20-237 allows the Director of Insurance to 
impose a $250 fine for each day an insurer fails to provide information 
required under 28-4148 unless failure was inadvertent or accidental.  The 
Director of Insurance may also suspend the insurer’s certificate of 
authority to do business in Arizona.  28-4148 requires information on 
issues, cancellations and nonrenewals, but not on vehicle additions or 
deletions.) 

R17-5-503 Reporting Formats, Cartridge Tape Specifications, and Required 
Information for Manual Reporting 
Describes insurance company reporting formats. 

R17-5-504 Motor Carrier Financial Responsibility 
Describes commercial “for hire” motor vehicle liability requirements.  
Exempt vehicles include: 
♦ church-owned vehicles 
♦ government-owned vehicles 
♦ vehicles used only as school buses under contract to a school district 
♦ tax-exempt non-profit school owned vehicles used only for school 

functions 
♦ tax-exempt non-profit owned vehicles 
♦ non-profit owned search and rescue vehicles exempt from gross 

weight fees 
♦ vehicles owned by car pool operators defined in 28-101(9)  (There is 

no definition of car pool operators in 28-101; there is a definition of 
car pool operators in 28-4032 (see below).) 

♦ vehicles defined in 28-1232(B).  (There is no 28-1232(B).) 
Vehicles subject to commercial motor vehicle liability requirements 
include: 
♦ vehicles subject to registration under 28-221, 28-225, 28-302, 28-501.  

(There is no 28-221 or 28-225; there are no vehicle registration 
requirements in 28-302 or 28-501; the appropriate statute is 28-4032 
(see below).)  
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Commercial motor carriers must file proof of financial responsibility with 
MVD in amounts not less than those set forth in 28-1233.  (There is no 28-
1233; the appropriate statute is 28-4033 (see below).) 
Commercial motor carriers operating vehicles tax licensed under 28-1559 
or 28-1559.01 must comply with R17-5-505 or R17-5-506; if not 
operating vehicles tax licensed under these statutes, must comply with 
R17-5-507.  (There is no tax license provision in 28-1559 or 28-1559.01.) 
Commercial motor carriers operating light weight vehicles defined in 28-
1599(3) or registered under 28-221 or 28-225 must comply with R17-5-
505 or R17-5-506.  (There is no light weight vehicle definition in 28-1559; 
there is no 28-228 or 28-225.) 
Commercial motor vehicle liability insurers must report to MVD by R17-
5-505, R17-5-506 or R17-5-507.  (See below.) 
MVD will accept the following as proof of commercial motor vehicle 
financial responsibility: 
♦ Form E (See R17-5-505 below) 
♦ Form K (See R17-5-505 below) (This is a notice of cancellation – not 

proof of financial responsibility.) 
♦ Certificate of Insurance (See R17-5-505 and R17-5-506 below) 
♦ Written 45 day notice of cancellation of Certificate of Insurance (This 

is a notice of cancellation – not proof of financial responsibility.) 
“These rules” do not apply to commercial motor carriers carrying 
agricultural products within 25 miles of the border between Arizona and 
Mexico. 
MVD cannot register vehicles unless they comply with 28-1233 or 28-
1235 and their owners, lessors or lessees have filed proof of commercial 
motor vehicle financial responsibility pursuant to R17-5-505 or R17-5-
506.  (There is no 28-1233 or 28-1235; the appropriate statute is 28-4033 
(see below).) 
MVD must cancel registration of vehicles on which insurance has been 
cancelled. 
MVD must reissue registration if 1) an insurance binder covering the 
vehicle is submitted to them and 2) Form E is submitted to them prior to 
expiration of the insurance binder.  If both are not submitted as set forth, 
MVD must cancel the reissued registration “without further notice.” 
Upon receiving a notice of cancellation from an insurer, MVD must send a 
certified letter to the insured asking for proof of commercial motor vehicle 
financial responsibility pursuant to 28-1233 on or before the date 
cancellation becomes effective; otherwise, MVD must cancel registration 
and plates.  (There is no 28-1233; the appropriate statute is 28-4033 (see 
below).) 

R17-5-505 Form E; procedures for preparing, filing and canceling liability insurance 
Form E may be filed with MVD instead of an original or certified copy of 
a commercial motor vehicle liability policy.  Form E must contain: 
♦ Arizona Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Division named 

as the “Commission” 



 

  187

♦ Full name and address of insurer 
♦ Full name and address of insured 
♦ Policy effective date 
♦ Liability insurance policy number 
♦ Signature of authorized representative 
(Does not require policy expiration date or amount of liability coverage.) 
Form K must be used “in all cases when an insurance policy is canceled.”  
Form K must contain: 
♦ Arizona Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Division, 

appearing as the “Commission” 
♦ Full name and address of insurer 
♦ Full name and address of insured 
♦ Cancellation effective date 
♦ Signature of authorized representative 
(Does not require policy number.) 

R17-5-506 Certificate of Insurance; procedures for preparing, filing and canceling 
liability insurance 
A Certificate of Insurance may be filed with MVD instead of Form E.  A 
Certificate of Insurance must contain: 
♦ Full name, address and telephone number of insurer 
♦ Full name, address and telephone number of “the producer” 
♦ Full name, address and telephone number of insured 
♦ Policy effective date 
♦ Policy expiration date 
♦ Liability insurance policy number 
♦ Amount of liability coverage 
♦ If multiple liability insurance policies, all names, addresses, telephone 

numbers, effective dates, expiration dates and policy numbers 
♦ Arizona Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Division named 

as the “Certificate Holder” 
All Certificate of Insurance filings must contain a cancellation statement 
to the effect that should any policy set forth in the Certificate of Insurance 
be canceled before that policy’s expiration date, the issuing company will 
mail a 45-day notice to MVD.  “Failure to mail such notice shall impose 
obligation or liability upon the insurance carrier.” 

R17-5-507 Certification when Form E Not Required 
Owners, lessors or lessees of vehicles weighing up to 26,000 pounds 
subject to commercial motor vehicle liability requirements under 17-5-504 
must file an original certificate of insurance with MVD’s Insurance Unit.  
The certificate of insurance must be issued by an insurer and contain: 
♦ Full name, address and telephone number of insurer 
♦ Full name, address and telephone number of “the producer” 
♦ Full name, address and telephone number of insured 
♦ Policy effective date 
♦ Policy expiration date 
♦ Liability insurance policy number 
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♦ Amounts and types of coverage 
♦ If multiple liability insurance policies, all names, addresses, telephone 

numbers, effective dates, expiration dates and policy numbers 
♦ Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle, Motor Vehicle Division 

named as the “certificate holder” 
Owners, lessors or lessees of vehicles required to file Certificates of 
Insurance under this Section (R17-5-507) can list a self-insured retention 
on the Certificate of Insurance if a Certificate of Self-insurance issued by 
the state pursuant to 28-1222 or 28-1235 is filed with the Certificate of 
Insurance.  (There is no 28-1222 or 28-1235.) 
A copy of the Certificate of Insurance must be submitted with initial and 
renewal registration applications for each vehicle. 
All Certificate of Insurance filings must contain a cancellation statement 
to the effect that should any policy set forth in the Certificate of Insurance 
be canceled before that policy’s expiration date, the issuing company will 
mail a 45-day notice to MVD.  “Failure to mail such notice shall impose 
obligation or liability upon the insurance carrier.” 
Upon receipt of notice of cancellation or upon policy expiration date, 
MVD must suspend registration until a certificate of insurance is filed 
with MVD. 
MVD can “randomly verify compliance with” commercial motor carrier 
financial responsibility requirements.  If compliance can’t be verified, 
MVD must mail notice of intent to suspend registration within 30 days. 

 
Statutes 
Title 20. Insurance 
Chapter 2. Transaction of Insurance Business 
Article 1. Authorization of Insurers and General Requirements 
20-236  Civil penalty for failure to respond to a request for verification of financial 

responsibility 
After hearing, DOI must fine insurers a maximum $250 per violation for 
failure to respond in writing to a request for verification of financial 
responsibility pursuant to 28-4143 (see below).  This fine may not exceed 
$20,000 in 6 months. 

20-237  Failure to provide information; penalty 
After hearing, DOI must fine insurers a maximum $250 per day per 
violation for failure to comply with 28-4148 (see below) and may suspend 
their authorization to business in Arizona until they are compliant.  There 
cannot be a penalty if noncompliance was inadvertent or accidental. 

Article 2. Kinds of Insurance; Reinsurance; Limits of Risk 
20-259.01 Motor vehicle liability policy; uninsured optional; underinsured optional; 

subrogation; medical payments liens; definitions 
Insurers must offer, in writing, uninsured (UM) and underinsured (UIM) 
coverage in limits not less than the policy’s liability limits, but insureds 
may reject uninsured motorist or underinsured motorist coverage or select 
uninsured motorist or underinsured motorist coverage in amounts less than 



 

  189

the policy’s liability limits.  In the case of uninsured motorist coverage, 
such coverage, if selected, cannot be less than the limits prescribed in 28-
4009 (see below).  Insureds must select or reject uninsured motorist or 
underinsured motorist coverage on forms approved by DOI.  Insurers do 
not have to offer uninsured motorist or underinsured motorist coverage at 
policy reinstatement, transfer, substitution, modification or renewal. 
Insurers may require insureds to have the same uninsured motorist and 
underinsured motorist limits on all vehicles. 
Uninsured vehicles include insured vehicles if the insurer cannot make 
payment due to insolvency.  Underinsured coverage covers the shortfall 
between the sum of all available liability coverages and damages due to 
bodily injury or death.  Claimants cannot “stack” uninsured motorist and 
underinsured motorist coverage; in claims where uninsured motorist 
applies, underinsured motorist cannot apply.  In claims where 
underinsured motorist applies, uninsured motorist cannot apply. 
UM insurers may sue responsible parties for reimbursement of claims 
paid. 
Medical payments coverage (med pay) insurers can file a lien for med pay 
claims paid over $5,000. 

20-259.03 Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverages; insured; wrongful death 
recovery 
To bring a wrongful death claim against uninsured motorist or 
underinsured motorist coverage, a person must 1) be a named insured 
under the policy that provided uninsured motorist or underinsured motorist 
coverage and 2) have the statutory right to bring a wrongful death claim.  
If both conditions are not met, then the deceased’s estate is beneficiary to 
any such wrongful death claim. 

Chapter 6. Particular Types of Insurance 
Article 11. Cancellation or Nonrenewal of Automobile Insurance 
20-1631 Definition of motor vehicle; cancellation of or failure to renew coverage; 

limitations; limitation of liability; exceptions; insurance producers 
After 60 days from issuance or immediately upon renewal, an insurer may 
not cancel a motor vehicle policy unless:  1) there is non-payment of 
premium; 2) the policy was obtained through fraudulent 
misrepresentation; 3) the named insured, a household resident or other 
regular driver of the insured vehicle a) has their driver’s license suspended 
or revoked, b) becomes permanently disabled, c) is convicted within 36 
months of criminal negligence resulting in death or injury, DUI, leaving 
the scene of an accident, making false statements on driver’s license 
application or reckless driving; or 4) the named insured, household 
resident or other regular driver of the insured vehicle regularly uses the 
vehicle for a commercial purpose. 
An insurer may refuse to renew a policy by sending notice 45 days before 
nonrenewal if the same person, whether the named insured, a household 
resident or another regular driver of the insured vehicle: 
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♦ has had 3 or more at least 50% at-fault accidents in 36 months under 
any policy issued by the insurer in which property damage paid in each 
meets a threshold published by DOI (approximately $1,800) 

An insurer may not refuse to renew under this provision if: 
♦ the insurer has covered that person for 10 consecutive years prior; or 
♦ the named insured excludes the driver above 
An insurer may not refuse to renew more than .5% of its policies under 
this provision. 
This provision does not apply to policies in effect less than 60 days unless 
the policy is a renewal, or to policies insuring motor vehicles other than 
private passenger motor vehicles. 
Modification of a policy at renewal is not a nonrenewal if it doesn’t 
eliminate essential benefits of basic coverage, including uninsured and 
underinsured coverage. 
An insurer may transfer up to 1% of its policies to an affiliate each year if: 
♦ one or more insureds have had two or more at least 50% at-fault 

accidents in 36 months under any policy issued by the insurer in which 
property damage paid in each exceeds $1,500; or 

♦ one or more insureds have had three or more moving violations for 
which an approved traffic school program has not been completed, 
unless the named insured excludes the driver above 

20-1632 Cancellation, nonrenewal and reduction of limits for reasons other than 
nonpayment of premium; notices to insured; refund of unearned premium 
An insurer must send notice 10 days before cancellation, nonrenewal or 
reduction of limits for reasons other than nonpayment or nonrenewal 
under 20-1631(E) (see 20-1631 above regarding nonrenewal for three or 
more accidents in 36 months).  That notice must include notice of possible 
eligibility for insurance through the automobile assigned risk plan. 

20-1632.01 Cancellation or nonrenewal for nonpayment of premium; grace period; 
notice of cancellation; discrimination; definition 
The insured is entitled to a 7-day grace period on all but the initial 
payment of premium unless it’s a finance company cancellation, in which 
case a 10-day notice from the finance company satisfies the grace period. 

 
Title 28. Transportation 
Article 4. Agreements 
28-405  Contract; civil penalty collection 

Courts or political subdivisions may collect ADOT fees pursuant to 
contract. 

28-447  Public records 
Mailing to the last address shown in ADOT’s records establishes the 
presumption of receipt of notice of suspension of registration or driver’s 
license unless “clear and convincing” evidence is presented to the 
contrary. 
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28-448  Notice of address or name change; address update; civil traffic violation 
Failure to notify ADOT of an address or name change is a civil traffic 
violation. 

28-450  Release of information prohibited; classification; definition 
ADOT may release driving records to Arizona motor vehicle liability 
insurers who provide identifying information on the driver. 

Chapter 7.  Certificate of Title and Registration 
Article 6.  Fleet Registration 
28-2166 Registration of vehicle rented without a driver; liability insurance; joint 

liability; violation; classification; definition 
Owners who rent or intend to rent motor vehicles without drivers cannot 
do so until they provide ADOT with proof of insurance from a DOI 
approved insurer in the amount of $15,000 for the first vehicle and 
$10,000 for each subsequent vehicle, up to $100,000 total, which is 
sufficient for any number of vehicles.  Policies must provide renters with 
15/30/10 coverage (see 28-4009 below) and must cover passengers unless 
the owner gives the renter written notice they do not cover passengers.  
ADOT must cancel the registration of vehicles rented in violation of this 
provision.  Owners who rent in violation of this provision are jointly and 
severally liable with renters and are guilty of a class two misdemeanor. 

Chapter 9. Vehicle Insurance and Financial Responsibility 
Article 1. General Provisions 
28-4007 Self-insurers 

Persons with more than 25 vehicles registered may apply for full or partial 
self-insurance certification.  After notice and hearing, the ADOT may 
cancel a certificate on reasonable grounds. 

28-4008 Assigned risk plans 
DOI shall consult with insurers and approve a plan to apportion qualified 
applicants for motor vehicle liability policies who would otherwise be 
unable to obtain coverage.  All insurers issuing motor vehicle liability 
coverage policies in Arizona must participate in the plan. 

28-4009 Motor vehicle liability policy requirements 
Policies must designate covered vehicles by explicit description or 
appropriate reference.  Policies cover the named insured and persons using 
the vehicle with the named insured’s permission.  Policies must offer 
coverage in at least the following limits (15/30/10 coverage): 
♦ $15,000 for bodily injury or death of any one person in any one 

accident 
♦ $30,000 for bodily injury or death in any one accident 
♦ $10,000 for property damage in any one accident 
Policies may exclude named persons by agreement in writing between the 
insurer and the named insured.  Policies cover named insureds even when 
driving motor vehicles they don’t own.  Policies must state: 
♦ name of insured 
♦ address of insured 
♦ coverage 
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♦ premium 
♦ vehicle identification numbers for all covered vehicles 
♦ policy period 
♦ liability limits 
♦ that they provide coverage for bodily injury and death, property 

damage or both in accordance with this chapter (i.e., that they provide 
15/30/10 coverage) 

Policies are not required to provide coverage for: 
♦ liability covered by worker’s compensation 
♦ employees other than domestic employees 
♦ damage or injury intended or directed by the named insured 
Policies may require insureds to reimburse insurers for payments they 
would not have been required to make under the terms of the policy but 
for the provisions of this chapter. 
Coverage in excess of or in addition to the required 15/30/10 coverage is 
not subject to the provisions of this chapter. 

Article 2. Motor Carrier Financial Responsibility 
28-4032 Persons subject to financial responsibility requirements 

The following must comply with commercial motor carrier financial 
responsibility requirements: 
♦ A person who operates a motor vehicle or motor vehicle and trailer or 

semitrailer weighing more than 20,000 lbs. in a commercial enterprise 
♦ A person who operates a motor vehicle or motor vehicle and trailer or 

semitrailer for the purpose of transporting hazardous materials, unless 
any of the following applies: 
• It’s not a commercial enterprise 
• Transporting hazardous materials is incidental to the purpose of 

travel at the time the accident occurs 
• The hazardous materials weigh less than 1,000 lbs. 
• If a combustible liquid, the hazardous material is less than 110 

gallons 
♦ A person who operates a passenger-carrying motor vehicle to transport 

passengers for hire, unless the person is a car pool operator and the 
following applies: 
• The person does not receive more than 20 cents per mile 

compensation or alternates driving with other passengers; and 
• The person is not making the trip solely for the purpose of carrying 

a passenger 
28-4033 Financial responsibility requirements 

Commercial motor carriers must maintain liability coverage in the 
following amounts (for bodily injury, death and property damage 
combined): 
For non-hazardous materials transport: 
♦ For vehicles weighing more than 26,000 lbs.:  $750,000 
♦ For vehicles weighing more than 20,001 lbs. up to 26,000 lbs.:  

$300,000 
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For passenger transport: 
♦ For vehicles with a seating capacity of less than 16 passengers:  

$750,000 plus $300,000 uninsured coverage 
♦ For vehicles with a seating capacity of less than 7 passengers, not 

operated on a regular route:  $300,000 plus $300,000 uninsured 
coverage 

For hazardous materials transport: 
♦ Either $5 million or $1 million, depending on type and quantity 
For leased or rented vehicles: 
♦ Lessors must provide required minimum coverage or require that 

lessee meet financial responsibility requirements 
♦ If the lessee uses the leased or rented vehicle for purposes that subject 

it to higher required minimum coverage, then the lessee must provide 
that coverage. 

Uninsured motorist requirements may be met by a self-insurance program 
authorized under 28-4007. 
Certain state and political subdivision vehicles are exempt from uninsured 
motorist requirements. 

28-4034 Maintenance, certification and verification of financial requirements 
Commercial motor carriers must maintain commercial motor vehicle 
liability requirements.  ADOT may require commercial motor carriers to 
certify that they meet requirements and forward certification to insurers 
for verification.  Regarding such verification, insurers incur no liability for 
good faith reports to ADOT based on the most recent information. 

28-4036 Violation; classification 
Someone who operates or causes to be operated a vehicle that does not 
meet commercial motor carrier requirements is guilty of a class 3 
misdemeanor and a class 1 misdemeanor if the vehicle is involved in an 
accident. 

28-4037 Foreign vehicles; exception 
Foreign commercial motor carriers from countries that don’t have an 
agreement with Arizona must provide ADOT with proof of financial 
responsibility, except single trip permit holders.  To obtain single trip 
permits, operators must provide ADOT with proof of financial 
responsibility pursuant to 28-2325. 

Article 3. Proof of Financial Responsibility for the Future 
28-4072 Nonpayment of judgments; suspension; exceptions 

Upon receipt of a certified copy of a judgment, ADOT must suspend the 
license and registration of the judgment debtor, unless the judgment 
creditor consents in writing on an ADOT form to the judgment debtor’s 
retaining license and registration.  Judgment debtors filing all of the 
following with ADOT may be relieved of suspension if ADOT is satisfied 
that coverage meeting the minimum requirements, issued by an authorized 
insurer, was in effect at the time of the accident and that the insurer is 
liable: 
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♦ An affidavit stating that the judgment debtor was insured at the time of 
the accident, that the insurer was liable to pay and the reason, if 
known, why the insurer has not paid; and 

♦ An original or certified copy of the insurance policy in effect at the 
time of the accident; and 

♦ Other documents to show coverage 
28-4073 Suspension length; reinstatement; designated fund 

Mandatory suspension under 28-4072 remains in effect until the judgment 
is satisfied, is not renewed or otherwise becomes unenforceable and the 
judgment debtor presents proof of financial responsibility.  If an affidavit 
is filed with ADOT stating that the judgment creditor can’t be found and 
setting forth the steps taken in the search, and the judgment is paid into an 
ADOT trust, license and registration may be reinstated.  

28-4075 Installment payment of judgments; default 
If a judgment debtor gets a court order allowing installment payments of a 
judgment, and maintains proof of financial responsibility, ADOT cannot 
suspend license and registration or must reinstate license and registration.  
If the debtor defaults, ADOT must suspend license and registration until 
the judgment is satisfied. 

28-4076 Alternative methods of proof 
Those required to provide proof of financial responsibility can do so by 
filing a certificate of insurance pursuant to 28-4077 or 28-4078 or a 
certificate of deposit of cash pursuant to 28-4084. 

28-4077 Certificate of insurance 
A person may give proof of financial responsibility to ADOT by filing a 
certificate of insurance in a form prescribed by ADOT.  Motor vehicles 
may not be registered or renewed if not designated by explicit description 
or appropriate reference on a Certificate of Insurance in the name of the 
person required to file proof of financial responsibility. 

28-4078 Certificate by nonresident 
Nonresident owners of motor vehicles may (but are not required to) 
provide ADOT with proof of financial responsibility, which ADOT must 
accept if: 
♦ The insurer executes a power of attorney authorizing the Director of 

ADOT to accept service on its behalf in an action arising out of a 
motor vehicle accident in Arizona; and 

♦ The insurer agrees in writing that the policy conforms with the laws of 
Arizona 

If an insurer unauthorized to conduct business in Arizona defaults on a 
judgment, ADOT cannot accept certification of that insurer as proof of 
financial responsibility. 

28-4081 Notice; cancellation or termination of policy 
If an insurer has certified a policy as proof of financial responsibility to 
ADOT pursuant to 28-4077 or 28-4078, the insurer cannot cancel the 
insurance until 10 days after providing notice of cancellation to ADOT. 
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28-4082 Applicability to other policies 
Chapter 9 (this chapter) does not apply to policies covering persons in an 
insured’s employ using motor vehicles not owned by the insured. 

28-4084 Monies or certificates of deposit as proof; exception 
The Arizona Treasurer may accept deposits of $40,000 cash or certificates 
of deposit and issue certificates of proof of financial responsibility, 
provided the depositor provides evidence that there are no judgments 
pending against the depositor in the depositor’s county of residence. 
Deposits of this kind may not be used to satisfy the requirements of 
Article 2 (motor carrier financial responsibility). 

28-4088 Duration, cancellation and return of proof 
On request, ADOT must waive proof of financial responsibility 
requirements: 
♦ At any time after three years from the date the proof was required; or 
♦ The person for whom proof was given dies or becomes permanently 

unable to operate a motor vehicle; or 
♦ The person who gave proof surrenders their license and registration to 

ADOT 
If a person who surrenders their license and registration to ADOT applies 
for reinstatement within three years, ADOT cannot reinstate until proof of 
financial responsibility has been received for the intervening time period. 

Article 4. Mandatory Motor Vehicle Insurance 
28-4132 Financial responsibility requirement exemptions 

Owners/operators of the following are exempt from proof of financial 
responsibility: 
♦ Farm tractors and trailers 
♦ Road machinery 
♦ Trailers and semitrailers not used for commercial purposes 
♦ Motor vehicles owned by United States government 
♦ Vehicles subject to special registration under 28-2154 (a 30-day 

special registration for vehicles purchased by nonresidents that will be 
removed from the state or a 90-day special registration for 
noncommercial vehicles purchased by residents for which complete 
information is not available – a second 90-day special registration may 
be issued in certain cases, but no more than two consecutive 90-day 
special registrations may be issued in 12 months – or a 180-day special 
registration for residents who have a judgment against them in another 
state that requires suspension of registration) 

♦ Golf carts 
♦ ATVs operated exclusively on dirt roads not maintained by the state or 

a political subdivision 
28-4133 Insurance identification cards; documentary evidence; exception 

Insurers must issue at least two insurance identification cards that state: 
♦ Persons must keep proof of financial responsibility in vehicles at all 

times 
♦ The card meets that requirement 
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♦ The card is evidence of financial responsibility for ADOT 
Evidence of proof of financial responsibility issued by insurers must state: 
♦ The insurer’s name as listed with DOI 
♦ The mailing address and telephone number of the insured or its 

authorized agent 
♦ Other information required by ADOT to verify coverage 
♦ If a binder is issued by an agent, the name, mailing address and 

telephone number of the agent 
This section does not apply to commercial motor carrier policies providing 
automatic coverage for additional or newly acquired vehicles. 

28-4134 Law enforcement officer responsibilities 
Upon investigating an accident or alleged violation, a law enforcement 
officer must check ADOT’s computer system for any notice of 
cancellation or nonrenewal or indication the vehicle is not registered 
pursuant to 28-4152 (see below).  The officer must require presentation of 
proof of financial responsibility and must issue a citation if the computer 
check is positive or there’s an indication the vehicle is not registered 
pursuant to 28-4132 unless the person presents proof of financial 
responsibility. 

28-4135 Motor vehicle financial responsibility requirement; civil penalties 
Failure to produce proof of financial responsibility at the request of a law 
enforcement officer investigating an accident or alleged violation is a civil 
traffic violation for which the court: 
♦ For the first offense, may fine a minimum $250 and suspend license, 

registration and plates for three months 
♦ For 2 or more violations in 36 months, must fine a minimum $750 and 

suspend license, registration and plates for six months 
♦ For 3 or more violations in 36 months, must fine a minimum $750 and 

suspend license, registration and plates for one year 
Citations for violations under this section must be dismissed if the person 
provides evidence to the court at or before hearing that financial 
responsibility requirements were met at the time of the citation.  

28-4137 Mitigation; rules 
The court may reduce or waive penalties under 28-4135 upon proof of 
purchase of a six month policy and may suspend imposition of penalties 
under 28-4135 for 30 days if the person is willing to purchase insurance. 

28-4138 Charges of violations 
Suspensions under 28-4135 may run concurrently with other suspensions 
arising out of same acts. 

28-4139 License plate display violation; civil penalty; disposition 
There is a mandatory $250 fine for displaying plates after suspension of 
registration or plates.  ADOT must provide information on suspended 
license plates to law enforcement agencies. 

28-4141 Suspension of license, registration and license plates 
If there is a violation of Article 4, Mandatory Motor Vehicle Insurance, 
the court 
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♦ For the first violation in 36 months, may suspend driver’s license; if it 
suspends driver’s license, then it must suspend registration and plates 
for 3 months 

♦ For additional violations in 36 months, it must suspend driver’s 
license;  registration and plates 

♦ Registration and plate suspensions remain in effect until proof of 
financial responsibility is filed with ADOT and a $25 fee is paid to 
ADOT 

♦ License suspensions remain in effect until proof of financial 
responsibility is filed with ADOT and a $10 fee is paid to ADOT 

If the person is a nonresident, the court must direct ADOT to suspend 
nonresident operating privileges and notify the driver’s license issuing 
agency in the person’s state of residence of that suspension. 

28-4142 Vehicle registration; financial responsibility verifications; exception; 
violation; classification 
A person applying to register a vehicle in Arizona consents to comply with 
ADOT financial responsibility verifications.  ADOT must review 
compliance 30 days after issuance of initial registration and before 
renewal.  If non-compliant, ADOT must send a notice of intent to suspend 
registration and plates to the registrant.  Forged or unauthorized proof of 
financial responsibility is a class 2 misdemeanor. 

28-4143 Vehicle accident; financial responsibility verification; suspension 
ADOT may verify financial responsibility for vehicles involved in 
accidents in Arizona including unregistered vehicles.  For any such 
vehicles it verifies, ADOT must send information in the record to the 
insurer or the “applicable party” for verification.  Upon receipt of a denial 
or lack of information, ADOT must send notice to the registrant that they 
have 30 days to submit proof of financial responsibility.  ADOT must 
verify proof submitted to it by registrants by sending information to the 
insurer or appropriate party with notice that they have 30 days to notify 
ADOT in writing whether or not the policy was valid on the date of the 
accident.  Upon receipt of a letter of denial of coverage, ADOT must send 
notice to the registrant that the insurer denies coverage on the date of the 
accident and that their license and registration will be suspended in 15 
days unless they submit further proof of coverage or request a hearing.  If 
the proof of financial responsibility submitted indicates self-insurance or 
insurance via a certificate of deposit, ADOT must verify.  If evidence of 
self-insurance or insurance via a certificate of deposit is invalid, ADOT 
must send notice to the registrant that their license and registration will be 
suspended in 15 days unless they request a hearing. 

28-4144 Notice; suspension; reinstatement fees 
After ADOT sends notice to the registrant as in 28-4143 above, if the 
response indicates the vehicle doesn’t meet financial responsibility 
requirements, ADOT must send a second notice that the license and 
registration will be suspended in 15 days unless ADOT receives notice in 
writing that the financial responsibility requirement was met on the day of 
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the accident or they request a hearing.  If ADOT receives no response in 
30 days, ADOT must send notice that their license and registration will be 
suspended in 15 days unless they submit further proof of financial 
responsibility or proof the vehicle was sold.  If no response is received, 
ADOT must suspend license, plates and registration.  If proof of 
responsibility or sale is presented later, ADOT must (if no other basis for 
the suspension) remove the suspension if proof of financial responsibility 
is proven.  With one exception (below), suspensions are for a minimum of 
one year and ADOT cannot terminate the suspension until the person files 
proof of financial responsibility with ADOT and pays ADOT $10 to 
reinstate the driver’s license and $25 to reinstate the registration and 
plates.  The exception to this is commercial motor carriers as set forth in 
Article 2, above.  (Another exception given is people whose registration 
was reinstated pursuant to subsection B of this section.  There is no 
reinstatement provision in subsection B of this section.) 

28-4145 Restricted license and registration; rules 
Someone whose license, registration and plates have been suspended 
pursuant to 28-4143 or 28-4144 can apply for a restricted license and 
registration to travel for work, to and from work, and at certain times, 
depending on work schedule.  ADOT must prescribe criteria for issuing 
restricted license and registration by rule.  ADOT cannot issue a restricted 
license before the person provides proof of financial responsibility and 
pays reinstatement fees set forth in 28-4144.  People whose license, 
registration or plates have been suspended for a mandatory motor vehicle 
insurance violation under Article 4 (does not include commercial motor 
carriers) or by ADOT can apply for a restricted license and registration to 
travel for work, to and from work, for school and to and from school, and 
at certain times, depending on work and school schedule.  ADOT cannot 
issue a restricted license before the person provides proof of financial 
responsibility. 

28-4146 Immunity 
Insurers are not civilly liable for reports to ADOT under 28-4143 or 28-
4144 made in good faith and based on the most recent information 
available to the insurer or appropriate party. 

28-4148 Notice of insurance cancellation or nonrenewal 
Insurers must submit within 7 days, via EDI as prescribed by ADOT, all 
new issues, nonrenewals and cancellations.  ADOT cannot require VIN 
numbers for vehicles covered under commercial policies that provide 
automatic coverage for newly acquired vehicles.  ADOT must provide 
new issue, nonrenewal and cancellation information to law enforcement 
agencies via on-line computerized call-in from vehicles.  On cancellation 
or nonrenewal, insurers must notify insureds that ADOT has been notified 
and that registration may be suspended.  This information is available only 
to law enforcement agencies for law enforcement purposes except when it 
is sought pursuant to 28-4143 (verification of proof of financial 
responsibility sought in the case of an accident). 
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28-4149 Suspension; notice of intent 
ADOT must send notice that it will suspend registration and plates upon 
receipt of information from an insurer or its own records that financial 
responsibility requirements have not been met pursuant to a schedule 
prescribed by ADOT.  On receiving proof of financial responsibility, 
ADOT must delete cancellation or nonrenewal from the record.  If the 
person doesn’t provide proof of financial responsibility within 15 days of 
the notice, ADOT must notify the person that registration and plates have 
been suspended.  If the person later provides proof of compliance prior to 
suspension, ADOT must void the suspension.  ADOT cannot reinstate 
registration and plates until proof of financial responsibility is filed. 

28-4151 Reinstatement fee; motor vehicle liability insurance enforcement fund 
People cannot pay more than $50 to reinstate suspended registration and 
plates except commercial motor carriers.  The fees are deposited into a 
motor vehicle liability insurance enforcement fund administered by ADOT 
and subject to legislative appropriation. 

28-4152 Nonoperation of vehicle on highways of this state; exception; certification 
Motor vehicles not operated on Arizona highways are not subject to proof 
of financial responsibility if, within 15 days of receipt of notice from an 
insurer to the insured that ADOT has been notified of cancellation or 
nonrenewal pursuant to 28-4148, owners/lessees: 
♦ Certify that vehicles are non-operational, will be placed in storage or 

will not be operated on Arizona highways; 
♦ Give the reason for doing so; and 
♦ State that vehicles will not be operated on Arizona highways without 

complying with financial responsibility requirements. 
Owners/lessees must so certify annually and vehicle status is noted on 
ADOT’s computer system.  Persons convicted of a violation of financial 
responsibility requirements may not so certify for one year post-
conviction. 

28-4153 False certification or affirmation; violation; classification; suspension; fees 
False certification under 28-4152 is a class 2 misdemeanor.  If ADOT 
believes false certification has occurred, it must suspend license, 
registration and plates for one year and send notice that it will do so unless 
the registrant requests a hearing within 15 days.  ADOT may not reinstate 
until the registrant files proof of financial responsibility and pays ADOT a 
$10 fee responsibility. 

Chapter 10. Vehicle Dealers, Automotive Recyclers and Transporters 
Article 7. Dealer and Manufacturer License Plates 
28-4549 Electronic record of temporary registration as notice of transfer; fee 

Dealers issuing temporary registration plates must send issuance of 
temporary registration plates electronically to an authorized third party 
and pay the third party $1 per transmittal.  Electronic transmittal is a 
notice of transfer. 
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28-4555 Notice of vehicle transfer 
Dealers, manufacturers, etc. must immediately notify ADOT of motor 
vehicle sales, leases or transfers to non-dealer/non-manufacturers on a 
form that contains: 
♦ date of the transfer 
♦ the names and addresses of the transferor and transferee 
♦ a description of the vehicle as provided in the form.
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Output 1 
Spearman Correlation Analysis:  IRC UM Rate 

 
Correlations

1.000 -.587** .568** -.527* .521* .505* -.433** -.433** .409** .391** .346* -.345* -.289* .282*
. .003 .000 .012 .046 .019 .002 .002 .004 .005 .014 .014 .041 .048

50 23 50 22 15 21 50 50 49 50 50 50 50 50
-.587** 1.000 -.453* .909** .144 -.143 .451* .451* -.518* -.564** -.538** .356 .371 -.590**
.003 . .030 .000 .758 .694 .031 .031 .014 .005 .008 .095 .082 .003

23 23 23 21 7 10 23 23 22 23 23 23 23 23
.568** -.453* 1.000 -.338 .261 .205 -.489** -.489** .315* .345* .383** -.280* -.248 .441**
.000 .030 . .124 .347 .372 .000 .000 .027 .014 .006 .049 .083 .001

50 23 50 22 15 21 50 50 49 50 50 50 50 50

-.527* .909** -.338 1.000 .144 -.174 .394 .394 -.441* -.489* -.460* .364 .356 -.518*
.012 .000 .124 . .758 .654 .069 .069 .045 .021 .031 .096 .104 .014

22 21 22 22 7 9 22 22 21 22 22 22 22 22
.521* .144 .261 .144 1.000 .748** -.488 -.488 .013 .002 .030 -.155 .062 -.240
.046 .758 .347 .758 . .002 .065 .065 .965 .995 .914 .582 .826 .390

15 7 15 7 15 14 15 15 15 15 15 15 15 15
.505* -.143 .205 -.174 .748** 1.000 -.478* -.478* .130 -.074 -.061 -.259 -.231 -.014
.019 .694 .372 .654 .002 . .028 .028 .573 .751 .794 .257 .313 .951

21 10 21 9 14 21 21 21 21 21 21 21 21 21
-.433** .451* -.489** .394 -.488 -.478* 1.000 1.000** -.240 -.187 -.240 .587** .263 -.353*
.002 .031 .000 .069 .065 .028 . . .097 .192 .093 .000 .065 .012

50 23 50 22 15 21 50 50 49 50 50 50 50 50
-.433** .451* -.489** .394 -.488 -.478* 1.000** 1.000 -.240 -.187 -.240 .587** .263 -.353*
.002 .031 .000 .069 .065 .028 . . .097 .192 .093 .000 .065 .012

50 23 50 22 15 21 50 50 49 50 50 50 50 50
.409** -.518* .315* -.441* .013 .130 -.240 -.240 1.000 .911** .923** -.284* -.100 .374**
.004 .014 .027 .045 .965 .573 .097 .097 . .000 .000 .048 .495 .008

49 22 49 21 15 21 49 49 49 49 49 49 49 49
.391** -.564** .345* -.489* .002 -.074 -.187 -.187 .911** 1.000 .944** -.239 -.190 .332*
.005 .005 .014 .021 .995 .751 .192 .192 .000 . .000 .094 .187 .018

50 23 50 22 15 21 50 50 49 50 50 50 50 50
.346* -.538** .383** -.460* .030 -.061 -.240 -.240 .923** .944** 1.000 -.270 -.048 .446**
.014 .008 .006 .031 .914 .794 .093 .093 .000 .000 . .058 .740 .001

50 23 50 22 15 21 50 50 49 50 50 50 50 50
-.345* .356 -.280* .364 -.155 -.259 .587** .587** -.284* -.239 -.270 1.000 .120 -.289*
.014 .095 .049 .096 .582 .257 .000 .000 .048 .094 .058 . .406 .042

50 23 50 22 15 21 50 50 49 50 50 50 50 50
-.289* .371 -.248 .356 .062 -.231 .263 .263 -.100 -.190 -.048 .120 1.000 -.045
.041 .082 .083 .104 .826 .313 .065 .065 .495 .187 .740 .406 . .755

50 23 50 22 15 21 50 50 49 50 50 50 50 50
.282* -.590** .441** -.518* -.240 -.014 -.353* -.353* .374** .332* .446** -.289* -.045 1.000
.048 .003 .001 .014 .390 .951 .012 .012 .008 .018 .001 .042 .755 .

50 23 50 22 15 21 50 50 49 50 50 50 50 50

Correlation Coefficient
Sig. (2-tailed)
N
Correlation Coefficient
Sig. (2-tailed)
N
Correlation Coefficient
Sig. (2-tailed)
N

Correlation Coefficient
Sig. (2-tailed)
N
Correlation Coefficient
Sig. (2-tailed)
N
Correlation Coefficient
Sig. (2-tailed)
N
Correlation Coefficient
Sig. (2-tailed)
N
Correlation Coefficient
Sig. (2-tailed)
N
Correlation Coefficient
Sig. (2-tailed)
N
Correlation Coefficient
Sig. (2-tailed)
N
Correlation Coefficient
Sig. (2-tailed)
N
Correlation Coefficient
Sig. (2-tailed)
N
Correlation Coefficient
Sig. (2-tailed)
N
Correlation Coefficient
Sig. (2-tailed)
N

IRC % UM '95-'97 Avg

UM Offer Language
Specified?

2000 Census % of
Population Minority

UIM Offer Language
Specified?

Reinstate Reg Charge

Reinstate Lic Charge

III Per Person Minimum

III Per Accident Minimum

III 2000 Voluntary
Insured PPA

2001 BTS reg priv truck

2001 BTS reg priv auto

III Property Minimum

III UM compulsory?

2000 Census % of
Population Urban

Spearman's rho

IRC % UM
'95-'97 Avg

UM Offer
Language
Specified?

2000 Census
% of

Population
Minority

UIM Offer
Language
Specified?

Reinstate
Reg Charge

Reinstate
Lic Charge

III Per Person
Minimum

III Per
Accident
Minimum

III 2000
Voluntary

Insured PPA
2001 BTS

reg priv truck
2001 BTS

reg priv auto
III Property
Minimum

III UM
compulsory?

2000 Census
% of

Population
Urban

Correlation is significant at the .01 level (2-tailed).**. 

Correlation is significant at the .05 level (2-tailed).*. 
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Output 2 
Multiple Regression:  IRC UM Rate, Urban Population, Minority Population, 
Median Household Income, Per Accident Minimum, Property Minimum, 
Voluntary Market, Involuntary Market and Average amount paid out for 
damages covered by liability insurance 

Variables Entered/Removeda

2000
Census %
of
Population
Urban

.

Stepwise
(Criteria:
Probabilit
y-of-F-to-e
nter <=
.050,
Probabilit
y-of-F-to-r
emove >=
.100).

III 2000
Voluntary
Insured
PPA

.

Stepwise
(Criteria:
Probabilit
y-of-F-to-e
nter <=
.050,
Probabilit
y-of-F-to-r
emove >=
.100).

III Property
Minimum .

Stepwise
(Criteria:
Probabilit
y-of-F-to-e
nter <=
.050,
Probabilit
y-of-F-to-r
emove >=
.100).

Model
1

2

3

Variables
Entered

Variables
Removed Method

Dependent Variable: III 2000 Avg Liab Expenditurea. 
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Model Summary

.667a .444 .431 $76.6287

.714b .509 .485 $72.8902

.762c .581 .550 $68.1791

Model
1
2
3

R R Square
Adjusted
R Square

Std. Error of
the Estimate

Predictors: (Constant), 2000 Census % of Population
Urban

a. 

Predictors: (Constant), 2000 Census % of Population
Urban, III 2000 Voluntary Insured PPA

b. 

Predictors: (Constant), 2000 Census % of Population
Urban, III 2000 Voluntary Insured PPA, III Property
Minimum

c. 

 
ANOVAd

197156.5 1 197156.510 33.576 .000a

246622.2 42 5871.957
443778.7 43
225946.5 2 112973.259 21.264 .000b

217832.2 41 5312.980
443778.7 43
257843.0 3 85947.677 18.490 .000c

185935.7 40 4648.392
443778.7 43

Regression
Residual
Total
Regression
Residual
Total
Regression
Residual
Total

Model
1

2

3

Sum of
Squares df Mean Square F Sig.

Predictors: (Constant), 2000 Census % of Population Urbana. 

Predictors: (Constant), 2000 Census % of Population Urban, III 2000 Voluntary
Insured PPA

b. 

Predictors: (Constant), 2000 Census % of Population Urban, III 2000 Voluntary
Insured PPA, III Property Minimum

c. 

Dependent Variable: III 2000 Avg Liab Expenditured. 
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Coefficientsa

68.414 55.610 1.230 .225

442.013 76.282 .667 5.794 .000

38.946 54.391 .716 .478

521.727 80.235 .787 6.502 .000

-8.97E-06 .000 -.282 -2.328 .025

155.132 67.495 2.298 .027

447.007 80.287 .674 5.568 .000

-9.64E-06 .000 -.303 -2.668 .011

-4.74E-03 .002 -.295 -2.620 .012

(Constant)
2000 Census % of
Population Urban
(Constant)
2000 Census % of
Population Urban
III 2000 Voluntary
Insured PPA
(Constant)
2000 Census % of
Population Urban
III 2000 Voluntary
Insured PPA
III Property Minimum

Model
1

2

3

B Std. Error

Unstandardized
Coefficients

Beta

Standardi
zed

Coefficien
ts

t Sig.

Dependent Variable: III 2000 Avg Liab Expenditurea. 
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Excluded Variablesd

.153
a

1.176 .246 .181 .779

-.042a -.353 .726 -.055 .943

-.282
a

-2.328 .025 -.342 .818

.074
a

.642 .525 .100 1.000

-.142a -1.136 .263 -.175 .837
-.274a -2.273 .028 -.335 .830

.178
a

1.152 .256 .177 .551

.165
b

1.339 .188 .207 .778

.009b .080 .936 .013 .907

.099
b

.903 .372 .141 .991

-.179b -1.506 .140 -.232 .824
-.295b -2.620 .012 -.383 .826

.149
b

1.008 .319 .157 .547

.146
c

1.269 .212 .199 .775

-.068c -.607 .548 -.097 .846

.170
c

1.645 .108 .255 .939

-.041c -.315 .755 -.050 .618

.213
c

1.544 .131 .240 .533

2000 Census % of
Population Minority
IRC % UM '95-'97 Avg
III 2000 Voluntary
Insured PPA
III 2000 Involuntary
Insured PPA
III Per Accident Minimum
III Property Minimum
2000 Census 1999
Median Household
Income
2000 Census % of
Population Minority
IRC % UM '95-'97 Avg
III 2000 Involuntary
Insured PPA
III Per Accident Minimum
III Property Minimum
2000 Census 1999
Median Household
Income
2000 Census % of
Population Minority
IRC % UM '95-'97 Avg
III 2000 Involuntary
Insured PPA
III Per Accident Minimum
2000 Census 1999
Median Household
Income

Model
1

2

3

Beta In t Sig.
Partial

Correlation Tolerance

Collinearit
y

Statistics

Predictors in the Model: (Constant), 2000 Census % of Population Urbana. 

Predictors in the Model: (Constant), 2000 Census % of Population Urban, III 2000 Voluntary
Insured PPA

b. 

Predictors in the Model: (Constant), 2000 Census % of Population Urban, III 2000 Voluntary
Insured PPA, III Property Minimum

c. 

Dependent Variable: III 2000 Avg Liab Expenditured. 
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Output 3 
Multiple Regression:  Urban Population, Median Household Income, 
Average amount paid out for damages covered by liability insurance, 
Minority Population and IRC UM Rate 

Variables Entered/Removeda

2000
Census %
of
Population
Minority

.

Stepwise
(Criteria:
Probabilit
y-of-F-to-e
nter <=
.050,
Probabilit
y-of-F-to-r
emove >=
.100).

Model
1

Variables
Entered

Variables
Removed Method

Dependent Variable: IRC % UM '95-'97 Avga. 
 

Model Summary

.384a .147 .127 5.985E-02
Model
1

R R Square
Adjusted
R Square

Std. Error of
the Estimate

Predictors: (Constant), 2000 Census % of Population
Minority

a. 

 
ANOVAb

2.659E-02 1 2.659E-02 7.422 .009a

.154 43 3.582E-03

.181 44

Regression
Residual
Total

Model
1

Sum of
Squares df Mean Square F Sig.

Predictors: (Constant), 2000 Census % of Population Minoritya. 

Dependent Variable: IRC % UM '95-'97 Avgb. 
 

Coefficientsa

9.139E-02 .017 5.458 .000

.184 .067 .384 2.724 .009

(Constant)
2000 Census % of
Population Minority

Model
1

B Std. Error

Unstandardized
Coefficients

Beta

Standardi
zed

Coefficien
ts

t Sig.

Dependent Variable: IRC % UM '95-'97 Avga. 
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Excluded Variablesb

.086
a

.533 .597 .082 .774

-.089
a

-.602 .550 -.093 .930

-.056
a

-.358 .722 -.055 .814

2000 Census % of
Population Urban
2000 Census 1999
Median Household
Income
III 2000 Avg Liab
Expenditure

Model
1

Beta In t Sig.
Partial

Correlation Tolerance

Collinearit
y

Statistics

Predictors in the Model: (Constant), 2000 Census % of Population Minoritya. 

Dependent Variable: IRC % UM '95-'97 Avgb. 
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Output 4 
Simple Regression:  Reinstate License Fee and IRC UM Rate 

Variables Entered/Removedb

Reinstate
Lic Charge

a . Enter

Model
1

Variables
Entered

Variables
Removed Method

All requested variables entered.a. 

Dependent Variable: IRC % UM '95-'97 Avgb. 
 

Model Summary

.591a .349 .315 4.568E-02
Model
1

R R Square
Adjusted
R Square

Std. Error of
the Estimate

Predictors: (Constant), Reinstate Lic Chargea. 
 

ANOVAb

2.129E-02 1 2.129E-02 10.203 .005a

3.964E-02 19 2.086E-03
6.092E-02 20

Regression
Residual
Total

Model
1

Sum of
Squares df Mean Square F Sig.

Predictors: (Constant), Reinstate Lic Chargea. 

Dependent Variable: IRC % UM '95-'97 Avgb. 
 

Coefficientsa

9.473E-02 .014 6.862 .000
2.718E-04 .000 .591 3.194 .005

(Constant)
Reinstate Lic Charge

Model
1

B Std. Error

Unstandardized
Coefficients

Beta

Standardi
zed

Coefficien
ts

t Sig.

Dependent Variable: IRC % UM '95-'97 Avga. 
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Simple Regression:  Reinstate Registration Fee and IRC UM Rate 
Variables Entered/Removedb

Reinstate
Reg
Charge

a . Enter

Model
1

Variables
Entered

Variables
Removed Method

All requested variables entered.a. 

Dependent Variable: IRC % UM '95-'97 Avgb. 
 

Model Summary

.659a .434 .391 4.082E-02
Model
1

R R Square
Adjusted
R Square

Std. Error of
the Estimate

Predictors: (Constant), Reinstate Reg Chargea. 
 

ANOVAb

1.663E-02 1 1.663E-02 9.983 .008a

2.166E-02 13 1.666E-03
3.829E-02 14

Regression
Residual
Total

Model
1

Sum of
Squares df Mean Square F Sig.

Predictors: (Constant), Reinstate Reg Chargea. 

Dependent Variable: IRC % UM '95-'97 Avgb. 
 

Coefficientsa

9.967E-02 .016 6.264 .000
2.531E-04 .000 .659 3.160 .008

(Constant)
Reinstate Reg Charge

Model
1

B Std. Error

Unstandardized
Coefficients

Beta

Standardi
zed

Coefficien
ts

t Sig.

Dependent Variable: IRC % UM '95-'97 Avga. 
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Output 5 
Simple Regression:  UM Compulsory and IRC UM Rate 

Variables Entered/Removedb

III UM
compulsor
y?

a . Enter

Model
1

Variables
Entered

Variables
Removed Method

All requested variables entered.a. 

Dependent Variable: IRC % UM '95-'97 Avgb. 
 

Model Summary

.279a .078 .059 6.183E-02
Model
1

R R Square
Adjusted
R Square

Std. Error of
the Estimate

Predictors: (Constant), III UM compulsory?a. 
 

ANOVAb

1.555E-02 1 1.555E-02 4.067 .049a

.184 48 3.824E-03

.199 49

Regression
Residual
Total

Model
1

Sum of
Squares df Mean Square F Sig.

Predictors: (Constant), III UM compulsory?a. 

Dependent Variable: IRC % UM '95-'97 Avgb. 
 

Coefficientsa

.145 .011 12.844 .000
-3.60E-02 .018 -.279 -2.017 .049

(Constant)
III UM compulsory?

Model
1

B Std. Error

Unstandardized
Coefficients

Beta

Standardi
zed

Coefficien
ts

t Sig.

Dependent Variable: IRC % UM '95-'97 Avga. 
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Output 6 
Simple Regression:  UM Offer Language Specified and IRC UM Rate 

Variables Entered/Removedb

UM Offer
Language
Specified?

a . Enter

Model
1

Variables
Entered

Variables
Removed Method

All requested variables entered.a. 

Dependent Variable: IRC % UM '95-'97 Avgb. 
 

Model Summary

.572a .328 .295 4.041E-02
Model
1

R R Square
Adjusted
R Square

Std. Error of
the Estimate

Predictors: (Constant), UM Offer Language Specified?a. 
 

ANOVAb

1.670E-02 1 1.670E-02 10.228 .004a

3.428E-02 21 1.633E-03
5.098E-02 22

Regression
Residual
Total

Model
1

Sum of
Squares df Mean Square F Sig.

Predictors: (Constant), UM Offer Language Specified?a. 

Dependent Variable: IRC % UM '95-'97 Avgb. 
 

Coefficientsa

.147 .012 12.089 .000

-5.39E-02 .017 -.572 -3.198 .004

(Constant)
UM Offer Language
Specified?

Model
1

B Std. Error

Unstandardized
Coefficients

Beta

Standardi
zed

Coefficien
ts

t Sig.

Dependent Variable: IRC % UM '95-'97 Avga. 
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Simple Regression:  UIM Offer Language Specified and IRC UM Rate 
Variables Entered/Removedb

UIM Offer
Language
Specified?

a . Enter

Model
1

Variables
Entered

Variables
Removed Method

All requested variables entered.a. 

Dependent Variable: IRC % UM '95-'97 Avgb. 
 

Model Summary

.502a .252 .214 4.261E-02
Model
1

R R Square
Adjusted
R Square

Std. Error of
the Estimate

Predictors: (Constant), UIM Offer Language Specified?a. 
 

ANOVAb

1.222E-02 1 1.222E-02 6.732 .017a

3.631E-02 20 1.815E-03
4.853E-02 21

Regression
Residual
Total

Model
1

Sum of
Squares df Mean Square F Sig.

Predictors: (Constant), UIM Offer Language Specified?a. 

Dependent Variable: IRC % UM '95-'97 Avgb. 
 

Coefficientsa

.143 .012 11.654 .000

-4.73E-02 .018 -.502 -2.595 .017

(Constant)
UIM Offer Language
Specified?

Model
1

B Std. Error

Unstandardized
Coefficients

Beta

Standardi
zed

Coefficien
ts

t Sig.

Dependent Variable: IRC % UM '95-'97 Avga. 
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Output 7 
Spearman Correlation Analysis:  Average amount paid out for damages covered by liability insurance 

Correlations

1.000 .687** .492** .479** -.430** -.415** -.415** .378**
. .000 .001 .000 .002 .003 .003 .007

50 50 45 50 50 50 50 49
.687** 1.000 .674** .441** -.289* -.353* -.353* .242
.000 . .000 .001 .042 .012 .012 .094

50 50 45 50 50 50 50 49
.492** .674** 1.000 .225 -.148 -.103 -.103 .405**
.001 .000 . .137 .331 .500 .500 .006

45 45 45 45 45 45 45 44

.479** .441** .225 1.000 -.280* -.489** -.489** .459**

.000 .001 .137 . .049 .000 .000 .001
50 50 45 50 50 50 50 49

-.430** -.289* -.148 -.280* 1.000 .587** .587** -.268
.002 .042 .331 .049 . .000 .000 .062

50 50 45 50 50 50 50 49
-.415** -.353* -.103 -.489** .587** 1.000 1.000** -.266
.003 .012 .500 .000 .000 . . .065

50 50 45 50 50 50 50 49
-.415** -.353* -.103 -.489** .587** 1.000** 1.000 -.266
.003 .012 .500 .000 .000 . . .065

50 50 45 50 50 50 50 49
.378** .242 .405** .459** -.268 -.266 -.266 1.000
.007 .094 .006 .001 .062 .065 .065 .

49 49 44 49 49 49 49 49

Correlation Coefficient
Sig. (2-tailed)
N
Correlation Coefficient
Sig. (2-tailed)
N
Correlation Coefficient
Sig. (2-tailed)
N

Correlation Coefficient
Sig. (2-tailed)
N
Correlation Coefficient
Sig. (2-tailed)
N
Correlation Coefficient
Sig. (2-tailed)
N
Correlation Coefficient
Sig. (2-tailed)
N
Correlation Coefficient
Sig. (2-tailed)
N

III 2000 Avg Liab
Expenditure

2000 Census % of
Population Urban

2000 Census 1999
Median Household
Income

2000 Census % of
Population Minority

III Property Minimum

III Per Person Minimum

III Per Accident Minimum

III 2000 Involuntary
Insured PPA

Spearman's rho

III 2000 Avg
Liab

Expenditure

2000 Census
% of

Population
Urban

2000 Census
1999 Median
Household

Income

2000 Census
% of

Population
Minority

III Property
Minimum

III Per Person
Minimum

III Per
Accident
Minimum

III 2000
Involuntary

Insured PPA

Correlation is significant at the .01 level (2-tailed).**. 

Correlation is significant at the .05 level (2-tailed).*. 
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Output 8 
Simple Regression:  Per Person Minimum and IRC UM Rate 
 

Variables Entered/Removedb

III Per
Person
Minimum

a . Enter

Model
1

Variables
Entered

Variables
Removed Method

All requested variables entered.a. 

Dependent Variable: IRC % UM '95-'97 Avgb. 
 

Model Summary

.377a .142 .124 5.965E-02
Model
1

R R Square
Adjusted
R Square

Std. Error of
the Estimate

Predictors: (Constant), III Per Person Minimuma. 
 

ANOVAb

2.831E-02 1 2.831E-02 7.957 .007a

.171 48 3.558E-03

.199 49

Regression
Residual
Total

Model
1

Sum of
Squares df Mean Square F Sig.

Predictors: (Constant), III Per Person Minimuma. 

Dependent Variable: IRC % UM '95-'97 Avgb. 
 

Coefficientsa

.209 .029 7.195 .000
-3.61E-06 .000 -.377 -2.821 .007

(Constant)
III Per Person Minimum

Model
1

B Std. Error

Unstandardized
Coefficients

Beta

Standardi
zed

Coefficien
ts

t Sig.

Dependent Variable: IRC % UM '95-'97 Avga. 
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Output 9 
Multiple Regression:  UM Mandatory, Per Person Minimum, Average 
amount paid out for damages covered by liability insurance and UM 
Estimated Average Premium 
 

Variables Entered/Removeda

III Per
Person
Minimum

.

Stepwise
(Criteria:
Probabilit
y-of-F-to-e
nter <=
.050,
Probabilit
y-of-F-to-r
emove >=
.100).

Model
1

Variables
Entered

Variables
Removed Method

Dependent Variable: UM Avg Ann Premiuma. 
 

Model Summary

.535a .286 .238 $29.9497
Model
1

R R Square
Adjusted
R Square

Std. Error of
the Estimate

Predictors: (Constant), III Per Person Minimuma. 
 

ANOVAb

5389.437 1 5389.437 6.008 .027a

13454.813 15 896.988
18844.250 16

Regression
Residual
Total

Model
1

Sum of
Squares df Mean Square F Sig.

Predictors: (Constant), III Per Person Minimuma. 

Dependent Variable: UM Avg Ann Premiumb. 
 

Coefficientsa

118.616 30.403 3.901 .001
-3.30E-03 .001 -.535 -2.451 .027

(Constant)
III Per Person Minimum

Model
1

B Std. Error

Unstandardized
Coefficients

Beta

Standardi
zed

Coefficien
ts

t Sig.

Dependent Variable: UM Avg Ann Premiuma. 
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Excluded Variablesb

-.116a -.516 .614 -.137 .983

.150
a

.480 .639 .127 .511

III UM compulsory?
III 2000 Avg Liab
Expenditure

Model
1

Beta In t Sig.
Partial

Correlation Tolerance

Collinearit
y

Statistics

Predictors in the Model: (Constant), III Per Person Minimuma. 

Dependent Variable: UM Avg Ann Premiumb. 
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